Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and sexy Greek god romance
Tina Folsom's new series takes a lighter turn from her Scanguards Vampires series, but still maintains the sexy alpha male hero, independent heroine, hot romance, and good balance between story and sex I've come to expect and appreciate in her books.

In A Touch of Greek, Triton, the philandering son of Poseidon, is stripped of his powers and sent to Earth to...
Published on December 24, 2010 by Purr More Bark Less

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cute book I guess...
Incredibly easy read. I'm in college, and this feels like something a middle schooler wouldn't have a hard time reading.
My only complaints are: I picked this book out because it dealt with the Greek gods. Somebody didn't do their homework before writing in this world. First, Hades doesn't have flames. That would be Hell. Hades and Hell are not the same...
Published on August 5, 2011 by Lori


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and sexy Greek god romance, December 24, 2010
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tina Folsom's new series takes a lighter turn from her Scanguards Vampires series, but still maintains the sexy alpha male hero, independent heroine, hot romance, and good balance between story and sex I've come to expect and appreciate in her books.

In A Touch of Greek, Triton, the philandering son of Poseidon, is stripped of his powers and sent to Earth to learn a lesson in love. With the assistance of his friend Dionysus a plan is hatched for him to prove that he isn't just a selfish scamp and to hopefully earn his way back into Olympus. Then he meets Sophia, recently blinded by a seemingly freak accident and struggling to convert an inherited house into a B&B while trying to outmaneuver her greedy and malicious cousin. Triton takes this opportunity to meet Zeus's challenge but soon his plans take a different turn as his attraction to Sophia grows. Maybe Triton is capable of love after all.

As usual, I thoroughly enjoyed Folsom's characters. Triton is a likable scamp and the interaction and banter between him and his friends Dionysus, Eros, and Hermes contributed to the lighter and more humorous feel of this book. I've always enjoyed the secondary characters in Tina's other books and this book was no different.

Though A Touch of Greek is lighter fare than her vampire series, it doesn't skimp on the romance one bit. Tina does romance and does it well. There is plenty of emphasis on building the connection between the characters and the eventual sex scenes are open-door and sizzling hot. Though I labeled this an erotic paranormal romance because the sex scenes are explicit, I think you could consider it to be the sexier end of a regular paranormal romance.

Tina's books just seem to have the right formula for me: some light intrigue; good pacing and dialogue; sexy alpha male heroes; heroines that are sometimes kick-ass and sometimes not, but always independent and strong; a dash of humor; a good romantic connection between the lead characters, great secondary characters, and sizzling love scenes that flow well and deliver on the promise of all that romantic tension.

A fun and sexy look at the Greek gods. I absolutely enjoyed this new series and look forward to the next book, which is Dionysus's story and will be coming sometime in 2011.

Word Count: approx. 84,710 (Novel)
Print Length: 234 pgs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book and looking forward to the rest of the series!, January 7, 2011
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A Touch of Greek is the first novel by Tina Folsom that I have had the pleasure of reading, and I must say... I loved this book!

Even though this book is HOT at times, the erotica doesn't take over the romance that Tina writes. Which, by the way, is simply beautiful. Sophia and Triton face outward challenges that are both earthly and godly, while at the same time, battling issues within themselves. The intense situations and emotional trials kept me turning pages at a steady pace.

Unlike some erotic romances that I have read, A Touch of Greek had an interesting and deeply thought out plot. The story intertwined with the romance was fresh and original, and the characters were easy to relate with. Yes, even Triton. Even though he is a God, he has real issues to deal with.

The erotic portions of the book were done with class and taste. Tina incorporated steamy scenes into her book without taking over the story or making it sound like a porn show. They were very well written and made the book better, rather than worse.

A Touch of Greek was a very pleasant read. Tina Folsom's writing flowed well and kept me interested from start to finish. Not only is the romance beautiful, the erotic moments HOT, and the plot intense, but her writing is so easy to read and flows perfectly. This is a story that will leave you with a smile on your face and a glow in your heart. I look forward to reading more of Tina's books, especially others in the "Out of Olympus" series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series!, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So happy to have found this writer, as she writes very well written romance books!! -Including this one, which is a wonderful start to the Out of Olympus series.

I especially enjoyed Triton essentially being knocked off his high horse ;) and having his ego go down a few notches, when Sophia turned him down (when they first met). She became his mission in a sense, to find out what is so different about her, in comparison to other women (who would love nothing more than to throw themselves at him). Sophia refers to him as a "Himbo", a male bimbo, which seemed to really get under Triton's skin.

It was very fun to watch Triton change his way of thinking as he fell in love with Sophia, and likewise for Sophia. Even if in a sort of sneaky way at first. They had a great connection, and their love seemed perfect. :)

Another great book with plenty of fun, romance, and great chemistry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please!, December 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've always been a fan of Greek Gods. So when I was browsing Amazon and came across this book I was elated. Now that I've read the book I'm even more so.

Sophia has no time for handsome men. They lie and cheat and leave her. All she really has time for anyway is renovating the home her Aunt left her. She's turning it into a B&B so that she can keep it and hopefully, pay the mortgage. When she accidentally falls down the stairs and detaches her retina's she needs someone to help.

Triton, son of Poseidon is just the handsome man Sohpia's talking about. He's the kind of man -er God that does just that. He sleeps with any woman he can get his hands on. So when he happens upon one of Zeus' he's stripped of his Godly powers and sent to the mortal world until he can find a women to love him for who he is not what he looks like. Easier said then done.

I really enjoyed this book. It was playful, fun and entertaining. There were several parts that I couldn't help but laugh out loud with. I found myself trying to sneak in a few pages at work here and there. It was hard for me to put down because I just wanted to know what was next.

One thing I sort of wished for was a little more of a confrontation with Sophia's cousin. I don't want to give anything away but I felt like there was something more that was deserving with that outcome. Nonetheless, it didn't detract from the story.

This might seem odd but what I actually found enjoyable was the fact that the author was not afraid of cursing. To be honest, I hear it all day and when I read supplemental words instead of them it just seems out of place and not quite right. So that fact that the author used them made this feel real to me.

I was really able to connect with the characters. I could almost feel what Sophia was going through. I think I connected more with Sophia then Triton but I felt like they were both great.

I am so excited for the next book in the series and I cannot wait for more Gods! I'm really happy I found this book and I'll be sure to pick up more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cute book I guess..., August 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Incredibly easy read. I'm in college, and this feels like something a middle schooler wouldn't have a hard time reading.
My only complaints are: I picked this book out because it dealt with the Greek gods. Somebody didn't do their homework before writing in this world. First, Hades doesn't have flames. That would be Hell. Hades and Hell are not the same location. Second, Triton is immune to Ero's arrows? What? Did you forget the story of Apollo and Daphne, the soon to be laurel tree? Apollo smarted off at Eros, so Eros shot him with one of his arrows. It worked. That's why Apollo was so intent on chasing Daphne down. D'uh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than book #2, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Love this book. I love greek mythology and love stories. This book combines both in a easy to read non-raunchy manner. I can't wait to re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touch of Greek, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Triton has to tame his bad boy ways and not use his looks to get his way. I loved it. But there isn't a Tina folsum book I've ever hated. I'm looking for the next in this series all love scenes were hot yet tasteful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Greek, May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I first found Tina Folsom's talent for writing through her Scanguards series. Amazing! She does not hesitate to put what she wants out there on her pages. It is what it is an that's that! Oh and then there's the fact that her male characters are some of the hottest most desirable out there. Love that about her writing :)

Sophia inherited her aunts house and decides to turn it into a Bed and Breakfast. Her cousin Michael refuses to accept the fact that it was left to her and not him and continually harasses her on that point. Sophia is determined to get the Bed and Breakfast up and running within a certain amount of time and is not going to allow her cousin or anyone else get in her way.

Triton, son of Poseidon has a lesson to learn according to Zeus (and others). That lesson is to cease his selfish ways. Zeus gave Triton two choices of punishment and the arrogant fool was daydreaming while they were stated. Triton turns discreetly to his friends to see which option he should choose. Once decided he finds out he is to be stripped of his powers, sent to America and he must find a woman to fall in love with him. A very tall list there for Triton!

Sophia and Triton learn a lot from one another and go through even more on their journey. There is no denying the attraction and chemistry between them. And you cannot stop what is meant to be. Ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, sexy,... A fun read!, November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
In one sentence... This was a simply delightful read! I read a lot of the "limited time" ebooks and only review a few. This one deserved a review. Tina Folsom created a story that did a great job of telling a love story that included Mythology, humor, drama, and a healthy dose of sex! I particularly liked the way that the author captured the way that male friends "rib" each other and play tricks on each other. I am planning on buying the rest in the series.
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I can honestly say that I couldn't put my Kindle down lol. This book kept me interested through from start to finish and being free made it even better! I would totally recommend it to anyone & am looking forward to reading more from this series :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.