Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by thrift_books
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Almost in new condition. Book shows only very slight signs of use. Cover and binding are undamaged and pages show minimal use . Millions of satisfied customers and climbing. Thriftbooks is the name you can trust, guaranteed. Spend Less. Read More.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Toy Story: The Essential Guide (Toy Story 2) Hardcover – September 15, 1999


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.99 $0.01
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 4 and up
  • Series: Toy Story 2
  • Hardcover: 64 pages
  • Publisher: DK CHILDREN; 1st American ed edition (September 15, 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0789453126
  • ISBN-13: 978-0789453129
  • Product Dimensions: 11.2 x 8.9 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #436,522 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Welcome to the world of Toy Story. As soon as the doors close behind any departing humans, the toys come out to play! Woody the cowboy, Buzz Lightyear, Hamm the pig, Mr. Potato Head, and all the others lead active--sometimes overly active--lives when humans aren't looking. Whether squabbling over turf, fending off dangerous new arrivals, or discovering that they are "just" toys, this incredible, somewhat motley crew will delight one and all. Fans of the Disney movie will devour this essential guide, which provides an inside look at the whole Toy Story gang. Discover what the innards of Woody's pull-string voice box look like. Peer inside the Pizza Planet rocket with a detailed cross section of this deep-dish pepperoni proton-powered flying machine. Learn about Woody's past as hero of the "high-ridin'est, rootin'-tootin'est" 1950s television show of all time. Packed with photos and illustrations of the characters and settings, the guide clues readers in to some hilarious and fascinating background information about this popular and surprisingly touching film. A must for any Toy Story buff! (Ages 6 to 12) --Emilie Coulter

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on December 9, 1999
Format: Hardcover
This book is superbly designed with wonderful images of the characters and film. The neighborhood map is awesome. So is pizza planet rocket.
The text is witty and borders on the poetic.
A must for fans of Woody, Buzz, and all their friends!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on January 24, 2000
Format: Hardcover
They did a great job of incorporating background from both films in this book. You get mini bios of all the main characters plus cut-aways and maps of the world of Toy Story. My only complaint is that in their bio of Rexx, they give away the ending of "Toy Story 2".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Robin Benson on February 3, 2002
Format: Hardcover
Having got the special three DVD set of Toy Story (the extras on the third DVD are stunning) I wanted a book that was a reference guide to the characters from both movies. This is just the book I was looking for.
Each spread has a character or place, nicely designed with large cutouts and smaller pictures (some a bit dark though) and captions. The pages on the thirteen episodes of Woody's Roundup and Bullseye, Jessie and Prospector are fascinating because they show merchandising items from the 1957 TV show, a cereal box, card game, comics, alarm clock, LP record, lunch box and themos etc are all designed with pictures and typography from the fifties. The attention to detail is one reason why I loved the movies and this book lets you enjoy the show without watching it on TV.
Kids and their parents will both enjoy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By tommytee on July 24, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
When I received this book, there were pages missing, looked like they had been ripped out. Also looks as if some kid had colored on some of the pages, I expected it to have a little wear since it was a used book, but this was ridiculous. I only paid a penny for it so I guess I get what I pay for.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?