Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Ghost or not to Ghost is the question...
I am a huge Splinter Cell fanboy who stopped after Pandora Tomorrow. I loved Chaos Theory and Pandora Tomorrow. I was not too interested in Splinter Cell after those two games. It looked and felt as if the franchise became "Action based" without the sneaking around option. But I must admit that SPLINTER CELL is BACK! with BLACKLIST! I love this game and had an...
Published 12 months ago by Jose

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable
When the first Splinter Cell came out on the original Xbox, I instantly became a fan. It was one of the first (if not the first) game to use light and shadow as part of the gameplay, not just for visual effect. I was impressed with the enemy AI, the robust gameplay, the responsive controls, interactive environments, and impressive real-time shadows. At the time it was...
Published 15 months ago by MikeB


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Ghost or not to Ghost is the question..., November 20, 2013
By 
Jose "Acid lover" (LOS ANGELES, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I am a huge Splinter Cell fanboy who stopped after Pandora Tomorrow. I loved Chaos Theory and Pandora Tomorrow. I was not too interested in Splinter Cell after those two games. It looked and felt as if the franchise became "Action based" without the sneaking around option. But I must admit that SPLINTER CELL is BACK! with BLACKLIST! I love this game and had an amazing time finishing the missions! You can play this game using three styles of gameplay "Panther", "Assault" or my favorite "Ghost". Using Ghost you can literally complete a level without EVER being seen by the enemy. Like a true ninja or ghost, incredibly challenging and satisfying! I recommend this game to anyone who is a true fan of the early franchise! Note* Using Panther or Assault style gameplay you can shoot and kill using an extensive arsenal of weapons (including black market weapons), if that is your style of playing. Guns blazing, dogs barking, not a f bout nothing hahah. But personally I get a huge satisfaction at the fact that I was there... but nobody knew I was there, because I was a Ghost! - Bottom line - Great game addition to the Splinter Cell Family! Absolutely recommend this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a Multiplayer, OK for a Single Player, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I will not get into storyline details, to avoid any potential spoiler. The gameplay is extremely smooth, Fisher moves fluently around during the mission. The story itself is what you'd expect from the SC series. The only negative for me is the single player game length, which is rather short. I would've liked to have more campaign time, as I do not play online multiplayer games. This game was clearly design with online play more so then single player, which is the way games are heading these days. That's a shame.

I rated it 4 out of 5 stars due to its attempt to "force" you to a multiplayer "experience" (Mercs vs. Spies). I bought this when it was new, so I would've like more gameplay time for my $60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I didn't have an Xbox for Splinter Cell Conviction so I decided that I should buy this and wanted to see how the game change and improved. Yes the voice is disappointing but the game is actually pretty good and fun. Many stuff to do and new gadget's and etc. Great buy. Splinter Cell fan's you have to try this game out. ps. The story is kind of short so I suggest to try it on the most difficulty and because you just have to :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Splinter cell game for the PS3 (At last!), September 8, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The reason for me to buy a PS3 was play "Splinter Cell" coop with my brother (split screen), I'm talking when "SP Conviction" came out. I know, "Conviction" was a Xbox exclusive, but I allways wait for that game for the PS3...

The game have a cool Menu, because you have to walk in the Paladin to do things in the game.

I like the story and the way you can play the single player and coop missions. You can choose between 3 classes: Ghost, Panther and Assault. And If you play like a truly Ghost you'll earn a lot of points and money for your weapons, suits, gadgets... because you're playing like the classics splinter cell games, where you don't need to use your weapons.

I like the actors in the game. Ok! Michael Ironside (the EPIC voice) is not in the game but Eric Johnson did a new, fresh and original job in the Sam Fisher's character.

The coop (or solo, but coop is better, online or split screen) is very mixed, you have Kobin missions where you have to eliminate all the enemies. Grim missions where you have to be a ghost and take the objetives. Briggs missions where you can be a ghost but is too hard, and be a panther or assault is much easy. And the Charlie missions, these are good to get many points and money.

"Spies vs Mercs" (the Multiplayer) I like it! at first time is difficult but when you learn how to play and buy better classes of spies and mercenaries, the game will turn much easy.

If you're new in the "Splinter Cell" series and you like James Bond or you like to play spies games, you have to buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY SATISFYING, August 25, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game made a much needed return to the stealth aspect of the Splinter Cell games. Prepare to be in the shadows for a large part of the game which is something every fan of the stealth genre in any game should enjoy but especially the die hard Splinter Cell fans. I'm currently halfway through the main campaign but that's only because I spend so much time playing the online, "Spies vs. Mercs". I must say that Splinter Cell's online gameplay is the most satisfying multiplayer I have ever played. It is so much fun!. The spies and mercs balance each other out in a way that makes this online gameplay one genius of an idea. Many people complain about the graphics but I think the graphics are fine and I have no issues with them at all. In my opinion the game actually looks great. This game was very well made on behalf of Ubisoft Toronto and you can tell they really read the reviews on Conviction and cared about their fans so they went a step backwards and gave us everything we deserved and the game conviction should have been. Not to say Conviction was bad but Blacklist is just down right badass. This game is highly recommended by someone who has always enjoyed playing Splinter Cell games. This game packs a lot of bang for your buck as it has just the right amount of campaign, 14 co-op missions, and much more. The currency system in the game works well as you earn money from missions and online games and you can use the money to buy countless amount of upgrades to help you as Sam Fisher and even as a Spy or a Merc when you play some multiplayer. And for those longtime fans who hate how they changed the voice actor of Sam and replaced Michael Ironside, all I have to say to you is don't let that one aspect keep you from continuing to be a fan and enjoying this awesome game. So much more to say about Blacklist but to sum it all up go out and pick this game up because quite simply, Sam Fisher has never been better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first time playing Splinter Cell series., October 22, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have never played the Splinter cell series PS3 games. But I loved the stealth game play of Deus Ex: Human Revolution, so I bought Blacklist. After playing the first mission I really like this game. I was confused that you had to select one of the three modes and didn't know your game play after my first Benghazi mission gives you stats points for each of the three modes. The graphics are really good. I still need to learn how some of the available tools like the camera's are used which helps out more in stealth mode. Not having played the series before is a little bit of disadvantage in this regard.

I can't wait to play more Blacklist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A plethora of top tier single player, cooperative, and multiplayer content, September 19, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I fear that in the coming years, we as gamers aren't going to have the privilege of receiving such content-rich packages like Splinter Cell: Blacklist very often. In the modern era of digital distribution, with different game modes beginning to fragment and trend towards becoming commercially viable products on their own, something as rich as Splinter Cell Blacklist is quite a treat. Splinter Cell: Blacklist delivers a very meaty, replayable single player campaign, a wealth of deep cooperative content, and some of the best multiplayer content we've seen since...well, probably since Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, thanks to the return of the glorious Spies vs. Mercs multiplayer mode. Blacklist is a labor of love, and a fine return to form for the Splinter Cell series. This is a game that will please both the older stealth fans of the series, as well as newer players who enjoyed the more action-orientated approach of the previous entry in the series, Splinter Cell: Conviction.

After an explosive introductory sequence that does a very nice job of teaching you how to play, you take control of Sam Fisher on his floating jet/fortress, the Paladin. The Paladin serves as a hub to the game's different playable modes, as well as serving as a upgradable headquarters where Sam can purchase and modify equipment, talk to his partners, and stay in contact with the outside world. Most players will likely want to start with the single player campaign, which makes up the heart of Blacklist. While the narrative of the campaign isn't as memorable as past Splinter Cell games, it more than makes up for it with not only some of the best level design the series has ever seen, but also a level of flexibility that the series has never seen before. Three play styles are available to experiment with and master: the silent, non-lethal Ghost, the quiet, deadly Panther, and the all-out carnage of Assault. Moving through a level while sticking to a particular playstyle will not only give you bonus mastery points for doing well in each one, but also encourages replaying the levels to try new styles. Don't want to stick to either of these three? Mix it up all you want! The game allows for this too. Sam Fisher is a much more capable hero in this game, easily able to shoot his way out of a tight situation and disappear into the shadows quickly. Similar to last year's stealth masterpiece, Dishonored, Splinter Cell: Blacklist gives you numerous options for not only playing the way you want to play, but also in how to proceed through each mission. Numerous hidden paths and multiple routes through each level allow each mission to be tackled in the way that best suits the gamer. Like other recent great stealth games such as Mark of the Ninja and the aforementioned Dishonored, Blacklist gives you freedom and flexibility, and in doing do, delivers arguably the best single player campaign the Splinter Cell series has ever seen.

Also available from the Paladin is a number of side missions in all new environments that are not tied to the single player campaign. These include missions where you must remain undetected in order to achieve certain goals, missions where you must eliminate everyone in an area and detection will cause for them to call for massive reinforcemnts, and combat missions where you fight off wave after wave of enemies (ala Gears of War Horde mode). Each of these types of missions caters to one of the specific play styles detailed previously, and will force players to move out of their comfort zone. Success in these missions yields various rewards, mostly in the form of persistent monetary funds that carry over across both missions and multiplayer modes. But the best thing about these optional side missions is that they can all be played cooperatively, whether in local split screen or online with a friend. Playing the missions cooperatively adds layers of depth, strategy, and complexity that give the missions a whole new feel. And to top everything off, there is even a set of missions that can ONLY be played with someone else. These missions are a highlight of Blacklist, and are icing on the cake that is one of the richest cooperative games to release in 2013.

Rounding out all this goodness is the multiplayer, which sees the return of the classic Spies vs. Mercs two-on-two multiplayer mode. Making its first appearance since 2005's Chaos Theory, this amazing mode is better than ever, with fantastic level designs and improvements to bring it into the modern era. The perfect way it balances the third-person agility and stealth of the Spies going against the slower, heavily armed, first-person perspective Mercs remains a marvel of competitive gaming, creating some of the most tense, thrilling multiplayer around. Whether you are a Spy that lurks in the shadows seeking the perfect opening to hack the information terminals, or the armed-to-the-teeth Merc who's sole job is to stop the Spy, communication, patience, and precision are essential for teams to succeed, making Spies vs Mercs a top-notch multiplayer mode. Blacklist also brings a new twist to Spies vs. Mercs forumla with a new 4 v 4 mode that allows for players to upgrade their weapons, armor, and gadgets and bring them into battle, as well as create custom loadouts for both the Spies and the Mercs. It's a faster-paced, brighter, and very enjoyable mode that can be quite intense, if not quite as much as the classic 2 v 2. Throw in a couple other standard modes (Deathmatch, Occupy a zone for x seconds, etc) that become fresh again due to your ability to play as either a spy or merc, as well as having mixed teams comprised of both classes. These are fun modes, but it's Spies vs Mercs that will keep you coming back for more and more of this excellent and extremely addictive multiplayer goodness.

Splinter Cell: Blacklist is the complete package. There is more than enough high quality content to keep you busy for a very long time. The lengthy single player campaign is better than ever, and begs to be replayed. The co-operative missions will allow you and a friend to feel like master spies and use seemingly endless strategies to accomplish your goals. And the multiplayer is among the best out there. This is arguably the best Splinter Cell title to date, and should be experienced by all gamers who like both stealth and action games. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An assaulter. A ghost. A panther., August 31, 2013
By 
1Dub79 (Fairburn, Ga.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
It has been years since a Splinter Cell game has been on the PS. Now, on the brink of the PS4's arrival, enter Splinter Cell Blacklist. After seeing many videos about this game, we've seen the various new features that this game has to offer. Now, the game has been put to the test. Was it worth the wait?

CAMPAIGN/STORY: The story is surrounded by a terrorist's threat from a group called the Engineers, known as the Blacklist. The Blacklist is a threat of a MAJOR terrorists' action on a U.S. interest each week that American occupation is sustained in various overseas countries. Therefore, a countdown has commenced and Sam and his team -- CIA Spec Ops Isaac Briggs, Tech Charlie Cole, and Control Ops Grimsdottir -- has to do everything they can in order to stop the attacks.

CUSTOMIZATION/UPGRADES: This game is FULL of them. Just about EVERY part of Sam and his arsenal can be upgraded and customized. For example, on his uniform, everything can be customized from his goggles to his shoes. Each weapon can be customized. Think of Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier. His gadgets can be customized, as well. In order to obtain these vast amounts of upgrades and customizations, money has to be obtained via level completion and actions done throughout the levels. Random actions on a level can get Sam more money. It can either be by killing certain enemies a certain number of times with a certain weapon, hacking a computer or even capturing - not killing - a high-value target.

The game introduces an aerial base called The Paladin. This is a jumbo jet, where Sam can freely walk around and talk to his other teammates about various missions, upgrades, etc. Sam can also access what is called the Strategic Mission Interface (SMI), which shows the local news, as well as show a animated global map, which allows Sam to choose what primary or side missions he like. He can also go and talk to his daughter on the phone. Lol The Paladin can be upgraded, as well. By upgrading various sections of the Paladin, it will serve as a tremendous help for Sam on the ground. For example, I upgraded the cockpit, which allowed positions of enemies to be seen as dots on the mini-map. I upgraded again. This time, it allowed me to see enemies as arrows on the mini-map, which allowed me to see what direction they are going to. In addition, when the enemies communicate with each other, I am able to see a signal indicating communication on the mini-map, as well. The next upgrade will extend the vicinity of enemies on the mini-map.

ENEMY A.I.: This game has some smart and not-so smart enemy patrols. NO enemy should be underestimated, though. Some are well aware of a bad situation. For example, if two enemies are together and talking, they'll eventually split up. If one of those enemies is taken down, the other will get suspicious and go investigate the situation. If an enemy patrol is alerted, all hell will break loose. Of course, upon fire, the white silhouette of Sam's last known position will come up. Enemies will engage it. Use that to get away or try to flank those enemies. The key is to try to stay out of sight all together. Keep an eye and ear on the sight icon, which appears and beeps, upon coming across the sight an enemy. If not seen by an enemy, no icon will appear. If Sam is somewhat seen by an enemy, the icon will appear in a narrow form and have a white color. If an enemy has a VERY good sight on Sam, the sight icon will widen, turn red, and a constant beeping noise will occur. A full alert will commence.

There are various types of enemies to be aware of. Some enemies may have helmets, which will protect them from headshots. In addition, there are some juggernaut-like enemies. These brutes are fully armored with shotguns and must be engaged by a different set of rules. In other words, straight-up gunfire will NOT take them down. Also, they CANNOT be taken down with hand-to-hand combat from the front. However, they can be taken down from behind. Good luck sneaking up on them! Laser-equipped snipers are on the game, as well. They can see you from far away, even in the darkness. Try to study the patterns of their laser sights and move accordingly. Then, there are dogs. They are smart. They can detect the scent of a nearby enemy, which is YOU. Upon barking at a scent, an enemy will ask, "have you found something, boy? The enemy will then follow the dog towards Sam's path. Now, Sam has to try to take out both a suspicious dog and enemy patrol. Lastly, there is a mechanical enemy, which are drones. These gadgets are usually controlled by an enemy and look like remote-controlled toys, but are no fun. If one spots you and gets too close, KA'BOOM! To avoid that possibility, one shot will disable the drone. Another shot will make it explode. Keep in mind, if the drone is disable, a nearby enemy will report that the drone is offline and will go investigate. If the enemy is not taken out, he will re-work the drone. Also, drones can travel up stairs.

GAMEPLAY: The theme "choose a play-style" is the basic notion of game. There are three different play styles to choose from. The first is Assault. The player can just go guns-a-blazing. This can be very dangerous because the enemies are smart and heavily armed. Not to mention, Sam just doesn't have quite the arsenal to do fight against enemies of mass numbers, which is likely on certain missions. The next is play style is Ghost. This is my personal favorite because it consists of going through missions, while engaging enemies very quietly with quiet and non-lethal attacks. Of course, a true Ghost might be able to go through a level, without engaging an enemy at all. The last is Panther. Panther is a play-style for players, who want to be quiet, but perform lethal attacks.

I would say that my play-style is a mix between Ghost and Panther. After each mission, the player will be graded for each play-style that is done. For example, if Sam goes through a mission by using a Panther play-style, points will be given. Not to mention, additional bonus points will be given if enemies are not alerted and so forth.

Each one of these play-styles are made increasingly possible by the fact that Sam can now take various paths in the game. The levels are VERY open-ended. This just gives players several options to engage enemies. Just think of the Assassin's Creed series! Players can get their Ezio on by traversing up and across walls, pipes, and rooftops. Sam can also climb through windows. Bonuses can be attained by finding these hidden paths, too.

Sam's movements are fluid and swift. Sliding into cover is very easy. This is very to similar to how it is done in Army of TWO The Devil's Cartel. Just aim at the surface and a cover icon will come up. Just press the X button and he'll just easily slide quickly to cover. Sam's hand-to-hand attacks are brutal, rather lethal or non-lethal. The animations of non-lethal take-downs are a thing to see. Either Sam was slamming an enemy's head on a surface, snatching him out of enemy sight and finishing him with a hard punch or swiftly sliding an enemy across a horizontal surface and swiftly punching his lights out. The lethal attacks are cool, too. Snatching enemies and snapping their necks or slashing their throats makes Sam a very dangerous character. Sam can also perform lethal or non-lethal hand-to-hand attacks on the run. For example, Sam alerted an enemy, and before he could scream, "I see him", the enemy was quickly punched him down, while running.

Like 360's Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Conviction, Sam can mark up to three targets. Just aim at the desired target and a red triangle will appear. However, if the enemy is too far, the triangle turns white. Upon the command, Sam will execute a slow-motion assassination of the desired targets. Targets can be marked from behind doors, as well. In addition, Sam can also mark and execute targets on the run, as well. Be warned! If Sam marks a target with a helmet, a triangle icon with a circle will appear. This means, Sam has to find another means of taking THAT target out.

GRAPHICS/VISUALS: The game only has a 720p output. However, the graphics look surprisingly better than the indication. Landscapes and characters look very good and sharp, as well. Keep in mind; this is a Ubisoft game, so expect so smudged-looking textures on some levels.

SIDE OPS: The game actually has many side missions, which can be done via solo, solo/co-op, or co-op only. These missions are presented by various members of your team and can really test your play-styles to the max. For example, there was one mission, which Sam had to go to an opium farm and take out each enemy in the compound. A number of remaining enemies were seen on the upper-right corner. After each enemy was taken out, the number decreased. With that being said, if enemies are alerted, the number would double. For example, Sam once had to take out 11 enemies in the compound. An enemy was alerted and the number increased to 29. Uh, oh! Another mission had me to take out 20 waves of enemies. One mission had me to obtain three files. Of course, enemies were in my path. This mission would not allow me to even be spotted by an enemy or game over.

SOUND: To the chagrin of many Splinter Cell fans, the voice of Same Fisher is played by actor Eric Johnson, who's known for playing on Smallville, Rookie Blue, and Legends of the Fall. It doesn't hurt the game, but I miss Michael Ironside, though. Characters speak very loud and clearly. The game's sound is in Dolby Digital surround sound. In addition, each weapon, gadget, and action has its own realistic and distinctive sound.

SPIES VS. MERCS: This infamous multi-player game returns. Spies are the hackers and Mercs are the preventers. Gameplay must be taken slowly, ESPECIALLY if the player is a Merc. Watch your corners. The Spies can just wait in the shadows and take enemies out. Of course, the game has many features that other multiplayers have, such killstreaks, weapon, and character upgrades.

VERDICT: This game has it all. A cinematic storyline, upgrades, versatile gameplay, and fluid movements of the character make Blacklist a must-own. The wait was well worth it. Of course, that is just my opinion. Experience Blacklist for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable, August 29, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
When the first Splinter Cell came out on the original Xbox, I instantly became a fan. It was one of the first (if not the first) game to use light and shadow as part of the gameplay, not just for visual effect. I was impressed with the enemy AI, the robust gameplay, the responsive controls, interactive environments, and impressive real-time shadows. At the time it was released, it was all very cutting edge. The sequel, Pandora Tomorrow, was a decent game, but did nothing to progress the series forward. Then came Chaos Theory, the (still) best game in the series, and one of the greatest games of last gen. Chaos Theory improved in every area, from the AI and graphics to the story and level design, and was a significant leap forward for the series.
Double Agent, the next game in the series, and the first SC game developed for next-gen, had some high standards to live up to. Unfortunately, it did not live up to expectations, and although it wasn't a bad game, it did nothing to move the series forward and did not feel like a next-gen game. Conviction, the 5th game in the series, was a drastic change for the series, but that change was not for the better. All of the stealth elements that I enjoyed were tossed out the window for a manic run-n-gun approach. As SC games go, this was the worst in the series. And that brings us to Blacklist.

Blacklist has been described as a cross between Chaos Theory and Conviction. The truth is it's a cross between Double Agent and Conviction. That is to say, it combines some of the action elements of Conviction, like automatic Execution kills, and cover-to-cover run, and the stealth elements the series is known for. Unlike Conviction, however, you don't have to use or rely on these gameplay mechanics. If you prefer to go in quiet and use stealth, you can take out enemies one by one, quietly, lethal or non-lethal. Or, if you're really good, you can sneak by enemies unnoticed, and never even touch them. Of course, you have to option to go in guns blazing, but you probably won't last long. I appreciated the freedom of choices I was given, and only during a few moments did I feel like the game forced me play a certain way.

The gameplay has almost everything you'd expect from a SC game, from climbing upside-down on pipes to peering under doors with fiber-optics, you really feel like a super spy. Unfortunately, the level design wasn't very impressive. Each level felt like the same thing over and over. Yes, there are multiple paths and approaches for each mission, but from level to level I never really felt challenged to change my thinking. I found the most effective approach for me was to hide in a doorway, make a noise to lure in the nearest enemy, then subdue him when he got close. This worked 99% of time, and the enemies wouldn't really care much that their friends were disappearing one by one. Even if an enemy comes across one of the bodies you left behind, they'll search around a 10 foot radius and if they don't find you in 60 seconds, they'll assume everything is fine and go back to not caring. Granted, I was playing on Normal difficulty, but I played previous SC games on normal as well, and I don't remember enemies being so careless. The AI felt like a step back from Chaos Theory.

The controls feel a bit stiff and unresponsive when compared to most modern games, and although it's been years since I played Chaos Theory, I remember the controls in that game being more intuitive and responsive than Blacklist. In previous SC games, how far you push the control stick had a direct effect on Sam Fisher's movement speed. Push the stick 35% of the way, Sam moves at 35% speed. Push it 89% of the way, Sam moves 89% speed. Not in Blacklist. Sam has two speeds: slow and fast. Push the stick anywhere between 1% and 50%, Sam moves 50% speed. Push the stick anywhere between 51% and 100%, Sam moves 100% speed. WHAT THE HECK!? Analog sticks have been around since the N64 days, I'd think we'd move past this two speed crap. The fact that previous SC games had 1:1 movement responsiveness makes Blacklist's controls unacceptable. Besides that there were moments where buttons would not respond, and moments where shooting over obstacles would not respond until I released the Aim button, which caused me to inexplicably miss shots and give away my position. None of this made the game unplayable. The game is playable. It just felt dated and awkward for a big budget game from a major publisher in the year 2013. I expect better.

The graphics in Blacklist are also disappointing. They're not terrible, but they're not as good as you could reasonably expect from a big budget game in 2013. Characters look plastic and shiny, shadows often look badly pixelated, and frame rate hiccups and screen tearing are frequent. Textures are a bit blurry and some of the poly-counts looks a little low. The animations during cut scenes are really, really good, but during gameplay they look stiff.

Sound design is the best aspect of Blacklist. The music is great, and fits with the tone and mood of the game. It reacts to your situation and heightens the tension, whether you're sneaking up on a group of terrorists or running for your life from a firefight, the music enhances each moment of your adventure and never sounds mismatched or out of place. The sound effects are also well done, and many of the classic sounds like the start-up buzz of your night vision goggles return from previous games. The voice acting is great as well, and each actor plays their character with complete believability. When the excellent voice acting combines with the excellent animations in the cut scenes, it really brings the characters to life and made them compelling to watch. The sound balance is perfect, too. I frequently notice weird audio balance in games and I have to go into the audio options to balance the music, sound effects and voice levels. Blacklist does not have separate levels for the audio, but does have settings for Headphones, Stereo, and 5.1 Surround. All three are perfectly balanced for whatever your home audio setup.

Blacklist's story is pretty good. It's basically an excuse to travel around the world fighting bad guys, but the plot makes just enough sense to not make it feel arbitrary. What really works in Blacklist is the dialog. The interaction between the characters is strong, and the technical jargon is plausible yet not confusing. Each character has a strong personality and a good reason for being in the story. Even the villains felt like human beings with motives instead of just being evil for the sake of being evil like so many videogame badguys tend to be.

The multiplayer component of Blacklist is strong, with the co-op being a highlight. They don't always utilize cooperation like the co-op missions in Chaos Theory did. You can pretty much play like two lone wolves and still get through the missions, but playing cooperatively will make some parts easier. Unfortunately, the graphics, animation, controls, and frame rate all have the same problems in multiplayer that are present in single player. The whole time I was playing I couldn't help feeling like it should and could have been better.

It's a shame that the good parts of Blacklist don't outweigh the mediocre parts. The gameplay, graphics, animation, and controls all fail to impress, and feel like a step backward. The sound and writing are great but can't save what is ultimately a forgettable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tom clancy's splinter cell blacklist playstation 3, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
this game is fun to play great graphics and real environments etc - challanging and great online play as well - highly recomended for 14+ years of age to play - highly recommended this seller for this game. great price etc. love it - just too short for me - needed to be a longer game but besides that a great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist - Playstation 3
$29.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.