Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Cubed, October 6, 2003
By 
"gigimc" (MI & DC/MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
I can't put it away... PERIOD. :))))) El Maestro covers every aspect of excellent musicianship ~ seriously, if I write at length this will become a novel... The man has range. Bulerias, rumbas, soleas, sambas, ayyy~ You must get this CD. His brilliance *was* sorely missed this year while his cousins [the rest of the Gipsy Kings] toured the US... Y'know, the magic about Tonino Baliardo isn't how perfectly he plays~ because he DOESN'T! It's his heart, his quiet spirit~ his ability to get right back and top what he did before that made your scalp tingle, forcing a "whoa..." from your lips after you catch your breath ~ brilliant...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Spanish Guitar Album, July 21, 2003
By 
Noel Honeybourne (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
I love the Spanish Guitar and music that is very down-tempo, and this album is one of my favorites. Baliardo has done an excellent job in composing soothing music for the ears of the culturally appreciative. Anyone who likes the Gipsy Kings and doesn't own this album MUST buy it (if not you're missing out big time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, November 15, 2003
By 
"icebar" (Stamford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
This is really a good piece of music. I highly recommend this one. All songs are great, but "Redemption" is a real masterpiece. I just can't get enough of it. The passion behind Tonino's guitar is the real spirit of this of this CD, with the intensity that is hard to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tonino!, April 28, 2005
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
Tonino Baliardo has put out a nice solo release from his usual stand-out work with the Gipsy Kings. If you're a Gipsy Kings fan, you'll like this album.

Tonino's album is a little different than most Gipsy King songs in that he does not really use any vocals on the songs. The guitar work is strong enough to stand on its own.

Tonino also features some vibes on a few songs, which gives it a nice Latin-jazz Cal Tjader-Charlie Byrd feeling, which I absolutely love.

Overall it's a great laid-back gipsy-flamenco guitar from one of the greatest guitarists around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master piece, February 19, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
Tonino baliardo, You're the best ... Again and again, Tonino is indulging our senses with his fantastic music, a music that will last forever! Thanks for the music Tonino

P.S. I Like Recuerdo Apasionado so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "lead guitarist of the Gipsy Kings...now soloist ~ Baliardo", March 22, 2005
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
Nonesuch Records and Warner Music Group presents "Tonino Baliardo", featuring Baliardo of the Gipsy Kings from France (lead/rhythm guitar) with some very talented musicians at his side...Laurant de Gasperis (palmas/acoustic guitar), Dominique Droin (piano), Bob Bolsadan (Hammond B3), Frank Benguigui (electric guitar), Andre` Ceccarelli (drums), Carlos Benavent (bass), Vic Emerson (organ/strings), Marc Forsett (electric guitar), Jorge "Negrito" Trasante (cajon), Rabah Khalfa (derbouka), Gerard Prevost (bass), Vincent "Turquoiz" Chavagnac (programming), Rolando Faria (voices), Rodolfo Pacheco (voices/congas/guiro), Julle Saury (bongos), Phillppe Mace (vibes), Jacynthe Jacquet (piano), Tino di Geraldo (cajon/tablas/palmas), Rodolpho Pacheco Jimenez (congas) and Tino di Geraldo (cajon/tablas/palmas)...musically woven into a fabric of rhumba and flamenca...not with standing some of the top musicians in the field of Latin, New Age and Classical genre...entire album composed by Tonino Ballardo with tender loving care...just the way it should be!

One can only summize Baliardo's techniques as expressive and yes, universal...none of this guess work of who is playing this fantastic mood flamengo setting, from the very first chords, you're hooked...you're enrolled immediately to the "Tonino Baliardo Fan Club", and you want more of the same...justification can only be the term used for the title and the following tracks of this outstanding collection...played over and over everyday on the easy listening, smooth jazz and classical radio stations...distinctive style is immediately recognizable...a mix of classical and of course flamenco...highly acceptable in all parts of the continent and world.

But several highlights come to mind ~ "RUMBA CALIENTE"..."CARAVAN ROAD"...but my personal favorite hands down is ~ "REDEMPTION", passion flows like red wine, only to leave you completely mesmirized by haunting refrains, gets under your skin and stays there for days, trust me!

Total Time: 50:00 on 11 Tracks ~ Nonesuch Records 79537 ~ (3/06/2003)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, April 9, 2010
By 
C. D. Garfield (Burton on Trent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
If , like me , you love the"Gypsy s" then you will adore this solo album from their guitarist Tonino. It is full of gypsy charm and passion from start to finish. Buy it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Excellence of Tonino Baliardo, September 14, 2007
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
This is the first CD that I purchased that featured Tonino performing solo from his Gipsy Kings brothers and cousins. While he is an integral part of the Gipsy Kings, he also shines "alone". It is a joy and privilege to listen to his beautiful compositions on this CD, and to come to realize how very unique he is as an artist. His guitar technique stands alone in my opinion; his "crispness" in the way he plays is very distinctive and very moving. As his band mates touch our hearts with what is known as deep singing, he also seems to reach in to the places that acknowlege joy, sorrow, excitement, reflection and respect for family and human relationships.

To be Gipsy is to be free, but Tonino and the Gipsy Kings have parted with much of their freedom in order to share their gifts with people from all parts of the World. Tonino can still be free in a sense while he is communicating with his guitar and with his spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, August 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
If you like the Gypsy Kings, this is a great guitar album with that type of music. Found this on Amazon, and it was a great album.........just very few vocals and lots of flamenco guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a surprisingly infectious classic, January 27, 2007
This review is from: Tonino Baliardo (Audio CD)
hands down, tonino baliardo crafted a very cohesive album in the truest sense of the word. the rhythms will leave you in awe, and give you another reason why the gipsy kings have reached the plateau they have in years past and present. buy this album immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tonino Baliardo
Tonino Baliardo by Tonino Baliardo
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.