Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
I have the segate 500GB slim, and this thing beats it in every single aspect.
It's faster: I transferred about 100GB of photos; the Segate rate was around 60MB/s and the Toshiba rate of transfer was always more than 105MB/s...Amazing.
The Toshiba is smaller and looks more beaustiful.
I'm returning the Segate and will get 4 of these..
Well done Toshiba.
Published on December 14, 2012 by Shaer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon would not accept it back. BE AWARE of FRAUDULENT "TOSHIBA" product.
Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Disk could not be allocated, formatted. And it after 31 days of purchase! Toshiba even doesn't recognize this product! [...] BE AWARE of FRAUDULENT "TOSHIBA" product.
Published 15 months ago by a1exey1azar


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have the segate 500GB slim, and this thing beats it in every single aspect.
It's faster: I transferred about 100GB of photos; the Segate rate was around 60MB/s and the Toshiba rate of transfer was always more than 105MB/s...Amazing.
The Toshiba is smaller and looks more beaustiful.
I'm returning the Segate and will get 4 of these..
Well done Toshiba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High build quality, compact, fast; Recommended, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Canvio 500 GB Slim Portable External Hard Drive - Silver (HDTD105XS3D1) (Personal Computers)
This drive meets the basic expectations - fast, quickly recognized by Windows and Mountain Lion (Mac).

After that, it outshines the slim Seagate that carries a similar "slimness" premium in two ways.

1. The included software is decent enough and does full system backups automatically.

2. I was expecting it to be metal-lookalike plastic...you know the cheezy finish that's pretty common on the Seagate and WD slim HDDs. I was pleasantly surprised that the shell is real brushed aluminum and the Toshiba logo is not printed but rather subtly etched on the metal (the sides are plastic though). The finish is very Apple-like, though I would not have paid a premium for that by itself.

The drive also looks much better in real life than it does in Amazon's pictures. The connector is a native USB 3.0 connection on the drive side and a regular USB connector on the PC side. I'm using it with a USB 2.0 port and it seems zippy in transferring data over that slower connection. Another nice touch is a white LED the is very subtly built into the back corner corner. So reads and writes can be observed without having to stare straight at the front panel. The included cable is short at about a foot (which I prefer over a six foot cable in a ultraportable drive).

Overall, this drive exceeds my expectations and I would recommend it over the comparable Seagate slim version.

Addendum: Its build quality is closer to Japan-made electronics but it is made in China.

Addendum #2: I've used it for six months without an iota of buyers remorse or problems. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to format on your Mac - A very decent price for a portable hard drive., September 25, 2013
This is a nice external USB powered hard drive at a time of writing this review it was under $50 for 500 GB on Amazon you can get some 1 TB external hard drives for around $80 if you can afford the extra 30 that extra 500 GB will come in handy at some point in the future.

If you're a Mac user setting this hard drive up with your computer is super easy follow these steps.

1. Plug in the hard drive
2. Open up disk utility found in your applications folder inside the utilities folder
3. Next select the newly plugged in a hard drive and on the right-hand side you should see partition click on that.
4. Then inside that screen on the partition layout drop-down choose how many partitions you'd like to set up. I generally go with one partition and just use folders to organize my files.
5. Then on the right-hand side you can name the partitions and select the format. If you want your hard drive to work with your Mac for doing Time Machine backups (which I highly recommend) choose NTFS format. Sometimes it's good to make two partitions and one using "MS-DOS fat" if you might be transferring files to and from a Windows machine (I do this with my friends as many of them run Windows so I have a little partition for giving them video files and the like). The reason is Windows machines and Macs can read and write to the "MS-DOS fat" format but your files will need to be under 4 GB each as that's the maximum file size it can hold.
6. Then click apply and your Mac will create all the partitions you wanted and you're good to go.

Thanks for reading it is helpful please click the button thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Suggestions: enable write caching, get a better cable & forget about the software., September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had issues with this hard drive until I did some research, because data transfer and performance were very low, the solution is to enable write caching on it (that's the same way your internal hard drive is configured, and the reason why must people complain that external drives can't compete with internal ones, it's all about write caching), now remember once you do that you must remove the drive only thru the windows safely removal hardware option, simply pulling the USB plug will most likely result in data corruption or loss, power failure could present a problem also (but a laptop has batteries so that's unlikely to be an issue) another easy option is to turn your computer off prior to pulling the USB plug, for those that are not too knowledgeable about computers here is how you enable write caching on a hard drive (for Windows 7 [other versions of windows should be more or less the same]): go to windows explorer, right click on the drive, click "Properties", then select the "Hardware tab", select (highlight) your external hard drive, click on the "Properties" button on the lower right corner, then click the button "Change settings" located on the bottom left corner and select the "Policies" tab, select "Better performance", and then below that select "Enable write caching on the device", and click OK. Now you'll have an external hard drive that will perform just like your internal hard drive.

That takes care of the DO's now for the DON'Ts: Don't use the provided cable, It's of very low quality, get yourself another one right here on Amazon (USB 3.0 type A male to Micro USB 3.0 type B male, [remember it's fully compatible with USB 2.0]) and forget about the included software, you don't need it, It crashed my computer; that's about it, good luck & enjoy your drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, easy to travel with, no AC Adaptor - Perfect, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing product. Had it for six months now and don't have a bad thing to say about it. It travels easy - doesn't require external power, and loads fast.

My one recommendation would be to avoid the clunky software. Just use it as you would a flash drive as it works better just dragging/dropping files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This external hard drive saved me. I needed it for complete computer image backup. The software was easy to use and the drive worked exactly as advertised. I would buy a few more of these. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon would not accept it back. BE AWARE of FRAUDULENT "TOSHIBA" product., September 13, 2013
Data error (cyclic redundancy check). Disk could not be allocated, formatted. And it after 31 days of purchase! Toshiba even doesn't recognize this product! [...] BE AWARE of FRAUDULENT "TOSHIBA" product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Sep 18, 2013 10:42:21 AM PDT
Thank you for the feedback, a1exey1azar, and sorry to hear about the difficulty with the drive and finding support.

There was apparently a typo or error of some sort when this product's model info was added to support.toshiba.com so it appears there if you search on "HDTD105X53D1" (the "K" in the actual model number having been transposed to a "5".) We'll get that corrected.

That said, considering the data error you're reporting I recommend taking advantage of the 3 year warranty by returning it to Toshiba. You can initiate that process at acclaim.toshiba.com, which does recognize the correct model number of HDTD105XK3D1.

Thanks again for the feedback and sorry for the difficulty.
 
 

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Died after two weeks., September 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Canvio 500 GB Slim Portable External Hard Drive - Silver (HDTD105XS3D1) (Personal Computers)
Incredibly disappointed. Had high hopes that this would be the perfect drive for my husband to take to work, but it experienced a fatal error and died after only two weeks. Thankfully Amazon took it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Harddrive is awesome!, May 10, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Canvio 500 GB Slim Portable External Hard Drive - Silver (HDTD105XS3D1) (Personal Computers)
I absolutely love this harddrive. Works on BOTH my mac and windows machines. It has extremely fast transfer speeds as I moved 95GBs in like a couple of minutes. Basically copied my whole computer in 15 minutes. It is nice and slim and looks quite styleish.

I bought a case from case logic which fits it perfectly. The case holds the cord and device snuggly

Also, Best Buy IS CHEAP right now. only $65 bucks!!! just sayin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as easy as just plug in and save, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Canvio 500 GB Slim Portable External Hard Drive - Silver (HDTD105XS3D1) (Personal Computers)
great product, easy to use, just plug in and transfer all your data. nothing negative to say about this external hard drive, I actually just bought a second one for my wife. definitely would recommend to anyone, great investment and super cheap price....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.