Customer Reviews


1,637 Reviews
5 star:
 (452)
4 star:
 (438)
3 star:
 (357)
2 star:
 (212)
1 star:
 (178)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Differences between the Director's Cut and the Theatrical Cut
I'm primarily interested in the storyline differences between the Director's Cut and its theatrical counterparts, so here are the differences between the two (NOTE: SPOILERS FOLLOW).

The Director's Cut runs about 12 minutes longer than the theatrical cut. No additional gore has been added although additional F-bombs have been added. Ethan Hawke makes a...
Published on December 6, 2012 by Senor Zoidbergo

versus
92 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL HIM ON SIGHT!
I kept thinking about the original film while watching this one. To put it simply: Arnold was better than Colin Farrell. Kate Beckinsale in the expanded role is better than Sharon Stone, and I really love them both. Jessica Biel is better than anyone, if you don't believe me, ask her. What I really liked about this film is the updated special effects, down to the...
Published on August 12, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Differences between the Director's Cut and the Theatrical Cut, December 6, 2012
I'm primarily interested in the storyline differences between the Director's Cut and its theatrical counterparts, so here are the differences between the two (NOTE: SPOILERS FOLLOW).

The Director's Cut runs about 12 minutes longer than the theatrical cut. No additional gore has been added although additional F-bombs have been added. Ethan Hawke makes a surprise appearance in a scene that was cut from the theatrical movie.

(1) Extra scene of Quaid meeting with a Human Resources Management representative from the Cohaagen administration who requests that he sign a non-disclosure agreement given that he works at a sensitive defense production factory. (I can see why this was cut as it didn't add much to the overall storyline.)

(2) Extra scene of scantily clad women in Rekall neighborhood. (The three mammary gland-ed lady still makes the same appearance with topless nudity.)

(3) In the scene where Quaid finds the hidden holographic piano recording in his apartment, it has been altered to show Ethan Hawke as the old Quaid, revealing that Cohaagen also gave Quaid facial reconstructive surgery. (This was an interesting twist which I wished they had left in. It explains why no one was able to recognize him.)

(4) When Quaid and Melina escape from Lori in the elevator action sequence, there is a re-inserted shot of the destroyed elevator plunging onto the roadway below and destroying a hover car. (Pretty neat CGI!)

(5) During the UFB assault on Matthias's base, there is an extra shot of a white combat synth gunning down some hapless Resistance members.

(6) Melina is revealed to be Matthias's daughter. Cohaagen also refers to Melina as Matthias's daughter, rather than lieutenant.

(7) Cohaagen talks a little more about his plan to use Quaid to lead to Matthias, revealing that it was Quaid's idea to have his memory wiped in order to feign allegiance to Matthias.

(8) When Cohaagen has Quaid strapped to the chair, Quaid instead yells an F-word laced expletive at Cohaagen.

(9) When Cohaagen ponders what to do with Melina, she spits in his face and screams the F-word, whereas in the theatrical cut she says "Never!"

(10) The climactic final fight is slightly longer, showing an additional shot of UFB black-clad special forces troops getting gunned down by Melina and the fight between Cohaagen's black painted super-synth bodyguard and Quaid is slightly longer.

And that's it. The biggest addition is Ethan Hawke's reinserted scene.

I enjoyed the Total Recall re-make, even if it lacked some of the campy humor and ridiculous gore of Paul Verhoeven's original. I give it five stars for completely shallow reasons- Kate Beckinsale! Hello. Heck if I were Quaid and married to Kate Beckinsale I'd forget about Rekall. Jessica Biel is easy on the eyes too. The re-make is darker and more serious, akin to Minority Report meets Total Recall. It seems to combine elements from both the Arnold film and Philip Dick's "We Can Remember It For You Wholesale".

In a nod to the Verhoeven film, Harry and Quaid talk about going to Mars, a synthetic thug loses his arm, a similar looking "two weeks" woman walks by customs, Quaid uses holograms, Federal police engage in a zero-G gunbattle with Quaid, and the iconic three breasted woman makes an appearance. Missing of course are the memorable Johnny Cab, Benny, the poor sap who gets perforated on the escalator, and Kuato.

The action scenes are well staged even if TDI Vector sporting Federal police are mowed down like stormtroopers. The technology is fascinating, especially "The Fall" and hand insertable phones. The Colony's populace has a distinct Asian overtone and is more Blade Runner-esque. The UFB is probably situated in England to make Beckinsale's native accent more convenient.

I only wish they had made a hard R-version rather than pander to the PG-13 desires of studio executives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 193 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Enough From the Original To Make It Entertaining, August 3, 2012
By 
Shawn Kovacich "Shawn Kovacich" (The Greatest Little City in the World) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I just got back from the Midnight showing of this movie and I have to say that I was actually quite impressed with the storyline as it differed just enough from the original to make the film very entertaining, yet didn't seem to be a complete re-hash of the original Total Recall starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. Of course the special effects were much better than the original film, but I have to admit that Arnold has such a presence that it makes it very hard to compete against him. Especially when you are playing the part he played so well in the original. However, Colin Farrel does do a good job playing the role of Douglas Quaid, or is it Hauser. I'm not really sure and that is the point of the movie. The cast is rounded out with Bryan Cranston from Breaking Bad: The Complete First Season fame reprising the role originally played by veteran actor Ronny Cox and Jessica Biel as Hauser's love interest Melina played by Rachel Ticotin in the original film, and Bokeem Woodbine as Quaid's friend Harry.

Now there are some obvious differences between the two films and without giving away in major spoilers, I am going to share a few of them with you here. So don't continue reading if you don't want to know some key plot elements in this new film.

1. Sharon Stone's role from the original film is played devilishly and deliciously by Kate Beckinsale of the Underworld: The Legacy Collection films and plays her character all the way through the entire film up until the very end. Her character in this film is actually a combination of two characters from the original film. Of course as I already stated Sharon Stone's original role, but also the role of Michael Ironside as Richter in the original film. I thought this was a nicely added touch and I am sure you will as well. Beckinsale really gives her role some real viciousness as it seems only a female can.

2. There is no relevance with the planet Mars in this version. All the events take place in what was once known as Europe and Australia.

3. There are no "mutants" of any kind really shown or implied in the film. Well of course there is one, but when you see her you'll wish you had three hands.

In order to fully enjoy this film, you really need to kind of forget about the original and just sit back and enjoy this film for what it is. A different take on the short story by Phillip K. Dick, "We Can Remember It For You Wholesale."

Shawn Kovacich
Author and Creator of numerous books and DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL HIM ON SIGHT!, August 12, 2012
This review is from: Total Recall (DVD)
I kept thinking about the original film while watching this one. To put it simply: Arnold was better than Colin Farrell. Kate Beckinsale in the expanded role is better than Sharon Stone, and I really love them both. Jessica Biel is better than anyone, if you don't believe me, ask her. What I really liked about this film is the updated special effects, down to the electronic notes on the refrigerator door. I love attention to detail.

The action was fast paced. The future looks similar to "The Fifth Element" but with more computer gizmos. If you have seen the original version, then you can miss the first few minutes of this one and be able to pick it up.

For some reason they eliminated all the fun aspects of going to Mars. That is why we watched the first film. Instead we get a film where we simply root for the terrorists. The terrorists are revolting against the Chancellor who wants to replace workers with synthetics, although this theme was poorly developed.

One of the aspects of both productions that I didn't like was the initial dream sequence. Had they eliminated that from both films, then the genius of the script would have been the ambiguity of reality vs. the recall machine.

The film included 3D holograms, Star Wars stormtroopers, Bill Nighy for a brief moment, and an inadvertent mention of an old film "Hauser's Memory."

What I didn't like about this film was all the action. It didn't have drama scenes outside of the beginning. No colorful characters. No time for a Biel/ Farrell love scene. It was like watching someone play a video game. Seriously, where was the writing? The clever lines? The complex character? The relationship? Any moron can write "Bang bang, run shoot, bang, chase, shoot, bang."

Parental Guide: F-Bomb, Nudity (Kaitlyn Leeb wearing a fake chest) no sex. 3 stars is pushing it. Can't wait for the video game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What everyone should know about "Mastered in 4K" discs, January 25, 2014
By 
T-Man (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
So before anyone buys these blu-ray discs that are "Mastered in 4k," I want to make sure everyone knows what they are getting, and what the pros and cons of these discs are.

Pros:
1. A better picture quality that will look really good on a 4K or Ultra HDTV.
2. Works on any TV in any blu-ray player that is up to date on its firmware.

Cons:
1. Resolution is still 1080p. It is NOT in 4K. It was only mastered from a 4K source or better. But it's a higher quality 1080p.
2. No special features on any of these discs.
3. Director's/Extended/Unrated cuts of these films that have been released in this format have been made unavailable on these discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Holy mackerel. What a train wreck., September 21, 2013
By 
Sandcrawler (Miami Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
First off, any review of Total Recall (2012) must compare it to Total Recall (1990), and in just about every way possible, the newer one comes up short. Say what you want about Schwarzenegger's acting, he owned and sold the role in a way that Colin Farrell's sleepy, ballet-choreographed-fighting could not.

Then there was the appalling decision to combine the Sharon Stone and Michael Ironside characters into a single Kate Beckinsale role, which failed on every possible level.

Set design was accomplished by blatantly ripping off "Blade Runner," with additional contributions from "The Matrix," and "Minority Report." The Rekall store went from looking like a futuristic dentist's office to a hidden P.F. Chang's restaurant, for reasons that are utterly baffling -- isn't this supposed to be a major corporation, that advertises world-wide, like McDonald's? Why would it be hard to find?

The CGI wizardry of the modern day somehow looks tired and absurd compared to the effects Verhoeven achieved with technology 20 years older.

I'm pretty sure there was a paragraph of dialogue that was lifted nearly verbatim from "The Matrix" when Morpheus is explaining to Neo that the brain simply detects electro-chemical inputs.

Pacing was an absolute nightmare. It went from slow, when Quaid is trying to figure things out, to slower, when they would commence one of the combat-ballets.

Nothing was set up, and nothing was paid off. There are battle droids, and sometimes they're bulletproof, and sometimes, you can shoot them. There's a subway that goes through the Earth's molten rock and solid iron core. (BTW, the ENTIRE trip on "The Fall" would be at Zero-G to the occupants, not just the middle five seconds.) The rest of the world is uninhabitable because of "chemical weapons," but you can survive in it just by wearing a gas mask. Cohaagen, the chief bad guy (and "Chancellor"), is out there wearing a bulletproof vest with his suit trousers, on the front line with his troops. It would be like if President Obama had personally accompanied Seal Team Six to track and kill Osama Bin Laden. Jessica Biel's character was a cipher - we knew nothing about her, and she had nothing to do but provide occasional support for Colin Farrell. We didn't care about any of the characters. What's that? You're going to launch a genocidal invasion? Okay. Go ahead. I have nothing invested in anybody here. Most of the characters with speaking parts don't even live in that part of the world, anyway.

Want to watch "Total Recall?" Get the 1990 version and have a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recalling Well But Not Like the Original, April 13, 2014
In all honestly in comparison, the remake with Colin Farrell is much better graphically. That said, it just doesn't hold up to the original. Farrell does a decent job portraying the main character but Schwartzenegger just does a better job.

Bokeem Woodbine always lends a well played role as does Bill Nighy. However, Nighy is so one dimensional any role he plays is the same role over an over. But you know what you're going to get when you sign him up.

Enjoy both movies for what they are: movies. Enjoy the fact that the 2012 version has great graphics. Enjoy the fact that the 1990 version is the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you don't trust me, you can tie me up..., September 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The writer must have had five kids to feed cause this thing sucked like a broken vacuum seal on Mars. Not that they went to Mars mind you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Totally Struggling, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Total Recall (Amazon Instant Video)
This was a very poor attempt at a remake. I think they thought that special effects would be so much better than actually having a story line. It was flat with no real story which just made it boring to watch. Definitely not one of my favorites this month. Don't waste your money is my recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great SciFi production values, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a big scifi fan and I enjoyd the movie very much.

I especially liked the set that was made in the style of Blade Runner. That was a nice homage to that set designer and gave the move a very familiar feel, but that set was not the only backdrop . The stroy is told a little bit like a tale of two cities. A beatutful shining city of the corrupt establishment and the colony of rebels. The colony set was done in the Blade Runner style.

The elevated highway with the maglev car chase scene was really well done.

I'm not a big Colin Farrell fan, but he played his part well. Kate Beckinsale also turned in a very strong performance as the top cop out to get Farrell. Her performance was intense and very believable and made the movie better.

Now I want to see the Schwarzenegger version again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film deserves a "Total Recall" of the product..., December 26, 2012
I might have enjoyed this film had not the sound dropped out for seconds at a time (called "audio dropouts"). Figuring it was just a bad disc, I took it back and got a new one. Same problems. Then I find out that all kinds of people are having the same problem. Well, at least the ones who have 5.1/7.1 surround and actually care about the audio part of the film.

It can be solved by changing to PCM (or just play the DVD on TV speakers), but when someone spends a lot on the audio part of a movie, he/she deserves what the package promises. I don't know how blu-ray.com gave the audio glowing reports.

I'm sure someone will castigate me for giving one star based on a technical problem. Would anyone enjoy a trip of some distance in which every now and then the car feels like it went into a ditch with high sides and jarred your teeth? It would ruin the trip, in my opinion, and it was impossible for me to enjoy this film with the sound "dumbed-down" or leaving the speakers altogether all through the film.

So, one star for the visual. Pathetic audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2164 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Total Recall
Total Recall by Len Wiseman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.