Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: TOMB OF THE MUTILATED (UNCENSORED)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2002
Sigh, why must the ignorant constantly prey upon this band? I'm so sick of seeing reviews that say things like "This is noise", "These guys can't play their instruments", and worse yet, "Go listen to Limp Bikzit, to hear what real talent sounds like". Look, anyone who really knows anything about music will tell you that these guys are very skilled musicians, and this is anything but noise. Bands like Limp Bizkit play basic, simple stuff that any musician could play. Cannibal Corpse makes very complex song structures that would give Wes Borland an aneurism. As a musician, I know what "talent" is, and I know that this is very far from simple music. Bob and Jack are amazing guitarists, and Paul is a drum god. Chris Barnes is one of the greatest death vocalists out there, plain and simple. Death vocals take a lot of skill to execute, and I seriously doubt that Fred Durst could ever make such amazing sounds. Oh, and to those who complain about not being able to understand the vocals. That's not the point anyway. In death metal, vocals are meant to be another instrument. The lyrics are not even important. And besides, isn't complaining about the vocals AND the lyrics a bit contradictory? You hate the lyrics, and yet you complain about not being able to understand them. What sense does that make?
Anyway, this is a classic death album, from start to finish. From "Hammer Smashed Face" to "Beyond the Cemetary", it never misses a step. If you don't like this band, then just leave them alone, and stop bombarding them with false allegations.
88 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2002
On the uncensored version of "Tomb", the image on the twisted and some may say "sick and disgusting" album cover has a cleverly placed "Parental Advisory: Explicit Lyrics" label right next to it. Think about it, have you seen the original cover of this album? Is the "parental advisory" really necessary? I just thought this was funny. Anyway Cannibal Corpse's third album is comprised of nine tracks which speed by in a blur of growls, riffs, and maniacal drumming and in 35 minutes it's over. Cannibal Corpse are known for outrageously disgusting album covers and lyrics, but just listening to the music you wouldn't know it. Vocalist/lyricist Chris Barnes has taken sounding like a monster to another level where you can't decipher words from his gutteral growls. It's actually clever because the censored version of "Tomb" sounds the exact same as the original! None of those stupid editing sounds! Thanks Chris! The way I heard about Cannibal Corpse was through the Jim Carrey film, "Ace Ventura", where they are seen for a few seconds in a night club performing "Hammer Smashed Face". I thought this part was funny and I thought the band sounded amazing so I went to seek out the band and the album with that song on it - and here we are! Cannibal Corpse would only make one more album with Chris Barnes, The Bleeding, which many fans feel is the peak of their work, but I would recommend "Tomb" as the introduction album because I think the riffs are cooler and it is before Barnes' vocals became close to decipherable. Not that hearing what he's saying is a horrible thing (wait, yeah it is, that's the point!) but, like I said before, his growl is something that has to be heard to be believed. Why do you think that on the inside of the album cover it says "Electronic harmonizer was not used to create any vocals on..."? Because it sounds like he had help, partner, and he didn't! Obviously Barnes can't take all the credit. The guitarists, Jack Owen and Bob Rusay (who's last album with Corpse this is) are technically awesome and bassist Alex Webster should have his own instructional video. Last but definitely not least is drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz. I am a drummer and I have to admit that the first thing that intrigued me about Corpse (besides Barnes) was the inhuman speed of the drummer. This guy is nuts and I honestly havent heard beats played at this speed by a human being before. So if you're into speed drumming and double bass work, you will want to give this album a listen. Just don't try to imitate it, you could get hurt! I think too much has been made (actually very little) out of this group's album covers, song titles, lyrics, etc. (which was probably the intention, duh!). If you don't like something, don't buy it, look at it, or listen to it. I think Cannibal Corpse wanted to be noticed more so than other bands and they achieved that, but saying they're just trying to "shock" people is silly in two ways: First, uh, of course they're trying to shock people! and second, the group is talented and the music is undeniably well executed (no pun intended, well maybe). There is a little known secret out there about censorship: if you want a band to get more fans and higher record sales, put a "parental advisory" label on their album cover, it never fails. So certain people and organizations can keep insulting artists and filing lawsuits and blaming them for the decay of society and the more fans will just continue to get in line to buy their record. Maybe censorship wasn't such a good idea after all. Oh by the way, buy "Tomb of the Mutilated"!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2003
Folks, this is it. If you remember the original Tampa scene and have managed to avoid falling into the nu-metal/gridcore/black metal quagmire, and for some reason don't have this CD, get it. This album defines the sound that spawned a thousand copycats, and served as inspiration for legions of bands--some good, like Korn, and some crap, like linkin park. Influenced by bands like Bathory, Voivod, Slayer, Metallica (Kill 'em All, not the easy listening they're putting out now), Accept, Chuck Shauldiner's original Death, and so many others, Cannibal Corpse took heavy music to the next level almost single-handedly. I know it's popular not to like this band, but that's because so many chowderheads out there define their taste in music by listening to the bands who sell the least albums. That's fine, but one should not begrudge CC's success, 'cause they ain't exactly Britney Spears...
As far as the record goes, from beginning to end this is exactly what death metal should sound like. Brutal musicianship, horrific lyrics, the most punishing vocals imaginable from the acknowledged king of death, Chris Barnes, and a technicality and precision that started making itself evident even at this early stage in the band's evolution. I'm a huge Fisher fan, but Barnes is the original, and perhaps still the best.
Reanimated corpses lusting for flesh and an opportunity to commit unspeakable acts on you and your family: this is the imagery that defines this genre, and CC wrote the book.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2006
Wow. Never would I think that the Cannibal Corpse review pages would be infested by total idiots. You people sicken me. You write a negative review for every Cannibal Corpse record, complaining about how gross, vile, and disgusting it is. You, obviously, have no life, because Cannibal Corpse is happy that you hate them, and are probably laughing at all of you right now. If you want a review for this particular album, then skip a few paragraphs down. But, for the kiddies who bash Cannibal Corpse, don't skip anything. Because you obviously need schooling on death metal, because even though you think you know the sub-genre, you don't. Bands like Metallica and Iron Maiden are not death metal. And I am going to settle this now. Cannibal Corpse isn't the most talented band in death metal, but they deserve a lot more respect then they get. Also, they never claimed to being the best death metal band ever. They just play what they like and enjoy what they do, and that is making music.

These guys do not mean what they say. If you went around doing the stuff that Cannibal Corpse describes in their music, they would be arrested. These guys don't have serious criminal tracts. So, if they aren't doing the stuff they describe in their songs, then it is obviously made-up. Death metal is not about the lyrics. It's about the music. The vocals and lyrics are just there to add shock value, which Corpse is great at, because we got idiots reviewing the album who think this is real. Shock value has been used for awhile now, yet Cannibal Corpse has perfected it by being the first to implement the most wrong things ever to tape. Some of their album covers, most notably 1991's "Butchered At Birth" and 1992's "Tomb Of The Mutilated", were pulled off shelves and replaced by simple, white-background covers with the band name and album name in red (at least Butchered...I don't know about Tomb). The obscene song titles and even worse than obscene lyrics is the reason these guys are the top-selling death metal band ever, and also the reason they are still making albums now.

To say that these guys have no talent makes me want to slap them silly. First off, Jack Owen and Pat O'Brian are excellent guitarists. If you know anything about death metal, you would know that this stuff is very hard. Just take a look at some of the tabs from their later work. You losers who say this band has no talent could never pull this off. Bassist Alex Webster is a monster, and if you deny that, then I will destroy you. He has excellent bass-lines and amazing solos every once in a while. He is still today one of my favorite bassists. Drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz is another great death metal drummer. He has amazing double pedal work, and should definitely be looked into if you are a drummer. So, you got two great guitarists, one of the best bassists ever in metal and a monster drummer, who play extremely technical stuff at high-speeds. Chris Barnes was a good vocalist, and his replacement George Fisher is even better. You morons complain about the vocals. I think that if they tried to sing over the chaos in the background, it would sound pretty bad. Also, at least the Barnes years, the vocals were mostly incomprehensible, which is a good thing, depending on how you look at it.

But the thing that angers me the most is the people who say about fans. Come on. They say that we Corpse fans can't get laid, can't get a girlfriend, like the lyrics, and other stuff that is so stupid that I am not going to repeat it. First off, I have a steady girlfriend and I do not have a fetish to (...) to the lyrics of Cannibal Corpse. Sure, there are some fans who worship this band and are sick necropedohomobestialiacs, but that is with every band. Also, with some idiots saying that Cannibal Corpse fans are violent, angry, dumb 19 year old unemployed losers in Kreator t-shirts, I must correct that. Every Corpse fan I know is really down-to-earth, intelligent and really has an open-mind. Unlike the angsty Slipknot 666 fan who has a hemorrhage because he couldn't stay up past his bedtime. If you can't realize these points, then I have given up. Sure, most of you will contue on and on and the fight will continue, but whatever. The lyrics, as ridiculous as the song titles, can be quite disturbing and hard to digest, but are meant to be taken with a grain of salt. Come on...really. If you take a song like "I *** Blood" seriously, then I really pity your soul.

Okay, THE ALBUM REVIEW finally. While "Tomb Of The Mutilated" cannot come close with the other Barnes releases, it sure beats the hell out of the 1996-2003 years of Cannibal Corpse. The band released the highly-controversial "Butchered At Birth" a year before in 1991, (I think you could figure out what that album was about), and because of this garnered some mainstream attention with their disturbing, violent lyrics. But, instead of recycling the same gore-ridden lyrics, they added something that no band really touched before, and that was the song topics of the big "R" word. Starting with the ridiculous album cover of a male and female zombie having "fun", the song titles indicate this album is going to be one helluva ride. With over the top song lyrics and titles, Cannibal Corpse became "mainstream" through politicians, censorship programs and even Jim Carrey. While not their best, this album was important for the band, with some great, memorable riffs to keep you headbanging for a while.

The album starts off with "Hammer Smashed Face" and "I *** Blood". Both songs are fan favorites, and still their most popular live acts. Both songs have great riffs, intense drumming and even a bass solo in "Hammer...". "Addicted To (...) Skin", "Split Wide Open", and the most disturbing song ever written, "Necropaedophile", all add a ton of shock value, but these songs do not add up to really anything memorable. These are the filler songs, really just there for people to go "they really said that?". Actually, "Split Wide Open" is alright. "The Crypic Stench" is another great, lesser known song. Then, the best song title ever, "Entrails Ripped..." and so forth. Not their most memorable song, but that song title just makes you think...Next, "Post Mortal (...)" (which is sounding pretty tame compared to everything else) is next, followed by the death metal classic "Buried In The Backyard". These songs are also amazing, and cap off a pretty good album by Cannibal Corpse.

To cap this review off, this album is essential for any death metal fan or any person wanting to get into the quality death metal out there. Not for the weak, and certainly not for the people who can't take life with an open mind. The reissue, along with "Eaten Back To Life" and "Butchered At Birth", was remastered in 2002, and an added live song is at the end of each of those albums. If you own the original, then you might just want to invest in the reissue. The reissue's artwork is either tweaked a little in terms of intensity or brightness. All four original Chris Barnes albums were banned in Germany and some other places, but the ban was pulled in June 2006. There is also one single off this album, and that is "Hammer Smashed Face", which was released as an EP with two covers of Possessed and Black Sabbath.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2000
I used to hate this, and think it was the ultimate lowpoint of music in general, but well, it isn't. When I previously gave this album one star, I was not too big a fan of death metal, and I hated this band completely. Well, I am listening to much more of this stuff today, and am finally giving credit where credit is due. It's true that the lyrics on this CD are very immature and sickening (almost all the songs are about necrophilia, except for "Split Wide Open", which is about dissecting babies, and "Hammer Smashed Face", which is about, well, smashing someone's face with a hammer) and the vocals are sometimes really goofy, but this is very heavy and fairly technical music. It may not be so obvious at first, but these guys can play for sure. This isn't bad, but I'll be damned if there isn't better death metal out there. To put them above bands like Death, Carcass, Vader, or Cryptopsy is just ridiculous. As far as CC goes, I would recommend "The Bleeding" over this one by far. This is nowhere near the best death metal ever, but I suppose fans of the genre will appreciate it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2000
It annoys me to hear a bunch of fools compare this to non-death metal like bizkit n korn.They obviously arent fans of this genre so why listen to them.And as for the lyrics, when a horror movie shows killing it dosent mean they are endorsing it. It is there because of entertainment and shock value.If a person goes out and kills someone for that its because there too young or dumb to distinguish this from reality.The same applies here.I personally love the lyrics,there hilarious and a good vent for rage. The fact that they are so despised by the general public makes them more appealing to me.As for the music,its awsome.Chris has a voice deeper than the lower bowels of hell(if hell existed) and the music is tight and more brutal than ever.A must for any death metaler.I also reccomend all other CC, suffocation,cryptopsy,and incantation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2000
Cannibal Corpse is one of my all-time favorite band and this album is probably the best album done by CC. Chris Barnes sounds amazing, and the other guys are great too. The songs are brutal, the lyrics are sick, and they'll keep your head banging. I recommend this album to any death metal fans; Especially exhumed, mortician, exhumed fans
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 1998
Very energetic. I borrowed it from a friend soon after I saw C.C. perform "Hammer smashed face" in the movie "Ace Ventura, Pet Detective" The Super Heavy Sound and interesting changes in timing in this song is what captivated me and led me to become a serious fan of Cannibal Corpse. I just added this to my collection now so my buddy Dave won't have to keep asking "where's my tomb cd, dude?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2000
This is probably Cannibal Corpses best cd. It isn't as accessible as the later ones but has the best lyrics and simply grows on you like a malignant tumor. A lot of weak minded people are offended by the lyrics, c'mon people, these guys are just exploring the depths of the potential carnal nature that exists in all humans, they are expressing creativity which is more than I can say for just about all mainstream music. Not to mention its... funny. So if you are thinking about buying a Cannibal Corpse cd or any death metal cd look no further because it doesn't get much better.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2005
This is one of my favorite Cannibal Corpse albums in my collection. I bought it sometime in the summer of 1994 along with The Bleeding all on cassette. At this time, I was still getting into death metal and I had already bought Eaten Back To Life the year before but I didn't have any of the other Cannibal Corpse albums. At this time, the band's catalog was only comprised of the first 3 albums (this one included), the Hammer Smashed Face EP and the new album at the time which was The Bleeding. Anyway, I would go to the stores many times and see this album but never buy it. Than the day came and I bought it along with The Bleeding and where I got around to listening to it, I didn't like it at first. Don't get me wrong, it was a good album but it didn't have the heavines and brutality of Eaten Back To Life and Butchered At Birth but in the long run, it was no big deal. I ended up loving it and now, it's an important geme.

Now before my review, let me bring up somthing is very important. There are now 3 versions of the first 3 Cannibal Corpse albums available and one of those albums include this album. Anyway, the first versions are the originals. The second versions are re-issued and remasters with altered original artwork, altered inner artwork layout, new liner notes, lyrics and band fotos. The CD's have the same tracks as the orginals but each has an enhanced bonus track that can be played on a regular audio CD player and QuickTime CD-ROM on your computer. Now the version of this album that I will review is the original version which is this one.

Now that this possible subject of confusion has been cleared up, it's now time for my review. With this album, it is another awesome chapter for Cannibal Corpse. This album is considered the best overall album by the band in the minds of my fans, exspeciallly the old school die-hard fans. With the album, it's basically extreme, heavy, brutal death metal delivered the only way Cannibal Corpse can and the lyrics are as sick, gruesome, grotesgue, gory and outgrossing as only Chris Barnes can write them. So all in all, it's an album for the old school Cannibal Corpse fans as well as the most extremely sick, gore death metal fans. It's definitly an album that hits you like a hammer. So prepare for the damage. Some of my favorte songs here are Hammer Smashed Face, I Cum Blood, Necropedophile, The Cryptic Stench, Entrials Ripped From A Virgin's C-nt and Beyond The Cemetary. Buy this album and enter the tomb for some mutilation. Enjoy the agony.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.