Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Platform: PC Download|Format: Thin Software Download|Change
Price:$19.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 15, 2010
I owned a previous version for Windows 98. When a new, major project came up, I had a few problems with it saving changes with Windows XP. So, I bought this version.

All went well until I tried to add a full-size bed. The program has its width the same as a Queen, and did not allow me to change the dimensions. This is a new glitch for me, because I have been able to change dimensions on almost any item. I finally used a different bed and changed it. Looks OK in the Plan mode, but the Walk-through will not be accurate as to how things look.

I have not been able to figure out how to add a bathroom sink to a vanity, which is a real pain.

On a positive note, this program is much easier to work with than others that I have tried.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
This software is junk. It blows up / stops functioning / errors out repeatedly, and without recourse. It will randomly decide that a wall isn't a wall (so you can't put in doors or windows), or it will decide one room overlaps another (whether you use add room mode or build walls mode). Unfortunately, after it blows up it will not allow you to even select items or take any other action to try to guess/solve the problem - you must start over with a new file. After many hours of work and starting over four times, I tore my hair out and gave up (and I am an IT professional! Now an IT professional with no hair!). There is a phone number for tech support, but they do not return calls. Buy something else.
44 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
The first thing you should know about any design program: there's no such thing as an easy-to-use one. Architectual design is a very complex process with multiple elements, details, mathematical calculations that any program must keep in sync. So if you're looking for a program that you can use for the first time and an hour later have a finished blueprint in hand, forget it. You're never going to find one. That said, Total 3D Deluxe is fairly easy to navigate once you learn the basic functions. There are three modes of operation: Layout, Floorplan, & 3D/visual. Layout determines the basic dimensions of your plan; Floor plan adds structural details, such as windows, doors, stairs, etc. And the 3D visual allows you to walk through your structure and add the finishes, such as siding and flooring. Navigating between the 3 modes is simple and quick and while not exactly seamless, there is no difficulty switching back and forth from one mode to the next (once you learn the meaning of the various icons). As for the graphics, they're simple and cartoon-like. In that respect, the photos on the box are misleading, as the graphics in the program do not even begin to approach the high resolution images shown on the packaging. Design options are limited: if you want anything other than a basic box-like structure, look elsewhere. While angled and curved, and even two-story rooms are options, getting the tools to function properly is quite a chore. Aside from that, there are several glitches in Total 3D that seriously detract from its usability. The first being the stairs option. This was obviously poorly thought out and it barely functions. There are only a few pre-set choices for stairways, and if you attempt to alter or customize them to fit your design, the program simply freezes and/or shuts down. In fact, Total 3D closes quite often. For example, in one floorplan I wished to add a grand stairway in a two-story entrance hall. The program simply wouldn't allow it. The pre-set stairs function could not recognize a two-story hall and the whole program closed on me. Another major glitch are porches. There's no options for a two-story porch, wrap-around porch, curved porch, etc. If you do place a porch in your design, the program automatically deletes all of the doors and windows opening onto that porch. The floorplan mode still shows them as being there, but in the 3D mode all you have is a blank wall. And finally, the roof functions were not very well thought out or implemented. For instance, if you want a flat-roofed garage, but a hipped-roof main house, the program only allows for one roof-style for the entire structure. Another problem I had: I wanted to incorporate an inner courtyard in the center of my floorplan; it's not possible in Total 3D. The program automatically roofed-over every space within the plan and there were no options for changing it. Between these flaws, I found Total 3D seriously frustrating to use. My advice to anyone looking at this for professional purposes; look elsewhere. Find a better one. This may be good for practice or as a hobby, but for practical use it's a bad joke and needs a serious overhaul.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2011
Horrible software, complete waste of money. All I wanted was a simple floor plan software and this tries to add a bunch of outdated design elements without even being able to do the basics. Wasn't allowed to give it zero stars.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2011
This was an inexpensive software product so my expectations were not high to begin with, but this software doesn't even function. It was OK to create the initial rooms and set doors /windows but couldn't do anything with them after they were created. Also, couldn't navigate the walk through view. I know it is only a little bit of cash but save your money. DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2010
Product works well. Allows you to create plans with ease. Decent operation for the price, but obviously not a program made to be used by an architect or engineer. More designed for the home enthusiast or decorator. General print formats may help the lay person procure a permit for construction or relay their ideas to an architect or builder- who would obviously use a more professional program. Photo feature works only as a wall paper and not meant to crop images, you will need publisher, and or photoshop for that.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
I tried to get some help trying to run their software but they are very slow, more than 48 hours in one instance,and when they did respond it did no pertain to my problem. I was then told they are not running a training camp. The guy was as arrogant as he was incompetent.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
One step above drawing it yourself. Actually, most people are better artists than I am, so save your money & get paper and a pencil!

Frustrating to use & looks cartoonish.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2011
This software should never be sold. It hangs up repeatedly and is missing many operations that are critical to designing a floor plan. The handling of roof structures and stairs are almost useless. You can see what a single room might look like, but forget about doing a whole house.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2011
I should have listened to the other reviews- this program crashes constantly. This really is just one step up from drawing it yourself.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.