Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Screen, Poor Networking, AMD Value with Good Graphics
This is a "classic style laptop", the same kind that people have been buying since the dawn of laptops. You aren't getting a fasion statement, you aren't getting an ultrathin computer. You are simply getting a humble laptop trying to be nothing more than a 17 inch laptop... outfitted with the (mostly) the latest technology from AMD during Summer 2013 (including USB 3.0...
Published 17 months ago by Percival Tiglao

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad lap top
The sound and volume is very weak even when connected to external surround sound.
Windows 8 a bit confusing. Still unable to use email so I access it through my internet provider.
For the money I am disappointed.
Published 7 months ago by daniel whitaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Screen, Poor Networking, AMD Value with Good Graphics, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
This is a "classic style laptop", the same kind that people have been buying since the dawn of laptops. You aren't getting a fasion statement, you aren't getting an ultrathin computer. You are simply getting a humble laptop trying to be nothing more than a 17 inch laptop... outfitted with the (mostly) the latest technology from AMD during Summer 2013 (including USB 3.0 and HDMI ports). If you're just looking for a 17-inch laptop that gets stuff done, this laptop most certainly fits the description. At a launch price of $750, you are paying a middle-of-the-road price for an overall middle-of-the-road laptop. IMO, its a solid price for what is offered here. All that is left is to understand the tradeoffs.

>>> CPU Focus: The A10-5750M is literally the best you can do with AMD Laptops today. From a CPU side, it offers strong multitasking experience with 4cores / 4threads, and throttles anywhere between 1.3Ghz (to save battery) or 2.5 Ghz for performance. (Specs state it may go up to 3.5GHz, but I haven't seen this myself). Compared to Intel, the A10-5750M is slightly weaker than Intel's i5-4430M, despite the 2core/4thread nature of Intel's i5. The Intel i5-4xxxM series will offer better single-threaded performance, and tend to have longer lasting batteries. On the other hand, Intel i5-based laptops generally cost more than AMD A10 laptops. So you get what you pay for here. (There are cheaper laptops out there with Intel i5 chips, but they do not come with the same quality screen or GPU).

>>> GPU Focus: A hardcore gamer will only be satisfied by a $2000+ gaming laptop with a high-end Radeon 8970M or NVidia GeForce 770M+. In the great scheme of things, the iGPU offered on this laptop is weak. This is _not_ a gaming laptop. This laptop is also a *thousand* dollars cheaper than a gaming laptop. So lets just get those expectations out of the way. This GPU is competing against $750 laptops. That means Intel iGPUs or low-end dGPUs are its competition. The A10-5750M has the fastest iGPU in the current market. If an Intel machine wants to compete against this laptop in gaming, it'd have to have a dGPUs equipped. Benchmarks databases indicate that NVidia GT630M is comparable to the performance of this iGPU.

Reported tests on Youtube indicate that this laptop can run Spec Ops at 1080p / max settings and even Crysis 3 at 720p / medium settings. For proof, search youtube for "A10-5750M Spec Ops" and "A10-5750M Crysis 3". There's a good video to show gameplay footage on this particular laptop. My personal tests are various Touhou games, and this laptop ran Touhou 13 and 12.8 just fine. There were occasional FPS spikes however on Touhou 13.5: Hopeless Masquerade when certain supers went off however. Do not expect perfection from this laptop's iGPU, but it probably will surprise you at how much better iGPUs are today. This level of performance used to not be available in the laptop form factor. You can reasonably expect to download a Steam game, and just play it on this laptop. You may have to turn down settings, but hey, playable framerates in Crysis 3 proves it all, right?

Benchmarks indicate that the closest competition from a GPU perspective are various versions of the the NVidia GT 630M (Different GT 630Ms perform differently, making this a rough comparison at best). But these laptops containing these parts generally cost more and have a negative effect on battery life. Sticking with the iGPU A10-5750M hits a solid price/performance ratio. I dare say there is *nothing* out there like this laptop's combination of GPU and high-quality FHD 1080p screen at only $750. Advanced users can overclock the GPU and upgrade to 1866MHz RAM for better performance.

>>> RAM: The laptop is properly configured with dual channel sticks. 8GB RAM should be more than enough for the typical consumer, and dual-channel maximizes the performance of RAM-limited tasks.

>>> Screen: This is a large 17-inch 1080p glossy-type screen. (When the laptop is turned off, you can see your own reflection). This is one of the best screens you can get at this $750 price point. I argue that this is the primary selling-point of this laptop, the one thing that stands out most of all. No Dell, HP, or Lenovo laptop offers a screen of this caliber at this low of a cost. While I can find better CPUs at this price, or laptops with better GPUs at $750... I honestly couldn't find anything else with 1080p screen. (Keywords: FHD, or "Full HD" for 1920x1080 resolution)

>>> Keyboard: As expected, this 17-inch laptop comes with a mostly full-sized keyboard, including the numeric pad. While looking at the keyboard, it *seems* like the space bar is too small. But in my experience, it is just the right size for my hands. Again, I personally have had no issues at all with the keyboard.

>>> Touchpad: This was the first time I tried an ELAN touchpad. I'm pleasantly surprised at the accuracy of various gestures, and the ELAN Windows 8 driver allows for a huge amount of customization (including two-finger scrolling, three finger and four finger swipes, pinch to zoom, Windows8 style "edge swipes", etc. etc.). Like most laptops in this price range however, the buttons on the touchpad are subpar. While gesture and mouse accuracy is quite good with this touchpad, it is only the "click" on the touchpad gives a poor feel. The touchpad finish is also smooth to touch, unlike many HP-touchpads (HP Envy has "concentric circles" that annoy my fingers). Moving, gestures, and feeling the touchpad overall is just fine.

Clicking on items with the touchpad is best accomplished with the "tap" gesture, which is IMO slower than a click. The "mouse click" just feels cheap, leading me to subconsciously focus on "tap" selecting. I'd criticize the touchpad more, but this unfortunate experience seems to be the norm. Integrated clicks are becoming the mode of operation in 2013-era laptops. Its hard to find a laptop manufacturer that takes the mouse-button issue seriously anymore.

>>> Networking: The laptop is equipped with a Realtek RTL8188E 1x1 network card. While it does support Wireless N, this is about as cheap as you can get with networking. I have connectivity issues with my free Verizon router (I admit however, I'm basically asking for it by keeping the crappy Verizon Router). I've tested the WiFi on a couple of different networks, and it is unfortunate that my _home_ network is the worst one. Despite setting the network to WirelessN, the crappy Verizon Router can only push data at a rate of 700kbps. Again, this is an isolated case, most likely related to the Verizon Router on my home network. But it is annoying because my other devices work fine on the Verizon Router.

>>> Customizability: Toshiba laptops are not known to be modded. The user manual does not have a technical diagram... and without a guide, I was only able to remove the Hard Drive, RAM, and DVD Drive. Most noticeably, I was unable to switch out the Wireless network card (I just couldn't figure out how to remove the back). Hopefully, another online hacker will figure out a way to disassemble this laptop. But for now, only expect to be able to switch out the HDD, RAM, and DVD Drive (If you can figure out which DVD Drive actually fits into this laptop anyway...)

>>> Connectivity: Two USB3.0 slots, One USB2.0 slot, 10/100 RJ45 Ethernet, VGA Out and HDMI Out. DVD-drive / burner, and SD card reader. A relatively unique feature is USB3.0 "Sleep and Charge", which allows you to charge your phone from your laptop even when the laptop is off. As far as I'm aware, only Toshiba (Sleep and Charge), Lenovo (Always On USB) offer this feature, and even then, only on certain laptops.

A futurist may want more from this laptop. Futurists will want 10/100/1000 Ethernet, Wireless 2x2 b/g/n/ag, a display port and possibly a BluRay Drive instead. Futurists also will want a SSD instead of the HDD. Fortunately, an SSD upgrade is pretty easy to do with this laptop.

The legacy user is pretty happy with this laptop. This laptop supports DVDs, SD Cards, and VGA Out. Fewer and Fewer laptops today support VGA and DVD Drives, so this is one feature to look out for.

>>> Battery Life: I've done a few battery tests on this computer. On the average, I'm getting around 3 hours with typical use. Worst case (Battery Eater test), it lasted only 1 hour 10minutes (worst case) to 5 hours (best case with WiFi and screen turned on). Toshiba only ships a 53 Whr battery with this laptop, which is pretty small for its category (17-inchers usually have 70+ Whr batteries). Historically, these are "typical" battery lives, but in 2013 they are subpar overall.

On the plus side, due to the small battery, this Laptop feels unusually light for its size. 17 inches looks big, but it's weight class is in the same league as the smaller 15-inch laptops. The battery also charges very quickly, within 1.5 hours. The battery _is_ removable, so if battery life is a concern, it is possible to buy new batteries and carry spares. I have not seen any extended battery option.

>>> Thermals: During the Battery Eater test, I rested the laptop on my lap and felt the heat coming out of it. While warm, I think the thermals were overall acceptable. I don't expect anyone to burn themselves like they used to with older, hotter laptops.

>>> Linux: With exception of WiFi, Ubuntu 13.04 LiveCD worked straight out of the box. It appears that WiFi drivers may require kernel compilation, a relatively advanced move for Linux administrators. I do not suggest trying to run Linux on this system if you are a beginner. I'd expect that an advanced user would be able to install Ubuntu, but only after some partition table fixes, and a few kernel module fixes. Linux is not an advertized feature of this laptop, so I cannot hold it against it. It would have been nice if Ubuntu worked out of the box however. Everything except WiFi and lol the install button seemed to work in the Ubuntu LiveCD, so I'm relatively confident that I can get it working eventually. But its not a trivial task.

-----------

Overall, this laptop does do its job, and I've been satisfied with it. With a 1TB Hard Drive, its unlikely that I'd ever run out of space. I'm overall impressed by its impressive iGPU performance paired with the best screen I've seen in this price range. The weaknesses include a weak mouse click and poor WiFi (in my experience). Battery life is poor in comparison to other 2013-era computers... But is comparable to the battery life of older 2007-era computers (except this modern model has better thermals and much better performance). So regardless, this laptop will feel like a standard laptop upgrade with modern parts and more modern performance.

More hardcore computer users will be happy with the superior AMD integrated GPU, the high quality screen. However, hardcore laptop users may want better customization options. Fortunately, they do exist... for the Intel Version of this laptop. Its a bit more expensive, but it is possible to order higher quality parts (Ex: Upgrade to higher-quality 2x2 Intel Centrino WiFi and BluRay player) on the S70 over at ToshibaDirect.com.

Buying it retail here on Amazon means you only get what Amazon stocks. Nonetheless, this base model hits a solid price point, and will be cheaper than the customized Intel-based laptops even over at Toshiba.

Comparable Products:
* Toshiba Satellite P70-ABT2N22 Customizable Laptop Notebook Windows 8 -- More expensive Toshiba laptop with significantly faster i7-4700MQ Processor. (Haswell, Intel Quadcore)
* Toshiba Satellite S70-AST2NX1 Laptop Notebook Windows 8 - Intel i5-3230M Up to 3.20GHz with Intel® Turbo Boost Technology - 12GB RAM - 1.0TB HD - 17.3 inch display -- Roughly the same cost Toshiba Satellite laptop equipped with Intel technology. "Last Generation" Intel i5-3230M Ivy Bridge, a bit more RAM, weaker iGPU, only 1600x900 screen, more reliable WiFi.
* Lenovo ThinkPad T430 23426QU 14' LED Notebook - Intel - Core i5 i5-3230M 2.6GHz - Black Lenovo Brand, of the legendary T-series. Well known for its keyboard and mouse design (both "nib mouse" and touchpad). With a last-generation Ivy Bridge i5-3230M, 4GB single-channel RAM, and 1368x768 screen, its only spec superior to this laptop is the i5 CPU (Better battery life and CPU Performance). All other specs: iGPU, screen, RAM are all weaker (weaker gaming performance, inferior screen). But with a keyboard and mouse design virtually unchanged since the year 2000, I argue its a timeless classic. At $720, its a strong competitor to this product off brand name alone. 14-inches means it is a much smaller laptop than this 17-incher.
* Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E535 3260EFU 15.6-Inch Laptop Drop the stats in all categories and you get this smaller, cheaper laptop from Lenovo. A8 is weaker than A10, 4GB of RAM is less than 8, etc. etc. Its not a T-series, but its cheaper!d
* The Sager NP2650 is offered by the niche company XoticPC at a solid price point. At around $910 for an i7-4700MQ, HD4600 iGPU, 1080p screen, 8GB RAM and Windows 8 (or 7), you get a good price for a quality "working-man's" laptop (some gaming performance will suffer due to weaker GPU, but the i7 MQ class CPU is much much more powerful). The main benefit of XoticPC is the extreme amount of customizations they offer on their site, offered at a solid price. Overall, this would fall into the category of a more expensive, but overall higher-quality build, especially when you factor in the customization options. You can even save $100 by buying the laptop _without_ Windows installed.

EDIT: I've noticed the price has been changing recently. Keep in mind that this review was written in August 2013, while the laptop was $750. Market conditions change, but it is unlikely that I can keep this review up-to-date in the long term. The prices for the other laptops above were accurate at one point in time... but they may have changed as well.

There are either cheaper products, more expensive premium products, or different products at the same cost. Those who want the best need to pony up more cash and buy a more expensive laptop. Those who wish to save money need to get more compromises, and those who want different tradeoffs probably can find one somewhere else in the market. Nonetheless, the S75D draws out a unique niche with its powerful AMD A10 integrated GPU paired with a fantastic screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stupid people, August 7, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
This is a great laptop it surfs the web almost flawlessly and does great! with gaming. People are rating this laptop low because it is not a touchscreen, GUESS WHAT, TOSHIBA NEVER ACCLAIMED THIS LAPTOP AS TOUCHSCREEN i swear the previous 1 star comments people sound like spoiled little brats who are crying for a touchscreen. THIS IS NOT A TABLET, THIS IS NOT A PHONE ITS AN AWESOME PIECE OF MACHINERY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing experience!, August 15, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
This is a super piece of hardware! built with the last and most powerful amd chip to the date. The A10-5750M delivers a lot of power, enough for all my basics tasks and occasional gaming too! The display is simply amazing, the colors are vibrant, and the body feels strong and is very elegant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medium Gaming Quality, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
If your fine with playing a game on medium in like a 1200x1080 setting to get it at like 30fps constantly which is very playable by the way get this laptop.... im in love with it ive overheated twice because I didn't give the vent are so make sure you do that when your playing games I was disappointed with it not being touch screen but its fine it has a multitouch track pad so im happy..... the eco battery life thing is wonderful it doesn't drag as much power as other gaming laptops do with it turned on the backlight keyboard is just wonderfull the reso that it has I think its 1900x1080 its just wonderfull for videos and pictures its just beautiful and also one more thing if your a gamer and looking to get this laptop..... Get a mouse make sure you get a mouse because if you don't your screwed with playing it with a track pad because the mouse clickers are in the trackpad and when you press it it moves the mouse so make sure to get a plug in or wireless mouse and disable the trackpad while your playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrant Full HD Display and Competent Quad Core CPU/GPU Combo make this Toshiba Laptop a Winner, August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
Frustrated that most sub $1000.00 intel cpu based laptops use integrated intel graphics which seem to be fairly limited in overall performance. So, even if I found a decent i5 or i7 processor I was still stuck with the intel graphics. So I focused on AMD/Radeon combos trying to find the best value. Eventually I ran across this A10-5750M/Radeon HD 8650G combo and in comparing specs I knew this wasn't a gaming computer; but, I also felt that with a 2.5ghz quad core, it would be capable of handling most tasks I would thrown at it and a bit of gaming as well. I've only had the unit a few days but so far am very pleased with it. First of all the display is a glossy 17.3" with full HD. Glare is minimal (perhaps due to placement) and display is a pleasure to look at. Loaded Steam/DOTA 2 and it looks great. Checked the task manager and the cpu was at 2.4 ghz (at least for one of the cores). Clock speed slows to conserve power for less demanding apps (browsing, email, etc.) so I was a bit concerned that I wouldn't get the minimum 2.5 promised. So far the 8 gigs of ram have met my usage reqs but I may double to 16 gigs at some point. Bottom line for me, beautiful 17.3" HD display, quad core 2.5ghz processor and competent Radeon gpu makes this Toshiba model a winner. Additional info - stereo speakers sound decent and cooling fan very quite. Backlit keyboard a nice feature as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Laptop, August 21, 2013
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
This laptop is better than I expected. For those who are computer illiterate, its features might not be fully comprehensible.

Function keys can be altered in the advanced settings of the bios to either default to FN mode and depress the FN key to use standard F1, F2 type functions (default setting) OR it can be switched to having to use the FN key + function keys to get Toshiba functions to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba Steps Up, September 5, 2013
By 
1075sticks (East Coast United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
Toshiba certainly made an excellent product. This laptop has everything I was looking for. The beautiful brushed aluminum finish doesn't show fingerprints. The screen is wide enough for opening two windows without compromising on the viewable area. I need it a lot for working on multiple programs. The keys are quiet and back-lit which makes it easier to see. Windows 8 works quite well on it. I was a bit apprehensive about getting a computer with Windows 8 because of all the negative feedback I've heard but it works beautifully on this machine. I'm not a big fan of the using the pad (which is pretty wide by the way) so I always use a mouse but if I accidentally put my other hand on the pad, the cursor goes bonkers. I have to figure out how to disable it. The laptop can get a bit noisy when the hard drive churns but it doesn't happen often. But so far, those are the only things I have some issue with. Although it's not really important, I would have preferred to have the USB ports towards the back end instead of the front because if I plug something in, like my portable hard drive, the wire gets in the way. Otherwise, I am very happy with this laptop. It's not the cream of the crop but a good serviceable machine for my purposes. By the way, I trust Toshiba and this is my third laptop and the other two are still working. I just need different sizes for different purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic display, works just fine with Windows 7 x64, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
The good: The AMD APU is very fast, the display is clear and bright, and the full HD 1080P makes other laptops look cheap in comparison. Nice aluminum exterior - not plastic. The backlit keyboard is *awesome*!

The better: Popped the bottom cover off to reveal the hard drive. Pulled that out and put it in a USB3 external enclosure, and installed an SSD. This laptop is fully unleashed with an SSD. It has 8gb (2x4gb) of RAM, but I swapped those DIMMs out for 16gb so there is more for VirtualBox machines. There is an option in the BIOS to make the function "F" keys default to F1, F2, F3, etc rather than the other functions. This is a huge win on Toshiba's part, as I can't stand pushing Fn + F# to do normal productivity tasks.

The best: A couple minor changes in the BIOS to switch from UEFI mode to legacy mode and Windows 7 installed without a hitch. Windows 8 is for tablets with touchscreens. This is neither. The drivers on Toshiba's site worked just fine in Win7, though I went ahead and threw in the latest AMD mobility drivers directly from AMD, again without issue.

CONS: The laptop could use more USB ports, as it only has one USB2 and 2 USB3 ports. Battery life is around 4 hours when used for light tasks like web browsing and word processing. I was unable to find a higher capacity battery here on Amazon or our favorite auction site. I'm hoping one becomes available soon. They forgot to include a hard drive activity LED. The wireless card takes a relatively long time to connect when waking from standby. Also, I never get over 150mbps via my N router, whereas my Gateway notebook gets 300mbps without any issue. And seriously, 10/100 Ethernet?!? My previous 3 year old laptop had gigabit...

EDIT: Solved the slow 100mbps wired Ethernet issue by ordering the "UNITEK USB3.0 to rj45 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN" here on Amazon for less than 20 bucks. Now I have Gigabit LAN via the USB3 port. Also ordered the "iXCC ® 4 Port USB 3.0 Hub" for less than $13 and now have plenty of USB3 ports. Solved the lack of HDD LED with a freebie called "DiskLED", which puts a virtual HDD LED in the system tray. I also pulled the rarely used DVD drive and put it into a USB enclosure, and threw in a second SSD for data using an optical bay adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 review, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
I am not going to start out by bashing Windows 8. Windows 8 is what ships, what Microsoft supplies every computer vender. Bashing Window 8 is not the purpose of this review.

That being said, I am OK with this laptop. I have purchased Toshiba's for about the last 3 laptops. All 17 inch screens. I am a fan of Toshiba. I generally feel the laptops are worth the price.

The bad side of this laptop:
I dislike the touch pad. There are no buttons for the mouse buttons. It uses the bottom of the touch pad for the buttons so it becomes very easy to drag your finger down moving the mouse cursor going for a right click. The tap, which is supposed to take the place of the left click is not always reliable for me. I ended up getting a wireless mouse.

The function keys at the top no longer default to function keys but the media or special keys. I use F7 alot. Especially in Word and Excel. Now you have to press the FN key in the lower left hand corner then the F7 key to get the spell check. If you don't follow this you get nothing as you have just told the media player to pause or play. If there is no media player, nothing happens. Same with F5 if you refreash a web page. Except you turn off the touch pad. I found that the hard way. If took a few minutes to figure out why the touch pad had stopped working.

I am unable to access the BIOS to see what is going on. If may be that I have to press the FN key and the F1 or F2 key. I don't know yet.

My biggest complaint is the connection speed of the Toshiba Service Station. This app goes out and find the updates Toshiba is recommending. Similar to Microsoft update. I like this feature but the downloads takes HOURS. This is for files that are measureed in megs. It reminds me of the days of 28.8k modem downloads.

The good side
The keyboard is nice. I find it comfortable and responsive.
I use Blender and GIMP quite a bit. The laptop handles the files and renders well. No it's not a speed demon but it does well. The rendering that were taking 3 hours are about 2. That's a pretty good improvement.
I also use this for school and the wireless card works fine for me. When I was looking to purchase this laptop I read that other people were having issues withthe wireless card. Mine connects fine.

Overall I'm happy with the laptop. I'm honestly not sure that it was a $800 laptop. Overall it's not bad, I think I may have wanted more for my $800.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a Great Computer!, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toshiba Satellite S75D-A7272 17.3-Inch Laptop (Ice Blue in Brushed Aluminum) (Personal Computers)
The gaming side is fantastic! The light up keyboard makes me smile every time it comes in! Windows 8 isn't the best, but I'm not holding the computer to that. It's not it's fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.