Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, informative picturebook, May 18, 2009
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Hardcover)
Tornadoes! is a hardcover picturebook that teaches young readers all about tornadoes - swirling funnel-shaped clouds spun by violent winds, that can cause extreme destruction when they connect with the ground. Yet most tornadoes dissipate in less than ten minutes. Tornadoes! tells young people how tornadoes come to be, how they are classified, and perhaps most important, what to do when one learns a tornado is approaching. "If you are in a car, get out immediately! Try to find a low spot, such as a ditch, to lie in. Lie flat on your stomach and cover your head with your hands." An excellent, informative picturebook with simple color illustrations, highly recommended for public library children's collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done but PLEASE Consider your child's age & maturity, August 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
My son was asked to do a project on a type of weather and he selected Tornadoes. I purchased this book for him to read for his fact finding. My son is in 2nd grade. We went through the book several times and I will say that it is very well done. It is highly informative about tornadoes, chock-full of facts, and the pictures do a good job of representing a tornado. I actually learned quite a bit myself that I was not aware of.

HOWEVER, I strongly disagree with giving this book an age classification of 6 and up as it is classified on Amazon. I would venture to say that most kids in this age range are not mature enough to handle the full details about tornadoes presented throughout this book. My son is very mature for his age and just a few weeks shy of being 8. Yet this book was just way too much for him. He actually got very teary at the end of the book and started asking me all kind of questions. Yes, I'm glad he learned a lot from the book, but I would say this is more appropriate reading material for an older child. The book is vey explanatory and even talks about how may people died in one of the worst tonadoes in history. In addition, as we happen to live in Florida and one of the states called out as having a large number of tornadoes this became a huge fear factor for him. I don't feel that the end of the story made him feel more assured in it's closure that he would be safe.

So, in a nut shell, you know your child best. This book is very well done for a child with the right age and maturity. For me, I wish I hadn't made the purchase and waited until he was a bit older. I'd venture to say like 4th or 5th grade. Keep in mind that my child normally has no problems with things that are fairly intense (like star wars movies and such) yet this book totally frightened him. Probably because it's a little too real to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tornadoes by Gail Gibbons, April 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent way to show the true force of tornadoes.Every classroom should have this book. My grandchildren enjoy this book and the beautiful pictures.Thank you, Gail Gibbons ,for a great book . G.S.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caught 4-year old's interest, July 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
My grandsons were mesmerized by the pictures in this book. Much of the information is beyond their comprehension but an introduction to tornadoes and hurricanes is necessary for those of us living in Florida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This simple, but exquisitely researched book is an excellent resource for young people to learn about tornadoes!, November 8, 2009
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Hardcover)
When cumulonimbus storm clouds gather, the lightning starts and rain or hail begin to fall you might want to be prepared just in case a tornado forms. Tornado "comes from the Spanish word tronada, meaning `thunderstorm.'" The interchange between rising warm, humid air and the cooler air in the clouds creates condensation which begins to fall down to Earth. With just the right combination a funnel cloud, or tornado can be formed. Time to take cover! If you think that there is one particular time of the year that your area experiences tornadoes you might have to rethink your theory as the author states that "tornadoes may occur at any time of the year if the weather conditions are right."

Historically there have been some whopper tornadoes, but until 1971 there was no scale with which to measure them. T. Theodore Fujita created the "Fujita Tornado Scale rating tornadoes on a scale from F0 to F5." Although it is not reasonable or possible to rank wind speeds during a tornado, the speeds can be estimated. In this exciting book you will learn about each kind of tornado, their wind speeds and the kind of damage they can create. If you take a close look at the illustrations, which span two pages for each tornado, you can readily see the destructive force of each one. You'll get to take a look at Tornado Alley, check out a couple of very destructive tornadoes, learn about meteorologists and the National Weather Service and, most important of all, learn "what to do when a tornado approaches."

This simple, but exquisitely researched book is an excellent resource for young people to learn about tornadoes. The text and the artwork combine to draw the reader through the book in an easy, nonthreatening manner. This is the perfect book for the reluctant reader because it is exciting and will pull him or her through a tornado learning experience with ease. I read this book a couple of times and my favorite part was reading about what each tornado does based on the Fujita Tornado Scale and then pore over the illustrations looking for the damage. Every child should read this book weather (or is it whether?) or not they live in tornado country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great source, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
This book is wonderful example of text structures for common core; each page is a different example for teachers to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very simply explained, December 30, 2012
By 
Esse (Sarasota, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
We purchased this book after having borrowed it from the library. My 5 year old did not want to part with this book. He is fascinated by weather, and this book does a beautiful job of explaining tornadoes in an easily understandable way. The before and after pictures give a great illustration of how each tornado on the scale affects the environment differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too old for a 3 yr old, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
The text is suitable for school aged kids but the pics are good for all ages. THere are plenty of before and after drawings to illustrate the strength of the tornado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tornado obsessed son loves this book, February 18, 2012
By 
DaDa Gary (Hewitt, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
I have a tornado obsessed son. I read this book to him today. I had his undivided attention the whole time and he was fascinated. The book is well written and organized in a manner that kept his attention and even mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must use book!, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tornadoes! (Paperback)
This book tells the story about hurricanes in a childs frame of mind. Nothing too scary or frighting. Very simple but true facts on what they are and how they work. Read it to 5 classes of 2nd graders and it sparked class discussion. Wonderful well written book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tornadoes!
Tornadoes! by Gail Gibbons (Paperback - January 4, 2010)
$7.99 $7.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.