Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of the Hollywood Tower Hotel!
Steve Guttenberg is Buzzy Crocker, a Hollywood reporter whose latest stories tend to grace the covers of supermarket tabloids. Buzzy's been blacklisted from the "real" papers ever since one of his news-breaking stories proved to be false. Now Buzzy concocts most of his stories himself by dressing his lovely niece Anna (Kirsten Dunst) in ghost and Alien costumes, taking...
Published on July 12, 2002 by Monty Moonlight

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Made for TV feel, but Kids LOVE it!
I have been eyeing this movie for sometime, but was turned off because it was a direct to video movie. I went ahead and took advantage from a discounted price here on Amazon and bought it for the Halloween season. My son (10) would give this movie 5 stars - EASY. He LOVED this movie. He had a friend come over and they watched and now his friends want the movie. It's...
Published on October 12, 2010 by T. Frisble


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of the Hollywood Tower Hotel!, July 12, 2002
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tower of Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Steve Guttenberg is Buzzy Crocker, a Hollywood reporter whose latest stories tend to grace the covers of supermarket tabloids. Buzzy's been blacklisted from the "real" papers ever since one of his news-breaking stories proved to be false. Now Buzzy concocts most of his stories himself by dressing his lovely niece Anna (Kirsten Dunst) in ghost and Alien costumes, taking photos, and writing tales of shock and horror to go with them. But when an old spinster woman named Abigail Gregory from the local nut-house pays Buzzy a visit, he's off on the story of a lifetime, to solve the mystery of the Hollywood Tower Hotel, a story that's sure to get him back into the real newspaper business.
It seems that back in Hollywood's heyday, Shirley Temple-like child star Sally Shine, her nanny Emeline Partridge, the hotel owner's bumbling bellhop son Dewey, aspiring singer Claire Poulet, and Claire's boyfriend Gilbert, all disappeared one Halloween night in the Hotel elevator on their way to a party on the top floor. Ever since that fateful night, the Hollywood Tower Hotel has been shut down, and whatever happened to those five unfortunate souls has been a mystery. But Abigail claims to know the secret. She was there that night, and she believes that Sally Shine's nanny was a witch! Insanely jealous of the child, Emeline Partridge cast a horrible spell over the girl, but the spell backfired and left the inhabitants of the elevator trapped in limbo, left to haunt the Hollywood Tower Hotel until the spell is finished, or broken. Only then will they meet their doom, or else be able to rejoin the party they had originally been on their way to, a ghostly party that still goes on every Halloween night in the hopes that the missing guests will finally arrive.
Now Buzzy is on a mission, and finds himself picking up partners at every turn. First he enlists the help of his beautiful and spunky niece Anna, then recruits an odd "dude" named "Q" to help, since he IS the great grandson of the original owner AND the grandson of the missing bellhop. Before he knows it, former boss Jill Perry comes along for the ride, and the ghosts are eager to have the puzzle solved too.
Disney's Tower of Terror is a great thrill ride of a TV movie, just like the actual ride it's based on, The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror at the Disney-MGM Studios Theme Park in Florida. The movie is great family entertainment, full of humor, some tame scares, superb music, and a great cast. Steve Guttenberg is likeable as always, and Kirsten Dunst is as dreamy as ever, even if they did make her dress-down and tighten back her beautiful hair for most of the film. Tower of Terror is a must own video for any fan of the cast, the Disney theme parks, or fun, family films in general. Now lets hope Disney gives us a DVD someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, March 8, 2007
By 
Fred Worth "Fred Worth" (Burnsville, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
I liked this movie. I wasn't expecting much so maybe that helped me suspend reality long enough to enjoy what I was watching. The plot is simple without being simplistic and the ghosts are not too terrifying for younger children (and me either ha ha).

The big thing for me is that the characters were well done and related to each other and that there actually were motivations for their actions. This is a 3 star plot with a 4 star result because of the acting and directing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Made For T.V. Movie, March 7, 2001
This review is from: Tower of Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Disney has made an exceptionally good movie for ABC's "The Wonderful World Of Disney." I'm so glad they've lowered the price so that everyone can own it. The movie was made back in 1997 to advertise the opening of "The Twilight Zone: Tower Of Terror" ride at Disney's MGM Studios in Walt Disney World. But this movie was so good, I thought they should have put it in theaters. It's the story of a group of people who were traped in an elevator and plumited to their death. Among them was an child movie star. The hotel was closed down. Now it is 1997 and Buzzy (Guttenberg) is a struggling journalist. His neice (Dunst) Goes with him to the abandoned hotel to write a foney story about it, but they discover that the ghosts are real, and that the elevators crash wasn't an accident. It turns into a big mystery with a good ending. You really start to root for the characters. Buy it today. You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Made for TV feel, but Kids LOVE it!, October 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
I have been eyeing this movie for sometime, but was turned off because it was a direct to video movie. I went ahead and took advantage from a discounted price here on Amazon and bought it for the Halloween season. My son (10) would give this movie 5 stars - EASY. He LOVED this movie. He had a friend come over and they watched and now his friends want the movie. It's a kid friendly movie as you would expect from Disney and there is NOTHING that is racy or profane. Younger viewers will like it as well.
For adults, the movie is "O-kay", but it kept my interest. There was an interesting plot twist that I was not expecting, so that bumped this movie up a couple of notches for me. Anyway, if you are looking for a good, fun family flick for the Halloween season, this is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On My Top Ten List!, April 29, 2001
This review is from: Tower of Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Disney always makes top quality made for t.v. movies, but this one has made my top ten list! Buzzy Crocker is a reporter for a fake tabloid wich produces headlines such as, "Frozen Ghost Found in Freezer." Anna, his neice, askes if he "Ever wanted to write something real" and her questions were soon answered when an old woman came to him with the secret of why 5 hotel guests at The Hollywood Tower Hotel suddenly vanished from an elevator on Halloween, 1939. Buzzy and Anna go to the run down hotel only to find that it's haunted by the ghosts of the 5 people. When they befriend the ghosts and plan to help them get to the "other world", They find out that someone they know has evil intentions for the 5 souls. Can Buzzy and Anna stop them? Starring Steve Guttenberg as Buzzy and Kirsten Dunst as Anna, although this storyline may sound a bit corny, the movie is great and the plot is drawn out perfectly! Buy it today! This price is very reasonable and It's destined to become A disney Classic! It comes in a hard cover collectors case and is 89 minuites long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tower of Terror, March 9, 2006
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
I thought it was a very entertaining movie. It had an interesting story and some very good special effects. Some of the action sequences at the end were done well as well. I would recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Love It No Matter How Old Or Young You Are!, May 14, 2001
By 
This review is from: Tower of Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is perhaps my favorite Disney made for T.V. movie! It's got everything I like! Comedy, chills, thrills, action, special effects, and an unpredictable storyline!Buzzy Crocker is a struggling reporter, so when an old woman brings him the story of how 5 people vanished from an elevator at The Hollywood Tower Hotel, he jumps at the chance. With the help of his neice, Anna, he discovers that the spirits of the 5 people still live in the hotel and that they are the only ones that can help them. Will Buzzy sacrifice his career to help some old ghosts? Everyone I know whos seen it loved it no matter what age they are! Steve Guttenburg and Kirsten Dunst giv amazing performances as Buzzy and Anna! This price is great and it comes in a clamshell video box so you can keep it for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!!, July 11, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
This movie is m-Azing! it has a little bit of everything going on. its scary yet funny. i especially love how the lobby in the movie of the hotel looks exactly like the lobby at disney world in their ride. its a great movie and its from disney so whats not to love? right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie for younger children at Halloween!!, September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
I have 4 and 6 year old daughters, and the 6 year old is into "real" people movies now, and doesn't really care about the 'Berenstain Bears halloween', or 'Dora's Halloween' anymore. So, I starting researching the good reviews on Amazon, for children's halloween appropriate movies, for her this year. The movies I chose - were based solely on the reviews I read, and the number of good vs bad reviews, etc...Everyone is right about this one!! It's perfect for any kid between the ages of 5/6 and 10/12. Adults will enjoy it just as much (if you enjoy watching movies appropriate for your kids). There is nothing "too scary", no blood and guts, no horribly evil characters. Of course, there is the 'bad lady', and a few 'jump out and scare you' type things - but there is nothing too over the top for a young kid to handle. 2 thumbs up from me!!! (ps..my 4 year old watched it too..no problems!!) I also bought "The Little Vampire" and the "Halloweentown and Halloweentown II" combo set - which I also recommend. In comparison - you'll be able to tell that the Disney Tower of Terror had more "money" to film with, but the other's are just as age appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tower of Terror, January 9, 2007
This review is from: Tower of Terror (DVD)
This is a wonderful movie for children. It has a great deal of suspense without going over the line with violence and gore. The child who has this movie watches it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Tower of Terror
Tower of Terror by D.J. MacHale (DVD - 2003)
$14.99 $9.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.