Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Overview
I think "Toward a Zero Energy Home" provides a good overview of what is going on in the technology side of building. I like the fact that a variety of opinions are presented for the reader on different methods working toward the same goal of building a technically smart, energy efficient living space. Anyone interested in this subject will find numerous other books that...
Published on July 8, 2010 by Wayne Valzania

versus
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too generic for my taste...
While there is nothing inherently wrong with the book (I'm sure it will be exactly what some buyers want) it simply didn't meet my needs. I felt like I was reading a bunch of articles from my Fine Homebuilding magazine (BTW, great magazine).

That is, it covered all sorts of areas, but none of them in enough detail for my liking. In that sense, it is a...
Published on May 9, 2010 by Carlos A. Mendoza


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Overview, July 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
I think "Toward a Zero Energy Home" provides a good overview of what is going on in the technology side of building. I like the fact that a variety of opinions are presented for the reader on different methods working toward the same goal of building a technically smart, energy efficient living space. Anyone interested in this subject will find numerous other books that should be read as well for a more complete understanding of the topic. This volume, in my opinion, holds its own as one of the books that will contribute to that knowledge and is a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too generic for my taste..., May 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
While there is nothing inherently wrong with the book (I'm sure it will be exactly what some buyers want) it simply didn't meet my needs. I felt like I was reading a bunch of articles from my Fine Homebuilding magazine (BTW, great magazine).

That is, it covered all sorts of areas, but none of them in enough detail for my liking. In that sense, it is a complete "Guide" to energy self-sufficiency at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
This is the best resource I've come across. I'm in the process of completely gutting and remodeling a house, and I want to do everything as energy efficiently as possible. Unfortunately, I wish the photos and the designs of the houses in this book were a little more inspiring and innovative, but I think this represents the state of the art at the moment. The overall tone is a bit more cautious than I'd prefer, but there is lots of good information and good ideas so that conceptually I can perfect my own designs and innovations based on what's here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pick for any homeowner's library, July 16, 2010
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
David Johnston and Scott Gibson's TOWARD A ZERO ENERGY HOME provides a key to creating a home that produces as much energy as it consumes. Design and construction of energy-efficient homes focuses on new construction and 12 houses specially built for zero energy living: it's a pick for any homeowner's library - particularly those featuring new construction options - will want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference, February 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
This book has been a great help in being the smartest guy in the room with my architect and builder, who didn't have much experience on zero energy homes. Lots of great examples, and pointers to deeper reference materials. As a result, we are building our home to be Energy Star rated, and I was able to drive a lot of what we wanted in the design form what I read in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When you read it too many information can be got easily., March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
I also recommend another book to readers to complete necessary knowledge on this issue named "The Solar House: Passive Heating and Cooling" written by Daniel D. Chiras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to read before designing your own home., October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
An excellent book to read before designing your own home.

In fact, before designing your own home, you should probably read 5 or 6 books at least, but I believe this should be the first one you read.
It has practical advise on how to save on utilities bills and making a very healthy home. Although it apply for an eco-view of things, it is not focused on the "tree huggers" crowd. Be ecological as a bonus for saving money.

Great advise in what to aim for and what to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
Great read on details for sustainable home options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have finished this and am now reading his book, "Green Remodeling." It is currently part of my studies, green building and sustainable communities, and David Johnston's books have been gold mines for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home (Paperback)
If you just getting started with a Net Zero or Passive House this book is a good starting point. ED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toward a Zero Energy Home: A Complete Guide to Energy Self-Sufficiency at Home
$24.95 $18.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.