Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in a long line of excellent albums
This is not my favorite album from Aerosmith (Rocks is) but it is their best if for no other reason that it gave us the classic Walk This Way a song which made them Superstars (Twice no less!). WTW's guitar riff is as recognizable as that of Cat Scratch Fever and Smoke On The Water, it is clearly a signature tune. I caught Aerosmith on the Just Push Play Tour this summer...
Published on June 29, 2001 by Richard P. Mayhew

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Toys In the Attic" 1975 Aerosmith
When I first bought this Aerosmith in the Summer of 1975, I had already heard "Walk This Way" & "Sweet Emotion" on the radio & plus I already heard "Dream On" in the Autumn of 1973. This was my very FIRST Aerosmith album. I can only say that I like it, but it isn't my favorite album @ all. Only 4 songs that are my favorites are "Uncle Salty", "No More, No More", "Round &...
Published 16 months ago by Kevin B. "0820"


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in a long line of excellent albums, June 29, 2001
By 
Richard P. Mayhew (Silver Spring, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This is not my favorite album from Aerosmith (Rocks is) but it is their best if for no other reason that it gave us the classic Walk This Way a song which made them Superstars (Twice no less!). WTW's guitar riff is as recognizable as that of Cat Scratch Fever and Smoke On The Water, it is clearly a signature tune. I caught Aerosmith on the Just Push Play Tour this summer and the band played 5 songs from Toy's (Walk This Way, Uncle Salty, 10 Inch Record, Sweet Emotion and Toy's In The Attic) a good indication that after almost 30 years the band is still rightfully proud of this record that pushed them over the top. This album contains the song You See Me Crying which was a prelude to the power ballads they perfected in the 80's and 90's. Not as hard as Rocks but a cranker for sure, there is nothing like blasting WTW while driving on a sunday afternoon in my vintage American muscle car (79 Trans Am SE). If the Dallas Cowboy can call themselves America's Team then Aerosmit!h should be called America's band (even if KISS fans can make a good argument out of it). Aerosmith is to rock and roll what Ferrari is to sports cars. This album contains no duds and should be in every fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer 5.1 SACD transfer of a rock classic!, January 19, 2004
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
Released in 1975,"Toys In The Attic" perfected Aerosmith's brand of Stonesy hard rock,R&B, and Led Zeppelin heaviness,thus giving the band its commercial breakthrough(it reached #11 on the Billboard album chart and sold 8 millon copies).The highlights are the super-funky "Walk This Way"(which was revived a decade later in a version by the rap trio Run-DMC,which featured Steven Tyler on vocals and Joe Perry on guitar),the grinding,lusty "Sweet Emotion",the catchy "No More No More",the punkish title track,the menacing "Round And Round",and the beautiful closing ballad "You See Me Crying",but there's simply not a weak cut to be found here.If I could summon one word for the 5.1 SACD mix it would be AWESOME!Listening and comparing the standard 16-bit CD with the multichannel SACD is like comparing early spring and summer.The ordinary CD sounds good,but it sounds flat,compressed and muddy compared to the SACD version.The latter sounds full,punchy,clear and tough,much like music itself.You never heard "Walk This Way" or "Sweet Emotion" until you heard them here!(Note:This will NOT play on your standard CD player.Sorry!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage Aerosmith, December 12, 2005
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
I was recently saying to my wife, while watching clips of some recent Aerosmith live shows that, in spite of the direction they've gone in from the late 80s to the present, I'd like to go see them again. (I also asked her if she thought it would be possible to go for around $20. I must have paid somewhere between 10 and 20 bucks when I saw them during their glory days in the late 70s at Madison Square Garden, back when they were playing music like this. My wife was pretty sure that a ticket now costs quite a bit more.)

I got into these guys during my 1st two years in high school (1975-77), and I have loved high energy, heavy guitar driven, blues based rock bands ever since. And really, what can I say about this era of the Aerosmith story, and this particular recording, other than that it sounds now as good as it did way back then. And while Walk This Way, Toys in the Attic, & Sweet Emotion are the big hits from this (and have been covered by everyone from REM, Tommy Shaw, Tracii Guns, and Run DMC to the much more obscure Wolfie, and the Butchers, among others) and are excellent, they should not obscure the power of such less acknowledged rockers as Uncle Salty (featuring some tasteful guitar playing courtesy of Joe Perry and the underrated Brad Whitford) and Adam's Apple, in which Steven Tyler shows what a 70s rock god he was. Other songs here are fine. For example, No More No More has that kind of Rolling Stones boogie sound that Aerosmith do very well. Round and Round is very heavy, and kind of anticipates ths early 90s grunge era (a link one can hear through later bands like Die Kreuzen, Mother Love Bone, Alice in Chains, Screaming Trees, etc). You See Me Crying is what a power ballad should be. And their delivery of the cover song here, Big Ten Inch Record, is still funny, albeit it an adolescent sort of way.Kudos also to the solid, non flashy rhythm section of Joey Kramer and Tom Hamilton for their playing throughout.

It's no wonder that Aerosmith were so beloved, by Wayne and Garth, by the characters in the film Dazed and Confused, and by the kids in my high school and neigborhood, not to mention by me. Listening to this 70s hard rock classic brings out my inner 15 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT 5.1 SACD, December 15, 2003
By 
David B. Bennett "Rock The Book Man" (The Land of Enchantment, New Mexico, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This review is specifially for the surround-sound mix of this famous album by Aerosmith, I have never listened to the stereo mix in my life. That being said, I highly recommend this SACD for it's nice surround mix of some classic rock and roll music. The surround mix of Sweet Emotion is just awesome, and Walk This Way now comes alive in a way that shakes the whole house and puts you right in the middle of the song. If you have a nice surround sound SACD system, I would highly recommend this disc. But there is a WARNING: This disc is a single layer SACD, it will not play on a CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'n' roll goodness!, January 2, 2008
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This is the kind of 70s rock album that pretty much redeems all of the worst excesses of that decade. It's a collection of rock songs that really rock, that heave with sweaty bar band abandon and gin-soaked blues swagger, dripping with sleaze and mean excitement, with a few hazy ballads thrown in for balance. It's fun, it's crankable, and it rocks like a mother. I mean, this thing's got the gleefully sleazy "Walk This Way" AND the deathless rockstar anthem that is "Sweet Emotion," for cryin' out loud! It's also got the storming title track, and the beaten reveries of "No More No More" and "You See Me Crying." Plus, there's the sheer awesomeness of "Uncle Salty" and "Adam's Apple." Now there's a rock album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PIECE OF WORK, April 23, 2006
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
AEROSMITH IS A GREAT BAND WHOM I LIKE IMMENSELY.This is a work of art which should be there in your collection.FIVE STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, November 3, 2005
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
This is a groundbreaking album. Finally, after few years in Rock N' Roll world and two albums behind them, Steven and boys produced the album that brought them on higher stage. No longer critics dared to say that Aerosmith are Stones Copycats; now they created their own, original style that they followed throughout the 70s, and they won the charts with singles like "Walk This Way" and "Sweet Emotion".

It took me some time to understand the greatness of this album. I used to like "Rocks" better; now I think both are equally great, just a bit different; "Rocks" is basically hard rock stuff; and "Toys" is more variete; it has the rock n' roll classics like the title track, "Sweet Emotion" and "Walk This Way", but also a ballad "You See Me Crying" or blues cover "Big Ten Inch Record".

Toys In The Attic - Short, intense, hard rocker. Great opening to the album. This one kicks ass. 10/10

Uncle Salty - A sad, thrilling song about sexual abuse. Not the one to be ma favourite, but it's good. 8/10

Adam's Apple - I like this song better and better with every time I listen to it. Great rocker about garden of eden. Cool. 9/10

Walk This Way - A classic. Guess everybody knows it from the radio. Filled with incredible riffs from Joe Perry. After years it gets a bit old, but still love it. 10/10

Big Ten Inch Record - Awesome blues cover with a funny lyrics to it. "I whip out my big ten inch... record..." love this song. However if You want to hear the TRUE version of this song, check the one on "Pandora's Box". 10/10

Sweet Emotion - Another classic. Incredible riffing in this one, at the end the song gets another turn. One of Aerosmith's best. 10/10

No More No More - More melodic and softer than the others. This song is really great, but still not enough to give it ten. 9,5/10

Round And Round - A weird kind of metal. I think if other band recorded it, it would be one of its greatest. But it's untypical for Aerosmith. 7,5/10

You See Me Crying - This song tears my soul apart. Sweet ballad leaving You a bit dreamy. This is one of Aerosmith greatest ballads.

A must have album. Guess I don't need to say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Aero Bois at Their Best, March 3, 2004
By 
BSG2112 (Orlando, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
The distillation of everything that was loud, exciting, and fun about Rock in the '70's, and a continuing testimony to how to do it correctly. An absolutely indispensable record for anyone who cares about Rock in any way, shape, or form.
The boys start out loud and fast on the title cut, a tune so ferocious it scared me the first time I heard it. They then seamlessly move into "Uncle Salty", the beautiful and melancholy exploration of abuse.
In case anyone thought the boys were getting too serious, there follows the raunchy word play and hard-driving "Adam's Apple", the mega-single (and catchy as the flu) "Walk This Way". And a wild novelty which took me years to grow to LOVE ("Big Ten Inch Record").
"Sweet Emotion" starts side 2 (this is how vinyl records worked, kids, grooves on either side of a plastic "pizza"), with probably the coolest song in Aero history, and a tune still heard at the movies, whenever they need to show cool '70's music, instead of disco. "No More, No More" showed how a piano could be cool, in a driving rock song, while "Round and Round" was simply hypnotic. (Try it while watching your vinyl LP actually turning Round and Round and Round and Round and...., you get the idea.) The less said about "You See Me Crying", the better, I suppose. No, really, it was a power ballad before anyone had a term for it, and better than virtually any that followed, but then, it WAS Aero, ya know?
The FIRST record I bought and still fresh as the day I slapped it on the platter.
Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Breakthrough Classic, July 29, 2003
By 
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
After releasing two moderate selling albums, Aerosmith proved that the third time will be a charm and it did with their breakthrough classic Toys in the Attic which would sell over 6 million copies in the U.S. and score their first major hit 'Sweet Emotion'.
The album begins with the pounding title track and it would become a live staple, Uncle Salty is another underrated classic, although it isn't nearly as heavy as its predecessor, it is a great song with a sing along chorus, Adam's Apple is a mid paced rocker with an excellent guitar solo and although the studio version is a great song, the live version on Pandora's Box is a killer, next up is one of Aerosmith's signature songs with 'Walk This Way' which would become a Top 10 hit and it still gets heavy classic rock airplay and another interesting note is they got the title from 'Young Frankenstein'.
'Big 10'' Record' is a great song although it could've been longer, this song was a remake from like 1936, next up is another one of their signature songs called 'Sweet Emotion' which was about Steven Tyler's negative feelings about Joe Perry's soon to be wife Elissa which she is a major witch and she's the kind of person that you wouldn't like, but anyway it became Aerosmith's first breakthrough hit, 'No More No More' has great lyrics about fortune and fame and about being big, 'Round and Round' is one of Aerosmith's most creepiest songs from the 1970's and it was Brad Whitford's first song that he came up with, 'You See Me Crying' is the band's ballad and it seems like that Aerosmith would close an album with a ballad and Steven does a great job singing it.
If you gotta have just one Aerosmith album, don't get Greatest Hits, instead get this album cause it rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lascivious and salacious, November 18, 2002
By 
Erroneous "Paul" (The radio wasteland of the Midwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toys in the Attic (Audio CD)
I LOVE THIS RECKERD. It is essence of rock. When Mr. 11-year-old Reviewer starts gettin' hairs in funny places, he'll understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Toys In The Attic
Toys In The Attic by Aerosmith
Buy MP3 Album$5.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.