Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2008
I have been hooked on this series since the first book and Marliss Melton gets better with each installment. She definitely has out done herself this time. "Too Far Gone" had me hooked from the get go. The characters were introduced in the previous installment "Don't Let Go".

Ellie Stuart is a single mother of three boys and Sean Harlan is her Navy Seal landlord. Ellie and her boys were abandoned by her ex-husband and she is raising them on her own. One night, she is ambushed and the boys are kidnapped. Off course, Sean, who has grown to love her boys (and lusts after Ellie) steps into to help find the boys. Their search takes them on an action packed journey exposing corruption and making you wonder what will happen next. I could not turn the pages fast enough.

Melton also brings back characters from the previous books. Fans of the series will not be disappointed with this one. Those new to the series will want to start from the beginning. "Too Far Gone" is a well written and fast based book that will leave the reader hungering for more. The writer finds that perfect balance of romance and suspense. The only bad thing about this novel is that it ended. Can't wait for the next one!
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 11, 2008
This book is what I would call a mixture of "pros and cons". On the one hand I enjoyed several things about it, on the other hand there were some things in it that I didn't like.

Pros:
The chemistry between Sean and Ellie was very good. And I loved the banter between them, when they did banter. Sean is a likable hero, if only he wasn't a womanizer. On the other hand, here he is, in most of the book being sensitive and protective of Ellie, and risking his life to find her kids, that the reader can't help but like him.

Ellie is also a good heroine, she is strong and vulnerable, and she doesn't do foolish stuff just to prove that she is independent. I loved how she mostly followed all of Sean's instructions when they were searching for her kids.

Although the storyline isn't very original, it has the reader always interested. Also, there is a secondary love story between the villain's daughter, and an undercover FBI agent (Drake) sent to investigate her father. Now that story was wonderful, and it ended on a bitter/sweet note. I just hope that the author writes a book for those two.

Cons:
Sean was with another woman, when Ellie's kids got kidnapped. So when the relationship between Ellie and Sean started after the kidnapping, I couldn't shake the feeling as if he had cheated on her, although technically he hadn't. Plus there is the icky factor of how close the period of time was between him being with one of his girlfriends, and him being with Ellie.

I also didn't like that h/h got intimate while Ellie's boys were missing. Now I can understand the first time, it just fit with the plot. But the second time was just gratuitous, and unnecessary - instead they should have just cuddled.

Last but not least, it took Sean so long to finally realize that, "Gee since I'm risking my life for this woman and her kids, and since I almost died in the quest to protect her and find her kids, I must be in love with her". He should have realized it earlier in the book.

In conclusion: It was an entertaining read despite the flaws, but it could have been very good, had it been written a little differently.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2008
Since her worthless husband walked out on her and their children, Ellie Stuart's life has been slowly but surely getting better. Even though she's attracted to her landlord, Navy SEAL Sean Harlan, she knows that he's the wrong type of man for her.

Sean has been watching Ellie since he met her but knows that he's not the kind of guy for a single mother no matter how great he thinks her boys are. But when her sons are forcibly kidnapped from her, Sean is there to help her fight the mysterious organization behind the kidnapping. Circumstances allow the passion between Sean and Ellie to explode but can they find a way to make it last forever and become a family?

Too Far Gone goes from zero to 60 in about 3 chapters and never slows down after that! Marliss Melton has it all! Passion, action and emotional intensity are all seamlessly woven together in a story that literally kept me up all night unable to stop reading. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Melissa
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 18, 2008
A teen pregnancy and marriage to her high school sweetheart turns out to be a horrible mistake for Ellie Stuart. Broke and divorced, she relocates to Virginia and tries to make a new life with her three sons. But a dark and sinister civic organization known as the Centurions has other ideas and kidnaps the boys only for the authorities to think that Ellie simply had enough and killed them. SEAL sniper Sean Harlan knows she wouldn't harm them; he's her landlord and is attracted to her but considers her hands off since he doesn't date women with children. He takes some leave to help her find her kids only to be embroiled in the investigation since the Centurions need a fall guy. The closer they get to the truth, the guiltier Sean looks to the Feds thanks to the Centurions' planted evidence.

Melton's latest SEAL story has all the action-packed romance readers come to expect from her. She also manages to weave characters from her other novels in the series into the storyline without it seeming forced, as well as introducing new characters with interesting sub-plots without taking away from the central theme of the novel. This is the sixth in the series and she has had me hooked since day one!

© Tracy Vest, November 2008
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2009
This book strikes at the worst fear I can feel: the infiltration at all levels of our Justice system by a criminal organization.

Well written and very believable, TOO FAR GONE was the most terrifying of the Centurion Series from Ms. Marliss to date. IMO. You won't find graphic violence or sex but the sense of impending doom and helplessness in the face of the abuse of the justice system almost kept me from finishing it.

I don't know if I have the courage to read the next installment.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2009
This isn't an ordinary fiction novel Marliss
Melton has written about Navy SEALs. It is
an intriguing and involved corruption plot
series involving law enforcement, a town Mayor
in Georgia and the FBI in Virginia.
The mysterious Centurion organization is
a cover up for money laundering. They present
themselves as a charitable organization.

Ellie Stuart, her ex husband Carl and Sean
Harlan were introduced in "Don't let Go."
Ellie moved to Virginia with her three children.
She wanted a new start her cheating ex husband
ran off with a barmaid when she was living in
Mississippi. Ellie decided to go and see her
cousin's ex husband Soloman a Navy SEAL.
Ellie was babysitting Soloman's son when her
cousin died.

Navy SEAL Sean Harlan rented a house for
Ellie and her three sons. Things were starting
to go well for Ellie. She was getting her confidence
back. She had a job while attending college to
make a better life for herself and her children.

Ellie was headed back to college to drop off
her homework to her professor, when a van
in front of her stopped. The rear door of the
van opened and two strangers jumped out and
threw Ellie out of the car onto oncoming
traffic. The kidnappers sped off with her
car and three sons.

When Navy SEAL Harlan heard that Ellie's
three children were kidnapped, he went all
out to find them, soon learned that he
himself was one of the prime suspect. The
children were taken out of state. The FBI
got involved. Hannah Geary Lindstrom in
book two "In the Dark." There were other
characters, Vinny and Lia from her other
book "Next to Die," who played significant
roles.

I've been hooked on The Navy SEALs
series, since Marliss Melton's first book.
I liked how the author was able to weave
all the characters from her other Navy
SEALs into this plot. It made the story
line believable.

I highly recommend "Too Far Gone."
Meliss Melton 7th in the series
"Show No Fear."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2008
Marliss Melton produced another hit with her latest book in the Navy Seal- series, which is one of my favourite series.
"Too far gone" is about Ellie Stuart and Sean Harlan (both were introduced in "Don't let go", the last Seal book). Ellie and her three boys are renting a house from Sean and Ellie is doing her best to handle going to school, earning money and being a wonderful mother (and father) to her three kids. Although she is attracted to Sean she is not interested in trusting another man (her ex cheated on her and left her with her kids) and starting a new relationship. Sean is feeling a lot of attraction for Ellie too but is fighting against it because he doesn't feel that he is ready to be part of her family.
But when the unthinkable happens they have to stand together to survive. After Ellie's three sons are kidnapped right in front of her Sean is doing his best to get them back. But soon they realize that someone is doing everything to frame the murder on Sean and that they have to fight for their lifes against the mysterious Centurion organisation. The Centurions present themselve as a charity organisation but really are trying to change the society into a world ruled by men in which woman are worthless and completly oppressed.
Ellie and Sean soon realize that they can't trust anybody because the Centurions are everywhere. But thanks to the help of some Seals, the FBI, one persistent reporter and the daughter of a powerful Centurion they don't stand alone in the fight to get their lifes and Ellie's boys back.
I really enjoyed reading "Too far gone", Ellie and Sean are great together and it's nice to meet some of the "old" Seals again. I also like the conspiracy part of the book although it left me with a suspicious feeling because maybe there is more to it than I would like to.
There are also introduced some interesting new characters which I hope to read more of in a future book.
So all in all "Too far gone" is a great book and I can recommend it to all the fans of the Navy Seal- series by Marliss Melton and of course to everyone else.
So grab yourself a copy and enjoy.
S.M.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon November 4, 2008
Ten months ago in Virginia Beach, Navy SEAL sniper Sean Harlan allowed single mother Ellie Stuart and her three preadolescent boys to move into one of his rental properties. Since then he has come around a lot playing with the boys and bringing them presents. He hides his attraction to their mother as he is unsure if he should pursue his feelings or not. Just as confused is Ellie who knows the kids come first, but fears she is falling in love with her SEAL.

While driving home on a deserted back road with her three boys,, a van in front of her stops. Two men come out of the vehicle and yank Ellie from her car. They grab the three boys and leave. Ellie calls the police who assume she is responsible for their disappearance and probably killed them. Sean rejects that theory and with Ellie at his side and with the help of his connections begins to investigate. Neither are aware that the Savannah based Centurions led by powerfully connected Owen Dulay is behind the abductions; nor do they know that the FBI undercover agent Drake Donavon is investigating Dulay.

This is a terrific romantic suspense thriller in which the local police are influenced by headlines of mothers killing babies as much as by other evidence that conveniently supports Ellie killing the kids. Ellie quickly learns the hard way how ruthless and amoral her unknown adversary truly is. As a desperate mother, she with Sean leading the way tries to rescue her kids before she is indicted for murder.

Harriet Klausner
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2008
I have read and enjoyed all the previous five SEAL books and was on tenterhooks waiting for this book to arrive. The wait was definitely worth it!!! I was hooked right from the first book Forget Me Not, but with this book Marliss Melton has definitely grown as an author.

When is the next one out? Can't wait!!
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Chief Perty officer Sean Harlan, Navy SEAL sniper, & Ellie Stuart's romance. Ellie has 3 sons, Chris, Caleb, & Colton. When the boys are kidnapped by their grandfather, a Centurion, Sean helps her find them. The previous 5books in this series are all Excellent!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.