Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Movember Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2007
I won't go in the description of the games themselves - no need.

This is what you get in this package:

- 4 DVDs, containing 3 original games and their 4 corresponding expansions:

- Shogun;

- Shogun Mongol Invasion;

- Medieval;

- Medieval Viking Invasion;

- Rome;

- Rome Barbarian Invasion;

- Rome Alexander;

- Soundtrack CD, containing 43 tracks and over 76 minutes of music samples from the three original games;

- Documentary DVD 39 minute interview with the original creator of the series, explaining how they came up with the idea of the game and how game progressed over the years and incarnations;

- 50 page booklet with artwork from all 4 games in the series

- Medieval 2 Poster of the King Richard, the Lion Heart;

- 5 postcards with artwork from the games;

- one combined book with over 275 pages of game manuals

Watch the Documentary to learn such cool facts like, for example:

- how Sun Tzu's 'The Art of War' helped create Shogun tactical AI;

- how 'Gladiator' the movie influenced the decision to cover Roman period in the third game;

- how many future installments we should be expecting in this series before it runs out of gas

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2006
It is totally worth the price that I paid for. I lost my Shogun CD a long time ago and it was great to reconquer Japan all over again by relying on superb tactics rather than novel weaponry from abroad.

As for the Medieval, the defense against the onslaught of the Mongol Horde was an tiring yet exuberant epic that has robbed me of countless weekends.

Nevertheless, Rome is still my favorite thus far with its intricate plot.

And this package has them all!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on August 11, 2006
Awesome games for those that like to control large real-time battles. This set its worth every penny and you don't have to have the latest and greatest machine to play (P3 1.0 GHZ and 256 MB RAM is the minimum requirement.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2006
This collection is just what I've been searching for for years. It includes all of the Total War games (except Medieval II) in one convenient package with an incredible price. Each game alone is easily worth (in the opinion of a strategy gamer) $20, and combining all three games and four expansion packs for $50, well, that's just a dream come true. It was so much easier buying one collection rather than seven games.

Then there are the actual games, which are even more incredible than the price. The graphics may not be Call of Duty 2, but I encourage any strategy gamer to buy this collection, or at least just one of the games. The Total War games are some of the best strategy games I've played. These games are actual strategy, requiring one to think, unlike some games that boast being strategy when all that matters is numbers. There are so many great aspects of these games that they truly warrant all five stars and are easily worth $50.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on July 23, 2007
Now i know there're many total war fans who have warm memories linked to the series and bought each one from the day of release and not only for the graphics. I got this one for 30 bucks and i thought its an amazing price for the amount of games i get, but as a installed the games i was quite disappointed. Shogun-Mongol Invasion have no real multiplayer only LAN and because it was the first in the series the graphics are so monotone, colorless, out date that i doubt anyone even singleplays it, the Medieval-Viking Invasion is better in terms of graphics and it has Gamespy Arcade but its no competator to Medieval 2, Rome Total War is the one that knocked my sockes off, i mean the graphics are colorfull, rich, more live, stunning unit details. My advice is unless you played this games and for some reason lost or damaged old cd's and want a full collection get this one. But if you are casual gamer with no memories for this game get Rome:TW Gold and Medieval 2:TW which are most played.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2007
These three games with there respective expansion packs are by some of the best games I have played for the PC. When I got Shogun Total War so many years ago, I could not stop playing it. I played it for 5 days straight with little to no sleep. I finally was able to conquer half of Japan before I fell asleep exausted with my conquest. Two weeks later, I finally was able to say Japan was in my total domination. I anxiously waited for a sequel, and to my delight it was Medieval Total War. I recognized a lot of the places since I grew up in Europe and saw many of the battlefields and countries that I laid waste too. Rome Total War was definitely a supreme improvement in AI and graphics. I assure you that these games are worth the cost, just be prepared to be immensed in a world and time forgotten, to be fought in the present.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 6, 2007
Entering the mysterious world of 16th century Japan, the fearsome times of 11th century Europe, or experiencing the majesty of ancient Rome, is exciting, suspenseful, as well as educational. This game package affords the gamer with awsome color and variety. The campagne's set the stage of strategic cultural as well as military decisions and the battle engines are realistic and tatically demanding. This package should get 5 stars but for a mirade of technical problems in running the programs. Constant problems deminish the enjoyment of playing these games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 26, 2009
These three games and their accompanying soundtrack and expansion packs are fun and create immersion for the imaginative mind. If you have an appreciation for history or tactics, these games are for you.

The Shogun started it off and while the graphics are no longer at an "acceptable" standard, the new concept of the time - strategic planning and tactical battles is great combination for any aspiring commander. Mongol Invasion is not what I would consider a full expansion (especially seeing how much you get in M2TW:Kingdoms). However, it does add a few battles and a little more history to sink your teeth into.

Medieval uses the same engine and is a much fuller experience of the relatively same product. The addition of small features like granting titles to subordinates and "abilities" to your generals lets you daydream back a thousand years and form your own nation.

Rome, the newest of the pack, is excellent in many ways. But, with so many mods out there now by fellow gamers, the game can take on any incarnation you may wish.

These games are a lot of fun and worth your time while you wait for Empire to be debugged and let the price fall a bit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2008
This a six game package, in which i have two of the six games. The first game of Tatal War made was Shogun, i loaded but only could play part of the this game because of i cept crashing to desk top on my main comp. I think the problem is because of vedio card issues. But plays well on my Lab Top. Still have to play the the other games to let you know how it all works out. But so far i like it, a bit spoiled with the later game graphics like on Medieval II.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2008
If you want to play a real time strategy game that will give you a challenge at every level and keep you coming back for more, then Total War: Eras is the answer. It has all the greats of the total war series in one box.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed

Total War: Attila Special Edition
Total War: Attila Special Edition by Sega of America, Inc. (Mac, Mac OS 9 and below, Windows, Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.