Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing samples for metal musicians!
The snare and kick samples alone in this are worth $100 or more. Andy Sneap did a great job with this. This is an expansion pack, so there isn't a ton of MIDI... but again, you buy expansion packs for the different drum kit sounds and samples you get... not the midi. If you want extra midi, program it yourself, or buy the midi packs, or use the stock ones and modify those...
Published on June 9, 2012 by Virgil

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no satisfied.. drum sounds are mixed way too low....
i thought you would be able to make beats like drumkit from hell.. this is just different drum sounds, which are mixed way too low compared to drumkit from hell... I don't know what's up with this... it is not what I thought it was.
Published 9 months ago by paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing samples for metal musicians!, June 9, 2012
By 
Virgil (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
The snare and kick samples alone in this are worth $100 or more. Andy Sneap did a great job with this. This is an expansion pack, so there isn't a ton of MIDI... but again, you buy expansion packs for the different drum kit sounds and samples you get... not the midi. If you want extra midi, program it yourself, or buy the midi packs, or use the stock ones and modify those that come with EZ Drummer or Superior Drummer 2.0. I myself never use the midi that came with this... I program my own. This expansion pack puts some seriously amazing drum sounds in your hands at a VERY minimal cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Shelf, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
This is quite possibly the most well-rounded EZX that EZDrummer has to offer, so if you're reading this review, I'm going to make an assumption that: 1) You already have a home studio setup and are pretty knowledgeable about virtual instruments OR 2) You are just starting out and want an amazing drum kit to use for your recordings.

REAL ANALOG SIGNAL is the Golden Standard of studio tracking. What you get with this expansion is access to literally $10,000 worth of drum kit gear recorded in a high-end LA studio by the recording industry's best talent. Comparing that to say, a $1000 drumkit with a standard 6-mic setup in a Pro Tools equipped studio... there is a MASSIVE difference in tone. Honestly, the real reason why bands record in studios these days is mainly to get a good drum sound, because it doesn't take a rocket scientist to put an SM57 in front of a guitar speaker. However, if you're one of the two people above, you probably have one or more of the following limitations:

1) You know plenty of session-level drummers with a nice drum kit BUT they don't play Metal.
2) You know a session-level Metal drummer BUT you don't want to deal with the hassle and expense of recording his drum kit, scheduling the time for a recording studio, or dealing with his or her personality.
3) You don't know or don't even have access to any drummer, period.

If you're the kind of person that was total creative control over your music, and you want to craft the drums as you work, then EZDrummer and any EZX are the products for you. If you want an extremely versatile EZX capable of doing Pop Punk, Hard Rock, or Mainstream Heavy Metal... then METAL MACHINE is the EZX for you.

MARCH 2014 UPDATE: With the scheduled release of EZ Drummer 2 in May 2014, users will finally have the ability to mix/mash kit pieces from all EZXs. In my opinion this makes Metal Machine a MUST BUY for anyone. As another reviewer said, "the snare selection alone is worth price of admission"... it's literally $7000 worth of real life snares, courtesy of John Tempesta. The simple fact that you now have access to such renowned snares such as the Tama Bell Brass ($2500 retail) and Ludwig Black Beauty ($700 retail) makes Metal Machine one of the most value-heavy EZXs in the Toontrack lineup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best "Metal" expansion for EZ Drummer, November 1, 2013
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
Of the three metal-oriented drum expansion kits for EZ Drummer (Metalheads, Metal Machine and Drumkit From Hell), this is by far the best. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants FANTASTIC sounding drums for their hard rock or heavy metal songs.
- There are about ten different snares to choose from and most of them sound really good. You could do better (I think the Nashville kit has a great snare) but these are WAY better than DFH Snares.
- The toms blow all of the other expansions out of the water. They were one of the first things I noticed when trying out this expansion. This kit has by far the best sounding toms out of all of the EZX.
- The Kicks are really nice, way better then Metalheads.
- The cymbals sound great if you want a more scaled back sound, but I think if you want really in-your-face, awesome metal cymbals, I recommend DFH. However, these cymbals are still very nice.

Bottom line, if you are trying to decide which metal EZX you want, get this one. Metalheads doesn't hold a candle, and DFH has nice cymbals but the snare is awful and the kick/toms are mediocre.

For the best sounding and most versatile rock/metal EZX I highly recommend Metal Machine to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, July 13, 2012
By 
Geoffrey Lowe (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
Not totally into metal, but these loops and kits are astounding.
I will use these on a whole series of recordings.
Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metal to the masses, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
Great product but downloading took a long time. Well worth it, though. Overwelmed with the amount of drum choices and sounds. Gone above and beyond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice sounding drums, easy interface, good deal when it's on sale, August 17, 2013
By 
Julian Borrowdale (Sacramento, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
lots of drums, but unless you're into modern hardcore, deathcore, grindcore or whatever, you might not use the chinas and tiny splash cymbals that much. Mostly I was disappointed in the lack of grooves, especially compared with the stock set of easy drummer, but then, I wasn't buying it for that. If you just do hard rock or good old 80s and 90s metal, you get your double bass, 3 rack toms, two floor toms and 9 cymbals plus your hi-hat and ride. EZD is a bit limited - no learning your drums, limited control in the UI over mic bleed, but then the price is good compared to Superior Drummer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smash them skins!, May 27, 2013
By 
Sloan (Cleveland, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
I still find EZ Drummer my go to solution for quick demos or getting down song ideas fast. These are some of the best sounds I've heard from EZ Drummer and I'm really digging this EZX. Worth every penny. I do have to mention I don't really like any of the included grooves, but they might work for some people. Overall, this is probably one of the best EZX's yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no satisfied.. drum sounds are mixed way too low...., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
i thought you would be able to make beats like drumkit from hell.. this is just different drum sounds, which are mixed way too low compared to drumkit from hell... I don't know what's up with this... it is not what I thought it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limited, March 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toontrack Metal Machine EZX (DVD-ROM)
I thought it would be some basic drum beats with a few of Tempesta's signatures in the mix. It's just a few songs with all Tempesta's drum beats. For jamming, it's fun, for creating, it's not good at all. you have to manipulate the beats way too much to make them your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toontrack Metal Machine EZX
Toontrack Metal Machine EZX by Toontrack (Mac OS X, Windows XP)
$89.99 $39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.