Start reading Tooter Pepperday: A Tooter Tale (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Tooter Pepperday: A Tooter Tale (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) [Kindle Edition]

Jerry Spinelli
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $3.99
Kindle Price: $3.79
You Save: $0.20 (5%)
Sold by: Random House LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $3.79  
Hardcover --  
Paperback $3.99  
Unknown Binding --  
Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Book Description

The Pepperday family is moving to Aunt Sally’s farm. Mr. Pepperday, Mrs. Pepperday, and Chuckie Pepperday are happy as hogs in slop. But Tooter Pepperday is not. There’s no cable TV, no playground, and she’s gone three days without pizza! What does a girl have to do to show her family she’ll never get used to life on the farm?
“Tooter is a real-life, plucky, resourceful heroine . . . in a good sound story that has a lot to say about the choices we make and the impact they have.”—Booklist
“Tooter Pepperday . . . is sure to bring on the chuckles and the giggles.”
School Library Journal
Jerry Spinelli is the author of the Newbery Award–winning Maniac Magee, as well as many other titles, including Stargirl and his autobiography, Knots in My Yo-Yo String. The author lives in Pennsylvania.


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Gr. 3^-5. On the day her family moves to Aunt Sally's farm, Tooter handcuffs herself to the bathroom sink. How will she exist without fast food and pizza delivery? She thinks farm life stinks, literally and figuratively. Sabotage is her style, and she doesn't change her attitude until she's given an egg to incubate. Not surprisingly, the chick hatches and Tooter comes to love the farm, but along the way, there are enough farm jokes and silly scenes (Tooter steps in goat poop) to keep readers turning the pages. It's a bit like Ramona meeting Ma and Pa Kettle. Mary Harris Veeder

From the Inside Flap

Illustrated in black-and-white. Tooter was your average suburban kid, until her parents made her move to Aunt Sally's farm.  It's not just that the pizzeria won't deliver--the vegetables on her plate were grown in a pile of compost, and everything smells like goat poop!  But spunky Tooter has big plans for getting even--sabotage!  

Product Details

  • File Size: 5794 KB
  • Print Length: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (April 24, 2013)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BO4GT6A
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #398,821 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
(7)
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A surprising disappointment by Jerry Spinelli August 11, 2009
Format:Paperback
When I started to read this book, I thought Tooter Pepperday was going to be another great character in the tradition of Ramona, Junie, and Clementine, all of whom I've grown to love reading about. But what draws readers to these characters is that they have redeeming qualities, and despite their foibles, they are likeable and have good hearts. They're what we would call "sympathetic characters."

I really did not find Tooter Pepperday to be a very sympathetic character and did not connect well with her. Tooter is very negative throughout most of the book, which the reader could kind of understand, with her having to leave everything she loves about her home in the city to move with her family to the country and live on her aunt's farm. However, Spinelli fails to make us empathize with her frustrations, just portraying her as angry, manipulative, and rude. Examples - handcuffing herself to the plumbing to keep from moving, telling her parents "You're going to regret this" after they remove her, giving her parents the silent treatment, insulting her aunt's farm, yelling that her brother is a brat, talking back to her parents, running away until intercepted by a neighbor, and hiding under her bed until her parents are frantic about their missing daughter. The parents don't seem very skilled at dealing with her either (very little authority), with her father readily admitting how much the silent treatment bothers him. Even in the illustrations, Tooter is scowling in almost every one

With Ramona, Junie, and Clementine, we are exposed to their inner conflict, seeing that their "misbehavior" is often caused by their frustration, fear, or misunderstanding of a situation. They're likeable characters who care about those around them and generally try to be respectful to others.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Day for Tooter! March 29, 2001
A Kid's Review
Format:Library Binding
Have you ever wanted to run away from home? Well, Tooter does - she hates the smell on the farm and will do anything to get away! Tooter won't talk to anybody because she doesn't want to live on Aunt Sally's farm. Aunt Sally likes the silent treatment, but it drives dad crrrraaaaazzzzy! Tooter thinks she's going to croak because there isn't any McDonald's.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book June 30, 2004
A Kid's Review
Format:Library Binding
This is a very good book...err...it was when I was five...now I read it again and it's more than a little bland but I definitly recommend it along with the Junie B. Jones books for the littler kids. ;-)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good example June 24, 2009
By Sandy
Format:Paperback
I think it's a funny book, but my intent of reading the book was to put it in our school library, and I don't dare do that. Tooter starts out by handcuffing herself down so that she doesn't have to move with her family to her aunt's farm. Her dad lacks the parental authority to make her behave, but finally her mother wins by tickling her under the armpit. Then Tooter gives them the silent treatment. Fortunately her family ends up winning when she accidentally blurts out a rebuttal to her brother. Although these incidents are hilarious, the way they are presented makes it look like Tooter is in control of two weak parents. I just want to step in!

Once they are at the farm, Tooter continues to be defiant to authority. She refuses to "watch over" the egg that they are trying to hatch. She treats her parents disrespectfully and they just let it go. Eventually, the "new" Tooter that is starting to love the farm wins over the "old" Tooter, and that's how the book ends...a new Tooter. That part's OK: it's the first half that bugs me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Growing up, Jerry Spinelli was really serious about baseball. He played for the Green Sox Little League team in his hometown of Norristown, Pennsylvania, and dreamed of one day playing for the major leagues, preferably as shortstop for the New York Yankees.

One night during high school, Spinelli watched the football team win an exciting game against one of the best teams in the country. While everyone else rode about town tooting horns in celebration, Spinelli went home and wrote "Goal to Go," a poem about the game's defining moment, a goal-line stand. His father submitted the poem to the Norristown Times-Herald and it was featured in the middle of the sports page a few days later. He then traded in his baseball bat for a pencil, because he knew that he wanted to become a writer.

After graduating from Gettysburg College with an English degree, Spinelli worked full time as a magazine editor. Every day on his lunch hour, he would close his office door and craft novels on yellow magazine copy paper. He wrote four adult novels in 12 years of lunchtime writing, but none of these were accepted for publication. When he submitted a fifth novel about a 13-year-old boy, adult publishers once again rejected his work, but children's publishers embraced it. Spinelli feels that he accidentally became an author of children's books.

Spinelli's hilarious books entertain both children and young adults. Readers see his life in his autobiography Knots in My Yo-Yo String, as well as in his fiction. Crash came out of his desire to include the beloved Penn Relays of his home state of Pennsylvania in a book, while Maniac Magee is set in a fictional town based on his own hometown.

When asked if he does research for his writing, Spinelli says: "The answer is yes and no. No, in the sense that I seldom plow through books at the library to gather material. Yes, in the sense that the first 15 years of my life turned out to be one big research project. I thought I was simply growing up in Norristown, Pennsylvania; looking back now I can see that I was also gathering material that would one day find its way into my books."

On inspiration, the author says: "Ideas come from ordinary, everyday life. And from imagination. And from feelings. And from memories. Memories of dust in my sneakers and humming whitewalls down a hill called Monkey."

Spinelli lives with his wife and fellow writer, Eileen, in West Chester, Pennsylvania. While they write in separate rooms of the house, the couple edits and celebrates one another's work. Their six children have given Jerry Spinelli a plethora of clever material for his writing.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category