Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put the darn thing down
This is packed with wonderful stuff. Beautiful illustrations, practical and just plain smart advice on every page, some of the best insider's tips I've ever read anywhere, great recipes, all the fundamentals to help you enjoy (and maybe even survive) the outdoors as much as possible. Pretty much like a couple of hundred issues of the magazine squeezed into one...
Published on April 27, 2011 by John Shade

versus
35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How Can This Many People Like This Book?
This is the first negative book review I have ever done but this book is not worth the money it cost to print it. The book is beautifully laid out (as a graphic designer I really like the design), but lacks any real substance. There are far better books on the market than this one. If you are looking for survival or outdoor training, can I advise looking at 98.6 degrees,...
Published 23 months ago by Lee


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put the darn thing down, April 27, 2011
By 
John Shade "JS" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
This is packed with wonderful stuff. Beautiful illustrations, practical and just plain smart advice on every page, some of the best insider's tips I've ever read anywhere, great recipes, all the fundamentals to help you enjoy (and maybe even survive) the outdoors as much as possible. Pretty much like a couple of hundred issues of the magazine squeezed into one easy-to-follow, browsable-as-hell volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Field and Stream "Got it", May 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
I may sound like one of the judges on "Dancing with the Stars", but Field and Stream nonetheless "got it" with this book. They hit a home run, a "wow" type book, one of the best in its genre to come off the presses lately (I rate it a strong 9 out of 10 :) In this day and age when a lot of people don't like to read books as much as they used to, what with tv, dvds, and the internet, this book will make you want to read again. It has 374 tips divided into four sections; camping, fishing, hunting, and survival. Each tip is complete with excellent photos, very good illustrations, and a superb graphic layout. The information has been written by a cadre of Field and Stream's finest writers; experts in their respective fields. The colors and layout reach out and grab you, and make you want to put the book down and go implement the information you just read. I can't wait to see if they ever come up with a sequel to this title, and if their main competitor, Outdoor Life, can ever come up with anything this good. There is a ton of information contained in this manual, which if you implement, you will in fact become a better outdoorsman, on your way to becoming a "Total Outdoorsman". This is a contest that Field and Stream has instituted and is gaining in popularity every year. There are indeed a few tips of the 374 that I would argue might have been better researched, but nonetheless this book does a superb job of providing useful information. It would be an excellent gift for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough But Simplistic, January 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
This book attempts to cover as many different topics as possible. So, as it tries to be a jack of all trades it is not really a master of any. Each topic is a relatively short snippet of information. However, the snippet tends to be the most useful and/or interesting information about the topic. The topics are only organized by major grouping: hunting, fishing, etc. Within each grouping there is no organization at all. You can find closely related topics at opposit ends of the group and scattered within--it would be more helpful if they were kept together. So, because you can't run to it and look up a topic as needed, I see this book not so much as an encyclopedia but more of a night stand/coffee table peruser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How Can This Many People Like This Book?, September 18, 2012
This is the first negative book review I have ever done but this book is not worth the money it cost to print it. The book is beautifully laid out (as a graphic designer I really like the design), but lacks any real substance. There are far better books on the market than this one. If you are looking for survival or outdoor training, can I advise looking at 98.6 degrees, the art of keeping your ass alive by Cody Lundin, Bushcraft by Mors Kochanski or any number of the survival books by Tom Brown Jr. This book could get you killed if you didn't know what you are doing. I have personally attended survival training with Tom Brown and the information from a camping and survival aspect is terrible. Their little blurb on bow drill fire making (which this review is longer than)is far too short to learn anything, and is in the incorrect order to start with and leaves out any real idea of scale of the parts to create something that will make fire. As I flipped through it(because pictures outweigh the copy), I feel as though Field and Stream were paid by gear manufacturers to put their product in here.

It is not an ultimate anything other than good marketing if they sold this many copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the total manual, June 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
With all the hype that accompanied the publication of this book, I expected much, much more than
what it delivered. It is a satisfactory beginner's guide to several sporting activities, but is
far from a "total outdoorsman's manual". There are sections on hunting, fishing, survival, etc.
but none of them are exhaustive treatments of any activity. Save some money and buy subject specific
books that cover your interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will be my outdoor Bible!, April 28, 2011
By 
michelle (asheboro, nc, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
I am a newbie hunteress but this book is for the new and experienced hunter! It is loaded with great advice with wonderful pictures! You can't go wrong with this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice publication, but light on information, June 22, 2011
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
This is a neat book and worth the price, but some of the topics are a bit elementary and should be replaced with something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outdoors...Comprehensively Illustrated, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
I have a number of outdoors books as well as my old military books, and although they may have similar information, they don't hold a candle to The Total Outdoorsman Manual. This book is really just beautifully executed. Even those who aren't interested in the outdoors will surely appreciate the high quality feel of the book as well as photos, drawings, and diagrams on nearly every page. It's wonderful to just flip through like a coffee table book. Its quality is much more like an encyclopedia (remember those?) in terms of thick pages, binding, etc.

For those of us who are interested in the outdoors, there is enough in this book to keep you occupied for a very long time. There are descriptions and tips to accommodate just about any sort of outdoorsman whether you're a hiker, camper, canoe/kayaker, hunter, or fisher. Each topic may not go deep, but you're going to get a whirlwind tour of everything and you're going to have the knowledge it normally takes years of painful experience and mentorship to otherwise obtain. Of course, there's the issue of having to remember it, and practice it, but that's another story.

As a final testament, when I received this book, I opened it and immediately thought it would be a perfect gift for our friend's young son who loves the outdoors and is always flipping through my other books. When we gave it to him, he opened it and was gone for the rest of the time. I imagine he read it in one sitting - which is a pretty remarkable thing for an active young boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy-O-Boy!, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
Bought this for my son (14y/o) who believes he was born to be a survivalist. After reading the entire book cover to cover he is now ready to be dropped off in the middle of the rain forest with nothing but a toothbrush and 1 pair of underwear (so he believes). Only time will tell at how successful he will be. Awesome book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outdoorsman review, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with this book. I thought some of the ideas presented were a little foolish. It is probably a good book for a novice camper but not much help or new material for a veteran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream)
The Total Outdoorsman Manual (Field & Stream) by T. Edward Nickens (Paperback - May 3, 2011)
$25.00 $20.49
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.