Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Ty Dolla Sign egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2013
When I heard about this new K9 series, I was very excited. This book didn't let me down. Tracking Justice is the first in the Texas K-9 Unit series, and in this book we follow Detective Austin Black and his bloodhound dog Justice. From the first few pages, this book drew me in. Eva is a single mom with a little boy named Brady who is kidnapped. The action doesn't stop once Brady is rescued and we move from one crisis to the next in the search for Brady's kidnappers and the larger crime ring behind it all. The author did a great job of weaving together Eva's personal story--her parents were murdered--into the current plot. The love story between Eva and Austin felt believable. And I absolutely loved the connection between Brady and Justice. I will definitely keep reading this series. Recommend for suspense and animal lovers. The faith element was spot on. Here's one of my favorite quotes: "That's a lot of fear for someone who says she has faith." He raked a hand through his hair, took a sip of coffee. "I do have faith. In God. Not in myself." McCoy, Shirlee (2013-01-01). Tracking Justice (Texas K-9 Unit) (p. 195). Love Inspired. Kindle Edition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2013
This book drew me in from the first chapter. Eva is a single mom, that has always had to do everything herself. She is a waitress, and she is going to school. She wants a better life for her, and her 7 year old son. When her son Brady was kidnapped, She couldn't just sit by and wait, and watch. She followed the lead K-9 detective against his wishes, on the search. The action doesn't stop there. This was a heart wrenching story line, with a good ending. My only complaint was Eva's fears and her doubts were said over, and over throughout the book. It made it sound like she was whining. It was annoying to read the same thing over and over again. Austin did make a perfect and patient Hero. This book was more on an emotional level. The physical was limited to a few times Austin Kissed Eva. Eva maintained her guarded heart, and kept her doubts throughout the book, breaking free the last chapter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2013
I believe this is the beginning of another series where a variety of authors will continue with it. When I'm looking for new books to read, Shirlee McCoy is one of the authors I look for at the Kindle storefront. I haven't read many suspense novels that include a K-9 unit so this added an extra element. Good book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2013
Tracking Justice by Shirlee McCoy
Texas K-9 Unit Series Book 1
Police Detective Austin Black and his long eared partner, Justice, have a job to do. Sometimes it ends happy but not always. They work in search and rescue and just received another call, a boy gone missing. Austin could only pray it would turn out to be one of the happy endings.

Eva Billows was taught not to trust anyone but God and herself. When her son Brady goes missing, she isn't going to trust anyone to find him without her. Especially considering the police already failed her by never finding who murdered her parents. And she definitely was not going to let her heart believe that some men were good, was she?

The first book in this new Love Inspired Suspense series definitely has me wanting to read the next five books. As in all series some of the mystery is solved in the first book and love is found but there are still some more bad guys out there to be caught. Looking forward to the next book in this series; Detection Mission by Margaret Daley.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2013
Every mother's nightmare comes true in the opening chapter of this Love Inspired Suspense novel: single mother Eva Billows's son, Brady, is missing. He has been taken by someone and detective Austin Black and his tracking dog, Justice, are sent to Eva's home to help find Brady. Eva is no stranger to the police: her parents were murdered two years ago, and Austin begins to believe that Brady's kidnapping might be related.

The story is part of a miniseries (Texas K9 Unit), which is written by several authors including McCoy, Sharon Dunn, Lenora Worth, Terri Reed, Valerie Hansen, and Margaret Daley. There isn't much resolution in the book, save for the romance between Eva and Austin, which is pretty unrealistic. They fall for each other in a matter of days and begin planning a wedding! Crimes are committed and bad guys are arrested, but the true conclusion will probably come in the next book in the series. It's not a bad book, but it's not the greatest, either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2013
This book starts out with action and will keep you reading till you find out how everything comes together. From a missing boy, to gunfire in the woods, to a tracking dog there is nothing in this story that will disappoint!

I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked the action and suspense. I thought the interaction of Austin and Eva, the two main characters, was very well written and the conversations were believable. Sometimes you can read a book and not get a feel for the characters personalities but this author did an excellent job of character development. If you like suspense mixed in with romance you will enjoy this book!

I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2013
I'm extremely surprised by the high ratings on this book. In my opinion, this is far from Shirlee McCoy's best book. First off, it was extremely short, second, I had to keep re-reading as her action descriptions were so jumpy, I could hardly picture what was going on. Third, there are plot points that just go nowhere. (While searching for the boy in the woods, an injured woman shows up, confused. Later, we are told she is still confused, and then we never hear another word about her! Is there supposed to be a sequel? It definitely wasn't hinted at.) Fourth, the "gotta guard my heart" plot is just so overused, I want to cry. Fifth, the romance is written so clumsily, with so much tedious inner dialogue, there are no real sparks here. Sixth, while other reviewers found this to be suspenseful, I really didn't, I kept reading, hoping something interesting or truly romantic would happen, and then, suddenly it was over.
This book felt like it was just cranked out, with no one checking the facts (would a police dept. really pay an informer $10,000 for information they basically already knew? Would the whole K-9 unit know this informers name? Wouldn't that be kept kind of a secret between the informer and one detective?) or whether the action descriptions made sense or if there were dangling plot points.
Very disappointing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
A seven-year-old boy is missing at night in Sagebrush, Texas, and a bloodhound and police handler search the woods to find him and his kidnapper. Part of a series by several authors, this picks up the action from a previous book.

Detective Austin Black and his bloodhound Justice find lone parent Eva and her son Brady thrust into their life by the kidnapping. The first part of the book is the best, with Eva determined to accompany the searchers and struggling through the dark woods, though I doubt that would have been allowed. They discover the boy hiding in a cave, so far down that Justice is sent in to find him and guide him out again. But the kidnapper little Brady had eluded is still around and attempts to shoot the rescuers.

Reminiscent of The Client, the young boy saw a crime in progress and the perpetrators are trying to silence him. The police mount a guard on Brady while Eva, a waitress, is stunned by the kindness of locals. Further attempts are made on Brady's life and Austin discovers that the small family is becoming increasingly important in his solitary life. Brady and Justice are fast friends but Eva, still shattered from the murder of her petty crook father, doesn't know if she can trust a man to be a reliable father figure for her child.

The inclusion of other crimes and characters from the series actually weakened this story as a standalone, because it is hard for the reader to care about an injured person that we have not met, just been told about, and from the intense beginning to a clutter of major crimes, informers and prison inmates is a huge jump. The police work is carefully described and if resources are stretched, no cop is seen complaining about the requirement to guard a child. I thought that at seven, a boy should be a lot more advanced than playing with blocks and stuffed toys; I would expect library books, computer games and jigsaws as well as sports.

TRACKING JUSTICE will be compared to Virginia Lanier's bloodhound series, where a female kennel owner trains her dogs for tracking and sniffing drugs. Shirlee McCoy has concentrated on police work and on the potential for romance between her two protagonists, and she keeps us hoping for a good outcome. A bloodhound is not a suitable pet for a young child as they are very large and require a vast amount of exercise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
About the book~
In the night, a young boy goes missing from his bedroom. Police detective Austin Black assures desperate single mother Eva Billows that he'll find her son. He has to, so he can put to rest his own harrowing memories. With his search-and-rescue bloodhound, Justice, Austin searches every inch of Sagebrush, Texas. And when Eva insists on helping, Austin can't turn her away. Eva trusts no one, especially police, but this time, Austin-and Justice-won't let her down.

In my humble opinion~
Have you ever fallen for a guy who turned out to be a liar and nothing but trouble? Eva Billows did, once, but she doesn't intend to make that mistake again. Now a single mother, she vows to give Brady a better life, one that doesn't include a man. Detective Austin Black has his own hangups about relationships after his last breakup and chose to give up dating rather than live with someone's disappointment over missed birthdays and dinners, but he still longs for a family to come home to. When someone kidnaps Brady, Austin and his bloodhound, Justice, are called in to work the case. Fierce and protective as a Mama Bear, Austin can't help but fall for Eva.

This book is part of a Love Inspired Suspense continuity series called Texas K-9 Unit. I tend to lose interest in continuities, so typically I don't read them, but I couldn't resist picking up a Shirlee McCoy book. McCoy crafted a well-constructed plot with characters you feel like you've known your entire life. And the romance? Sweet, with just enough conflict to keep you guessing if Eva and Austin will get their happily-ever-after. Clear your evening and curl up on the couch with a strong cup of coffee. You''ll want to read this book straight through to the end.

Disclaimer: A huge thanks to NetGalley and Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense for providing a free copy of Tracking Justice in exchange for my fair and unbiased review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2013
This was a good story, but it did not finish. There were "criminals" who never came to "justice" or weren't caught. I appreciate that the cop got the girl, but there definately was not closure on all the threads of the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.