Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just BE a Director...
One of my favorite lines in the book isn't from the author at all -- it's from his sister. When Kevin told his sister he wanted to be a Director, she told him "then be a Director." Kevin agreed and said he was going to study and take classes, etc. She interrupted him and said "No, just BE a Director." And from that day on he thought as a Director and saw the world as a...
Published on April 17, 2012 by Don Snyder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Read...
...if you're not familiar with Kevin Smith. For the rest of us that listen to his podcasts, there's really nothing new here. Smith is notorious for revealing EVERY detail in his life, leaving an autobiography like this almost redundant. That said, his observations are free from pretense and entertaining. He clearly knows his place in the Hollywood star system, and makes...
Published 12 months ago by Bloated Boy


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just BE a Director..., April 17, 2012
This review is from: Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good (Hardcover)
One of my favorite lines in the book isn't from the author at all -- it's from his sister. When Kevin told his sister he wanted to be a Director, she told him "then be a Director." Kevin agreed and said he was going to study and take classes, etc. She interrupted him and said "No, just BE a Director." And from that day on he thought as a Director and saw the world as a Director and wrote as a Director. It's a great lesson: don't "wait" to be something or "plan" to be something -- just BE something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return to Form, April 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good (Hardcover)
The infuriating thing about Kevin Smith is his determination to hide his intelligence and sensitivity behind a cloud of vulgar profanity and fart jokes. CLERKS and CHASING AMY were the films that prompted me to start writing screenplays and making my own short movies, and for years I held him up as an indie role model, although I lost a bit of faith when Smith squelched his unique voice and began churning out mainstream-ish comedies like COP OUT and ZACK & MIRI. Smith feels my pain -- he's apparently upset with himself, too. But in this new quasi-autobiography, Smith writes with great pinnace about his life, his creative output, his family, and his role models. The result is an absolutely charming book, bordering on inspirational. Smith is often hilarious, but he occasionally delves a bit too far into the gutter for my tastes. (I read far more about his attraction to his wife's a**hole than I ever wanted to know, for instance.) But I couldn't put this book down, and I am pleased to announce that my faith has been restored. Well-played, sir. Well-played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Life and Times of Kevin S, March 29, 2012
This review is from: Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good (Hardcover)
Since I saw a headline on my RSS feed - "Fat Director kicked off flight" - and clicked on it, then (after reading the brief article surrounded by many ads) going to the Smodcast website, I've been hearing about Kevin Smith's life ever since. For a solid 2 years and change I've had Smodcast and its many, many attendant podcasts playing whenever I've had a long drive with myself or a walk to work or washing up and needing something non-musical. But having listened to the many entertaining stories Kevin has imparted, along with having seen his Q&A specials "Too Fat for Forty" and "Kevin Smith Burn in Hell", I realised after the first chapter of this book that for a person who shares everything, there's very little left to surprise someone who's been following along and listened to every story.

Smith uses his father as an example for the rest of the book - Don Smith was a man who worked 20 years in a job he hated (the US postal service) to provide for his family and then after a too-short retirement, died of heart failure, screaming. The message to Smith was clear - never do a job you hate, never have regrets so when the time comes, you won't go out in as much pain.

From there we get a whirlwind look at Smith's career, the story of "Clerks", and a brief synopsis of every film made since then. The filming of "Cop Out" and his clashes with Bruce Willis are documented, as well as the filming of "Red State" which takes up several chapters. What became known as the "Too Fat to Fly" incident with South West is detailed, and a loving final chapter to his wife Jennifer Schwalbach closes out the book along with a short note from their daughter Harley Quinn Smith.

But for most Kevin Smith fans looking for something new or different from what Kevin usually blogs/tweets/podcasts about? It's not in this book. "Tough S---" is basically a summary of Kev's career as well as a look into the memorable events of the last couple of years, all of which has been thoroughly talked about through Kevin's many podcasts. I suppose for those who haven't been following the pods this is a good place to get his thoughts on the South West incident, Bruce Willis, and Red State, but for those who have, the book might seem like a lot of re-heated material.

That said, the book's message is put out clearly - if I can do it, so can you. Kevin is the encouragement any artist reading this book might lack and, with it, that artist might go on and create and find confidence in their work and create more. And for that alone, this book is worth it.

Despite the feeling of déjà vu I felt while reading it, Smith writes so fluidly (a theme in and of itself in the book) and with such verve, humour, and intelligence, the book is never dull and having read some other reviews of this book, he is clearly an inspiration to many readers. For anyone looking for a book that markets itself as a self-help book but is really a series of funny essays in the life of a charming and gifted storyteller, this book can do no wrong. A quick read but fun, "Tough S---" is a good time with common sense wisdom amid the jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Read..., September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...if you're not familiar with Kevin Smith. For the rest of us that listen to his podcasts, there's really nothing new here. Smith is notorious for revealing EVERY detail in his life, leaving an autobiography like this almost redundant. That said, his observations are free from pretense and entertaining. He clearly knows his place in the Hollywood star system, and makes no bones about it. His candor is refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...no filters..., August 12, 2013
I just listened to Tough Sh-- by Kevin Smith on CDs...Smith narrates his own book and has a machine-gun like delivery - his fusilade choking with pop culture references. And this guy has "no filters" so he offers some interesting insider talk about life under The Weinsteins at Mirimax. He spills about how they (the real artistic rebels at Mirimax) begrudgingly took loads of money from the evil Disney Philistines while despising them at the same time. And eventually he came to despise his mentor Harvey "The Sell-Out" Weinstein too (...just as apparently 99.9% of everyone who meets him does.)

He has some great bits on what it was like to work with his "hero", the seemingly cool, Bruce Willis (Spoiler Alert: BW may be the biggest a--hole in all of Hollywood)...and George Carlin (different from his onstage persona...but in a good way) ...how much money you can make podcasting (so how come Maron is poor?)...and what its like to be booted off a Southwest flight because he was "too fat"...???...Hear him out on this...this story will enrage most people.

Smith is at times pretty likeable...at times fairly annoying...such as:

Caveat...the real downside/unnecessary part of this book is he gives WAAAAAAYYYY too much raunchy information on his sex-life. He's like a 17 year old ...again,with no filters. ( what normal male adult talks about his mother like he does...on stage/in books/on CDs??) I almost dumped it after the first 15 minutes...(And I'm pretty hard to gross out)...but it got better...until...

Unless you're in prison, you can probably skip the last CD...#5...where he spends several chapters describing in excited-juvenile detail his awkward seduction techniques on his now current wife. Explaining (aka cloaked bragging?) to everyone how unbelievably lucky he is - just a fat, dorky,guy from New Jersey (...who also just happens to have millions of $$$...live in L.A. and on the east coast...and be a director/actor in the movie biz) to land a really beautiful wife...wow...how unprecedented is that? And then, naturally, he over-shares with us what he does with/to her sexually...??

He should have just sent this "porn letter" section to his wife and spared the rest of us...I want those 52 minutes back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, Self-Deprecating Autobiography, July 10, 2012
This review is from: Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good (Hardcover)
Tough Sh*t is an extremely funny look back by Kevin Smith over his early life, films, and podcasts. He brings his trademark crude humor and sarcasm and applies them to himself, all the while giving some great insights into his career. Tough Sh*t succeeds as both humor book and autobiography.

Smith formats the book as essentially a self-help manual for slackers, explaining how he went from a Quick Stop clerk to a famous director / writer, all the while acknowledging his mistakes along the way. What makes the book so compelling is that Smith is careful to share the credit for his achievements, even with people he has since fallen out with. At the same time, he draws hilarious, if not necessarily flattering, portraits of Hollywood figures such as Harvey Weinstein and Bruce Willis.

The only real flaw in the book is that Smith tends to go off on tangents, such as a five page long gushfest over Wayne Gretsky. Similarly, he devotes three chapters to the making of Red State, while giving only passing attention to his relationships with Scott Mosier, Ralph Garman, and other podcast collaborators. As someone who became interested in Smith through his podcasts, I would have liked more detail about them.

Still, this is a great, funny book that will have you laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!!, February 8, 2013
This book was AWESOME!!!! I have always enjoyed Kevin Smith as a filmmaker and have watched a few videos of his Q&A's. So, I kinda knew what to expect. I decided to take the lazy route and listen to the audio book which lucky me was narrated by Kevin Smith!

Who knew Kevin would be so insightful? Made me want to get off my duff and do more work with my art mostly because I do not have much of an excuse for not doing it. I feel anyone in the arts should check this book out because it is a rather inspiring kick in the pants from an unlikely source!

I loved the honesty and the general FU to the corporate machine that is the entertainment industry. It is great to hear someone else with the view that it is more important to share the art than fill the coffers.

I may have to add Kevin to my list of Directors I not so secretly crush upon. He may even be tied with Quentin Tarantino! Well, a close second cause really who can compete with QT?

Silent Bob always prolific when he chooses to use his words! It will be a sad day when he finally does hang up his director's cap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it again...!!, July 16, 2014
By 
AliceOfelia (Yuba City, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
Excellent book.. read it... Got it on Audio and listened again (Kevin reads, and ad-libs into it)... Intelligent, inspiring and philosophical in many ways. Kevin delivers a sharing of anecdotal and personal experiences through a level of human-ness and humor; a message that can be related to and measured against a readers own personal experiences and pathway(s) to success..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great look at some of the funny things in Kevin's crazy career, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read if you are curious about what makes Kevin Smith "tick" and how his thought process works when it comes to selecting, writing, & directing projects. There is not a whole lot of "inside Hollywood" information, but Kevin does give you his straight up feelings on what happened with the Weinstein Bros. and how much of a "douche bag" Bruce Willis is on a set. Anyone who is a fan of Kevin's will like the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Smith fans, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must read for any Kevin Smith fans. Any regular listeners of his podcasts will have heard some of this material, but a it's a good read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good
Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good by Kevin Smith (Hardcover - March 20, 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.