Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A captivating romantic suspense
Everly Gray has ESP fingers. Everything she touches, material items and people, gives her a glimpse of something in the past, the present or the future. She doesn't date much because her dates usually end in disaster when they touch her and she 'sees' something disturbing that turns her off.

Her best friend, Violet, is a private investigator. Violet knows...
Published on October 13, 2011 by Wendy L. Hines

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mumble jumble first half of the story.
Everly has a talent, she sees visions with her fingers. Violet has a secret past, she never shared with Everly. But, it takes almost three quarters of the story for the author to settle down and put it in order. The first part of the story had me thinking Stephanie Plum and Eve Dallas combined... which did not fit well. If you are going to make the main character see...
Published on May 4, 2012 by Mysterylover


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A captivating romantic suspense, October 13, 2011
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Everly Gray has ESP fingers. Everything she touches, material items and people, gives her a glimpse of something in the past, the present or the future. She doesn't date much because her dates usually end in disaster when they touch her and she 'sees' something disturbing that turns her off.

Her best friend, Violet, is a private investigator. Violet knows about Everly's gift but not many others do. When Everly has a bad vision about herself as an old woman in a rocking chair, they go to the beach to walk it off, but someone is taking photographs. Everly decides to introduce herself to the man, and Violet asks questions about why he's photographing them. His name is Mitchell Hunt and he's just staying busy, trying to forget the memory of seeing his best friend murdered the night before.

They talk, and he asks Everly out on a date. She explains about her ESP fingers but he doesn't seem worried, although he does hire Violet to investigate the murder. He knows he is a person of interest, and he wants the real killer found. However, after their date, Everly gets a phone call about Mitch being missing.
Everly and Violet search Mitch's house and Everly gets visions of Mitch being brutalized by three men. He's alive, but she doesn't know where they took him. Fortunately, Mitch is dropped off at a hospital hours later, but Everly still can't shake the visions of the men. She convinces Violet to investigate the matter further.

Everly convinces Violet to help her break into Tony's house - the murdered friend of Mitch. Everly's gift is changing; she can see the visions without even touching anything. Her mind tears magazines and makes a collage on its own, and she can't shake the thought that diamonds are involved, even though Violet can't use that information in any shape or form.

Everly and Mitch begin a sweet romance, and between the three of them they try to uncover the real killer. But when danger comes for Everly, will her ESP fingers get her out of it, or will she die with regrets like she saw in her vision?

A TOUCH OF ICE is a suspense-filled romance that will keep you up late turning the pages. Everly and Violet make perfect partners in their sleuthing, complementing one another perfectly. The romance between Mitch and Everly is sweet and blossoms into something spicy and wonderful. The mystery twists and turns, keeping this reader thoroughly entertained, trying to figure out the clues. Romantic suspense readers won't want to miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, as expected, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
I've come to have certain expectations when I pick up a book by Ms. Charles. Humor, mystery, edge-of-your-seat action, delving into the paranormal in a way that is easy to accept. It's all here in spades, along with that trademark voice that I can't get enough of. The characters here are easy to latch onto and the story will keep you reading as fast as you can. Definitely give this one a go. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read by a talented new author, November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Perfect mix of suspense, romance and a touch of the paranormal. Can't wait for the next book in this exciting, new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Touch Of Ice, March 1, 2012
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Different. Interesting. I'd like it better if the sex scenes weren't quite so graphic. Knowing the characters had sex and enjoyed it is all well and good, but I really don't need a blow by blow description of exactly what they did. I DO have an imagination. What's with Pierce and the ending?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mumble jumble first half of the story., May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Everly has a talent, she sees visions with her fingers. Violet has a secret past, she never shared with Everly. But, it takes almost three quarters of the story for the author to settle down and put it in order. The first part of the story had me thinking Stephanie Plum and Eve Dallas combined... which did not fit well. If you are going to make the main character see visions and snoop at least give her the back bone to follow through. Good concept.. poorly written .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fans of light paranormal romance will enjoy Everly Gray, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
For those of you looking for really light reading this book might be for you, especially if your preference tends toward paranormal romance. As I am often wont to do, I picked this up as a free offering on Amazon solely due to the really cute cover art; one of my many weaknesses that I can't seem to overcome.

Everly Gray has ESP of the fingers, so she has to watch what (and who) she touches to avoid sometimes debilitating visions. Her bff Violet, a private investigator, is just about the only one who knows about her gift. After a chance meeting on the beach, her life becomes entwined with handsome hunk Mitch, who ends up hiring Violet to investigate his friend's recent death. Mitch ends up missing, and it's up to her and Violet to find him. Mayhem ensues, and all kinds of secrets uncovered.

Everly and Violet are both likeable characters, although not as fleshed-out and deep as I would have liked them. I liked them both, clumsy Everly and her strong, self-reliant sidekick, I just felt like more could have been done with these characters. The plot did stretch the limits of believability, but it is fiction, after all, and the author has the right to tell her story as she sees fit. And I'm not talking about the ESP part, but I don't want to give the story away. That being said, Ms. Charles did tie up all the loose ends nicely, and her writing is solid without a lot of errors. A big plus in the indie world, unfortunately.

From the look of things the author is developing a nice fan base, so apparently this type of story resonates with many readers. It is a bit superficial for me, however, and a tad too much on the "light" side. Not much thinking required, but a nice little getaway. All in all it was a pleasant read. There are plenty of readers who favor this type of story, and the author seems to be adept at tapping into that market. Kudos, Ms. Charles.

A Touch of Ice is the first in a series of Everly Gray adventures. A Touch of TNT and A Touch of the Past are already available, as well as the novella To Touch a Thief. If you enjoy a quick, light escape without a lot of thought, you might try this series out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! A real page turner - totally enjoyable., April 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just finished the book and it was great. Interesting characters, lots of twists and well written. Really had a hard time getting anything else done after I had started the book. Main character Everly has a gift - if she touches someone with her fingers she "sees" things and events. Her gift evolves as the story progresses. She has led a lonely life since touching other people is uncomfortable and often too revealing.
The part of El (her nickname)is really well written. You'll really get to like her and the other people in the story too. The story starts with solving a mysterious death which leads to further complications. A little romance thrown in and here you have a great book. Can't wait to read the next in what I hope will be a long running series of books. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a day, May 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
I started this book with my morning coffee, and was done before the evening news. (I also did laundry, dishes, switched out my winter clothes for summer ones and cleaned a couple of closets. I read fast, especially when the content catches my interest.) I am a fan of sci-fi, mystery and some paranormal, and this story has just enough paranormal to be interesting, without making 'normals' look boring and daft. I.E., there is not a whole society of abnormals in cahootz, keeping thier kind secret from the whole of humanity. While that can be entertaining for a flight of fancy, if you want a story with some credible meat without giving up all the sugar, this is a great mix. Be aware, it does have adult romance content; although again, not so much that the sex overruns the mystery. (I keep this book in the mystery section, not the romance section of my kindle.) I love the hint of the abnormal to come in future books, and hope there will be just that: more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun & Fresh Mystery and Romance, May 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: a Touch of Ice (Book 1 Romantic Mystery): The Everly Gray Adventures (Kindle Edition)
This is the first time I've read anything by this author, but I enjoyed it immensely! The characters were great, there was always something happening and the mystery had several twists that I wasn't expecting. I loved the main character, she has a gift that allows her to read information through her fingertips, but she still needs her friends to find her way through the mystery. I hope Violet, Mitch, Adam and Preston are all in the next installment. I want to know what happens next. If you like Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum or Charlaine Harris' Grave Sight series I would highly recommend it. If you like characters who have their share of flaws, but still manage to muddle through you'll love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Adventure, November 14, 2011
I'm a big fan of L.J. Charles and this book is right up there with what I've come to expect. The writing and characters are fun and Everly is one to cheer for. The sexual tension between the hero and heroine sizzles, but not in an over-the-top way. This is a great read for those who like a bit of paranormal mixed with their adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.