Customer Reviews

41
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Recently, Vulture Magazine wrote an article rating the top 25 most devoted fandoms. At the top of the list were, to no surprise, the fans of George R.R. Martin's glorious and epic saga: "A Song of Ice and Fire". Us fans, knowing that the next novel, "The Winds of Winter", could be coming out in years, salivate at any new development in the community. "Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows" is a sure way to satisfy the hunger of ASOIAF fans.

The Tower of the Hand, along with westeros.org, The Podcast of Ice and Fire, Not a Blog, and the Boiled Leather Audio Hour, is an amazing spot for ASOIAF fans. For years, the contributors have been writing family trees, chapter summaries, theories, and essays for us dedicated fans. Now, with the release of their first essay collection, "Tower of the Hand: A flight of Sorrows", they once again ignite the passion and imagination for the thousands of fans.

The collection contains 8 essays from prolific figureheads of the ASOIAF community, including Podcast of Ice and Fire hosts Amim Javadi and Mimi Hoshut, Stefan Sasse from Boiled Leather, and Alex and Johnny from the Tower of the Hand itself. Essay topics range from the implications of Aegon VI Targaryen to top players in the game of thrones to the parallels between the Dunk and Egg novellas and the series proper. And unlike many other essay collections, which discuss topics associated with the series (like the concepts of truth and honor), this one looks at the actual events in the books and tries to make sense of it all.

It is a highly engaging read for someone like me and other truly devoted fans, however, I could imagine more casual fans having some trouble understanding some of the things discussed. For example, the details of the Blackfyre Rebellion or the Azor Ahai prophecy often go missed by a casual reader; they could have a hard time grasping some of the theories mentioned in this book without the more advanced understanding. That in mind, this is a book for the most intense fans.

With no end in sight for the completion of "The Winds of Winter", "Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows" is a great way to make the wait bearable. During my read, I began to re-evaluate my previous assumptions and theories, as well as looking at things I had not considered. It was interesting, exciting, and fun, for it brings us one step closer to finally solving the gargantuan jigsaw puzzle that is "A Song of Ice and Fire."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
That's what this is. Methadone, because Heroin takes 4-6 years per.. er.. book, to produce.

Interesting essays, I quite enjoyed them. It's chock a block with spoilers for book 1 thru 5, but then again, if you hadn't already read all the canon books, its unlikely that you're buying this one.

If you are a regular (or even occasional) reader of the tower of the hand, winter is coming, and any other ASOIAF fansites, you've probably heard some version of the discussions in this book before. Even so, the arguments are well organized, and the writing style of the various contributors is clean and crisp and pretty readable. In all its a good synthesis of a lot of the fan analysis and speculation out there.

Word of warning, if you're a TV show watcher and haven't read the books, do not confuse this book with another, released around the same time as this one, where the show is discussed. (Inside HBO's Game of Thrones, by Brian Cogman). A flight of Sorrows will spoil the living daylights out of a TV-only GRRM-head.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 7, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
The is book contains a series of essays that delve into conspiracy theories, characters, and plot lines that make George RR Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire books so popular. If you finished all the books and need an Ice and Fire fix then pick this up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
GRRM's fantasy world is deep and requires some thought to fully appreciate. These essays delve into the the history of the world and characters from folks at all ends of the fandom. As a Podcast of Ice and Fire listener I really loved Mimi's and Amin's essays and the rest were just as fun to read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
This collection of essays in e-book format is for fans of George RR Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series. Many of the authors are big names in the roster of online discussion boards, blogs, and podcasts. It is most enjoyable because, unlike other ASOIAF themed books it covers actual issues in the series rather than more “meta” issues, such as the treatment of women or religion. And most of the arguments are compelling and insightful. Perhaps worst/best of all, they make the reader want the next book in the series published sooner rather than later in order to find out if many of the assessments in the “Flight” turn out to be correct.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 6, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
I just read Alex Smith's essay on the prince that was promised. I thought it was excellent and I wanted to pass on my appreciation to the author for an enriching read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
This is a must have for fans of this epic series, it is incredibly insightful and helps to make sense of the many, many story lines and arcs, both past and present, highly recommended!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 2, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Its great background material for Song of Ice and fire and it has some ideas about plot and characters that I never thought of. Answers some of the questions I had in my head of what may be the possibilities this saga may be heading. Can't wait for the next book of the series!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 30, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Love love this book. It helped me feel that I wasn't the only one who thought some of the ideas I thought about when reading the series
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 2, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I enjoyed the essays. Most of them are insightful and enjoyable. It was definately worth the few bucks it cost.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.