Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tonino Baliardo
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
5 star
85%
4 star
15%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 6, 2003
I can't put it away... PERIOD. :))))) El Maestro covers every aspect of excellent musicianship ~ seriously, if I write at length this will become a novel... The man has range. Bulerias, rumbas, soleas, sambas, ayyy~ You must get this CD. His brilliance *was* sorely missed this year while his cousins [the rest of the Gipsy Kings] toured the US... Y'know, the magic about Tonino Baliardo isn't how perfectly he plays~ because he DOESN'T! It's his heart, his quiet spirit~ his ability to get right back and top what he did before that made your scalp tingle, forcing a "whoa..." from your lips after you catch your breath ~ brilliant...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2003
I love the Spanish Guitar and music that is very down-tempo, and this album is one of my favorites. Baliardo has done an excellent job in composing soothing music for the ears of the culturally appreciative. Anyone who likes the Gipsy Kings and doesn't own this album MUST buy it (if not you're missing out big time).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2003
This is really a good piece of music. I highly recommend this one. All songs are great, but "Redemption" is a real masterpiece. I just can't get enough of it. The passion behind Tonino's guitar is the real spirit of this of this CD, with the intensity that is hard to match.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 28, 2005
Tonino Baliardo has put out a nice solo release from his usual stand-out work with the Gipsy Kings. If you're a Gipsy Kings fan, you'll like this album.

Tonino's album is a little different than most Gipsy King songs in that he does not really use any vocals on the songs. The guitar work is strong enough to stand on its own.

Tonino also features some vibes on a few songs, which gives it a nice Latin-jazz Cal Tjader-Charlie Byrd feeling, which I absolutely love.

Overall it's a great laid-back gipsy-flamenco guitar from one of the greatest guitarists around.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2006
Tonino baliardo, You're the best ... Again and again, Tonino is indulging our senses with his fantastic music, a music that will last forever! Thanks for the music Tonino

P.S. I Like Recuerdo Apasionado so
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nonesuch Records and Warner Music Group presents "Tonino Baliardo", featuring Baliardo of the Gipsy Kings from France (lead/rhythm guitar) with some very talented musicians at his side...Laurant de Gasperis (palmas/acoustic guitar), Dominique Droin (piano), Bob Bolsadan (Hammond B3), Frank Benguigui (electric guitar), Andre` Ceccarelli (drums), Carlos Benavent (bass), Vic Emerson (organ/strings), Marc Forsett (electric guitar), Jorge "Negrito" Trasante (cajon), Rabah Khalfa (derbouka), Gerard Prevost (bass), Vincent "Turquoiz" Chavagnac (programming), Rolando Faria (voices), Rodolfo Pacheco (voices/congas/guiro), Julle Saury (bongos), Phillppe Mace (vibes), Jacynthe Jacquet (piano), Tino di Geraldo (cajon/tablas/palmas), Rodolpho Pacheco Jimenez (congas) and Tino di Geraldo (cajon/tablas/palmas)...musically woven into a fabric of rhumba and flamenca...not with standing some of the top musicians in the field of Latin, New Age and Classical genre...entire album composed by Tonino Ballardo with tender loving care...just the way it should be!

One can only summize Baliardo's techniques as expressive and yes, universal...none of this guess work of who is playing this fantastic mood flamengo setting, from the very first chords, you're hooked...you're enrolled immediately to the "Tonino Baliardo Fan Club", and you want more of the same...justification can only be the term used for the title and the following tracks of this outstanding collection...played over and over everyday on the easy listening, smooth jazz and classical radio stations...distinctive style is immediately recognizable...a mix of classical and of course flamenco...highly acceptable in all parts of the continent and world.

But several highlights come to mind ~ "RUMBA CALIENTE"..."CARAVAN ROAD"...but my personal favorite hands down is ~ "REDEMPTION", passion flows like red wine, only to leave you completely mesmirized by haunting refrains, gets under your skin and stays there for days, trust me!

Total Time: 50:00 on 11 Tracks ~ Nonesuch Records 79537 ~ (3/06/2003)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2007
This is the first CD that I purchased that featured Tonino performing solo from his Gipsy Kings brothers and cousins. While he is an integral part of the Gipsy Kings, he also shines "alone". It is a joy and privilege to listen to his beautiful compositions on this CD, and to come to realize how very unique he is as an artist. His guitar technique stands alone in my opinion; his "crispness" in the way he plays is very distinctive and very moving. As his band mates touch our hearts with what is known as deep singing, he also seems to reach in to the places that acknowlege joy, sorrow, excitement, reflection and respect for family and human relationships.

To be Gipsy is to be free, but Tonino and the Gipsy Kings have parted with much of their freedom in order to share their gifts with people from all parts of the World. Tonino can still be free in a sense while he is communicating with his guitar and with his spirit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2007
hands down, tonino baliardo crafted a very cohesive album in the truest sense of the word. the rhythms will leave you in awe, and give you another reason why the gipsy kings have reached the plateau they have in years past and present. buy this album immediately!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
If you like the Gypsy Kings, this is a great guitar album with that type of music. Found this on Amazon, and it was a great album.........just very few vocals and lots of flamenco guitar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2010
If , like me , you love the"Gypsy s" then you will adore this solo album from their guitarist Tonino. It is full of gypsy charm and passion from start to finish. Buy it !!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.