Torched and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$11.39
Qty:1
  • List Price: $11.99
  • Save: $0.60 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Torched Paperback – September 8, 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.39
$11.39 $12.53


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 376 pages
  • Publisher: Andrea Lynn Colt (September 8, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1939108004
  • ISBN-13: 978-1939108005
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,117,257 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"With its well-developed, funny, and engaging characters, surprisingly sweet romance, and a mystery that doesn't wrap up until the very end, Torched is a book that delivers the much-loved elements of a great YA story." ~ The Bookish Babes


"... fun and sexy and perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally's Catching Jordan/Hundred Oaks series. This sweet contemporary romance is being hailed across the blogosphere and with good reason."  ~ The Starry-Eyed Revue


"It was fun, it had twists, turns and two characters that were just sizzling with chemistry!" ~ Danny at Bewitched Bookworms

About the Author

Andrea Colt grew up reading and squabbling with her twin. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia with her fiancé, a fridge full of cheese, and two muses in feline form. 
 
Visit andreacolt.com to get to know her better, get swag and read free excerpts.

More About the Author

Andrea Colt grew up reading, and squabbling with her twin. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia with her fiancé, a fridge full of cheese, and two muses in feline form.

Visit www.andreacolt.com to get to know her better. On twitter as @andrea_colt.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
13
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 40 customer reviews
I had fun reading this book.
The Autumn Review
The plot was a fun mystery, but what I loved most about this book was the characters and the fun, witty dialogue between them.
Lili
I picked it up and read it in one sitting, I read until one in the morning to finish!
Heidi

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I was asked by the author to read and review this book. Boy, am I glad she sent me a copy! I wholeheartedly give this book a full five stars, no question.

Torched by Andrea Lynn Colt is a YA contemporary novel that I stayed up all night reading (in PDF on the computer no less, which I've NEVER done) because it was so riveting. The book stars Rose, a mean girl in her prime, head cheerleader extraordinaire, who seems to have the perfect life-- the perfect best friend, the perfect boyfriend, the perfect car-- you get the picture. Senior year seems like it is going to be the best ever. The only thing marring its perfection is her prank war with her boyfriend Ryan's best friend, Paxton. Then someone torches Ryan's family boat, and all clues point to Rose. Suddenly, her perfect life isn't so perfect anymore, and she struggles with herself to see the person she has truly become over the past few years as well as to find out who committed the crime and set her up.

I absolutely adored this book. The pacing was terrific, it was well written with a lot of style and wit. As you can tell from above, I devoured it from cover to cover, even though I still didn't have a comfortable reading format, which says a lot about the book. The characters were terrific, and Rose while not a pleasant character has redeemability, which is essential for the plot. Paxton smoulders in the background, and other characters end up delightfully three dimensional-- something I absolutely loved.

Overall, I was incredibly impressed with this first novel of Colt's and I'll be following her career closely from here on out. Everyone should read this book!
28 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ray Wenderlich on September 14, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Everything's going great for Rose Whitfield - she has a ton of friends in school, she's the head cheerleader, and she's dating the cutest guy in school.

But then everything changes one morning, when she wakes up to to police banging on her door! Apparently somebody's torched her boyfriend's parent's boat - and framed her for it! Now not only is she in trouble with the law, but her boyfriend no longer trusts her, and her best friend hates her!

And the worst part is Rose knows exactly who did it - her arch-nemesis, Paxton. The two have never gotten along, and have played pranks on each other years after year - except this one has gone too far.

I don't want to give any more of the plot away as I don't want to spoil the surprises - but I can say that this was an amazingly fun, well written, and romantic book! It has some great plot twists and the characters really develop over the course of the story.

Also, there's an extremely romantic ending - I have to admit, it even made me tear up a bit at the end (and I'm a guy!) :]
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jill on June 25, 2013
Format: Paperback
I positively adored this book. At first I was a little put off, since the main character Rose is a preppy cheerleader. Personally, I hated that type of girl in high school, and I thought it would disconnect me from the novel. I'm so glad that I was wrong, and that I gave this book a chance.

+Starting with the cover, this book has it going on. I love the design and the teal coloring, since it's my favorite color. It's what drew my attention in.

+Paxton. I. Love. Paxton. He has officially been added to the fictional boyfriend list on my blog. He may pretend to be cool with his quarterback status, but he's a little nerd at heart. I love my boys muscular, funny, and able to quote Spock. I know Rose is the lead, but Paxton was my favorite character within this book.

+The intensity in this book is through the roof. There are so many emotions happening at once that it's like an awful roller coaster ride of feels. I was furious when no one would believe her, heartbroken when her best friend shunned her, giddy and sexually frustrated on her behalf when she feels kisses get a little bit heated. Emotions are hard to perfect, but Torched accomplishes it.

+Honestly, I wasn't sure who did it. Normally, my problem with mysteries is that I catch on rather quickly and then find myself twiddling my thumb for the next 200 pages. Pleasantly enough, that wasn't the case for Torched. I changed my guess about half a dozen times in uncertainty, only to find out that it was one of my first guesses. It drove me crazy, not knowing, and that was my reason for flipping the pages of this novel so quickly.

This book is a sizzling, arson-y five stars. This book is perfectly balanced parts of mystery, romance, and humor.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By The Autumn Review on December 28, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
What a fun read! Seriously. I had fun reading this book. It has a little bit of romance, a little bit of mystery, and really sends a good message.

Rose was a bit snobby. She had a pretty good life; she's popular, and has a great boyfriend. One night, everything changes. She gets arrested for arson, but she's being framed. To top it off, it appears that her loving boyfriend has cheated on her. Could her life get worse? Yes. It could. Her best friend turns her back on her and her parents are less than supportive. What starts off as a perfect fairy tale life, ends up being a train wreck with several life lessons.

Rose learns not only who her true friends are, but sees her parents in a different light. I have to say that her parents really ticked me off. Her dad was so focused on pleasing her mom, rather than helping his daughter though a major crisis. Then, her best friend really made me mad too. If it were me, I don't know if I could have moved past that betrayal. Rose also learns that her behavior in the past was less than stellar. She wants to turn a new leaf and not treat people the way she used to. I admired that and felt that it was a good message. Showed growth in her character. In the light of all this turmoil though is Paxton.

Paxton was, at one time, her best friend, but has since become an enemy. They've played pranks on each other for years. Rose suspects that Paxton is the one who has set her up, but he ends up helping her find the real arsonist. I really really loved Paxton.

The story kept me on my toes. I had so many different theories about "who done it" the whole time. I had a list in my head of all the suspects, but one kept coming up in my mind. Only because it's usually someone you least expect. Was I right?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search