Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

102 of 112 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2014
Update: Feb2014 It looks like amazon has lowered the price to normal range. it used to be arouind $430+ but now the price is where it should be.
This disregard some of my comments below.

Money Saving Tip: This exact same touch notebook model cost only $370 shipped at Simply go to the site and type "NB15T" in the search box located on top right of the webpage. It's also easy to locate because Toshiba only makes 1 model of a 11.6" screen notebook therefore chance to confuse this model among the numerous options in their Satellite Series (ex: Model: C50, C70, L40, L50, L70). My advice.. buy directly from Toshiba instead.
Plus dont forget to pass on the info and thumbs up this review

My backround: Ive been fallowing the consumer notebook market for many years and i'd consider myself slightly above average in current market of portable computing and portalbe design.

1) NEW small screen/budget option for mainstream market, pushing prices down below $500 with touchscreen is brand new for the industry.

2) PORTABLITY at superlight 3.3Ibs and 11.6" touchscreen, AC Adapter's small from factor, Wireless-AC compatible. Low price compared to other 13.6" notebooks

3) Getting something this small reminded me of the exprience user gets in a Tablet consuming entertainment/information which is why TABLETS (ipad,Androids) are successful thus similar experience can be had with Windows 8.1 and buildin TouchScreen. But what separates Windows 8 mininotebooks is its ability to allow

3.1) CONTENT CREATION 1.Fully functional keybaord, 2. Windows OFFICE, 3. Powerful enough to drive apps such as Windows Office,for wider range of content creation usability compared to (behind the curve internal)technology currently offered in Tablets. Tablets(Ipads,Adroids,KindleFire) as a devices used to consume information, it deserves all the driven hype and media attention. But if you want both tools of Media Consumption and Creative/Content creation Windows8.1 touchscreen notebooks gets it right.

4) GREAT BATTERY LIFE. Due to low powered features of its internal componenets.. more details below under CPU section.

5) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160 . Useful feature here is Wireless AC that comes standard in this laptop.. This is a HUGE surprise to me as even Premium notebooks at +$1k market, still not guarantee notebooks with Wireless AC capability. WHY IS THIS BIG NEWS? The Dual band Wireless AC it gives the user uncompromising internet speed boost compared users connecting Wireless G/N routers. Especially useful for those who connects wirelessly through their workcenter/school/dorm environments where throughput-bandwidth-radiowave competition is at its peak. Imagine superhighway/freeway at 6PM congested with motorist trying to get home from work...and Imagine you using the Carpool lane! That's the benefit of Wireless AC, avoiding traffic! (note: you must upgrade your router 802.11 AC variant to access benefit described above but luckily you can continue to connect to non Wireless AC routers due to this notebook's DUAL Band feature to accept the old standard routers most people have in their homes today.) (note 2: The 802.11AC's speed is awesome but the distance range is about 50% less than the current old standard of 802.11 b/a/g/N the upside to 802.11AC routers in markets is its ability to also be Dual band capable for non WirelessAC devices)

1) CPU is quite SLOW for the price. at current CPU performance the notebook should be at low end $300 or $290.
1) No optical drive.

2) Only 4GB but only fair due to sub $400 notebook price(although upgradable up to 8GB by purchasing from Amazon(ill add the details below).

3) Its an entry level machine at doorbusting like prices. Therefore dont be one of those idiots who expects a Mercedes/BMW/Audi like horsepower performance when you are shopping in a Toyota Corolla category. In which do not expect to cut or edit video captures or run extensive photoediting software and other extensive programs alike. But for its value, realiablity, gets the job done, getting you to point A to point B, this Toyota Corolla like notebook is just what a huge segment of mainstreem consumers need for content consumption and more importantly content creation.

4) Average LCD screen quality is expected for this price point. If you're expecting Apple Macbook crystal clear screen, look else where like Asus Zenbooks, Toshiba Kira.. those premium mininotebooks with super sharp +2K screen resolution at $+1,200 price point.

_____________________________DETAILED INFO____________________________________


Memory Upgrade Part Number Description
PA5104U-1M4G Toshiba PC3-12800 DDR3L-1600MHz Memory, 4GB
PA5104U-1M8G Toshiba PC3-12800 DDR3L-1600MHz Memory, 8GB

According to's pdf documentation file regarding this product detailed specification. This unit has a single memory slot, and currently being occupied by the included 4GB PC3-12800.

Therefore our only option on upgrading the memory form 4GB to 8GB is to completly remove the factory installed 4GB and replace it with 8GB memory. In other words, buying another stick like something ive recommendd below, is highly encourage to all users no questions asked.

Avoid buying the 8GB offered by Toshiba as it will set you back $120! Instead look for deals at For example this $92 option below. Last summer fluctuatling price came as low as $60 according to's price monitoring tool, so finding lower priced option is highly possible as long as you're buying DDR3L PC3-12800 variant.

Kingston Technology 8GB 1600MHz DDR3L (PC3-12800) 1.35V Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM Intel Laptop Memory KVR16LS11/8

________________________________DETAILED PRODUCT FROM TOSH WEBSITE________________________________

Now taking a look at this notebook, I'll copy and paste the specific product information straight from the source

Processor*Intel® Celeron® Processor N2810 (2M Cache, 2.00 GHz). Graphics Engine*Intel® HD Graphics, Operating System*Windows 8

Memory and Storage
Memory*4GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory(Max 8GB) 1 Memory slot. Slot is Occupied.
Hard Drive*500GB HDD (5400rpm, Serial ATA)
Optical Drive*Sold Separately: Toshiba USB Portable DVD SuperMulti Drive

Audio and Video
Display Size11.6" widescreenDisplay Type*HD TruBrite® LED Backlit Touchscreen displayDisplay Resolution1366x768 (HD), 16:9 aspect ratio, Supports Native 720p content, 5-point multitouch, AudioDTS Sound(tm), Headphone jack (stereo), Microphone jack (mono), Built-in stereo speakers

WebcamHD Webcam and MicrophoneWireless LAN*Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160 1x1 AC (433Mbps)BluetoothBluetooth® V4.0LAN10/100 Ethernet LAN
AC Adapter45W (19V 2.37A) Auto-sensing, 100-240V / 50-60Hz inputBatteryLithium Ion (24Wh, 3-Cell)--*Not user replaceable
SmartCard ReaderNo SmartCard Reader slot MediaMemory Card Reader(SD, miniSD,microSD,etc)
USB Ports1-USB (3.0) port, 2-USB (2.0) ports
HDMIHDMI® output portRGBRGB port
RJ-45 LAN port
Software, Support and Security
Security and ProtectionHDD Recovery, Password Security, Security Cable Lock SlotSoftware*1 month trial for new Microsoft® Office 365 customers, DTS Sound(tm), Hard disc (HDD) recovery, Internet Explorer® 10, Norton(tm) Anti-Theft (30-day Trial), Norton(tm) Internet Security (30-day trial subscription), TOSHIBA App Place, TOSHIBA Audio Enhancement, TOSHIBA BookPlace(tm), TOSHIBA HW Setup Utility, TOSHIBA Media Player by sMedio Truelink+, TOSHIBA Recovery Disk Creator, TOSHIBA Resolution+ Upconvert Technology for Media Player, TOSHIBA Service Station, TOSHIBA Password Utility, Toshiba Start, TOSHIBA eco Utility(tm), WildTangent® Game ConsoleStandardsRoHS Compatible, Energy Star Qualified, EPEAT(tm) GoldStandard Limited Warranty*1 Year Standard Limited Warranty
Physical Description
Inputs and ControlsPremium US keyboard (Black), Touch pad pointing device with multi touch controlWeight*Starting at 3.3 lbs.ColorSilver

CPU info more in detail.(
Intel Celeron N2810
The Intel Celeron N2810 is a power efficient dual-core SoC for entry-level notebooks. It is clocked at up to 2.0 GHz and part of the Bay Trail-M platform. Thanks to the specially optimized 22 nanometer low-power process (P1271) with tri-gate transistors, performance and energy efficiency have been significantly improved compared to previous Intel Atom CPUs.
The processor cores are based on the new Silvermont architecture, which is an out-of-order design for the first time. The increased utilization of the pipeline and many other improvements (optimized branch prediction, increased buffers, enhanced decoders) have increased the performance per clock by about 50 percent. At the same time, however, the Hyper-Threading feature of the previous generation has been removed. Other major changes are the support for new instruction set extensions such as SSE 4.1 and 4.2 as well as AES-NI (depending on the model).
Thanks to the improved performance per clock, the Celeron N2810 is faster than previous Intel Atoms, e.g. the N2800. Presumably, the N2810 even competes with AMD APUs like the AMD A4-4355M. For simple everyday tasks such as Internet or Office the performance is adequate, but not for complex software or modern games.
The graphics unit of Bay Trail is based on the Intel Gen7 architecture, which supports DirectX 11 and is also found in the Ivy Bridge series (e.g. HD Graphics 4000). With only 4 EUs (Execution Units) and a relatively low clock speed of up to 756 MHz, the GPU is even slower than the HD Graphics (Ivy Bridge). Therefore, only older and less demanding games will run fluently.
Power Consumption
The entire SoC is rated at a TDP of 7.5 watts. Thus, the chip can be used in compact subnotebooks.
Series Intel Celeron
Codename Bay Trail-M
Clock Rate 2000 MHz
Level 1 Cache 112 KB
Level 2 Cache 1024 KB
Number of Cores / Threads 2 / 2
Max. Power Consumption (TDP = Thermal Design Power) 7.5 Watt
Manufacturing Technology 22 nm
Features HD Graphics (Bay Trail, max. 756 MHz)
64 Bit 64 Bit support
Announcement Date 09/11/2013
Product Link (external) Intel Celeron N2810


dont forget to pass on the info and thumbs up this review



(pls thumbs up, I put a lot of hours making compiling this review. ty:-)

1) Alternative Options
2) TOP 3 ($280-$399)-(11.6"-14"Touch between (3.7-2.6 lbs)
3) TOP 2 ($399 - $499)-(14"Touch between (4.7lbs-5.6lbs)
4) TOP 2 ($500-$800)-(15"Touch between (4.8 Ibs - 5.6 lbs or higher)
5) Windows 8.1 Tips & Computing Safety between

==Alternative Options==
I was doing my research my goal was to find the value laptop without hurting my wallet, I continue to update and filter through the entire amazon laptop list! YES indeed! I've done the hard work of searching for the best performing, best priced, that best fit our needs. This is a list of economical touch-screens Windows8 laptop which also offers excellent performance+battery

==TOP 3 ($280-$399)-(11.6"-14"Touch between (3.7-2.6 lbs)==
Here are the best choices for 11" functional, portable, light weight, bang for your buck notebooks.

<><>Expected Performance Meter<><>
[Average to Poor] PC Gaming or [Average] Facebook Gaming
[Excellent] Social Media surfing (Twitter,Facebook,Linkedin)
[Excellent] Video Chatting (Skype)
[Average] Streaming Shows HD (Netlfix,Youtube,Hulu,iTunes)
[Excellent] Music Library (iTunes,Amazon MP3,Lastfm,Spotify)
[Average] MS Office
[Excellent] TurboTax, Quickbooks
[Excellent] Education Free Courses (from basic algebra at Udacity to Advanced MIT's Open Courseware)
[POOR] Music Creation (create music recodings, Audacity)
[Average] Photoshop editing (Photoshop Elements)
[POOR] Video Editing (Sony Vegas/MovieStudio, Adobe Premier)
[Average] Website development (Adobe Dreamweaver CS3)

<> NO.1 +/- $359 Lenovo IdeaPad S210 59387503 11.6-Inch Touchscreen Laptop, 1.9 GHz Intel Pentium 2127U ULV(dualcore,2 MBCache, 3rdgen/Ivy Bridge,July2013chip$134), 4GB RAM, 500GB HD(Black)

PROS: Light weight at 3.1lbs,.9"thick. Great 720p camera for Skype, 1usb 3.0, TouchScreen.
[CPU Passmark Score: 1865]
CONS:Battery life, No Bluetooth. not a great deal if prices increase to closer to $400. at +$400 price rage, I'd advise looking into 14" notebooks options listed below, to get more for your money. Sold by 3rd Party seller, not amazon

<> NO.2 +/- $335 HP Pavilion 11-e015nr TouchSmart 11.6" Touch Screen - AMD Elite Quad-Core A6-1450(06/01/2013) / 4GB DDR3 / 320GB HD / Windows 8 64-bit OS

PROS: Quadcore A6-1450 SoC are usually in notebooks at +$450 category but for HPs asking $350ish ? DEAL! but downgraded the Hard Drive , Touch, 4GB, / one of the better CPU/APU options in this category for gaming(Portal 2 and Torchlight 2 on high settings but lag free! /Upgradable to 8GB verified) 3.37lbs
[Passmark Score: 1642]
CONS: 320GB instead of 500GB, HP build quality is avg compared to ASUS or Lenovo but thats subjective. Prices fluctuates too much, if sellers increase their prices closer to $400 i would not recommend buying this or any 11.6" note books. At $400, finding a better 14"-15" touch screen size is possible. I made my Top Notebooks List at $400 tag below, for details. Sold by 3rd Party seller, not amazon

<> NO.3 +/- $454 Acer Aspire V5-122P-0637 11.6-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Chill Silver)(1.0 GHz up to 1.4GHz AMD Elite Mobility Quad-Core A6-1450 Accelerated Processor, 6GB DDR3 SDRAM, 500GB 5400RPM hard drive, Windows 8 64-bit

PROS: IPS screen better color and viewing angle(probably best screen on this list), Same CPU/APU as HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11 listed above thus Pros are identical, + 500GB Hard Drive , 6GB RAM! best gaming capable system at the light weight 11.6" Touch screen category. Enough power in this noteboko to deliver performance that it could act as secondary main PC.
[CPU Passmark Score: 1642]
CONS: Expensive at $450 but it has 6GB RAM(instead 2GB) and 500GB HD(instead of 340GB) with the AMD A6-1450 Quadcore (instead of poor performance AMD A4-1250 Dualcore AVOID at all cost!)


== TOP 2 ($399 - $499)-(14"Touch between (4.7lbs-5.6lbs) ==
These 14" touch screen laptops are designed for those who are always on go or need a portable computing device, bigger than 10.1-11"display without sacrificing performance. These notebooks are powerful enough to act as your secondary main PC machine for school, work and home.
WHAT YOU DESERVE AT $400 (Typically an increase in price fallows an increase in quality of parts. At this price range expect a 14" Screen Touch , with CPU Intel i3 or AMD's A6 or A8 processors) I favor AMD due to their graphics performance doubling that of Intel variant.

[Average] PC Gaming or [Excellent] Facebook Gaming
[Excellent] Social Media surfing (Twitter,Facebook,Linkedin)
[Excellent] Video Chatting (Skype)
[Average] Streaming Shows HD (Netlfix,Youtube,Hulu,iTunes)
[Excellent] Music Library (iTunes,Amazon MP3,Lastfm,Spotify)

[Average] MS Office
[Excellent] TurboTax, Quickbook
[Excellent] Education Free Courses (from basic algebra at Udacity to Advance MIT's Open Courseware)
<Express Your Creativity>
[POOR] Music Creation (create music recodings, Audacity)
[Average] Photoshop editing (Photoshop Elements)
[POOR] Video Editing (Sony Vegas/MovieStudio, Adobe Premier)
[Average] Website development (Adobe Dreamweaver CS3)

<> NO. 1 +/- $448 Lenovo IdeaPad S415 59385549 AMD A6-5200M(May 23, 2013) 2.0 GHz Processor (2 MB Cache05/23/2013, Kabini), 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive, 14-Inch Screen Touchscreen, ATI Radeon HD 8400 Integrated Graphics,Windows 8, 5-hour battery...,

PROS: Its an IdeaPad brand+build quaity, 14" touch, Battery life 5hrs!, 720p HD webcam , Sold by
CPU Passmark Score: 2450

<> NO. 2 +/- $479 HP Pavilion 14-f027cl 14" Touch Laptop, AMD A8-5545M 6GB Memory 640GB Hard Drive

PROS: Battery life, +5hrBig 14" touchscreen, Higher grade AMD Elite Quad-Core A8-5545M Accelerated Processor with 4MB L2 Cache, Bigger 640GB Hard drive, and 6 GB RAM, More USB 3.0 . A8-5545M is higher step APU compared to next 2 laptops below sporting an A4-1450 APU thus this is faster and better choice for gaming.
[CPU Passmark Score: 2539]
Cons: 1.7lbs heavier than 11.6" notebooks, Expensive if your budget goal is to get a capable notebook for under $400. don't buy if +$475 asking price. +$500 price range there are better product selections at 15" Notebook category. Sold by 3rd Party seller not


== TOP 2 ($500-$800)-(15"Touch between (4.8lbs - 5.6lbs or higher) ==
These touch screen laptop is designed for those who requires performance over portability.

[Excellent] PC Gaming or [Excellent] Facebook Gaming
[Excellent] Social Media surfing (Twitter,Facebook,Linkedin)
[Excellent] Video Chatting (Skype)
[Excellent] Streaming Shows HD (Netlfix,Youtube,Hulu,iTunes)
[Excellent] Music Library (iTunes,Amazon MP3,Lastfm,Spotify)

[Excellent] MS Office
[Excellent] TurboTax, Quickbooks
[Excellent] Education Free Courses (from basic algetbra at Udacity to advance MIT's Open Courseware)
<Express Your Creativity>
[Excellent]Creation (create music recordings, Audacity)
[Excellent] Photoshop editing (Photoshop Elements)
[Average] Video Editing (Sony Vegas/MovieStudio, Adobe Premier)
[Excellent] Website development (Adobe Dreamweaver CS3)

<> No.1 $479 Acer Aspire E1-572P-6857 15.6" Touch,Intel i3-4010U Processor 1.7Ghz,6GB RAM, 750GB HDD

PROS: SOLD by Amazon. an Intel i3 touchscreen at 15" for under $480 is rare. Way under priced for what you're getting. Could easily be marked up close to $600 for sure. Battery life is good due to (new)Haswell processor. Great IPS screen. SD card reader , Nice solid Metalic feel unlike most notebooks in this price range made of plastic.
[CPU Passmark Score: 2514]
CONS: Weight, standard weight 5.6lbs for 15" notebook. Great for Video chat with 720P HD camera.

<> No. 2 $599 Acer Aspire V5-552P-X440,A10-5757M,8GB Ram, 1000GB HDD 15.6-Inch Touchscreen Laptop (Cold Steel)

PROS: SOLD by Amazon, 4.8 lbs, Thin .9" Ultrabook, Powerful A-10 Quadcore processor, 8 GB of RAM, Huge 1000GB Hard drive(1TB), Fastest APU/CPU for gaming. Powerful still managed to be thin+lighter than standard 15" notebooks. 4.5hrs battery. Back-lit Keyboard, High end non-plasticy shell, Great for HD Video Chats, sells this for $700! Great for business, gaming, traveling, home use, main PC, etc. Superb IPS screen. Its the best of both worlds, ease mobility, super thin and ultra light but powerful enough for everything, all premium features without Ultrabook's $1k Premium prices.
[CPU Passmark Score: 2922]
CONS: Need to manually upgrade from Windows 8 to 8.1(free) via Windows Marketplace, No Disc drive, At $600 you shouldn't complain. The power and portability you get from this notebook could easily cost you somewhere near $1000 Ultrabook category. No cons, its perfect at its price.
==Windows 8.1 Tips & Computing Safety==
Bring back the start button: Installing one of these two software will help new Windows8.1 users to ease into "Modern" user interface of windows 8.1
1) Classic Shell (free) or 2) Start8 (Stardock $5)


Avoiding major damages caused by those pesky malware,virus etc by simply not using an "Administrator Account" with your main MS Account.

Viruses will likely cause more damage and will be impossible to completely remove if they gained Admisitrator's right and have dug deep inside your computer. An "Administrators" account is a backdoor route viruses/malware uses get in and cause unrecoverable distruction to your data. With Admin rights those malware can easily infect deep within your "recovery partitions'! meaning, these's not turning back and you're royally screwed. Theres many more problems that can happen but I think you already get my point.

GOALS: 1) Don't use your Main MS Account as an" Adminitrator" but instead "standard"
2) Create a secondary account called "local account" and set that up as the Administrator instead.

Account Management: steps creating a local account(administrator) and MS Account(standard)

Charms search: type"control panel" > "User's Accounts and Family Safety" > "Remove User account" > " Add a new user in PC settings " located at bottom of window > Bringing you to Metro > click "add Account" > "Sign in without MS accout" located at bottom of page > "Local Accout" > create new user name and PW

You have 2 options on Signing IN
1) Microsoft account or 2) Local Account

1) Create or sign in with your MAIN Microsoft Account. If you already an MS account or uses windows phones/ xbox live or Hotmail/live/MSN email address you can use these as well to link those services to 1 master MS Account.

2) Create a Local Account. Thise secondary account will not connect to MS's ecosytem but only in your local computer. I identical to USERS login on Windows 7,Vista,XP etc.

Once you've setup these two accounts, you must set each account type to: >
Change ACCOUNT TYPE for Main MS Account to "Standard"
Change ACCOUNT TYPE for 2ndary Local Account to "Administrator"

Please do these steps, it only takes 5minutes. Its a small price to pay considering, it may potentially rescue your entire data from a completely erasing your data after sending it for repairs.


Making Back ups/ Etc

Another tip is to make a recovery image.

First install Setup all your programs , setup your custom settings, etc
After personalizing your PC. > Its time to Create a Recovery Image right after you've set everything up. This image will allow you to revert back to this pc's state in time, and in perfect working order.

Sometimes system recovery doesn't solve your problems so having secondary backup plan like Recovery Image is key.


Not optional, must practice these 3 regular computing habits.

#1 (Install McAfee Antivirus, which is now free starting 2014, per Intel's 2014 Keynote at CES) or Paid programs such as Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 is the leading software in the market today. $50. These programs scans your system automatically, so set it and forget it.

#2 (Install MalwareBytes/free, scan your pc every month with this program or sooner when you feel like your system is sluggish or seeing webpages poping up that you didnt click) Because this is a free software, as a user you must manually start the scaning process or by buying retail version you'll unlock the auto scan scheduler feature.

#3 (Install Superantispyware/free, Scan pc every 2wks)
Because this is a free software, as a user you must manually start the scaning process or by buying retail version you'll unlock the auto scan scheduler feature.

Its ok skip a few scans between months, although not advisable, especially if your a heavy web surfing maniac spending 2-3 hrs daily websurfing not just facebooking. But please dont go without using all 3 programs more than 5-8 Months in between scans.


Another way to avoid spreading your personal information out there into the wild unknowingly is to un-google yourself.

yes ladies and gents! google or yahoo especially yahoo LOL..... but google is key here.

Microsoft sells Primarily Software.
Apple sells Primarily Hardware
Google sells neither, that's why their products are so CHEAP, once they suckered in their backdoor ridden ecosystem, Google Inc. sells Primarily Everything about YOU!

Steps in upgrading from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 (2-3hrs)

Key here is to ensure your windows 8 is fully updated before upgrading to win8.1

Therefore repeatedly "check of updates" on windows

How to upgrade to windows 8.1 for dummies.

Step 1: Go to Metro and not desktop

Step 2: Start typing : "Control Panel"

Step 3: Click "Windows Update" > "Check for Update"

Step 4: install updates

Step 5: restart computer

Step 6: Repeat step 1 -5 until result "no more updates"

Step 7: Run HP Update client, install all updates from HP to ensure all drivers and bugfixes are updated.( or whichever OEM you may have, lenovo,dell, sony etc.)

Step 8: Uninstall your Antivirus Software (important) then RESTART PC

Step 9: Go to Windows Store and upgrade to 8.1

Step 10: leave computer on for 2hrs as it upgrades.

Step 11: Repeat Steps 1 - 7

Step 12: if you're not a complete fool, 8.1 upgrade should be straight forward. \

After steps 1-8 ONLY THEN you should install WIndows 8.1 at the marketplace. Goodluck.

(note: steps above removes a lot of failures users experience after 8.1 update)
Not many want to shell out their dollars on Office 360 if all they intend of using is standard word processors.
you can use a free web version of office called search: "MS Office Web Apps"
just sign in with the same MS Account user name used on your PC.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2014
I had another 11.7-inch laptop before and I didn't want to go any bigger as I travel often and take my laptop with me everywhere I go. I love how this laptop has everything most everyday-users can ask for. If you are looking for a laptop to run a business or to play one of those online games, this is not it, but it's pretty obvious that this little machine is not supposed to do that kind of job. This is for students, business travelers, users who use PC to e-mail, shop online, skype, watch videos, etc, this is pretty awesome. The touch screen is very responsive and it's just like using a tablet. It is fast and powerful enough to use Office products, too. Keyboard is very responsive and easy to use. Wireless connection is simply awesome. Don't expect this laptop to beat higher-end models that cost $1,000 plus, but if you want a small, reliable laptop, this is a great machine.

By the way, the first NB15T I received (not from Amazon) was a defect and I had to exchange it. Webcam was not working at all (was not even showing up under Device Manager even though it's built-in). Once I got the new replacement one, though, I have not had any problem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2013
A local office supply store had this on sale for $80 off the normal price for Black Friday so I couldn't resist. I'm glad I got it too. We ended up rushing out and buying a second one for the husband before the weekend was over. The size is great and touch screen is very responsive. Like previous review stated battery life is only around 3-4 hours but that's probably what makes it so light and ultra portable. I've heard many negatives about Windows 8 but after exploring it for no more than an hour I love it and it's so easy to use with the touchscreen, more androidish than the old Windows versions. If you are looking for the 11.6 laptop you are going to have a hard time finding another one with 4 gb ram and 500 gb hard drive..most offer less and are around the same price.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2013
I had to replace my beloved Toshiba nb205 netbook. The NB15t is superior in almost every way. It has a larger screen with a higher resolution. It has a more powerful processor (a 2 ghz dual core instead of an Atom). This allows it to run video stutter free. The sound is much better. The only area in which the NB15t falls short of the nb205 is the battery (3 cell rather than 6 cell.) Battery life for web surfing with wifi is in the 4 hour range.

I upgraded the hard drive with a Samsung SSD and installed Classic Shell 4.0 for a more classic Windows look. Windows 8 startup is very quick even without the SSD.

I am very pleased with this computer. It is a terrific value!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2014
Watch out for the different models, some have a 1ghz celeron processor, this is the 2ghz. Bought this laptop for my daughter in college; she has a good but 6lb laptop and wanted something smaller and lighter to bring to class for basic needs. This fit the bill and the price was right. It seemed to take forever the first time booting up, in fact I thought something was wrong with it. During this time, the laptop detected my wireless network and asked me for the password to connect. Imagine my surprise that it also automatically found and installed my wireless printer! The display is okay, not the best but serves sufficiently with decent enough brightness and the touch screen is very responsive and accurate. The keyboard is the only thing that detracts--the space bar must be hit dead center or does not register. It is slow to boot up, but has pretty zippy browsing performance considering the processor. Upgraded to Windows 8.1 (you have to do the updates for Win 8 first), started to experience issues with the touch screen and found there was a Toshiba driver fix for the problem. No touch screen issues since then. I recommend going to Microsoft for Win 8 and Win 8.1 training videos. Win 8 is a poor experience if you do not learn all the swipes for access and features. The wifi connectivity can't be beat, it is exceptional at holding wifi. The sound level is okay, but poor quality-headphones are needed for music and movies. I find myself enjoying this little laptop. I never use webcam, so can't comment on that. Stays cool, battery with settings at high performance and constant use lasts about 4-4.5 hours. Build quality seems pretty good. Love using the touch feature, having actual buttons for right and left click (oh so rare these days) its portability (3lbs), the small and lightweight charger, etc. and I don't really want to give it to my daughter any longer. When I need heavy computing or gaming, I pick up my 10lb Asus G75. When I need anything else, I use G75 is collecting dust. I'm not so sure she is going to get it. My daughter loves it too and has used it for her homework, browsing, social media, youtube, etc. with no problems. She said it is as responsive as her other laptop. I find it slower than my G75, but that is to be expected - the G75 has i7, 8mb ram, and dedicated graphics and cost over $1k.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2014
I purchased this computer as a replacement/upgrade to a several years old Acer netbook which has been flawless. Once you get used to Windows 8 (which strangely I love on my phone and largely hate on this computer) the computer seems to perform decently when it is working (it quickly found a wireless printer and set itself up to print to it that most other computers have had issues connecting with, for instance). But a couple of days into owning it (it was still in the "getting to know you stage, I had not been actively using it) it attempted to restart after an update and would not restart--as in I left it for several days sitting plugged in supposedly restarting. Eventually after 3 days or so it finally restarted. It has been randomly problematic since then, and I have reset it a couple of times now. It is presently once again being reset to factory as for some unknown reason it suddenly lost any network capabilties, with the computer saying there is no network adapter. Nice looking machine, wish it worked. If you get lucky and get one which does, you will probably like it. I suppose I will probably end up going through the hassle of sending it back to Toshiba. This actually makes two Toshiba laptops I have owned in the past 15 years or so, I hadn't purchased another since the horrible first experience. Fool me twice shame on me I guess.

I tried to reset the computer to factory from the recovery console and it will now not start at all--the power button goes on for 2 or 3 seconds and then shuts back off. I have spent approximately three hours now trying to get through to Toshiba customer service to send it back or get the situation resolved. After waiting on hold for approximatly 20 mins or so two or three times after wading through their phone tree, I was finally able to get through to a humna(I think, it may have been an elaborate voice mail or something)the first gentleman I got sounded like he was probably from India, took my name and number "in case we get disconnected" so he could call me back, after laboriously explaining the problem I was promptly hung up on and was not called back. Later I tried again and got a fellow who sounded more eastern european from the accent, went through the whole name and phone and problem AGAIN, he stated that they had this issue (no network adapter) a lot aftet the computer does updates, then I was again disconnected, and once again he did not call me back despite having taken my number "in case we are disconnected". Toshiba's rep for horrible customer service is apparently well earned. Be aware that you should expect to need to have hours at your disposal if you want to use their customer service, and you will need every minute of those hours, and probably a few stiff drinks to deal with the mounting frustration. I will update again should I ever actually get this situation resolved, for now my recommendation is DO NOT BUY THIS COMPUTER or ANYTHING from Toshiba.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 14, 2014
The computer was fine and a good value for the money, but the processor was slower than I thought it would be and the screen was a little too small. I thought the 11.6" laptop would be ok, but it didn't work out that way. I need something a little bigger. The most frustrating part was the Windows 8. I upgraded to Window 8.1 but still find it frustrating. And this Toshiba had a touch screen. I have Windows 7 on my desktop and just couldn't get used to 8.1. Ended up sending the computer back in order to buy a laptop with a bigger screen and something other than Windows 8.1. Ended up buying a Mac which is great, but more expensive. The great part of all this was working with Amazon. They handled the exchange very nicely.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 1, 2014
Love the touch screen! Anyone buying this computer should be aware it does NOT come with any Microsoft Office software installed so that is an added expense. Charge seems adequate - 5-6 hours so good for cross-country flight but charge when you arrive if you can't maintain inflight.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 14, 2014
Overall, for the price I paid I am satisfied. It is light and very portable and handles my programs (Microsoft office). The touch screen is a bit wonky at times, will sometimes stay stuck in the larger screen mode, won't respond when I try to size it down. Also the sound quality if the built in speakers is pretty tinny. But for my purpose of searching the web and writing research papers, so far so good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2014
Worst laptop ever. Slowest thing I have ever touched
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 35 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.