Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
27
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 14, 2009
Hello there,

This book is really great in that it tackles the subject of toxic people by using the three-fold strategy - instead of the old and highly unreliable approach: "Just kick this or the other person off the team and thing will improve automatically". That does not work, or at least not well. The author did a great job in explaining that it does take addressing toxic people directly, and it recommends to also deal with the aftermath (usually the confusion and power vacuum) as well as with my favorite topic: Instill a great deal of integrity, honesty, but most of all purpose into your top leadership and thus the whole organization.
I found this book so captivating that I read it on a plane ride from Arizona to Philadelphia.
Ralf Weiser
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2011
The contents of this book provided me with a great understanding into the behaviours of my team that I couldn't find elsewhere, and why the team wouldn't deal with the toxic personalities that existed. It also highlighted some of the hidden effects on other individuals. I have now started the process of turning the team around and dealing with the specific problem individuals.
It is worth reading if you have trouble personalities in your work place and I have shared it with a number of other managers in my workplace.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
I stumbled across this book while trying to make sense of my workplace. This is the first book I've seen that takes a detailed look at what to do with a dysfunctional organization member and prescriptions for preventing future misbehavior. Like most business-related books, the prescriptions seem common sense but so few organizations implement them. A prerequisite for this book would be Crucial Conversations, as the authors promote some similar best practices in communication when alerting the toxic member to his behavior and how best to communicate to bring about results.

I looked at this book primarily through the lens of church discipline, as I found it quite relevant and I recommend this to anyone who reads the IX Marks literature. The authors surveyed managers and lower-level employees at hundreds of organizations to get feedback on "toxic" individuals and how they'd been dealt with. The result is a convincing argument about strategies that don't work, some of which seems counter-intuitive. Leadership intervening or confronting the person is not nearly effective as peer intervention. Firing the person, all else constant, will not solve the problem. There are cogent explanations that just to "expel the immoral brethren from among you" is not enough because you have to deal with the structures that were constructed both to enable and avoid the toxic personality. The entire culture of the organization has to be addressed. You have to build a culture with clear mission and expectations about negativity and acceptable behavior, so that everyone can be evaluated against clear standards. Exit interviews are crucial with anyone leaving your church to help identify organizational weaknesses that can be fixed.

Who is truly "toxic" or what is a "toxic environment?" Workplaces where illegal activity, like sexual harassment, are obvious but not the focus of the book. Toxic people are defined as having characteristics of intimidation, using subtle putdowns, negativity, shaming, and cynicism to assert their will on others. There is a "passive hostility" that everyone is aware of and would rather just avoid. He or she can be distrusting and territorial, often micromanaging if she's a manager, and taking an interest in other peoples' business as though its his own purview. There is a narcissism about them as well. The toxic are even willing to sabotage team efforts if things are not done to their liking. The authors find that, remarkably, the toxic individual is usually truly "clueless" of his or her toxicity. Most have lived their lives without anyone having the uncomfortable conversation with them about their behaviors.

Toxic people are often enabled because they are never confronted, or there exists no standard by which to confront the person. Many are kept on because their work is "necessary" and management is willing to put up with the toxicity so long as there is productivity. The authors write that this is a false choice-- while that individual may be productive, the overall effect on the organization is likely negative, hence he or she should be replaced with someone who could do the same job without the negativity. The authors don't mention professional sports, but after reading Michael Lazenby's biography of Michael Jordan it is clear that he is a toxic individual. I thought about him, Kobe Bryant, Barry Bonds, and others who were MVPs of their sports and often loathed by coaches, owners, and teammates for their toxic attitude. But in some cases, like Jordan, the toxic individual truly is the best at what he does and one cannot argue with a 72-win season. Toxic individuals often have "toxic protectors," a small group of loyalists who either fear or truly like the individual or at least seek his favor. Sometimes the structure of the organization or the lack of explicitly-stated values also protect the toxic.

I think there are times when I am the toxic individual. I know too much or perhaps am the "wet blanket" that extinguishes someone else's bright idea. There are individuals who I may think are toxic but many others seem to like. There are some in other departments who my own department interacts well with, but whose own department thinks are toxic. It's a bit tricky to put a finger on. But toxic people are generally avoided by others and eventually drive the "best" and most talented out to other organizations, leaving only the toxic in the organization. By the time management confronts them, if at all, it's too late-- the structures and defense mechanisms in place will still lead to organizational decay.

I most appreciated the comment recorded by the manager of a government agency, who stated that he bucked the stereotype of not being able to fire government employees. The manager set clear standards and values for his department by which every subordinate knew he or she would be evaluated. This allowed him to deal with problems and fire those who were unwilling to meet the standards could either quit or be fired. Simply restructuring, moving a person to a different position or changing the work assignments, was ineffective by itself. You must have a known system of values or the problem behavior will continue.

Part II of the book deals with how to change the culture of the organization, and communication strategies with the toxic organization member. The organization needs to include its values on the employee review form (what, conduct regular performance reviews?). "Respect" should be on the list of values, but management should also allow employees/members to state their own values and determine which values should be included on employee evaluations. (My government office actually has this, but some departments have abandoned doing them.) There need to be set rules for how feedback will be shared in the future.

The authors discuss team development surveys and 360 degree evaluation. If using 360 degree evals, do them with utmost confidentiality, with info kept even from the supervising manager. The authors have cautions about using a consultant; a consultant can help guide your organization through change (the authors are such consultants) but you cannot outsource dealing with toxic employees to a consultant. Above all, termination should be a last resort-- do the heavy lifting of changing your organizational culture and let the toxic person decide either to reform or leave. Research found that the toxic individual actually changed for the better, at least for a while, and many left when they decided they didn't like the reform. The authors discuss "renewal" and moving forward after a toxic individual leaves-- there needs to be a healing process and a time to deal with the various organizational weaknesses that were exposed. Like most business books, there are charts and diagrams for holding these types of discussions and formalizing a strategy.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has the power to influence an organization to which he is a member. It gets a bit wordy, but is very thought-provoking. I give it 4 stars out of 5.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
I sought this book out because it was brought to my attention that one of my employees has been exhibiting many behaviors in the book. As I read through what a toxic employee was, I realized they were talking about her. I knew there were things wrong but this book was a big slap in the face. I will try to implement some new rules and "respectful engagement" and feel confident on not tolerating this behavior any longer. It is true that it is such a mental drain. I feel somewhat of a load lifted being given some strategies and having a zero tolerance from this moment forward. What I would have liked from the book, however, was to know how many people ended up being terminated anyway and also, what are some good consequences besides termination. If you are like me, you will be annoyed that you are forced to read this book, but it will give you the motivation to implement change for the future. Something else an entrepreneur friend of mine told me and that is if your employee is not making your life easier, they have no business being there. I'm not putting my head in the sand anymore.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Not done reading it yet but WOW. if you have ever worked in a place with toxic people this seems like the authors followed you around reading your mind. if you have not you maybe the toxic person haha good read so far
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
I recommend this book to everyone.It lets you access your environment and develop useful skills to keep your sanity.You can't have enough skills to deal with that one coworker who doesn't work with you.I'm sure you know that one non-team player.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2009
With the demand for transparency in the workplace it is high time for books that tackle one of the most corrosive aspects of work: toxic employees. So much time and effort is spent both helping and being afraid of this often "squeeky wheel" person that it is vital leaders learn how to handle the toxins without causing even more pollution.

This book offers important suggestions about how to handle the either passive or aggressive or combination of traits that set people's teeth on edge. What is most vital is the idea that an organization is a system and needs to be condsidered from this vantage point. The best way to limit toxicity is to design communities that limit bad behavior and that is what the authors suggest.

We need to understand that "Work is not a rehab facility" and yet acknowledge that people who come to work bring their past history with them and that needs to be monitored. I recommend this book to those in leadership and supervisory positions. It can help eliminate many work related headaches!

Sylvia Lafair PhD author "Don't Bring It to Work: Breaking the Family Patterns that Limit Success".
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
Awesome book! Gives good information on how to deal with a bully from work. Gives different approach and guidance. Thumbs up!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2011
This is a fabulous book for managers. It brings to light the true impact of toxic people and calls the reader to action. Once you've read this book you will be equipped with the tools to correct bad behavior in the workplace environment before it gets out of hand. The authors did a masterful job when writing on a challenging topic. Judy Capko, author of Secrets of the Best-Run Practices
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2009
It's a sad commentary on business life in general, when very few of us can truthfully assert that (a) we've never had to deal with at least a couple of toxic losers on the job and (b) those who are most inflicted with highly dangerous levels of toxical substances in their soul are actually shocked when confronted with this reality. "Me? It's them, I tell you; it's them!"

Of course, it's no shock to this reviewer that many companies, world-wide, are plagued with this syndrome; but help has arrived----this wonderful and very timely book, authored by a couple of brilliant Ph.Ds, no less.

What gives me even greater hope for the world of business in the future are the recent releases of several other books dealing with the elimination of toxic waste in the workplace.

"Employee engagement" seems to be the best remedy companies can use---the simple, common sense approach of giving employees positive feedback on a regular basis as their skills improve, while keeping an eye out for any possible early warning signs of toxic symptons. Early detection is the key.

If the toxic employee somehow gets into management, results usually don't vary. Everbody in the company is slightly worse off now, and in some cases, significantly worse off, depending on who is most infected by the inept, mean-spirited and toxic manager. The correlation between that situation and lower employee morale and productivity is well documented.

This book is certainly a wonderful guide for best dealing with the toxic power that infiltrates so many otherwise outstanding organizations. The critical point delivered to help create a toxic free work environment is by enhancing the spirit of teamwork along with the power of positive employee engagement, throughout all levels of the company.

That's the best pest control service available, and it doesn't even require a swine flu shot. With any luck, the toxic swines will fall by the wayside. However, they'll usually emerge somewhere else; so no company is ever immune to a possible toxic outbreak.

Be prepared by being informed; and by all means, read this very cleverly analytical book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse