Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will never look at people the same way again
Hello there,

This book is really great in that it tackles the subject of toxic people by using the three-fold strategy - instead of the old and highly unreliable approach: "Just kick this or the other person off the team and thing will improve automatically". That does not work, or at least not well. The author did a great job in explaining that it does take...
Published on November 14, 2009 by Ralf Weiser

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucinda
It is written in consultant speak - and is excessively repetitive. Don't try and read it cover to cover - it seems to be designed for the skim read. An interesting read that draws on good management practices. No silver bullets (unfortunately).
Published on August 7, 2012 by Lucinda


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will never look at people the same way again, November 14, 2009
By 
Ralf Weiser (Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hello there,

This book is really great in that it tackles the subject of toxic people by using the three-fold strategy - instead of the old and highly unreliable approach: "Just kick this or the other person off the team and thing will improve automatically". That does not work, or at least not well. The author did a great job in explaining that it does take addressing toxic people directly, and it recommends to also deal with the aftermath (usually the confusion and power vacuum) as well as with my favorite topic: Instill a great deal of integrity, honesty, but most of all purpose into your top leadership and thus the whole organization.
I found this book so captivating that I read it on a plane ride from Arizona to Philadelphia.
Ralf Weiser
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toxic Workplace, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The contents of this book provided me with a great understanding into the behaviours of my team that I couldn't find elsewhere, and why the team wouldn't deal with the toxic personalities that existed. It also highlighted some of the hidden effects on other individuals. I have now started the process of turning the team around and dealing with the specific problem individuals.
It is worth reading if you have trouble personalities in your work place and I have shared it with a number of other managers in my workplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Bad Apple, June 27, 2009
By 
Sylvia Lafair, Ph.D. (White Haven, PA and San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
With the demand for transparency in the workplace it is high time for books that tackle one of the most corrosive aspects of work: toxic employees. So much time and effort is spent both helping and being afraid of this often "squeeky wheel" person that it is vital leaders learn how to handle the toxins without causing even more pollution.

This book offers important suggestions about how to handle the either passive or aggressive or combination of traits that set people's teeth on edge. What is most vital is the idea that an organization is a system and needs to be condsidered from this vantage point. The best way to limit toxicity is to design communities that limit bad behavior and that is what the authors suggest.

We need to understand that "Work is not a rehab facility" and yet acknowledge that people who come to work bring their past history with them and that needs to be monitored. I recommend this book to those in leadership and supervisory positions. It can help eliminate many work related headaches!

Sylvia Lafair PhD author "Don't Bring It to Work: Breaking the Family Patterns that Limit Success".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evironmental Protection Agents for Corporate America, May 12, 2009
It's a sad commentary on business life in general, when very few of us can truthfully assert that (a) we've never had to deal with at least a couple of toxic losers on the job and (b) those who are most inflicted with highly dangerous levels of toxical substances in their soul are actually shocked when confronted with this reality. "Me? It's them, I tell you; it's them!"

Of course, it's no shock to this reviewer that many companies, world-wide, are plagued with this syndrome; but help has arrived----this wonderful and very timely book, authored by a couple of brilliant Ph.Ds, no less.

What gives me even greater hope for the world of business in the future are the recent releases of several other books dealing with the elimination of toxic waste in the workplace.

"Employee engagement" seems to be the best remedy companies can use---the simple, common sense approach of giving employees positive feedback on a regular basis as their skills improve, while keeping an eye out for any possible early warning signs of toxic symptons. Early detection is the key.

If the toxic employee somehow gets into management, results usually don't vary. Everbody in the company is slightly worse off now, and in some cases, significantly worse off, depending on who is most infected by the inept, mean-spirited and toxic manager. The correlation between that situation and lower employee morale and productivity is well documented.

This book is certainly a wonderful guide for best dealing with the toxic power that infiltrates so many otherwise outstanding organizations. The critical point delivered to help create a toxic free work environment is by enhancing the spirit of teamwork along with the power of positive employee engagement, throughout all levels of the company.

That's the best pest control service available, and it doesn't even require a swine flu shot. With any luck, the toxic swines will fall by the wayside. However, they'll usually emerge somewhere else; so no company is ever immune to a possible toxic outbreak.

Be prepared by being informed; and by all means, read this very cleverly analytical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toxic workplace, January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I recommend this book to everyone.It lets you access your environment and develop useful skills to keep your sanity.You can't have enough skills to deal with that one coworker who doesn't work with you.I'm sure you know that one non-team player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lucinda, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toxic Workplace!: Managing Toxic Personalities and Their Systems of Power (Kindle Edition)
It is written in consultant speak - and is excessively repetitive. Don't try and read it cover to cover - it seems to be designed for the skim read. An interesting read that draws on good management practices. No silver bullets (unfortunately).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 3, 2011
This is a fabulous book for managers. It brings to light the true impact of toxic people and calls the reader to action. Once you've read this book you will be equipped with the tools to correct bad behavior in the workplace environment before it gets out of hand. The authors did a masterful job when writing on a challenging topic. Judy Capko, author of Secrets of the Best-Run Practices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So true, June 7, 2014
This review is from: Toxic Workplace!: Managing Toxic Personalities and Their Systems of Power (Kindle Edition)
I sought this book out because it was brought to my attention that one of my employees has been exhibiting many behaviors in the book. As I read through what a toxic employee was, I realized they were talking about her. I knew there were things wrong but this book was a big slap in the face. I will try to implement some new rules and "respectful engagement" and feel confident on not tolerating this behavior any longer. It is true that it is such a mental drain. I feel somewhat of a load lifted being given some strategies and having a zero tolerance from this moment forward. What I would have liked from the book, however, was to know how many people ended up being terminated anyway and also, what are some good consequences besides termination. If you are like me, you will be annoyed that you are forced to read this book, but it will give you the motivation to implement change for the future. Something else an entrepreneur friend of mine told me and that is if your employee is not making your life easier, they have no business being there. I'm not putting my head in the sand anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome book! Gives good information on how to deal with a bully from work. Gives different approach and guidance. Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Management Handbook I've Ever Read, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toxic Workplace!: Managing Toxic Personalities and Their Systems of Power (Kindle Edition)
This is the single most useful book I've ever read for my work as a manager. Extremely clear and outlines all appropriate guidelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.