Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Touch of Greek (Out of Olympus Book 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 24, 2010
Tina Folsom's new series takes a lighter turn from her Scanguards Vampires series, but still maintains the sexy alpha male hero, independent heroine, hot romance, and good balance between story and sex I've come to expect and appreciate in her books.

In A Touch of Greek, Triton, the philandering son of Poseidon, is stripped of his powers and sent to Earth to learn a lesson in love. With the assistance of his friend Dionysus a plan is hatched for him to prove that he isn't just a selfish scamp and to hopefully earn his way back into Olympus. Then he meets Sophia, recently blinded by a seemingly freak accident and struggling to convert an inherited house into a B&B while trying to outmaneuver her greedy and malicious cousin. Triton takes this opportunity to meet Zeus's challenge but soon his plans take a different turn as his attraction to Sophia grows. Maybe Triton is capable of love after all.

As usual, I thoroughly enjoyed Folsom's characters. Triton is a likable scamp and the interaction and banter between him and his friends Dionysus, Eros, and Hermes contributed to the lighter and more humorous feel of this book. I've always enjoyed the secondary characters in Tina's other books and this book was no different.

Though A Touch of Greek is lighter fare than her vampire series, it doesn't skimp on the romance one bit. Tina does romance and does it well. There is plenty of emphasis on building the connection between the characters and the eventual sex scenes are open-door and sizzling hot. Though I labeled this an erotic paranormal romance because the sex scenes are explicit, I think you could consider it to be the sexier end of a regular paranormal romance.

Tina's books just seem to have the right formula for me: some light intrigue; good pacing and dialogue; sexy alpha male heroes; heroines that are sometimes kick-ass and sometimes not, but always independent and strong; a dash of humor; a good romantic connection between the lead characters, great secondary characters, and sizzling love scenes that flow well and deliver on the promise of all that romantic tension.

A fun and sexy look at the Greek gods. I absolutely enjoyed this new series and look forward to the next book, which is Dionysus's story and will be coming sometime in 2011.

Word Count: approx. 84,710 (Novel)
Print Length: 234 pgs
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2011
A Touch of Greek is the first novel by Tina Folsom that I have had the pleasure of reading, and I must say... I loved this book!

Even though this book is HOT at times, the erotica doesn't take over the romance that Tina writes. Which, by the way, is simply beautiful. Sophia and Triton face outward challenges that are both earthly and godly, while at the same time, battling issues within themselves. The intense situations and emotional trials kept me turning pages at a steady pace.

Unlike some erotic romances that I have read, A Touch of Greek had an interesting and deeply thought out plot. The story intertwined with the romance was fresh and original, and the characters were easy to relate with. Yes, even Triton. Even though he is a God, he has real issues to deal with.

The erotic portions of the book were done with class and taste. Tina incorporated steamy scenes into her book without taking over the story or making it sound like a porn show. They were very well written and made the book better, rather than worse.

A Touch of Greek was a very pleasant read. Tina Folsom's writing flowed well and kept me interested from start to finish. Not only is the romance beautiful, the erotic moments HOT, and the plot intense, but her writing is so easy to read and flows perfectly. This is a story that will leave you with a smile on your face and a glow in your heart. I look forward to reading more of Tina's books, especially others in the "Out of Olympus" series!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2010
So happy to have found this writer, as she writes very well written romance books!! -Including this one, which is a wonderful start to the Out of Olympus series.

I especially enjoyed Triton essentially being knocked off his high horse ;) and having his ego go down a few notches, when Sophia turned him down (when they first met). She became his mission in a sense, to find out what is so different about her, in comparison to other women (who would love nothing more than to throw themselves at him). Sophia refers to him as a "Himbo", a male bimbo, which seemed to really get under Triton's skin.

It was very fun to watch Triton change his way of thinking as he fell in love with Sophia, and likewise for Sophia. Even if in a sort of sneaky way at first. They had a great connection, and their love seemed perfect. :)

Another great book with plenty of fun, romance, and great chemistry!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
Always the potential for spoilers here.

I expected to enjoy this tale since I like Ms. Folsom's Scanguards series for the most part. The premise of A Touch of Greek had potential--Greek god Triton sent to earth as punishment for being an amoral philanderer. Stripped of his god status, he can only return to Olympus and regain his powers if he is able to find a mortal woman who loves him for his kindness and good heart. Since he doesn't have either of those qualities, it's a tough row for Triton to hoe.

Enter Sophia, Greek-American heroine who was able to see gods and fairies and similar creatures when she was a child. Because she turns him down at their first meeting, Triton becomes mildly obsessed with her. When he learns an accident has temporarily taken her sight, Triton moves in for the kill, posing as Sophia's hired home healthcare worker.

Should have been good. It wasn't. Without his god powers, Triton was merely human. All the things we do on a daily basis should have been foreign to him, things he had to learn, from getting dressed in the morning (he can zap clothes on and off) to cooking a meal. But Triton doesn't have to learn, or if he does, it must have happened only in the author's mind because none of it made it the written page. And that's too bad because it was a wasted opportunity to further what turned out to be the gods' ultimate goal, to teach Triton a little humility. The only vague nod to this was Triton's first time driving a car. He doesn't know how but within a block or two he's got it down. On a stick shift, no less. Right. THAT will teach him. The entire book was like that. Our god hero has no god powers but his first stint living as a mortal and he knows how to do everything perfectly.

And Sophia was, well, a wimp. She repeatedly tells her rotten cousin to stay out of her house but does nothing to prevent him from walking in and out as he pleases. There's an undeveloped back story that is supposed to explain this--her ability to see gods and nymphs and whatnot was considered the onset of mental illness and Sophia simply curls into a ball whenever evil cousin mentions it. I didn't buy it. Perhaps if she had actually been hospitalized or even treated for this supposed mental illness then Sophia's complete inner collapse when it's mentioned would make sense. But she wasn't. Apparently it hasn't even been mentioned since she was a child. A rational adult's response to such references would be, "Oh, please! Grow up."

As a couple, I didn't get them. Other reviewers talk about Triton's growth into emotional maturity. I didn't see it. He did good things for Sophia but each and every one was done for the purpose of furthering his own goals, not out of altruism. I cottoned on to that because the author told me so every time. Triton will think, "If I do this then I can make Sophia fall in love with me for being such a good guy and then I can return to Olympus and resume my horndog ways." Every. Single. Time. That's not maturation. That's not growth. That's how a crafty eight year-old thinks. Yet miraculously, they fall in love. There's some sex and a truly stupid mini-story about Triton leaving Sophia for her own good without telling her why (because, of course, that's what all mature people do instead of simply talking to each other). Sophia is no better. After thirty seconds or so of internal struggle, she accepts Triton's word that he's a god. She forgives him for disappearing on her after a minute or two of rather self-serving groveling. I didn't feel her pain. I wanted to smack her with a stick.

So, I was vastly disappointed in the story. From a technical standpoint, there were enough errors that I noticed. A Juliet balcony was referred to as a julienne balcony. I guess the balcony was shredded into narrow strips. Hyphens and commas showed up in the strangest places. And finally, a personal pet peeve. The author clearly did absolutely no research on estate tax. The major tension in Sophia's life is the need to turn the large house she inherited from her aunt into a B&B because she has this enormous inheritance tax she must pay. There's no such thing as an inheritance tax in this country. There is an estate and gift tax (yes, there's a HUGE difference) but federal estate taxes only apply to estates in excess of $5 million. That house had some serious equity! Some states have an estate tax but South Carolina isn't one of them. When this purported inheritance tax was mentioned right near the beginning of the book, my heart sank. When Triton was identified as the god protector of sailors and seamen, I knew without a doubt next to no research had been done. Triton wasn't the god protector of sailors in Greek mythology, Palaemon was. Bad mistake.

I gave this book two stars since one star is reserved for books I can't finish. I did finish it but it was a constant struggle of trying to enjoy the story and getting smacked in the face repeatedly with poor word choices, poor punctuation, and poor research.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2012
I first found Tina Folsom's talent for writing through her Scanguards series. Amazing! She does not hesitate to put what she wants out there on her pages. It is what it is an that's that! Oh and then there's the fact that her male characters are some of the hottest most desirable out there. Love that about her writing :)

Sophia inherited her aunts house and decides to turn it into a Bed and Breakfast. Her cousin Michael refuses to accept the fact that it was left to her and not him and continually harasses her on that point. Sophia is determined to get the Bed and Breakfast up and running within a certain amount of time and is not going to allow her cousin or anyone else get in her way.

Triton, son of Poseidon has a lesson to learn according to Zeus (and others). That lesson is to cease his selfish ways. Zeus gave Triton two choices of punishment and the arrogant fool was daydreaming while they were stated. Triton turns discreetly to his friends to see which option he should choose. Once decided he finds out he is to be stripped of his powers, sent to America and he must find a woman to fall in love with him. A very tall list there for Triton!

Sophia and Triton learn a lot from one another and go through even more on their journey. There is no denying the attraction and chemistry between them. And you cannot stop what is meant to be. Ever!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
Triton, the god of sailors and calm seas, is cast out of Olympus for poaching on Zeus' playground. When he finds Sophia, tries to kill two birds with one stone: bed a beautiful woman and get his sentence lifted and take his powers back. But with gods and mortals afoot, you know it's not going to be as simple as that.

I liked this. The writing is good, though a bit slow and stilted at times. I did appreciate how the gods were depicted and seemed to be in accordance with their roles in traditional mythology. I did think a few things to be a bit out of order, such as when Sophia is made to climb up the stairs by herself when Triton calls her up to assess the shower and the ceiling fan accidents. I mean, the woman is going blind and cannot see anything clearly. Why not walk her up the stairs so she wouldn't break her neck? I thought that was odd. Add to that the fact that Triton was posing as her home nurse, so he should have thought of that. In fact, apart from being told to rest and sit while somebody gives her food or coffee, she is not assisted much. She seems to go about the house without walking into walls or bumping into doors considering that she is almost blind and walking about unassisted by either her real nurse or her fake one. I felt it undermined the fact that she was unable to see, which is a very big part of the story.

That being said, this is a light, fluffy fantasy/romance. I was surprised by how graphic the sex and arousals were, it almost felt a bit on the erotica side of things, the way the sex is described. Most of the overly graphic sexual descriptions is told from Triton's POV, so I suppose it is in line with the portrayal of Greek gods as licentious.

RECOMMENDED FOR LIGHT READING.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
Ridiculously romantic and over-dramatic. Complicated too. But it was also fun, I guess. Surely entertaining. Of course the story in itself is ridiculous and the main reason I found it funny at all.
If you told me Triton still had his powers...I would've believed him capable to manipulate Sophia and her situation but without them? Are you kidding me? And wasn't there a easier way?
And her? How a supposedly independent woman turned out to be so insecure and fragile is beyond me. Kind of took most of the fun out of things. Always doubting herself, her feelings and her actions. Tiresome after some time, for sure. Michael, the bad guy? Another tiresome aspect of the book. Seriously. Could he be more of an idiot? Overall it was just anti-climatic. No big fight. Nothing. Let's just get together and pop some babies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are in the mood for a slightly different paranormal romance, with a few laughs, this is a good one.

The god Triton, son of Poseidon, has pis..., er, "annoyed" Zeus once again. In response, Zeus strips him of his powers, sends him to Charleston, and tells him he can't get his power back until he gets a mortal to fall in love with him for his kindness, compassion and good behavior. Something he's sorely lacking. Sophia is the young lady he's set his sights on, and boy could she use some help!

This is primarily a romance, using the trope of the "bad boy" who reforms, without really realizing what is happening. In between, there are a number of amusing situational moments - not laugh out loud, but definitely a chortle or two. It is an "open door" story, so if details of sex bother you, you might not appreciate this story. However, I don't feel that the details are gross or too over the top. And there is lot of tension built up before actual consummation, which isn't overly frequent.

Writing is very good; the story hangs together very well. Dialogue is fabulous as well, with the interactions feeling very true. It's really fun to see Greek gods in the modern world, especially as the historical interactions between these gods and humans lends itself very well to the modern day romance. A few errors in grammar does mar the story occasionally, such as the use of reigns instead of reins, but not enough to ruin the read. A book I found very enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2011
In one sentence... This was a simply delightful read! I read a lot of the "limited time" ebooks and only review a few. This one deserved a review. Tina Folsom created a story that did a great job of telling a love story that included Mythology, humor, drama, and a healthy dose of sex! I particularly liked the way that the author captured the way that male friends "rib" each other and play tricks on each other. I am planning on buying the rest in the series.
Well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2010
I've always been a fan of Greek Gods. So when I was browsing Amazon and came across this book I was elated. Now that I've read the book I'm even more so.

Sophia has no time for handsome men. They lie and cheat and leave her. All she really has time for anyway is renovating the home her Aunt left her. She's turning it into a B&B so that she can keep it and hopefully, pay the mortgage. When she accidentally falls down the stairs and detaches her retina's she needs someone to help.

Triton, son of Poseidon is just the handsome man Sohpia's talking about. He's the kind of man -er God that does just that. He sleeps with any woman he can get his hands on. So when he happens upon one of Zeus' he's stripped of his Godly powers and sent to the mortal world until he can find a women to love him for who he is not what he looks like. Easier said then done.

I really enjoyed this book. It was playful, fun and entertaining. There were several parts that I couldn't help but laugh out loud with. I found myself trying to sneak in a few pages at work here and there. It was hard for me to put down because I just wanted to know what was next.

One thing I sort of wished for was a little more of a confrontation with Sophia's cousin. I don't want to give anything away but I felt like there was something more that was deserving with that outcome. Nonetheless, it didn't detract from the story.

This might seem odd but what I actually found enjoyable was the fact that the author was not afraid of cursing. To be honest, I hear it all day and when I read supplemental words instead of them it just seems out of place and not quite right. So that fact that the author used them made this feel real to me.

I was really able to connect with the characters. I could almost feel what Sophia was going through. I think I connected more with Sophia then Triton but I felt like they were both great.

I am so excited for the next book in the series and I cannot wait for more Gods! I'm really happy I found this book and I'll be sure to pick up more from this author.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.