Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating and enjoyable debut, August 8, 2006
By 
M. Lohrke (Saratoga Springs, UT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
i don't typically hand out five-star ratings. for something to earn five-stars, it's gotta sound like nothing i've heard for before, all the while keeping in mind the importance of solid musicianship and songcraft. when i first plopped in 'tower of love,' i wasn't quite sure what to expect, but after a gave the album a listen, i can quite comfortably state jim noir is a genius.

the album opens with 'my patch.' it begins with some beach boys-esque harmonies and an electric piano before materializing into a plunky, catchy little number. the lyrics are a tad silly: 'if you ever step on my bush, i'll bring you down, i'll bring you down.' 'i me you i'm your' sounds a bit like the heavy blinkers. it's a track not out of place on 1970s AM gold radio. 'my computer' is again a bit silly lyrically, but musically entertaining. 'eanie meany' is one of the album's standouts. it's currently used by addidad in their amazing world cup ads. for the sake of reference, it sounds like the best track the byrds never wrote. 'tower of love' is a perfect slice from a 60's cinematic soundtrack. 'in the key of c' sounds as though mozart spent some time at willy wonka's chocolate factory and wrote a disco song. i know, i know...

if it sounds like the album's all over the map, it is. noir experiments with quite a number of styles and sounds from the comfort of his home studio (and from what i gather he plays all the instruments, too). the kicker is that he actually pulls them all off. his melodies are tight and effective. it'd be easy to abuse the beach boy harmonies (as so many do), but fortunately noir refrains from over-indulgence. he uses them when he needs to, and thereby gets maximum effect. it's a tribute to his talents.

what impresses me most is that the album is that it's endlessly interesting. it's a perfect example of using modern technology without sounding excessively modern. noir likes to dip his finger in nostalgia, pulling out just enough to remind you where his roots lay. in the end, noir is a product of the computer generation and uses it to advantage to weld the past and the present together. in short, noir is a force to reckon with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs stick in my head, really!, December 14, 2006
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
One could pigeonhole Jim Noir as a Brian Wilson/ Paul McCarthy hybrid, but they would only see a fraction of what Mr. Noir brings to the table. His genius is surreal and hypnotic, if not a catchy verse, the layers of tracks meld together to create a warm and inviting song. I dare one to listen to this album and not want to hum, head bob or plain out enjoy his craft. Almost like Pringles, once you pop in this CD, you will find yourself wanting more. His infectious pop rock ranks up with bands like Of Montreal and Brendan Benson. This light, poppy, funny tune packed CD would appeal to fans of Pop rock of the last three decades, classic harmonies and embellished caricatures of songs passed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding release, June 27, 2006
By 
M. Lohrke (Saratoga Springs, UT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
i don't typically hand out five-star ratings. for something to earn five-stars, it's gotta sound like nothing i've heard for before, all the while keeping in mind the importance of solid musicianship and songcraft. when i first plopped in 'tower of love,' i wasn't quite sure what to expect, but after a gave the album a listen, i can quite comfortably state jim noir is a genius.

the album opens with 'my patch.' it begins with some beach boys-esque harmonies and an electric piano before materializing into a plunky, catchy little number. the lyrics are a tad silly: 'if you ever step on my bush, i'll bring you down, i'll bring you down.' 'i me you i'm your' sounds a bit like the heavy blinkers. it's a track not out of place on 1970s AM gold radio. 'my computer' is again a bit silly lyrically, but musically entertaining. 'eanie meany' is one of the album's standouts. it's currently used by addidad in their amazing world cup ads. for the sake of reference, it sounds like the best track the byrds never wrote. 'tower of love' is a perfect slice from a 60's cinematic soundtrack. 'in the key of c' sounds as though mozart spent some time at willy wonka's chocolate factory and wrote a disco song. i know, i know...

if it sounds like the album's all over the map, it is. noir experiments with quite a number of styles and sounds from the comfort of his home studio (and from what i gather he plays all the instruments, too). the kicker is that he actually pulls them all off. his melodies are tight and effective. it'd be easy to abuse the beach boy harmonies (as so many do), but fortunately noir refrains from over-indulgence. he uses them when he needs to, and thereby gets maximum effect. it's a tribute to his talents.

what impresses me most is that the album is that it's endlessly interesting. it's a perfect example of using modern technology without sounding excessively modern. noir likes to dip his finger in nostalgia, pulling out just enough to remind you where his roots lay. in the end, noir is a product of the computer generation and uses it to advantage to weld the past and the present together. in short, noir is a force to reckon with.

from what i gather, his album's slated for domestic release roundabouts august 8th. a certain contender for my album of the year. get it. you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Key of Catchie, Key of Cheeky, April 12, 2008
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
There is absolutely no other record like this out (until he puts out the followup). Never has anyone so successfully multitracked his voice to recreate Beach Boy Pet Sound glory. Few have approached childlike ponderings in his simple whimsical lyrics. He keeps them far simpler than Syd Barrett while still retaining the "Pspirit", so to speak. Never once is there a hint of bitterness in the lyrics, nodding to another influence, Nick Drake, keeping judgements for other fall-apart troubadors. The boastful threats in 2 of the catchiest songs, Eanie Meanie and My Patch, are kept from contentiousness by maintaining the playful, jovial deliveries.

If high fructose corn syrup can be inserted in musical notes to enhance flavor and stick with you forever, Noir has found a way, and all by his lonesome in his upstairs flat often on his computer (hence, one of the cheeky allusions he makes in the title, TOWER of Love). I Me You I'm Your, Key of C and Turbulent Weather cheer up the most weathered cynics. Best recomend you give each song a day or 2 before moving on to the next so as not to be to overwhelmed then take it in full because even the sequence of the songs enhances the listening experience.

Psychiatrists may consider prescribing this instead of Xanax for their incurables. Corporations have found his colorful freak beats and candy coated vocals perfect enough to sell sneakers and discount department stores. As for us dear listeners, we have a perfect soundtrack for driving home in a thunderstorm after a terrible day at the job or on the dole, only to have the sun peak through to get in a walk in park before getting home to tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellifluous Moods, January 13, 2007
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
"My Patch" seems to be a funky melodious invitation to danger with hypnotic bouncy road trip appeal. There are elements of the Beatles and Nick Drake mixed with a more edgy electronica. "I Me You I'm Your" seems to filter in from space like a psychedelic haze and then leaves just as quickly.

"Computer Song" cascades over itself with creative lyrics and a melodious tension. If someone in a tribal forest was riding on a train it might sound like "Tower of Love" but then suddenly you are on a carousel going round and round and a circus appears with a soft orchestral appeal. It is difficult to define a category for some of the songs, but this one has an especially magical innocence.

"Key of C" is unexpected but expands the sound in bubbles within bubbles of acoustic appeal. "Climb a Tree" has interesting waterfalls (you hear then again in Turbulent Weather) and explores guitar within an especially beautiful ballad with mellifluous moods. This is an album you can put in the CD player and listen to without a worry in the world. If you love Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, The Beach Boys or The Beatles, you might really fall in love with this sound.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars packs quite a punch in the songwriting department, February 14, 2007
By 
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
An intoxicating blend of Brian Wilson-like vocals and Beatles-esque back beats. It packs quite a punch in the songwriting department for a mellow album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese Bonus Tracks Version, May 27, 2011
By 
DW (chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
This is the Japanese version with 3 bonus tracks*.

01. My Patch
02. I Me You I'm Your
03. Computer Song
04. How To Be So Real
05. Eanie Meany
06. Tower Of Love
07. Key Of C
08. Turbulent Weather
09. Turn Your Frown Into A Smile
10. A Quiet Man
11. Eanie Meany, Pt. 2
12. The Only Way
13. Going On Holiday*
14. Why?/(Untitled Hidden Track)*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music to drive through Colorado........., May 9, 2007
By 
~Kiwi~ (...outside the norm...) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
This Cd is uplifting and beautifully orchestrated... The soft harmony and soothing notes make you feel light and happy as if you're floating on air...In an instance, you can feel that this musician has a great body of soul and is able to let it all out with grace and integrity.....

Many people feel that there is no longer good music happening out there and are reluctant to buy a new CD and take the chance.......I recently gave this to a couple of Senior Citizens who felt that way, and they just LOVE this CD....It spans the whole range of young and old and is adding joy to the lives of many.....I so appreciate your talents, Jim...I hope you will continue to enlighten and surprize us with your charm....Cheers, Kiwi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More than just 'My Patch' to look forward to, August 23, 2011
By 
Eduardo Luis Costas (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
So I picked up the album on account I had the song 'My Patch' stuck in my head from playing the video game Little Big Planet. I am happy to report that the rest of the album has that quirky, playful, energetic feel to it across the board. While other Amazon reviewers have described Jim Noir's sound as a mix of Paul McCartney and Beach Boys, I would add that there are other songs in this album that reflect influences from such groups as Super Furry Animals and Blur to name two (check out 'I me You I'm Your' for the former and 'Turbulent Weather' for the latter). If you like Jims work here you may as well pick up his self titled 2008 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellifluous Moods, December 16, 2006
This review is from: Tower of Love (Audio CD)
"My Patch" seems to be a funky melodious invitation to danger with hypnotic bouncy road trip appeal. There are elements of the Beatles and Nick Drake mixed with a more edgy electronica. "I Me You I'm Your" seems to filter in from space like a psychedelic haze and then leaves just as quickly.

"Computer Song" cascades over itself with creative lyrics and a melodious tension. If someone in a tribal forest was riding on a train it might sound like "Tower of Love" but then suddenly you are on a carousel going round and round and a circus appears with a soft orchestral appeal. It is difficult to define a category for some of the songs, but this one has an especially magical innocence.

"Key of C" is unexpected but expands the sound in bubbles within bubbles of acoustic appeal. "Climb a Tree" has interesting waterfalls (you hear then again in Turbulent Weather) and explores guitar within an especially beautiful ballad with mellifluous moods. This is an album you can put in the CD player and listen to without a worry in the world. If you love Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, The Beach Boys or The Beatles, you might really fall in love with this sound.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tower of Love
Tower of Love by Jim Noir (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.