Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I Bought It
I was first exposed to James Altucher's work on theStreet.com and have always found his articles to be worthwhile. "Trade Like Warren Buffett" is no different. Mr. Altucher's concise observations and comfortable writing style make this book a fun, fast read.

People who have had little exposure to Buffett literature beyond the endless magazine cover stories...
Published on March 8, 2005 by E. Brosio

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful but not Worthless
I am a Finance MBA and Buffettphile and this book barely held my attention. They did a very poor editing job. The numerous errors detract from the work. A lot of "Buffett-like" and "Buffett-style" speculation but not so much Buffett.

The book is lacking in too many areas to illustrate them all. I'll use the chapter on merger arbitrage as an example. Mr...
Published on April 21, 2006 by Curt Brandt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful but not Worthless, April 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
I am a Finance MBA and Buffettphile and this book barely held my attention. They did a very poor editing job. The numerous errors detract from the work. A lot of "Buffett-like" and "Buffett-style" speculation but not so much Buffett.

The book is lacking in too many areas to illustrate them all. I'll use the chapter on merger arbitrage as an example. Mr Altucher mentions some studies on merger arbitrage and how you can improve your success rate. He completely fails mention Graham's criteria for entering a merger arbitrage transaction as stated in the Intelligent Investor. The criteria are annualized 20% expected return and an estimated success probability of 80% or greater. Buffett probably still uses these. His overall treatment of merger arbitrage is woefully superficial. Anyone can calculate the return on capital if the merger succeeds. How do you determine the expected return on capital if the merger fails? How can you determine the implied probability of success from current market pricing? These and many other critical areas to one who practices merger arbitrage are not discussed.

While the book is not written in sufficient detail to actually be useful, Mr Altucher did cite many academic studies that I am anxious to read when I have the time. Mr Altucher, you got me. You put "Buffett" in the title and I bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I Bought It, March 8, 2005
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
I was first exposed to James Altucher's work on theStreet.com and have always found his articles to be worthwhile. "Trade Like Warren Buffett" is no different. Mr. Altucher's concise observations and comfortable writing style make this book a fun, fast read.

People who have had little exposure to Buffett literature beyond the endless magazine cover stories will see that he is at heart an extremely ambitious and competitive investor who is not above making a quick trade, timing the market or relying at least in part on anecdotal evidence when buying a stock. But even though Mr. Altucher makes short work of the "buy and hold forever" myth that surrounds Buffett, he clearly respects Buffett's prowess and accomplishments. I particularly liked the examination of Buffett's current stock holdings and the stories from his early investing career. And there are a couple of interviews with money managers that provide good perspective.

It was a little frustrating to read about all the investing opportunities that Buffett has taken advantage of over the years but that no longer exist. However, it was also nice to learn that Buffett has made mistakes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett used different investment strategies during his career, August 14, 2009
By 
Mariusz Skonieczny "Author" (classicvalueinvestors com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
I don't think that many people see Buffett as a trader. Most view him as a long-term investor who buys companies that possess competitive advantages and holds them forever. However, the author points out that Buffett has used many different investment strategies such as cigar butt, value investing, special arbitrage situations, workouts, distressed debt, merger arbitrage, and spin-offs. This book covers all of these strategies. So those who are looking for the classic Warren Buffett buy-and-hold strategy might find it disappointing.

He made pretty good money using other strategies, but unfortunately many of these opportunities do not exist in the same way as they did years ago. The reason for this is the Internet and the growing number of hedge funds exploiting these same opportunities. I found it interesting to learn how Buffett evolved as the financial environment was changing. I think that Buffett's experience with so many investment strategies gives him an edge over other money managers because it makes him well-rounded.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy Buffettology Instead, March 28, 2005
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
This book was rather weak. It touched on alot of interesting topics but often didn't dive into them in detail. It also had interviews with at least 3 people who run mutual and hedge funds that didn't have much to do with Buffett's record itself.

I've read just about all of the books on Buffett out there and this one was not one of the best by far. Buy Buffettology or the New Buffettology. They are far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrivaled account of Buffett's secret to success, March 8, 2005
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
"Trade like Warren Buffet" is a superbly organized and well written account of the history of Warren Buffet along with his personal secrets to his financial success. Altucher gives you everything about Buffet, from his personal background, his earlier years as an investor, what he holds, and what TRADING strategies he has used throughout his legendary career. "Trade Like Warren Buffet" is written in a way that enables the reader to easily benefit from the comprehension of Buffets unique trading styles and techniques. This book has given me a fantastic view of Warren Buffet "The Trader" and a better understanding of Warren Buffet "The Man." I was recently privileged enough to see Mr. Altucher speak in person. His ability to demonstrate his knowledge of Warren Buffet's "trading" prowess as well as his analysis of the financial markets is outstanding. The only substitute to seeing him speak is reading this book. This book is a MUST READ for any level of trader, investor, financial planner or Warren Buffet enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time and money, March 6, 2005
By 
Seeker "a viewer" (hong kong Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
much inferior to the warren buffett way, not to say the making of an american capitalist,

in the begining of the book, the author says he will analyse buffett's investment in commodities and give a book list for further study, but these are no where to be found in the book,

what do you expect from such an author?

another chapter 'buffett's personal holdings' just copy all the charts and figures from yahoo, without any analysis of why buffett bought and sold them, what is it if not just for making the book thicker to sell more money,

another chapter just summaries buffett's articles in fortune, again where is the originality?

most unfortunately i bought it from a book shop that has no refund policy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Average, March 11, 2010
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
Very superficial treatment of most topics but the book does make you think! (especially the interview with Pabrai)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A simple depiction of Warren Buffett's methods, February 23, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
A simple depiction of Warren Buffett's methods. Wish the author had gone in more details of the theories involved. The book did not help my trading much. It was more of an informational review than anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For All Investors, March 12, 2005
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
I have read several books about Warren Buffet and this was the best. The way the author drilled downed on many actual investments and investing techniques that Warren uses was very helpful to this investor. I read this book in one weekend, couldn't put it down. I have been managing money for more than a decade and found this book very educational and a breeze to read. I highly recomend it any investor or anyone who wants a better understanding of one of the greatest investors of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into Buffett's techniques beyond just buy and hold, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trade Like Warren Buffett (Hardcover)
If you are looking for more insight into why Buffett is the best investor evet, then this book will help you understand some of the techniques he has used beyond the traditional 'buy and hold' and value dogma. Buffett has indeed written his own rules. How much this now applies to the individual investor in the modern era is debatable, but a good additional to any investor's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trade Like Warren Buffett
Trade Like Warren Buffett by James Altucher (Hardcover - February 11, 2005)
$49.95 $37.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.