Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tomorrow Never Dies
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 10, 2005
Tomorrow Never Dies was the 18th official James Bond film, and the second one starring Pierce Brosnan. This time, Bond must race to stop a media mongul from igniting World War III between the Chinese and British for the sake of media ratings.

For me at least, TND has gotten better with repeat viewings. The main criticism of this film has always been that it turns Bond into a 'run-and-gun' generic action hero and that it favours pyrotechnics and stunts over a developed plot. It's a problem all the newer Bond movies have had, but TND is where it's most obvious. Once you accept that though, there's a lot of fun to be had here. Lots of great sequences, including a parking garage chase and one on a motorcycle. Michelle Yeoh, being an action star herself, is the best of the "secret agent" Bond girls. Yeoh and her stunt team manage a fight sequence ripped from Hong Kong action movies that almost feels out of place in a western Bond film. And David Arnold's first Bond score is a sexy, classy, memorable affair that's worth buying the soundtrack for.

The DVD packs a lot in. Two audio commentaries, an isolated score track, and a multi-angle storyboard featurette. It's missing a strong making-of documentary, but packs in a generalized featurette that aired on TV and is worth watching. Tomorrow Never Dies isn't the strongest Bond film, but it's pretty action-filled romp that's worth owning for Bond fans.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2000
There are two-and-a-half versions of this DVD, and it's important to know the difference when buying.
There's the regular version and two versions of the Special Edition. All three offer an excellent print of the film itself with amazing sound. All give you the choice of letterbox or TV ratios. All have multiple language tracks and multiple language closed captioning. All give you the trailer in addition to the movie.
But the Special Editions are clearly the preferred form. There's no difference between the two Special Editions save packaging: get whichever is a) available and b) cheaper.
As with all in the Bond Special Editions, the _TND_ SE has double audio commentaries, TV advertisements, production notes, and a 45-minute documentary.
Unlike other Bond Special Editions to date, however, _TND_ adds the music video of the theme song, includes an innovative *third* audio track (consisting of only the musical score and the composer's commentary), and does a really wild thing by letting you compare actual shots to the storyboard. These last two features are innovative even for non-Bond films. I've never seen a DVD with a music-only track, and only a handful of DVDs currently have any sort of storyboarding element amongst their extra features.
With all this additional stuff, and the modest difference in price between the regular and special editions, your purchase choice is a no-brainer. Buy whichever version of _Tomorrow Never Dies_ Special Edition you can get your hands on.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2004
"Tomorrow Never Dies" is the eighteenth overall James Bond Film and the second wonderful film starring Pierce Brosnan in the lead role as James Bond. Of his first four films in that role I would definitely have to say that this one ranks up there with his first performance as Bond, James Bond. From the fast paced action sequences to the overall premise of the film, "Tomorrow Never Dies" entertains from the very first scene to last as everybody involved in the making of this film did exactly what they intended to do with a Bond film, which is making one to remember!
Performance wise, Pierce Brosnan furthers that which he started in "Goldeneye" by making the role his as he brings a darker and harsher yet capably witty tone to Bond that hadn't been seen in a Bond film since the first James Bond himself, Sean Connery. I would caveat that in that I thought Timothy Dalton accomplished that as well but as he was only allowed to do two films in the role I must be in the minority on that opinion.
As with all James Bond films, we're treated to a pair of new Bond babes in Teri Hatcher and international martial arts superstar Michelle Yeoh, both of which are incredibly beautiful and talented actresses. Although Teri Hatcher's role in this film is a very brief one, I would definitely have to say it was memorable. Michelle Yeoh's role in this film brings her right up there with James Bond himself as far as the action sequences go. It is most certainly interesting to see a Bond film turn into a Bruce Lee film in a particularly eventful sequence.
Director Roger Spottiswoode who may best be known for "Air America" or even "The 6th Day" does a great job with this film, solidifying his status as a quite capable director of action films.
The Premise:
This wonderful Bond film in reality has two great opening sequences as we're treated to the standard pre main title James Bond super action sequence which involves 007 infiltrating a Black Market auction of high tech military equipment and him stirring things up and then we're treated to a sequence in which the villain of the film is rousing things up between the British Navy and the Chinese Air Force off the coast of China which adds a wonderful dramatic element to the feel of the entire film.
What follows from there is one of the best Bond films to date as James Bond does what he does best, save the world from total disaster while getting a babe or two in the process...
I highly recommend this eighteenth Bond film to any and all fans of the series and to those who like great action films that actually have a plot as well. {ssintrepid}
Special Features:
This particular DVD is a bit threadbare when it comes to Special Features but in the end, what are these DVD's all about, the movie and it's a great one.
-8 Page Booklet Featuring Trivia, Production Notes and a Revealing Look at the Making of the Film.
-Original Theatrical Trailer
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 6, 2014
After the James Bond PG-13 revolution that began with "Licence To Kill" and continued with Pierce Brosnan's first appearance in the outstanding "Goldeneye," this episode directed by Roger Spottiswoode, takes a half a step backward. Not that there aren't some exciting sequences and some funny double entendres but the series seems to have fallen back on non-stop gunfights and ridiculous enemies.

Here the evil-doer is Elliot Carver (Jonathan Pryce), a megalomaniacal media mogul. He's bent on creating world-wide disasters so that his newspapers and non-stop news stations can get the scoop on everyone else. Evidently China has prevented him from establishing a news empire within the country, so he decides to create a potentially war-starting confrontation between China and England. He and his science nerd (Ricky Jay) have stolen some type of GPS device from the Americans. They use it to manipulate the positioning readings on a British destroyer so that it shows they are well off the coast of the Chinese mainland. In fact they are within the 12 mile territorial limit.

The Chinese air force sends a couple fighters out as a warning but the Brits insist they are not that close. All the while, Carver and his compatriots have created a stealth ship and an interesting torpedo shaped drilling device. When used against the navy ship, it sinks along with its Patriot missiles. Easy access for the bad guys and the various governments don't even know where the ship really is. Oh, and they shoot down one of the Chinese MIGs, just to really piss everybody off.

Bond is sent to investigate as Carver's new wife, Paris (Teri Hatcher) is an old flame of Bond's. She doesn't last long as she obviously can't resist 007's charms which gets her in trouble with her sugar daddy. As Bond recovers the GPS device, he gets to show off the newly improved BMW 750i. You might remember after all the promotional hype of BMW in "Goldeneye," its only appearance was a drive down an airport runway by CIA agent Jack Wade (Joe Don Baker) in a Z-3. They made up for it here in an inventive drive by 007 in the backseat, driving the car by remote control installed on his phone. There's also a terrific scene with Bond and Wai Lin (Michelle Yeoh) on a BMW motorcycle. Wai Lin is a Chinese agent trying to find out what's what herself. Yeoh adds a bit of class to the film and is an appropriate counterpart to Bond's suaveness.

So what does the PG-13 get us? Well, a bit more carnage, a bit more skin and some interesting conversation. I especially liked the scene near the beginning where Bond is taking language lessons from a Scandinavian linguist...in bed of course. On the phone with Ms. Moneypenny (Samantha Bond), she says to Bond, "You always were a cunning linguist, James." `M' (Judy Dench) walks up behind her and Moneypenny says "Don't ask." `M' replies "Don't tell." Overall this is a satisfying and entertaining James Bond film. Even with the excessive shoot out on Carver's stealth boat, some of the other scenes solidify Brosnan as an excellent James Bond.

The Blu ray disc comes with a 1080p video resolution and a 2.35:1 aspect ratio. The picture looks great. Colors are limited but look very good. I could see no problems with digital noise and no remnants of scratches or other video crud. Detail, black levels and skin tones were all excellent. The audio comes with a DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 option and it is terrific just like its predecessor. The surrounds are fully active and there is plenty to surround yourself with including missiles, jets, gunfights, car and motorcycle engines racing, helicopters, and a pretty good soundtrack by David Arnold. A modest less-than-great title song is performed by Sheryl Crow and over the closing credits k.d. lange sings "Surrender." Subtitles are available in Spanish, French, English SDH, Portuguese, German, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish. There a too many extras to list here but count on commentary tracks, an isolated music track, extended and deleted scenes, music videos, several featurettes and more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
How many times does a villainous character say to Bond or accomplice, "I'm going to kill you" and then goes on to explain his plans for ten minutes (evil MUUHAHAHAHAHAHA laugh is optional)? Oh, feels like around forty times. It's just a laughable movie after awhile.

But for those who can "see" (you know who you are), this movie is full of the "plans" of real-life villains called secret/deep state governments (like the USA, UK, China, Russia have) and their the major media corporation accomplices (Fox, CNN, ABC, NBC, BBC etc). It's all about the Hegelian Dialectic / False-Flag / Synthetic Terrorism attacks like 9/11, London, Paris, and most recently, Brussels.

Here's a few samples of dialog in case you don't believe me (basically, anything the media mogul says but a few others)...

Media Mogul: Good morning my golden retrievers [order-following dogs]. What kind of havoc shall the Carver Media Group create in the world today?
Mr Jones ("reporter"): Floods in Pakistan, riots in Paris, and a plane crash in California.
Media Mogul: Excellent. Mr Jones, are we ready to release our new software?
Mr Jones: Yes sir. As requested, it's full of bugs so people will be forced to upgrade for years. [oh no, say it isn't so.]
Media Mogul: Outstanding. Mr Wallace, call the president. Tell him if he doesn't sign the bill lowering the cable rates, we'll release the video of him with the cheerleader in the Chicago motel room. [a very real tactic of the CIA and politicians.]
Mr Wallace: Inspired sir.
Media Mogul: And after he signs the bill, release the video anyway.
Mr Wallace: Consider him slimed. [they really mean "smeared" or blackmailed but that would be too truthful.]
Media Mogul: Gentlemen and ladies, hold the presses. We have the perfect story. This just in; it seems a small crisis is brewing in the south China Sea [created by the media mogul and his cohorts/minions... "holly wood" can't mention that governments are the only ones with enough resources to accomplish these false-flag events]. I want full newspaper coverage. I want magazine stories, I want books, I want films, I want TV, I want radio, I want it on the air 24 hours a day. This is our moment. And a billion people around this planet will watch it and hear it from the Carver Media Group. There's no news like bad news.

Media Mogul: Why did I... [create a mega news propaganda mind control machine], you ask? The answer is simple. Power. And what do I expect in return? World-wide domination. Complete, utter, total, world-wide domination. [oh no, say it isn't so.]

Mad Nazi Doctor: I can kill anyone in the world from anywhere and make it look like a suicide. I am particularly good at the "celebrity overdose." [a very real tactic of the CIA and politicians.]

CIA Man: We have no interest in seeing WWIII; unless we start it. [they already have started it and are working around the clock 24/7/365 to accomplish.]

Media Mogul: Fire a shot between the British and Chinese ships. The Chinese will think the British are rattling their sabres. The British will think the Chinese are being belligerent. And the media will provide cool, "objective" [yeah, right] coverage. Let the mayhem begin. [In other words, a typical false-flag event... they create the problem, the reaction of populace is manifest, they waltz in like Bond with the solution to save the world. Hegelian Dialectic: Thesis, Antithesis, Synthesis. Problem, Reaction, Solution.]

Media Mogul: What you're about to witness is not so much a missile attack, but the launch of a new world order. [oh no, say it isn't so.]
[end of dialogs]

Wait, isn't this the reality we live in? Yes, except for the fact that anyone on the inside who opposes the deep state secret government doesn't get the girl, the yacht, the glory etc, they get put in prison or killed. There is nothing close to a 007 because the MI6/CIA/MOSSAD/KGB ARE the villains. The politicians ARE the villains. They are not your allies, friends, compatriots. They are the "Dr No's" of the world. They ARE the evil enemy of all that is good and right in the world. And, just like Dr No and the Media Mogul, they are invisible and behind the scene/curtain/veil of TV mind control. In Tomorrow Never Dies, it's only a hop and a skip to the reality we live in. All this only three years before 9/11. Probably just a coincidence. It's just "mindless entertainment." Yeah, if you're a mindless, ignorant, apathetic idiot. "Nothing to see here, move along."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon January 15, 2005
Tomorrow Never Dies, the second James Bond film to feature Pierce Brosnan as the super suave secret agent, is one of the more fun films in the long running series. In this installment, Bond finds himself at odds with a media tycoon (Jonathan Pryce) who is attempting to jump start a world war all in the name of global domination. It's a plot that doesn't seem too different from anything else offered in many of the previous Bond films, but the premise works thanks to some slam bang spectacular action scenes and the further development of Brosnan's interpretation of the character. Also on board is Desperate Housewives' Teri Hatcher as one of Bond's former lovers, and Hong Kong action star Michelle Yeoh as a very letal secret agent who Bond teams up with. Handled with exceptional flair by director Roger Spottiswoode (The 6th Day), Tomorrow Never Dies may not be the best Bond film, but it's still one of the most enjoyable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
Don't get me wrong. I like this Bond film but the Blu-ray isn't what it should be. First, the picture is no better than the DVD (which I also have) and, second, the soundtrack is poor. When the volume is at a good level for voices, it becomes ear-splitting in the next action scene. If you have the DVD there's no need to bother with the Blu-ray.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2002
In his second outing as 007, Pierce Brosnan ignites the screen yet again with another full-throttle adventure to take us on! The new villain, Elliot Carver is one of the most hilarious ever on a Bond adventure, his plan-create WWIII. The new Bond girl Wai Lin teams up with Brosnan to fight against Carver. Performing the title song is Sheryl Crow with K.d Lang doing a slightly different version at the end of the movie. this movie has it all:Ship attacks, motorcycle chases and total out-of-your seat fun! I have seen it 273 times and it is a Blast!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
Tomorrow Never Dies was a very amazing action movie with a great plotline and another great job by the current James Bond actor. What made it so good for myself was all the great one liner's done by Bond about the ladies he hits on, plus bonus points for the bike run ontop of the Chinese buildings. Basic plot is Bond is trying to stop a media man who is power hungry and wants to control the whole world. Another good point was some of the kill scenes the chopper, couple of the bad guys, and the best kill scene in my viewpoint was the main villian, if you have yet to see this Bond movie then buy it and see for yourself how the villian dies. I look forward to more Bond movies and the choose which one is the best actor for James Bond and which movie overall is the best movie of Bond. It will be a hard choice but I will wait until I own the whole set for all the Bond actors which off top of my head is six Bond actors, if I am wrong someone correct me with right figure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
In late 1997, expectations were sky high for "Tomorrow Never Dies" following the explosive success of "Goldeneye" two years before plus the added box office pressure of competing head-to-head with Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet's "Titanic." Although Pierce Brosnan's second 007 film confirms his confident presence as the 1990's James Bond, I would still venture that this film is the least satisfying of Brosnan's four-pack of Bonds (1995-2002). I'll be brief.

1. The Bond franchise retreads familiar ground here, as a diabolical 24-hour cable news tycoon Eliot Carver (Jonathan Pryce) attempts to initiate a war between Britain and China (a mini-World War III) simply to dominate media coverage of the imminent crisis. Between a gleeful Pryce's look-at-me-play-evil style of acting here and his constant use of a touch-pad, a terrorist stealth warship, and a slew of other clichés, "Tomorrow Never Dies," unfortunately, becomes very much a paint-by-the-numbers adventure, especially the all-too-predictable mayhem during the extended finale aboard the warship.

2. Despite their minimal chemistry together, I still liked Brosnan and Michelle Yeoh's performances, especially during their Vietnamese motorcycle chase scene handcuffed together. Yet, it struck me that maybe Yeoh had some clause in her contract demanding a specific number of fight scenes, since it seemed that every five to ten minutes Wei Lin (Yeoh) has yet another obligatory solo fight scene against a horde of opponents or one where she teams up with Bond. Again, it is a sign of paint-by-the-numbers.

3. Paris Carver (Teri Hatcher) was a weak choice as Bond's expendable ex-love interest. She does okay, but some continuity for long-time Bond fans would have been cool (i.e. bring back actress Maryam d'Abo from "The Living Daylights" to show emotional repercussions from a Bond romance we've actually seen before). Still, Brosnan's somber scene in a hotel room privately awaiting her sadistic killer's return is arguably his best of the series.

Despite these criticisms, there are still a lot of likeable, entertaining elements in "Tomorrow Never Dies" from Sheryl Crow's decent title song to reliable Desmond Llewellyn's classy presence as Q, as they seamlessly enhance the sleek, high-octane style that Pierce Brosnan provides the 007 franchise. Case in point: the remote-controlled rental car sequence involving Bond and Q is a recommended highlight, as is the subsequent demolition derby inside a German parking garage. Yet, the script's uninspired elements (including Pryce's scenery-chewing as the devilish Carver) prove a detriment too often. As long as you don't mind a pure formula adventure movie, "Tomorrow Never Dies" remains pretty good, but it should have been better.

Rating: 7/10 stars P.S. The DVD features include a collection of documentaries and trailers, but clearly the making-of-documentaries are just glossy, pre-packaged ads from the time of the film's original release.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.