Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a book big enough enough to answer all the complaints about earlier collections!!!
I have a majority of the earlier TOF collections. The most universal complaint has always been "Its too small", with the exception of the 1st printing of the "Art of Pleasure" this was the subjective case.

Now the largest collection ever has been printed in the largest format ever. Pardon the cliche, but if you must buy one TOF collection, this would be the...
Published on April 3, 2009 by William Norton

versus
29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coulda been a contender
As I've shared with the editor(and the Foundation, who obviously had some yea/nay approval), this should have been(and at such a price), the definitive edition of the work - start to finish. Instead, the editor's preference for 'white space,' and a 'look how clever I am' design style, sadly dimishes the overall effect. Rather than a specific, h-core, chronical of Tom's...
Published on April 29, 2009 by Berkeley Webster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a book big enough enough to answer all the complaints about earlier collections!!!, April 3, 2009
By 
William Norton (Hollywood, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
I have a majority of the earlier TOF collections. The most universal complaint has always been "Its too small", with the exception of the 1st printing of the "Art of Pleasure" this was the subjective case.

Now the largest collection ever has been printed in the largest format ever. Pardon the cliche, but if you must buy one TOF collection, this would be the one. True to the liner notes, it contains many never published works as well as lager repros of well known works. Paper quality and binding are above average.

When you receive your book you will get it shrink wrapped in a stylish cardboard case, with artwork on the outside of the case itself. Also of note the illustration on the dust jacket is raised and textured to match the musculature of the figure, a nice plus. Amazon has the best pricing on this. I was in a retail outlet the other day and saw the same book for $200.

The price is hefty, but once you receive your copy you can see that it is well worth it.

On a final note, based on my experience, these over-sized editions tend to get downsized and cheapened on the second printing. If you want all the extras like the sculpted dust jacket and carrying case buy the 1st edition before it sells out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coulda been a contender, April 29, 2009
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
As I've shared with the editor(and the Foundation, who obviously had some yea/nay approval), this should have been(and at such a price), the definitive edition of the work - start to finish. Instead, the editor's preference for 'white space,' and a 'look how clever I am' design style, sadly dimishes the overall effect. Rather than a specific, h-core, chronical of Tom's life & times, it's instead a thoughtless disrepect (and regard) for the viewer; re-publishing material already in the Tashen catalog, while some images, rare & obscure, are reproduced as postage stamps. Tashen is richer for my purchase, perhaps you may want to rethink yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tuoko Laaksonen honored in the realm of fine art - Finally!, November 22, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
Tuoko Laaksonen (1920 - 1991) may have enjoyed worldwide fame as Tom of Finland during his lifetime, his fame due largely to an extensive following of those who praised his courage to paint and draw what he wanted to paint and draw rather than keeping his talent for figurative work in the dark corners of only certain bookstores. Now, thanks in large part to this very fine tome edited by Dian Hanson, the general public can appreciate the fact that not only did he appeal to a specific audience; he can now be seen as an exceptionally gifted draughtsman and artist.

Laaksonen/Tom of Finland restricted his output to figurative works that highlighted massively macho males in all manner of situations. While his work is erotically charged it always retains a brilliant sense of humor and parody: he celebrated his audience by saying it is not only OK to enjoy these works, it is also OK to see the humor in the distortion of fantasies. Many of these works in this exhaustive volume are well known, having been reproduced many times in literature and in galleries, but for the connoisseur there are unpublished works here, many of which show a more tender side to the artist. Hanson has the good idea of presenting these works of art in chronological order - another way of examining public acceptance of the artist's works - and the chapters covering sixty years of his output are arranged by decades, the Forties through the Eighties. Another fortunate aspect of this massive book is the decision to include essays and commentaries by such important writers as Edward Lucie-Smith, Armistead Maupin, John Waters, Todd Oldham and Camille Paglia.

This is a long awaited volume that places an underground artist in the same echelon with other contemporary figurative painters. It is a beautifully produced, edited, written and illustrated homage to an artist who is now recognized for his talent not only as an artist, but also as a spokesman for human rights! Grady Harp, November 09
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
it's brilliant, I ordered this for my boyfriend for Christmas and it was the best gift i think Ive ever given, its awesome all the detail that's within the pages, thank god we have a huge coffee table though, they aren't joking when they say how big it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Tom, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
"Tom of Finland XXL" is the ultimate collection of the world's most iconic gay erotic artist. At nearly 15 pounds, it is a wondrous collection of his work. The book, due to size and weight, should be viewed on a table, bed, or couch due to it's enormous size and weight in order to prevent damage to the binding. Unlike the original printing of "Tom of Finland The Art of Pleasure" (oddly light in weight and the edges of the cheap paper have browned over the last few years), the paper quality and binding of Tom of Finland XXL is top quality. "Tom of Finland XXL" will make a significant contribution to any lover of Tom's work. It is beautiful and quite a bargain at Amazon.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Collection, April 4, 2009
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
I have loved TOF drawings ever since I first layed eyes on them over 25 years ago. I found this book on amazon after placing my order for "The Big Penis Book" The price seemed kind of steep but this book is amazing!!! Very nicely packaged and very complete in its content. If you order this book you will not be disappointed. Keep in mind that this book is ENORMOUS!!! Not something that will fit under your mattress!!!Right now it's displayed proudly on my credenza right next to the Big Penis Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Rules, May 26, 2014
By 
Mo "Sparky" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
Tom of Finland's celebration of gay male sex played a crucial role in the acceptance of homosexual sex for gay men and in the fight for gay rights. This book, through its fantasy-driven and stunning drawings is a proud acknowledge of the joys of gay sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
This anthology of the work of Tom Of Finland comes highly recommended by me. I was thrilled to add this volume to my collection of his work. It is by no means absolutely comprehensive, but it offers a stunning array of illustrations of his work. My praise for this book cannot be high enough, it is not only thrilling, but enlightening, and educating in many ways.
If you're familiar at all with the work of Tom of Finland, You want this book in your collection, even if you are not familiar with the work of Tom of Finland, You want to add this book to your collection. A stunning display of gay erotic art, but also a vital part of the great gay tableau of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hefty Big Book..., January 31, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
It's rather entertaining to look through all the drawings and text from the book that i didn't expect to be that huge and hefty... while it was heavy, it came with a specialized box with the exact same cover which makes it a very good collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, December 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Tom of Finland XXL (Hardcover)
A complete compendium of Tom of Finland's life, work and philosophy. A HUGE book both is size and weight, not to mention the larger than life attributes of his subjects. Covers so much more than any other book about his drawing, his diversity and the gay appeal of his art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tom of Finland XXL
Tom of Finland XXL by Edward Lucie-Smith (Hardcover - April 1, 2009)
$200.00 $132.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.