Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb text on diagnosis, September 19, 2009
By 
W. Reck (Port Richey, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
The TCM Diagnosis Study Guide is definetly one for your bookshelf. This book makes a wonderful companion to other books on diagnosis, as it is an excellent resource for further study. The diagrams, summaries and charts make it an absolute necessity if you are more of a visual learner.

The inclusion of "questions and answers for deeper insight" at the end of each section provide just that, deeper understanding of the concepts presented. The 200 question multiple choice test at the end of the book (answer key provided) will definetly help you to see how well you understand the material.

I have done a lot of research into books on TCM, and I have found these 3 are the best to use in conjunction:

1- Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide
2- Chinese Traditional Herbal Medicine Volume I Diagnosis and Treatment
3- Chinese Traditional Herbal Medicine Vol.II Materia Medica & Herbal Ref

These 3 books make a wonderful "home study" course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete, February 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
This book is complete and full of explanations. Ideal for identifing the patterns of TCM. Only one miss : meridian diagnosis and eight extra meridians diagnosis... But this manual is more herb oriented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Book On TCM Diagnosis, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
A TCM practitioner once told me that the highest level of TCM diagnosis requires an encyclopedic mind. Visual inspection, smelling, asking and palpating are the only "tools" that a TCM practiitioner has. This book is divided into 4 main parts. What to look out for? What to ask the patient? What smells to detect? What do the different kinds of pulses indicate?

Through all these diagnostic methods, the practitioner should be able to get a coherent picture of the syndrome that is affecting the patient. This book has accurate information, very well-presented with numerous tables and flow charts. But make no mistake, TCM diagnosis is anything but straightforward. Understanding the concepts and remembering the diagnostic reasoning in this book requires a lot of commitment. Definitely an essential text for any serious student of TCM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
This book, like most TCM theories, has many of the essential ideas neatly outlined within it and it makes a great text for students to learn with, but make sure that you make up your own mind about the content because I know that I had a few discrepencies, but that is just personal preference rather than incorrect information. All in all, it is a book that helped me survive a semester of college and if you're ever after an insight into basic TCM theory, the only other book I would turn to is Giovanni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
I liked this book on first read and still do....lots of material presented in a useful way.
Exceptional reference resource, I find I use it more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent choice, June 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
excellent study material. Concise and clear, helped me to understand tcm, I will definately recommend it to people who study TCM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
This is a good summary, easy to understand the concepts and memorize the paterns. The book is also include the examination that can help me to review the knowledges. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall this is a good book that explains many mysteries of TCM, November 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
Overall this is a good book that explains many mysteries of TCM.

There are a few things that are not exactly correct...I know this because I asked my teacher (PhD in TCM) who is very knowledgable.

I would still highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide (Paperback)
Well organized, lots of details. Good book to fall back to or to use as a support to other texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide
Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis Study Guide by Qiao Yi (Paperback - October 26, 2008)
$39.95 $37.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.