Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done
I just purchased this computer for my girlfriend, and so far she loves it. I personally don't really like Windows 8 yet, especially when using the touchpad, but that is Microsoft's problem. The computer is fast, durable, and has a good sized screen. Perfect for her, as she mainly uses it for e-mail, movies, homework, and Pinterest. One thing to note is that the touchpad...
Published 20 months ago by Josh

versus
23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
1.0 out of 5 stars Great hardware, terrible operating system
I've owned four Toshiba computers, and they have been great machines. The Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 has an outstanding keyboard, a fantastic display, and it's fast and nearly silent. But I would not recommend it for people who are long-time Windows power-users.

The serious defect with this machine is Windows 8, an operating system designed for tablets and...
Published 17 months ago by Richard Reese (author of Susta...


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
I just purchased this computer for my girlfriend, and so far she loves it. I personally don't really like Windows 8 yet, especially when using the touchpad, but that is Microsoft's problem. The computer is fast, durable, and has a good sized screen. Perfect for her, as she mainly uses it for e-mail, movies, homework, and Pinterest. One thing to note is that the touchpad has quite a texture to it. Its a little awkward and doesn't have perfect touch response, and I foresee the pits collecting grime after a while. Overall, a great computer for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greeeeat, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
The battery charge is good for users who travel. The keyboard is a tad funky. It will take some getting used to. Overall good product. I would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price.. nailed my expectations, July 1, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
I'm a recent college graduate and this was laptop was meant to replace my old one as something for work and just lounging around. Overall, it ended meeting all of my expectations.

PROs:
-The screen is massive and the resolution is really nice
-The full keyboard and number pad, to include keys for screen brightness, play, rewind/forward, sound, and wifi.
-So far has run everything I've thrown at it, inluding Chrome with 15 tabs, and some games with medium-level graphics
-Boot-up is very quick
-Initial set-up is very easy and it goes from the original box to being used in about 7 minutes
-The textured feel to the laptop makes it seem much more durable.
-There's a built-in webcam. It has pretty bad quality, but a really large scope, so you can fit a lot of stuff into view.
-Windows 8, while not my favorite OS, has a lot of built in software that can be useful (think apps on your laptop) once you start to get used to it. Then again, they take up a lot of memory and could be downloaded from the internet just as easily.

CONs:
-The keyboard is a little "sticky" sometimes. I have to push my 'A' and 'C' keys a little harder than the others for them to work, making it a little noisier and slower to type.
-Since the mousepad has a textured-feel to it, it's jumpy until you start to get used to it. Easily fixed with a USB mouse.
-The placement of the external inputs is a little weird. It seems like they put everything on the sides in an effort to keep the computer a little slimmer. This is most noticeable with the power cord, which is on the left side. All of my sockets are on the right side, so it is constantly turning the computer. The USB, headphone/mic jacks, internet hardline, and external monitor inputs are all on the right side, front too, so they very easily get in the way when you have any of them hooked up.
-The CD tray feels very flimsy and strange. When you open it, it is slow to spring open, then feels very weak and is kind of hard to grip because of the curved outside.
-Software. Namely Windows 8 and Norton Security. I understand that it isn't part of the computer, but the OS is a little hard to get used to and runs a TON of background applications (including Norton) that slow down your computer A LOT at first.
-The speakers are horrible. I normally don't care about sound at all, but it is bad enough that I notice. Not as bad with movies as with music.

Bottom line: Great computer for the price. Any problems with the laptop are easily fixable (mouse, keyboard) or you get used to (Windows 8, general layout, etc.). If you're looking for a laptop just for work or for browsing the internet, this is your laptop. If you're trying to run really extensive software or games, you need something with a little more power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great low priced machine, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
I'll start by saying this is a review of the product NOT the operating system (Windows 8)

Screen- Has a really nice size and very nice resolution- It's clear and only has distortion at odd screen angles.
Sound- It lacks a bit and stays on the low side making it difficult to watch movies
Keyboard- It's amply spaced but a bit bouncy, almost like it's not installed correctly, but it is, it's just a loose fit.
USB- 3, and comfortable
Touchpad- is textured, it takes a bit of getting used to but after a little you don't notice it.
appearance- it's just a laptop, there are no pretty lights or smooth finishes, no fancy colors or bells.
Weight- Easy enough to carry around, but it's still a 5 pound laptop.

I like the machine, it's perfect for email, internet, pictures and netflix. It's low priced because it's just an entry level machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I got this for my husband, December 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
It takes a little bit getting used to windows 8. Other then that it seems okay. The feel of it and the big screen is a plus. Just wish it was easier to use. Computers fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba Satellite, January 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
Nice lap top but the audio really sucks. Sounds like someone talking into a tin can. Have to use external speakers or headphones for decent audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it !!!, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
Great product. It works wonderfully. It was easy to operate as soon as I opened it. So far I have not had any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Machine, June 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
This laptop meets my needs just fine. Nothing fancy. Windows 8 is a problem. I haven't gotten in sync with it. Fortunately, it has a Windows 7 emulator the works just like my old computer. I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect computer!!!, August 15, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
Let me start off by saying that this computer cannot be beat with the pricing. it is fast, light, and user friendly. have had it scince April and it still works really well for email, Facebook, Netflix, and web browsing. great family product. I downloaded minecraft on it and it works really well!! it might not seem like it but i can get up to 25-30 fps on medium settings. It is a great product and cant be beat. i love it and use it every single day. my only problem is that the battery is small only 3-4 hours depending on what u r doing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great hardware, terrible operating system, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 15.6-Inch Laptop (Satin Black Trax) (Personal Computers)
I've owned four Toshiba computers, and they have been great machines. The Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5340 has an outstanding keyboard, a fantastic display, and it's fast and nearly silent. But I would not recommend it for people who are long-time Windows power-users.

The serious defect with this machine is Windows 8, an operating system designed for tablets and cell phones. It's ridiculously inappropriate for use on computers, and it will seriously interfere with your productivity. A number of functions that made Windows 7 a powerful tool have been removed. The elegant, highly-evolved user interface had been seriously hobbled, for no good reason.

It's stunning that Microsoft would release a product that is such a usability bomb. It looks like a project designed by an elementary school computer club, and then accidentally approved for production with no user testing whatsoever.
The system will be less annoying to folks who are light users -- shopping, email, web surfing. But experienced folks who use computers for efficiently getting work done should stay clear of this OS in its current form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Mar 1, 2013 4:27:46 PM PST
Thanks, Richard, for the hardware kudos, and sorry to hear that you're unhappy with Windows 8. Hopefully that will change over time.

I suspect you've already done your own research but will share a few links of Windows 8 tips, in case they may be helpful:
http://redmondmag.com/articles/2013/03/01/20-windows-8-tips.aspx
http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/Windows-8-Knowledge-Base/How-can-I-make-Windows-8-seem-more-like-Windows-7/ta-p/286271
http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/Windows-8-Knowledge-Base/tkb-p/brd_win8%40tkb

Thank you for the feedback.
 
 

‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.