Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


287 of 303 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Best Thing to the Actual Ride
At Disneyland Resort and Walt Disney World, the manic, wildly entertaining Toy Story Mania ride opened in 2008 to rave reviews, long lines and a lot of ecstatic, happy customers. When Disney announced production of a home version for the Nintendo Wii, fans rejoiced, but with a touch of skepticism: Could a home version possibly do justice to the amazing ride? Turns out,...
Published on September 16, 2009 by Rich T.

versus
128 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, Fun, Repetitive, but may not be for long
Toy Story Mania! is a collection of carnival-type games featuring Toy Story characters and themes. It is supposed to be inspired by a Disney theme park ride, but I've never ridden it so I can't comment on how it resembles that experience. This game features a few "3D" games, which are made to be played with the included two pairs of 3D glasses. From my experience...
Published on September 15, 2009 by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

287 of 303 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Best Thing to the Actual Ride, September 16, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
At Disneyland Resort and Walt Disney World, the manic, wildly entertaining Toy Story Mania ride opened in 2008 to rave reviews, long lines and a lot of ecstatic, happy customers. When Disney announced production of a home version for the Nintendo Wii, fans rejoiced, but with a touch of skepticism: Could a home version possibly do justice to the amazing ride? Turns out, the answer is....yessss.....mostly....

Toy Story Mania (the Wii game) is a polished, beautifully crafted game that captures the ride's most important element--the pace and feel of the target games--perfectly. The plate-smashing, balloon-popping, hoop-tossing fun arrives intact. What's missing, of course are the giddy spinning of the ride vehicles, state-of-the-art 3D, water spray and air blasts...And the half hour waiting lines.

Writing as an adult fan of the ride, let me answer the question other theme park fans want to know: Is the home version worth a purchase?

Yes. Just keep your expectations realistic. This is, at its heart, a mini-game collection based around the themes and characters of Toy Story. All the games from the ride are represented (including the pie toss practice round), but not as they appear at the parks: That would be impossible to replicate. Instead, each of the ride's five main games are each represented by three separate, smaller shooting galleries, each filled with goals and secrets. The home version is padded out with additional carnival-style games that range from fun (skeeball and basketball hoops) to average (simon-says waggle fests). In addition to a front-and-center story mode that roughly follows the ride's progression, there are 5 additional story modes--one for each theme (Space, Western, Army, Barnyard and Bo Beep). By playing through each themed story mode, you encounter each theme's 3 shooting galleries and 2 to 3 additional games. Once you unlock each game (through goal achievements or prize tickets), you can head to the game creator area and make your own version of the game to play through. I imagine most players will immediately line up all the shooting galleries and never look at the other mini games again.

Here's the heart of the matter: The shooting galleries are pure gold. No question, they are the reason to consider buying this game. Aiming and firing with the Wii remote feels great--I recommend turning off the cursor for a truer-to-the-ride experience.

The presentation starts off beautifully, with a fully animated intro in which the toys set up the game you're about to play. This is the backstory of the ride, and it's great fun to see it finally brought to life with dazzling Pixar animation. It's right about here, however that you'll also notice one big disappointing aspect of this game: The compete lack of actual music from the films. The game's music score is pleasant (and actually very effective in the army and space sequences), but it's a bit disheartening to find that, with all the care and attention to detail that went into this game, the Powers That Be couldn't fork over a bit of extra cash to license "You've Got a Friend In Me." Cue the old hag from Princess Bride: "BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!" One other beef: Most shooting galleries end by asking you to shake the remote for extra points. Note to all game producers: Shaking the Wii's remote over and over is not fun. It's never been fun. It never will be fun. No more shaking!

Back to the positives: The character animation throughout is superb. The visual style of the shooting galleries is perfect. The voice work (by almost the entire original cast) is great, though there should be more (you'll hear the same gags repeated before the round in progress ends. R. Lee Ermy is his usual awesome self in the army sequences.

The game includes six 3D renditions of select shooting galleries which must be unlocked and played using the included 3D glasses. Do not expect the same 3D you get on the ride. This is the red/blue style that drains away the color. It does provide an effective, fun sensation that you're actually firing into your television screen. After a few 3D rounds, however, I came away with a headache. Still, it's a nice bonus feature. Ride-themed Wiimote faceplates are also included.

All in all, it's a fun, good-humored, visually dazzling home version of the ride. With the do-it-yourself game sequencer, you can eliminate the extra mini games and simply play the awesome shooting galleries.

Not bad at all. I recommend it for fans of the ride and anyone looking for a fun party game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 138 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, Fun, Repetitive, but may not be for long, September 15, 2009
By 
Matthew (Decatur, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Toy Story Mania! is a collection of carnival-type games featuring Toy Story characters and themes. It is supposed to be inspired by a Disney theme park ride, but I've never ridden it so I can't comment on how it resembles that experience. This game features a few "3D" games, which are made to be played with the included two pairs of 3D glasses. From my experience you'll want to be in a dark room with a LCD or Plasma TV to get the full effect. It didn't really make a difference with our old TV.

The game is built around 30 or so mini-games in which you earn points and tickets that are used to unlock bonus stuff. I haven't played them all, but I think I have a good feel for them. These basically fall under a few categories: "point-and-click" shooting galleries, repeating motions, and carnival type games. The shooting games are pretty simple, just point your cursor at the target and press "A". If you are playing with multiple players everyone plays at the same time. Sometimes you trigger events that require waving the remote, usually once or twice a game. At the end of most shooting games is a small "bonus stage" where you are awarded bonus points by vigorously shaking the remote.

A few games are just mirroring the motions on screen. For instance, one game has Hamm dancing and you twirl the remote around just as he is spinning. You get points for correctly following the motions. Not the greatest games, but are a nice change of pace. If you are playing with multiple players each player takes a turn.

The last type of game is where you are playing a Toy Story themed version of a classic carnival game. One has you tossing rings on the Little Green Men (the Pizza Planet aliens) and rockets, which is essentially the same as a shooting gallery just aiming at the top of the targets. Another is a Gold Rush version of "Skee Ball" (my favorite Chuck E. Cheese game!) which is good but not great.

I think the best way to describe the game structure is to compare it to Mario Party. You can play "story mode" which strings together a bunch or random games. To continue through the games, you must meet certain point goals or tasks. There is a "free play" mode where you can play games you have unlocked either by playing the in story mode and completing all the goals or by unlocking them using the tickets you earned. One gripe about the free play mode is that the interface is very confusing at first, which is very odd compared to how simple the rest of the game is. The 3D games have to be unlocked using tickets and played from the free play mode.

I was very pleased with the quality of the look and feel of the game. The animation of the characters is very good. I watched the credits and many of the voices are the same actors as the movies, including Tim Allen ("Buzz"). Woody is the most obvious voice change, but it is Tom Hanks' brother and sounds pretty close (the same as the intro to the Buzz Lightyear movie from a few years ago if you saw that). The only voice I heard that I thought was completely off was Weezy the penguin.

The game experience is basically like you are playing a carnival staffed and decorated by the Toy Story characters. Games are grouped by themes, such as western for Woody, space for Buzz, tea party for Bo Peep, and army for the Army men.

This is really a fun game. The quality use of the Toy Story characters and themes adds much to it, but in the end it is just another collection of mini-games. This creates a huge problem since many of the games are very repetitive. Shooting a cactus in a western shooting gallery and shooting a submarine in a army shooting gallery fell the same after a while.

The best value for this game is as a party game. A single player will become bored after experiencing all the games. The simple controls and interface are great to just pick up and play. My three-year-old was playing with me on most of the games with little frustration. I can see how the many of the games would be a blast with four players.

On the subject of multiple players, one thing they overlooked in the game is that you set up your players at the very beginning of the game. You can't add or change players on the fly. Additional players can "drop out" of games, but can't rejoin until after completing a mini-game.

THE BOTTOM LINE - This is a very well presented and great looking mini-game collection. I think it would be great for small kids and as a family party game. The problem is that there are many, many, many similar games on the Wii from Mario Party to Super Monkey Ball to Wii Sports. This is among the best in looks and character appeal, but in the middle of the pack when it comes to games. They are fun, simple, and look great. It is a blast to play at first, but I have my doubts about long term playability because you can only play mini-games so much. I only gave it a three star review because of the similarities of many of the mini-games and my doubts about long term playability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family!, September 15, 2009
By 
Andrea (Close to WDW) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
If you are looking for a family friendly game that is fun for the adults and safe for the little ones, then this game fits the bill. Also, if you are totally addicted to the game at Walt Disney World or Disneyland then you will also like this game.

There are two main modes to this game, story and free play. Free play CANNOT be utilized until someone has gone through the entire story. With that said, as you complete and area of the story then the corresponding area opens up in free play. The main areas match the boards from the game at the parks with secondary games that seem to be designed to prevent repetitive motion injuries.

Pros:
- Just like the game at the parks!
- Fun for everyone with clear and easy instructions.
- In free play you can pick and choose which games you wish to play.
- Prizes that you earn are actually extra mini-games!
- 3D function is only in the minigames section, everything can be played in 2D.

Cons:
- You HAVE to go through the story board to open up the free play.
- Some of the secondary games are kind of childish. But they do give a wrist break.
- The 3D glasses are the cheap red and blue glasses that have been around for 20 years. They suck. With that said you can pretty much figure out what the 3D looks like. But 3D is not mandatory to play the game.
- Majorly addicting!

After playing for several hours tonight, my arm hurts but I can't wait to play some more! Way cool game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you have been on the Disney Ride, you will love this game!, September 15, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Early this year Disney World debuted a new ride at Hollywood Studios named Toy Story Mania.....well this is like being on the ride from the comfort of your living room! I ordered this on pre-order and it arrived today, the day of release. It was fun for the whole family. The kids were so excited during each section of the game....they would say "Hey, I remember this part from the ride!".

Game play is simple....aim and shoot pies, balls, etc at the targets.

The 3D levels were ok.....the glasses gave me a bit of a headache, but my kids loved it.

I gave it 4 stars because it doesn't use the Mii profiles. The profiles are there so you don't have to always type in your name and to be able to keep a tally on your performance.....yet they don't do that.

As far as game play, I can see that this might get a little boring after a while and it won't be a top played game in our house after the newness wears off, but when we miss Disney and want a piece of the magic and feel like we are playing on the ride, we can pull it out and have some fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rental at best, September 23, 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I got this game for my kids last weekend. We finished in a couple of hours. The shooting gallery is pretty well done, it reminds me of the ride at Disneyland. Other then that, well... there is no other then that. The "Story" mode has no story, none at all, you just go gallery to gallery. The 3-D is non-existent, the games look much better with the glasses off. They didn't take advantage of the motion controller. You have to point it at the TV of course, but there are only 3 games that use the motion sensors (a hammer, a tilter, and skee ball). Lastly, the game isn't replayable unless you have a Wii party. Otherwise, who wants to do the same gallery over and over? The bottom line: I have a 5 and 10 year old and guess how many times they've asked to play since we finished the first day? You got it... zero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not kid-friendly and really not worth $40!, January 14, 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I read all the reviews before purchasing, and I was somewhat won over by those reviewers who said their kids enjoyed this game. I can't agree. I have a 3- and a 7-year-old who both really LOVE playing Wii. They couldn't care less for this game. As an adult, I find it hard to begin play. The grabby-claw is difficult to use and, as there are no real indications as to what games can be found in which areas, there is a LOT of trial and error involved. Also, since you have to play all the way through before free-play is unlocked, plan on a good 45 minutes to an hour of adult play before kids can make their own selections. I did NOT find this to be a kid-friendly game AT ALL.

The game is a little fun for mom and dad, but my kids (who are big, BIG Toy Story fans) really don't seem at all interested in this set of games. Our Wii is relatively new, but at this point they'd much rather play Wii Sports Resort or something similar. This has really been a disappointing purchase for us, and a bit frustrating because it cost so much. I'm not sure if we paid for the Toy Story/Disney brand or for the 3-D effects (which are, at best, headache-inducing.) I am now wishing I would have gotten a Dora game or something similar (more kid-friendly and less expensive!) Frankly, I would recommend against this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a "Mania" as it is a "Party", September 21, 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
If you've been looking for a collection of mini-games for a Wii Party but have been turned off by the lack of captivating characters, then this is the answer you've been looking for. The Toy Story gang are here to provide you with a variety of midway games for you and others to enjoy. Well, kind of.

While the majority of the games are a variation on the same shooting gallery concept, the other games you will find are really hit and miss. Some "Simon Says" style games that involve shaking the Wii Remote mixed in with ski ball and probably the strangest version of the popular Breakout game I've seen can only provide a detour for so long. However, once you get yourself a large group of competative players, the type of game really doesn't matter. The amount of fun you'll be having makes up for it.

That said, this game is clearly made for multi-player play. While you can play it in a single player mode for personal high scores, it isn't as fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun game that is like the theme park ride, November 10, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I must admit first off, I am a casual gamer. I like to play video games from time to time, but they are not my passion. So games like this one, easy to pick, easy to play, and easy to put down are my favorite types of game. This game does mimic the theme park ride, since I just came back from Disney, I found this to be a lot of fun. Many of the screens are the same ones at the park. The animation is fantastic, I loved that most of the character voices from the movies are included. This would be a perfect game for the whole family, or even at a party. If you enjoy games with arching theme plots that provide hours and hours of good game play, I would pass on this game, and select something else. If you are looking for something everyone can play, this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ready, Aim, Fire!, October 7, 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
The first time I played this at the Disney theme parks, I thought it would be perfect for the Wii. And now here it is. It is certainly lots of fun. Unfortunately, it isn't quite as cool as the theme park version.

In many ways, this game is a collection of mini games with a boardwalk theme. Just like the attraction, the games are separated out into five different categories. You've got Hamm's egg toss, Bo Peep and her balloon pop, Buzz LIghtyear's ring toss, the Army Men's plate breaking, and Woody's suction gun shooting.

Each of these five areas combines several levels of game play. There are at least three variations on the throwing or shooting theme per area. The controls here are pretty obvious. You point the control at the screen and push A to fire. There is a little target on the screen that shows where you are aiming. You can turn it off it you want, but since I have been known to not be point at the screen, I like to have it on.

In addition to these shooting levels, there are other midway type games. They range from the fun of trying to roll a marble through a maze (by tipping your controller) to following a ball mixing through various cups. They've got a variation on skee ball and one where you shoot a ball through hoops. Unfortunately, a couple of these are rather stupid, like the version of hitting a target to ring a bell at the top of a tower. And don't get me started on trying to spin the controller to twirl a rope like Woody.

In addition to trying to get a high score, you also have other objectives you need to meet. Some of those objectives are rather hard to find because you have to do other things to get them to appear. They make a couple of the levels needlessly hard, but they add fun to most of them.

There are two ways to play, Story or Free Play. In Story, you must meet at least half the objectives to move on. Once you've met all the objectives, you unlock the level in free play. Fortunately, you also earn tickets along the way, and you can redeem them to unlock the games in free play. In free play, you can choose the exact level you want to play and skip those you find annoying or difficult.

The game is multi player. Up to four people can play. You'll take turns on whatever game you've selected, either one at a time for some of the games or two at a time for the shooting galleries.

And there are some 3-D levels. You get two pair of 3-D glasses and can unlock 5 3-D levels. These are the most like the original attraction. To unlock these levels, you need to use the tickets you've won playing others games and trade them in for access.

As much as I love the source material, I must admit, this game doesn't have quite the replay appeal. It's probably because it is targeted at a younger audience. The encouragement from the characters gets annoying quickly (they really needed more lines for them to say). A few of the additional games are fun, but most of them are stupid. And almost every level ends with you shaking your remote for bonus points. I find that extremely annoying.

Despite the flaws, I do find this game highly addicting. Once I get going, I don't want to stop. And playing it with other people can be quite fun as well. I'd still say this game is targeted more at kids than adults, but if you love the theme park attraction and want to give this a whirl, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., September 16, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is based on the ride at the Disney Hollywood studios in Disney World. Having gone on that ride myself, this game seems like it would be a perfect match for the Wii and it's controls. It seems to work out pretty well. The Wii-mote tracks with pretty good accuracy. Most of the games (if not all...I haven't gone through the whole game yet) from the ride are included in this game. The developers added in special actions you can do with the remote to get extra points. In my opinion, these actions take away from the game more than help it. Just like the ride at Disney world, all I want to do is shoot the targets and rack up as big of a score as possible, not try to figure out special movements while I'm trying to shoot. The game also has new levels that you won't find in the ride. Some of these are short little side games that seem out of place such as a variation of the classic shell game (ie: put a marble under the shell, they get mixed around, now where is the marble).

They also state that the game has some 3D levels. Heck, they even provide glasses. After trying out the 3D versus the standard version of the levels, I really don't see any 3D effects. If anything the 3D is much harder to look and and play with. I'll stick to the standard graphics.

All in all, this game is a fairly good adaptation with some quirks such as the extra smaller levels and the 3D. I question how replayable the game is once you get through all of the levels, other than to try to beat your own score. This game is much better when played with a partner.

[...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii
Toy Story Mania! - Nintendo Wii by Disney (Nintendo Wii)
$19.99 $17.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.