Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.99
  • Save: $3.58 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Details
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Top 100 Horror Movies has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Acceptable Condition. UNUSED COPY!!! Pages loose from bindind. SHIPS IMMEDIATELY!!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Top 100 Horror Movies Paperback – November 9, 2010

4.3 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$21.41
$21.41 $4.09

Anna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War - perfect for readers of "The Book Thief". Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for Teen and Young Adult readers
$21.41 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Top 100 Horror Movies
  • +
  • Top 100 Fantasy Movies
  • +
  • Top 100 Sci-Fi Movies
Total price: $62.45
Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: IDW PUBLISHING (November 9, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1600107079
  • ISBN-13: 978-1600107078
  • Product Dimensions: 0.5 x 8.5 x 11 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #326,261 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Gary Gerani is a screenwriter, author, noted film and TV historian, and children's product developer. He is best known for his contribution as co-writer of the Stan Winston-directed horror classic "Pumpkinhead," and his groundbreaking 1977 nonfiction book "Fantastic Television." Over the years he's created various comic books and a record number of trading card sets, working for the famous Topps Company. His graphic novels include "Dinosaurs Attack!" (inspired by his own Topps cards) and "Bram Stoker's Death Ship," an untold story of the Dracula legend. He also has his own publishing unit, Fantastic Press, in partnership with the popular comic book company IDW.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
If you're a long-time horror film fan (like me) you're going to love Gary Gerani's new book, TOP 100 HORROR MOVIES. Who among us has not constructed our own top 10, top 50 or top 100 favorite horror film list over the years? The immediate temptation upon holding this book in your hands is to thumb through it immediately like any other profusely illustrated new book. STOP! DON'T DO IT! You'll instantly be mired in moving from title to title, agreeing here and perhaps even hating a choice there. To properly savor this wonderful fun read, set it aside for a time when you have bracketed at least an hour to start it. It's the kind of book that is best enjoyed after the wife and/or kids are in bed for the night. Turn off the TV; resist the further temptation of having a DVD film on in the background, even one you're overly familiar with. Make sure you have your favorite beverage and (non-greasy) snack at hand. Then you're ready to begin. Approach it like you would a good novel from page one onward. Each turn of the page will bring you to an old friend, or perhaps a film you've heard of but have never seen or a choice you simply can't believe has been included where it is (or even in the book itself!). But that's the real pleasure isn't it? Gerani is a long-time film historian, a man who grew up in the Fifties and saw many of these films as they were released, before their individual uniqueness was compromised by remakes and copycats and by the end of the book you'll realize that you've spent your time in the presence of a real genre film fan. He expectedly presents the important particulars about each movie before moving on to discuss why he's chosen it for inclusion.Read more ›
Comment 10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A tremendously entertaining "List" of horror classics that not only offers fun and insightful commentary for each of the "must-watch" 100, but also serves as a handy guide for any horror buff on their next trip to the DVD store. Gerani has enough controversial opinions to spark debate (HORROR OF DRACULA is that high on the list?! DAWN OF THE DEAD didn't make the cut?! CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF beats THE WOLFMAN?!) but his reasoning is always interesting and thorough and his breezy writing style keeps the pages turning, the book itself generating almost as much suspense -- what's next on the List? -- as the films themselves.
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Ever since THE BOOK OF LISTS was published back in the 1970's America seems to be in love with lists: shopping lists, laundry lists, and of course, "Best of" lists. They are the grist for the water cooler discussions, coffee house confabs, debates with friends...or enemies for that matter, but they always stimulate and create discourse on whatever topic is at hand. Well GARY GERANI has created a book which Horror fans can have a ball with in his TOP 100 HORROR FILMS. For starters, it has a fun graphic style loaded with great and sometimes rare photos along with poster art from each film, which is just plain cool!

But it is Gerani's friendly intelligent and articulate style which makes this book fun to read from cover to cover. I especially enjoyed his "also rans;" the titles that did not quite make the top 100 which still have merit and value. Like some of my pals, I don't always agree with the rankings, but I can't really attack Gerani's choices and ultimately his reasons for choosing these films. They are his choices after all. For those who think differently maybe you can get your faves between two covers in a future edition, but in the meantime you will have a swell time reading and absorbing the 100 as written by this insightful and personable writer. Superb cover art painted by movie poster illustrator: STEVE CHORNEY.

By the way, Gerani participates in the commentaries assembled for THRILLER: The Complete Series on DVD, as well as THE TWILIGHT ZONE on Blu Ray. His trademark friendly style makes watching those old series into a new and not at all guilty...pleasure!
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book has EVERYTHING you want to know about horror films, down to the running time of each film and aspect ratio (which is a BIG deal to serious film fanatics). It's like a textbook on the subject of scary movies, I was very surprised to find that such a detailed book was done by one single author/film scholar, how one man could have such detailed expertise on such a vast subject is utterly unfound! Mr. Gerani should take his show on the road and teach a master class on the subject of horror films, I would seriously pay to hear him lecture on this subject!!!
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Authors who dare to rank ANY type of film take their life in their own hands. Woe be it that they fail to list someone's most favored flick in their compendium. Gary Gerani is the latest author to attempt a 'Top 100 horror films' book and the result is an appealing, well-illustrated guide to those wonderful flicks designed to scare the livin' hell out of all us moviegoers!

Author/screenwriter Gerani covers the films in reverse order. Number 100 is 1970's HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS, #1 being...well, read the book and find out! Each film usually receives a two-page spread with production specs, plot summary and a concluding 'Why It's Important' section. TOP 100 HORROR MOVIES is chock-full of photographs, each film being illustrated with four-eight b&w and/or color photographs including movies posters. Visually Gerani's book is a very pleasing package; eye candy for horror buffs.

In terms of the actual films covered, most of the usual suspects are included - PHANTOM OF THE OPERA, DRACULA, FRANKENSTEIN, ROSEMARY'S BABY, SAW, SUSPIRIA, EVIL DEAD, CURSE OF FRANKENSTEIN, THE SHINING, HELLRAISER, RE-ANIMATOR, ISLAND OF LOST SOULS, NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD, HOUSE OF WAX, CARRIE, NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, FREAKS, AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON, CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF, HOUSE OF USHER, HALLOWEEN, THE EXORCIST, THE WOLF MAN, etc. Several of the inclusions - HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME KING KONG, etc. - are questionable in my mind. Likewise, there's a couple flicks missing but, what the heck, it's Gerani's book and he's entitled to his opinion.

Though I'm not a dyed-in-the-wool horror buff, I've enjoyed many of the films found in TOP 100 HORROR MOVIES. Within its 196 pages, Gerani and Fantastic Press have produced an informative, nicely-illustrated and appealing tribute to some true cinematic classics. Recommended.

******
An even better if slightly older - 2007 - book is Aaron Christensen's HORROR 101.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: filmmaker gifts, haunting of the innocent, traveling the french countryside