Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very decent book with a confusing name
The ambiguity in the name of this book is something that confuses a lot of people, including some reviewers. The target audience of this book is ADVANCED poker players who have NOT played much in tournaments. Experienced tournament players might get something out of it too, or use it as reference, but they are NOT who the author had in mind. So, if you are looking for...
Published on March 27, 2003 by Dr. Hoenikker

versus
131 of 135 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has some useful information
I play a lot of tournament poker-- about a hundred small- to large-buyin live tournaments, and hundreds online, each year.
David's book has excellent, easy-to-understand explanations of key tournament concepts. His description of why the value of a chip changes during a tournament is clear, concise, and spot-on, and what he calls the "gap concept" is...
Published on August 16, 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars NO Dan Harrington, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book pales in comparison to Harrington on hold em. If you are obsessed with poker maybe pick it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars still holds up, March 31, 2012
despite the time since this was originally published, it is stil an excellent book. i just reread it after 2 years, and it has helped my game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, February 12, 2005
This is not Sklansky's best work. The books does have 2 or 3 good concepts but the rest of the book is vague. I wish he had combined this useful info in another book. The rest of the book is junk, with some filler quizes and crap advice. I mean geesh...his discussion on final table play is horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tournament Poker for Advance Players, February 24, 2006
Well organized and focused on the most critical issues. The most important material is presented first in the book.

The author is obviously very knowledgeable.

I repeatedly used the material in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, December 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
needs up dating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tournament Poker for Advanced Palyers, June 28, 2008
Arrived on time, condition as described, completely satisfied.
This company has preformed at a level that I have come to expect from Amazon Book Sellers. I have made numerous perches from Amazon over the past two years and I am happy to report that I would not hesitate to purchase additional books from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 18, 2014
ThankYou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, August 4, 2007
By 
This book is kinda average. It has 1 or 2 useful principles like 1) be more willing to bet but less willing to call later in tournaments, and 2) adjust the value of your chips based on how they'll translate into actual $$.

Other than that i thought it was a lot of fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tournament Poker for Advanced Players
Tournament Poker for Advanced Players by David Sklansky (Paperback - 2003)
Used & New from: $5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.