Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Torture Chamber
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars26
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2014
Does this film make sense? No, not much. Is the acting great? Nope. Some of it is good and some of it is painfully bad. This is still a great horror movie despite the plot and the acting. Tomaselli always sets a great creepy, atmospheric mood in his films and does most of the sound and music by himself, and the score/sound scape is just as important to his films as the visual aspect is. Some people are quick to bash Dante's films, which is quite obvious from reviews on here and other sites like imdb, but Dante deserves more credit than he gets for what he does right rather than what he does wrong. He makes great atmospheric horror movies on very low budgets and makes the movies look like they have much higher budget. This movie cost around $200,000 but it looks like a million bucks went into it. Of course the film looking good is also due to the other creative people he works with who strive to do a good job. My worst complaint about this movie is the cover art. It's terrible GARBAGE! Some generic crap that the distributor slapped on it and I doubt Mr. Tomaselli even liked it. Some of the original concept art done for the film by the late Sean Hartter would have been much much better. As is the cover art is horrid and makes no sense with a tagline "Fear the dark" which also has nothing to do with the movie really. So in closing I need to say this movie will be more appreciated by fans of obscure, weird, atmospheric old European horror rather than mainstream American horror films. It's all about mood and atmosphere here, not constant gore and naked women running around for no reason, not that that's a bad thing mind you but that is what most people expect when they see a horror movie these days and when a movie like Torture Chamber comes along it leaves them baffled and they see it as pointless and stupid. Yeah, so not a bad movie and not a bad director by any means. You think it stinks? I'd like to see you do better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
Little Jimmy Morgan (Carmen LoPorto) has been disfigured by fire and appears to be demon possessed. He escapes from his cage using his powers of....fire, heat, ad whatever. There is a nearby castle, dungeons, tunnels, traps and a bunch of kids in orange jump suits who follow Jimmy and help him torture people.

The film doesn't care about chronology and haphazardly interjects flashbacks. The effects and music had the feel of an old Italian horror film and it made even less sense.

I wasn't sure what was going on, or what the picture on the DVD cover has to do with the film.

Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity. Has a lot of bad ideas for kids to get a buzz from household products.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
The acting is worse than a high school play. The entire script is very predictable & lacks charector development. If you like cheesy low budget horror movies that people get burned than you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
There's a kid. He has abusive parents and an older brother who's a priest. Did he become evil, is he possessed by a demon, or was he born that way? (Michael Myers?) It's never really made clear in this movie. Most of the story is told in flashbacks. The kid's face looks like Heath Ledger's Joker after his "accident". That's it! Maybe this is a retelling of how the Joker came into being. Not really. There's a psychiatrist trying to find this evil kid (Donald Pleasance or Michael McDowell?) The kid "recruits" other kids into his cult. The kid finds people who have wronged him in his childhood and his posse drags them to a cave to be tortured by medieval implements. He even attempts to cook his priest brother and mother on a wicked slab fireplace device. Does any one survive? Does the exorcism help? Well, if you like torture or like being tortured, rent this piece of crap and waste 90 minutes. Bad acting, direction, lighting, script writing... it's all bad. Another Amazon treasure.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
I found this to be a very refreshing horror outing. It has a slightly incoherent and loose narrative structure like a Lucio Fulci film, but manages to build menace and tension throughout. It does this only utilizing a few tools, such as evil masks and dark corridors. The plot is pretty minimal, but uses an underlying theme of catholic guilt to springboard into the possession of an evil, pyrokinetic child that takes revenge on his community at a nearby castle replete with torture devices. It's shot pretty nicely. The movie uses every possible shade of blackness and shadow to create an oppressive atmosphere. It IS atmospheric and quite moody. There is some gore, but the emphasis is mainly on this simmering dread that is reflected in the theme of fire and devil possession - as characters get burnt, feet smolder on hot floors, houses are set on fire and smoke rises from the corners. There is a disparity in acting styles. To be kind, I would say the actor who is the psychiatrist is miscast. His presence in the film somewhat takes you out of the picture when he appears. He really sticks out like a sore thumb. I wish the familial drama of the story had been fleshed out a little more. But overall, watching this made me want to check out Tomaselli's earlier features and I am interested in seeing his next one. The poster art is a TRUE DISSERVICE to the vision that was put in the film. I don't know who approved the V.O.D. art, but it is a mistake - it makes it look EXACTLY like a cheap horror movie relegated to video on demand purgatory, while what is behind the play button is much richer and rewarding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
Once again Dante Tomaselli delivers with his fantastic story and atmosphere.Horror use to be my favorite but this is tied now with it.I love his locations,characters and like I said before the atmosphere in his films are just amazing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
The story was the worst story I have ever seen, I have seen low budget films that were way better than this one.I never heard of Dante Tomaselli, now I know why. The kid looked like he ate a slice of pizza and got it all over his face. He was torturing people himself if he had so much power, He could have just killed them without touching them. I really was bored out of my mind and totally diasppointed , this director made good actors look bad, so upsetting , not sure if I will watch another one of his movies again. this one left a bad taste in my mouth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
Nice follow-up to his last film "Satan's Playground". While this one had many influences from 70s and 80s "killer kids" type of movies it really stood on it's own and was very suspenseful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
It wasn't fantastic, but seldom is any film these days. Thise being said, it was wonderfully gorey, full of intense action and held my attention beginning to end. Worth a watch if you like the HorrorGore genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
This movie really creeped me out in spite of the low budget and cheap special effects. Plenty of blood and torture, but what really makes it good is the freaky creepiness. Would love to see it remade on a big budget by a major studio that did it justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.42

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.