Customer Reviews


1,085 Reviews
5 star:
 (925)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benny Finally Enters the Story
Benny, the vampire that Dean escaped Purgatory with finally re-enters the story after being introduced in the first episode. Benny is on the track of vengeance and is hunting his maker when he takes on too many other vampires in a fight. He calls Dean for aid and assistance and as Dean is both loyal to Benny and things are still tense between Sam and Dean, he goes to...
Published 21 months ago by Anastasia McPherson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the writing and atmosphere on this show has dropped considerably.
Gone are the days of high intensity, atmospheric Supernatural. This show was once exemplary for its adherence to actual occultism and paranormal experience, it had the dark terror and horror feeling of the Lionsgate Texas Chainsaw Masacre, and a hilarious sense of humor. Now it has more in common with "Grimm" (one of its more awful copycats) than it ever should...
Published 9 months ago by Ausar


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benny Finally Enters the Story, November 1, 2012
Benny, the vampire that Dean escaped Purgatory with finally re-enters the story after being introduced in the first episode. Benny is on the track of vengeance and is hunting his maker when he takes on too many other vampires in a fight. He calls Dean for aid and assistance and as Dean is both loyal to Benny and things are still tense between Sam and Dean, he goes to Benny's assistance giving Sam the minimum of explanation.

What follows is a story of cunning, revenge, love and loss with very little redemption - and it is an excellent story indeed. I am so impressed with the new season of Supernatural. I read recently that the creators are hoping to tell their story over ten seasons and if the show continues at this new level of quality I will be watching with renewed passion. Supernatural is a real winner this season. Catch up on all the episodes.

A final note, the actor who plays Benny plays him with a laconic, creepy, sexual appeal and it really adds to the interest of the character. Again, Supernatural has improved this season in leaps and bounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set Up to the Season and Reset to the Series, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Review contains light spoilers.

After some of the missteps of the last couple of season of Supernatural, I had my worries about what a new season would bring, but if the rest of Season 8 lives up to the premier, my worries will have been in vain. I loved the opening and the set-up of the season long arcs and the introduction of new characters.

When we left Sam and Dean at the end of Season 7, Dean was in Purgatory and Cas had just disappeared, Kevin, the new prophet had been kidnapped by the always delightful Crowley, Bobby's soul had been set free in death and Sam was left all alone to find Dean, save Kevin and fight the Leviathons. It turns out that Sam did none of those things, a character choice that is sure to be controversial but that has some roots in past behavior and plots. Dean it seems may have been a very bad boy in Purgatory, a place he nicknamed Pure, no doubt because of the purity of the intent to survive that is necessary. It seems that in Purgatory, upon the disappearance of Cas, Dean teamed with a sexy, Southern vampire named Benny. Cas is dead or close enough to it to make no difference according to Dean and this forms the first mystery. Just what did happen to Cas and how did Dean get out of Pure? The viewer gets tantalizing glimpses of Dean and Benny's time in Purgatory via flashback.

Kevin has grown a lot in the last year mostly because necessity is the mother of invention and desperation is the father of survival. Kevin was kidnapped by Crowley and shown another tablet to translate. How he escaped Crowley and begged Sam for help is also shown in flashback.

Women, as always fare badly in the Supernatural universe with one death and one desertion in the first episode alone, but this seems to be the norm for Supernatural. Geekboys have no idea how to write realistic women or realistic relationships with women whether romantic or platonic, they can only do fantasy wish fulfillment (Dean's overwhemlming number of notches on his belt) or idealization of dead women (mom, Jessica, Meg, Jo, etc. etc. etc, the list is far too long) but idealization of dead women was good enough for Edgar Allen Poe, arguably one of the first nerd writers of the supernatural and fantastic so I suppose the writers are in good company here.

All in all a great set-up to the season, including the character controversy and I look forward to see where the writers are going to take it.

One last footnote, the Leviathan, those monsters whose weakness is a Victorian bug killer, are around but don't seem like they will be a focus for the season. Supernatural fans should check this out with no worries and newbies should start with the first season and catch-up. Recommended to fans of sci-fi and urban fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, you bastards, July 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay, I started watching this show because it was about two guys, in a car, killing the kinds of monsters that made me unable to watch horror films. And it was good, and therapeutic, because at the end of each episode, the scary-scary things were DEAD.

Then they brought a certain seraph into the cast and I was hook-line-and-sinkered. You might say my interest was raised from Perdition too.

Season 4: angsty, angel-y goodness.
Season 5: just keeps getting better
Season 6: not sure where they're going with this, but still worth the ride
Season 7: remembering that the series is good for many more reasons than just angels and demons.

And then I was stuck and had to buy Season 8. So let's talk about that choice:

Does Season 8 drag in places? Yes.
Does it have stupid crap in it? Yes.
Does it have moments that make me punch the air at the WIN involved? Absolutely.
Is it so meta in spots that it hurts? You bet.
Do I love the new additions to the cast? You bet your sweet bippy. Felicia Day FTW, among others.

So why 4 stars? Because I got to the last episode and swore like a sailor. For the first time in 3 years, I have to find some way to keep following this show. THAT was worth $40.

(Also, the chance to see Castiel go seriously archangel now and again? Well worth the price of admission.)

Excuse me while I go obsessively re-watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The eighth season has returned to focus on the relationship of Dean and Sam just as Jeremy Carver promised it would. The story arc of the tablets is the filler episodes and it is playing out over three years. Our brothers have struggled, but finally found one another again. That's the whole point of the season. It's well worth my time and money to watch this show/dvd's and judging by the ratings and the early renewal for a ninth season, I know I'm not alone. It's not every "little" show that can knock NBC out of the top slot...and Supernatural has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show on TV!, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The two lead actors in this show, Jared Padalecki and Jenson Ackles, have the ability to do anything! The show shifts seamlessly between compellingly moving moments and laugh out loud humor due in large part to the great acting and writing on the show. A character driven dynamo, Supernatural blends action fantasy with subtle human emotion in every episode. The plots build and arc over each season, and I for one, cannot wait to see what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show is a guilty pleasure for me, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have enjoyed every season of this show. Its a guilty pleasure of mine because its fun, and offers a nice escape from the the day to day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the writing and atmosphere on this show has dropped considerably., October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 8 (DVD)
Gone are the days of high intensity, atmospheric Supernatural. This show was once exemplary for its adherence to actual occultism and paranormal experience, it had the dark terror and horror feeling of the Lionsgate Texas Chainsaw Masacre, and a hilarious sense of humor. Now it has more in common with "Grimm" (one of its more awful copycats) than it ever should. Instead of new and exciting adventures it has become almost ho hum, another predictable situation with expected solutions. Still the best show on TV which makes its loss of occult horror and adventure and unexpected and unknown situations all the harder to bare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply amazing season., May 26, 2014
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 8 (DVD)
I don't know how they do it but this show gets better every season.
An incredible story line this year.
Our beloved cast is improving by leaps and bounds in the acting dept.
The ending was beautiful but mind blowing.
And most importantly we were introduced to mega stud Benny the vampire.
The man just oozes hotness.
Awesome show, if you're new then it's a great time to jump aboard the Supernatural train.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good show, December 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I been a fan of this show since the beginning granted it has had it's jump the shark moment but it has bounce back at least three times by my count. It' almost seen like the writers take some sort of break and let the beginners take cover and half of season or ark goes to the garbage. But most is pretty good, if you never seen it Watch it from the beginning in my opinion you will not be disappointment with this show..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Gr8!, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: Season 8 (DVD)
This season has been a beautiful but soul-crushing journey. ("Loved it" would be an understatement.) The purgatory story-line was magnificent - The only let-down was that there should have been more of it! And I'm so thankful that Jeremy Carver has brought back the epic mythology of seasons 4 and 5, making it one of the best seasons.
I would give it a 1,000,000 star rating if that was possible. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Torn and Frayed
Torn and Frayed by Not Specified
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.