Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book by unbiased writer
Lance Armstrong is a polarizing figure, and authors of books about him capitalize on this by aiming to either take him down (see Walsh, David) or kiss his behind (see Wilcockson, John). This book is a rare exception (as is the excellent "Lance Armstrong's War" by Dan Coyle). Strickland is an amazing writer. If you love cycling, you'll find that 50, 80, 100 pages go by...
Published on June 28, 2010 by Ezra

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Real New Insight
I was really disappointed with this book. Every year I grab the cycling book featured right before the Tour. This was the worst of the bunch. Strickland has an interesting take on Lance. He's not really supportive of him, but admires his all the same. He starts the book eluding to the fact he discovered some not-so-flattering things about Armstrong, but follows it up...
Published on June 18, 2010 by B. Sullivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book by unbiased writer, June 28, 2010
Lance Armstrong is a polarizing figure, and authors of books about him capitalize on this by aiming to either take him down (see Walsh, David) or kiss his behind (see Wilcockson, John). This book is a rare exception (as is the excellent "Lance Armstrong's War" by Dan Coyle). Strickland is an amazing writer. If you love cycling, you'll find that 50, 80, 100 pages go by before you look up from this book. It doesn't matter that last season was well chronicled by other outlets. Strickland could write about a race you've seen 10 times, and you'd still come away with fresh insight and appreciation for what it takes to race a bicycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Evolution of Lance Armstrong, August 26, 2010
One of the things that I love about professional cycling is the many layers that are at play over the course of a Grand Tour. Perhaps if you're a hardcore cycling fan - you know the summiting record for Alpe d'Huez or can name the Lanterne Rouge from the past three Tour de Frances - Strickland's book might fall short in terms of ultimate insider information. However, as a cycling enthusiast, I wasn't disappointed in the details and Tour insights, strategies, and tactics that Strickland wrote about in "Tour de Lance".

This book is an interesting look at the evolution of Lance Armstrong, how he started in professional cycling and changed (matured?) over the course of his career. It's an insightful revelation about how his celebrity status in recent years has impacted him and ultimately what drove him to hop back on the saddle.

There were a few times throughout the book when Strickland got away from Armstrong and instead focused on the people who have become cycling fans because of him. While it was interesting to read about the impact that Lance has had on the sport, in those sections, I felt like Strickland's writing was a little over-the-top and could've been more concise.

All in all though, "Tour de Lance" is an interesting book on the sport of cycling and the worldwide celebrity that Lance Armstrong has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, July 3, 2010
I've read a lot of books on both Lance and the Tour. This book ranks up there with the best. I loved the first person perspective - I felt like I was right there with them. The Tour starts today and this book totally got me excited to watch. Go Lance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Real New Insight, June 18, 2010
By 
I was really disappointed with this book. Every year I grab the cycling book featured right before the Tour. This was the worst of the bunch. Strickland has an interesting take on Lance. He's not really supportive of him, but admires his all the same. He starts the book eluding to the fact he discovered some not-so-flattering things about Armstrong, but follows it up with an 'I'm not going to tell you what they are' disclaimer. And he doesn't.

Everything in this book was a re-hash of what any above-average cycling fan (meaning, you watch more cycling races than just the Tour) already knows. The stories, quotes and 'behind the scenes' gossip have already been reported. If Strickland did have unique access to Armstrong and the team during the comeback, none of the unique insight you would expect turned up in this book. I could have written 95% of this book from news articles I read over the last 18 months.

The one bright aspect of the book was his insight into Johan Bruyneel's style as Director of a Pro-Tour cycling Team, especially during stages of the Tour. By the end of the book, I actually thought it should have been marketed as a Contador vs Armstrong story and how Bruyneel was able to manage their egos.

Don't buy this book if you are looking for any unique insight into the science, training or 'behind the scenes' anecdotes of Armstrong's comeback. If you are looking for some light reading to get ready for the 2010 Tour de France, grab it, it's a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2009 Tour Recap plus Jilted Love story, March 10, 2011
By 
David Holoman (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a recap of the 2009 Tour de France. The fact that you can't tell that that's what the book is from the title is one of a number of issues with this book.

Oddly enough, this book is a love story between the author and Lance. It's by no means the gushy "Lance is the greatest, Lance is dreamy" motif-- It's a lot more complicated than that-- more like a once and future love, with a lot of soul-searching and unresolved conflict in the middle.

Or put another way, there is way, Way, WAY too much Bill Strickland in this book. A first-person account is going to end up revealing a bit about the author, but the there are just too many passages about the life times of Bill, and again, sorry, but who cares?

Another strike against this work is that the storycraft isn't very good: the first several chapters alternate between the first half-dozen or so 2009 TdF stages on the one hand, and the other 2009 races that were used to prepare for the tour. Seasick yet? Whiplash? Not to worry, the last 14 stages of the TdF were consolidated into one chapter.

I thought Strickland was excessively condescending to those with casual or popular interest in Lance-- not Billish enough, I guess. Finally, the language is a good deal coarser than the occasion warrants. The needless vulgarities are just tiresome, and telling.

A last strike against this book is that has flagrantly tacked-in magazine articles that are complete non-sequitors to the rest of the book. A blind person could see them.

I gave this book the stars I did because it is likely to be authoritative written version of the 2009 Tour, and it does reveal the interesting behind-the-scenes drama that unfolds as impossible situational mechanics unfold. I like reading Feinstein's accounts of golf better than watching the golf itself. I'd still rather watch the biking, but I did enjoy reading a text account of it, even if it was not particularly well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEN Stars!! WOW what a great book!!!, July 14, 2010
Only a wonderful author like Bill Strickland who has written for Bicycling magazine and has ridden and race throughout the world could have written a book like this. Talk about a book that grabs your attention from the cover to the inside photos to the ins and outs of the sport, including the results from the various races he covers in the book. And living in the Sierras near Nevada City and knowing the Nevada City Classic in June 2009 (and the recent race) which was 44 miles, made the book even more interesting.

And that reminded me of the opening page of the book Tour de France, Stage 1 Individual Time Trial, 15.5 km, Monaco July 4, 2009. " Here he is, Lance Armstrong. And there he goes: a blue and yellow-and-white figure on a black-and-yellow bike streaking over the gray surface of a road in Monaco late on a summer morning, the sun's yellow pale in comparison to the shoulders of his jersey, the sky's blue nothing more than the original idea for the magnificent tones that wrap around his back and legs.'

That's exactly the vision I remembered from Nevada City, where he whizzed by so fast that one had to remind themselves that indeed he had just ridden by. It was also the race that when he went thru Sacramento would involve some thief stealing one of his bikes which made local and national news.

So if you are the least bit interested in bike racing or Lance Armstrong and information and commentary you wont find just anywhere, then please buy and read this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time - great story and superbly written, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this knowing that it was written before the game-changing Tyler Hamilton book ("The Secret Race") was released and the subsequent tidal wave of doping related news, leading to the Lance interview with Opra and admission of guilt. Yes, the significance of the what followed the period covered by this book is a limitation. That said, the book portrays Lance as a complex character and is certainly not a one-sided story written by a Lance fanatic/apologist. I found it to be fascinating. It is also incredibly well written, flip flopping back and forth between races and bringing in remarkably insightful details that help the reader not only understand what happened, but why and also what it felt like to be there. It is a great read that I recommend wholeheartedly to anyone who follows bike racing, especially if you recall the 2009 Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm still a Lance Armstrong fan, despite the controversy. After reading any book you can really appreciate the efforts and challenges Armstrong faced. This book gives a fairly good recount. Strickland is not my favorite, but the facts presented makes for good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's good, very good, July 25, 2010
By 
Bill Strickland writes like a painter who uses long, slow strokes to create an image. You have to be patient, but he does a thorough job before the book is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Left a lot to be desired..., July 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Strickland chooses to write this book in the first person. It's a poor choice. By comparison, renowned sports photographer and photojournalist Elizabeth Kreutz's work is included in Comeback 2.0: Up Close and Personal which covers the same period in Lance's journey. Imagine how heavy-handed and off-putting a photo essay work would look were the photographer to show up in all of the athlete's pictures. She was smarter than to take that approach. Unfortunately, Strickland was not.

This is much more a voyeur's look at Lance's comeback, which is what generates the genuine criticism that there is nothing being told that is really new here. Strickland is a strong writer though. He can (and does) describe the cycling jacket that he is wearing, right down to the cut and function of its zipper. If you don't mind reliving Lance's comeback through a bystander's eyes, this book will likely read well and with some measure of appeal. In that respect, I agree with those who have so well received this book. Strickland clearly loves cycling. There is no better measure of writing about something that you love than to do it in the first person. Where this book falls apart for many, and quickly, is that Strickland admits no love of Lance Armstrong, particularly not of his attempt at a comeback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.