Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in a long line of excellent albums
This is not my favorite album from Aerosmith (Rocks is) but it is their best if for no other reason that it gave us the classic Walk This Way a song which made them Superstars (Twice no less!). WTW's guitar riff is as recognizable as that of Cat Scratch Fever and Smoke On The Water, it is clearly a signature tune. I caught Aerosmith on the Just Push Play Tour this summer...
Published on June 29, 2001 by Richard P. Mayhew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past
Blast from the past. Enjoyed listening to the music and will play it ocassionaly but probably won't go into my car selections! Item arrived within alloted time frame and was well packaged. Ellen P.
Published 4 months ago by Ellen M. Peacock


‹ Previous | 117 18 1924 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the album that made them superstars!(by the way im 13), August 4, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
I love this classic recording by aerosmith! It contains some of aerosmiths huggest hits(sweet emotion and walk this way). All of the songs are great."toys in the attic" is a great fast rocker,"uncle saltly" is kinda like what happens when you sprinkle some salt on blues,"adam's apple" is a great song that resembles more of old fashioned rock n' roll,and i love the lyrics to the song..(can anybody guess what eve ate from adam's body?)"walk this way "is a great fast song with a more almost even "rap" style to it. "Big ten inch record" is some great rock n' roll music.(By the way..in the song they dont say "..." on my ten inch record but they really cay" cept" as in except...(can anybody guess what the big ten inch record is?)"sweet emotion is my personal favorite from the album.(I love the hippish funky part when the guitar sings out the words"sweet emotion" in the begginning,and just like "walk this way" this song has great guitar riffs by joe perry(the bands lead guitarist. "no more no more" is another song with good lyrics."Round n round" is the most evilest darkest song on the album with a Very great guitar riff(by the way brad whitford does the lead guitar on this song,and he usually just does rythem guitar along with joe perrys lead guitar playing).Brad whitford also does lead on "you see me crying",however when you compare brad to joe on the song "mama kin"from the bands first album(which joe,just like usual does lead guitar) there is no comparrison to joe!"you see me crying is the albums last song and it is very beautiful,sweet,and soft. the lyrics dont mean anything though.like for example why is steven tyler(the singer of course!)singing a love song calling his lover a "ladies man"? a "ladie man" refers to a man,but i guess he didnt know that! any ways...buy the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds great..., October 30, 2004
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
Many consider this to be Aerosmith's best and it is pretty good but I rank "Get Your Wings" as their best. The best tracks are the big hits "Walk This Way" and "Sweet Emotion" which still sound great even after 30 years of radio play but some songs just don't hold up to continuous airplay like "Big Ten Inch" which I hope never to hear ever again. Other strong cuts are "No More No More" and the ambitious "You See Me Crying" with the added touch of a string section with soaring guitars (Perry or Whitford?) which I think worked out surprisingly well for a down & dirty band just two years removed from opening for Sha Na Na. I thought the rest of the album was just your average Aerosmith. This has been digitally remastered with no bonuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filled with classic songs but still not 5-star material, August 12, 2005
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
If you've read my other reviews on Aerosmith, then you probably know by know my train of thought when it comes to the band and what I've grown to love from them: high-enery songs with Perry working the guitar, Kramer slamming on the drums, and Tyler topping it all off as the Demon of Screamin'. Toys In The Attic has some well-remembered classics like Walk This Way and Sweet Emotion. The title song is like fire on a soundwave. It's energetic and has perfect guitar-playing to boot. Sadly these three songs cannot seem to lift the album any higher than 4 stars, even thought they clearly form its backbone. Still it's good solid Aerosmith so, of course, I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Aerosmith became a household name, January 4, 2003
By 
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
If there was one album that put Aerosmith on the map and firmly established the band, it was this one. After an awesome debut album and a good follow-up (Get your Wings), Aerosmith exploded with this record, which contains two hard-rock staples, 'Walk this Way' and 'Sweet Emotion,' which almost everyone has heard enough to sing along to.
Of course, those two tracks are by far the best on the album, but the rest is good too. All in all, its a great record from start to finish, and if you can get past the somewhat immature innuendo (like the song 'Big Ten Inch Record'), you are in for a great treat. No one does classic rock quite like Aerosmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Rock fans of all sorts, March 10, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This is quite possibly the greatest CD ever! It's non-stop rock! If you like Aerosmith this is the CD to get! I could listen to it all day and never get bored, its' that good!
If I were stuck on an island this would be the one cd i'd want! Aerosmiths' Toys in the Attic is a must-buy to any true rock fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down Memory Lane, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
Great! Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gems in the attic, November 23, 2002
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
My second Aerosmith favourite album after the eponymous first album.Great rockin' tracks-Toys in the attic, Adam's Apple-Great HEAVY tracks-Round and Round, the classic Sweet Emotion-Great fun tracks-Walk this way, Big ten Inch, No more No more...
On top of that the very-inspired ballad You see me crying which has nothing to envy to their latests soporiphic mtv ballads.
A very good 70's production, a lot of energy, a great deal of guitar solos, a Tyler at his best and most of all a lot of creativity and sincerity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's album, December 3, 1999
By 
Guillermo Arias (Cd. juarez, Mexico.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This is one of the best aerosmith album, followed by Pump and Rocks (with all the respect to all aerosmith's fans). I can't tell which is my favorite toys song because all of them are excellent in it's own style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A kickass album with only one flaw., February 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This album totally rules but has a flaw: No More No More. I'm sorry but this song just doesn't do that much for me. The rest of the songs are real cool like Uncle Salty and Sweet Emotion. Sometimes You See Me Crying stays in my head for weeks. One time I started jamming to Toys in the Attic during a test in Pre-Algebra and everyone looked at me like I was crazy! This album is real cool an deserves a lot of attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1924 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toys in the Attic
Toys in the Attic by Aerosmith (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.