Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Train, No Gain
One of the pitfalls of being a training specialist for such a long time is that it is easy to become complacent with your knowledge level and your writing habits. "Training for Dummies," which should be titled "Training for Schmarties" is one of those books that will help you avoid that.

Author, Elaine Biech covers the instructional systems design model (ISD)...
Published on March 20, 2008 by Edwin C. Pauzer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Ok
It definitly covers all aspects.
mostly trivial things that are comon sense.
I had to buy it for work so, if it wasn't for that, i would not have purchased it.
There are some good proctices and ideas in here. I have been training for over 12 years anyway.
Published on November 29, 2012 by SteveM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Train, No Gain, March 20, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
One of the pitfalls of being a training specialist for such a long time is that it is easy to become complacent with your knowledge level and your writing habits. "Training for Dummies," which should be titled "Training for Schmarties" is one of those books that will help you avoid that.

Author, Elaine Biech covers the instructional systems design model (ISD) or A.D.D.I.E., in detail. These are analysis, design, development, implementation, and evaluation. She states the difference between what it means to be a teacher vs. being a trainer. This is one of the only texts I have seen that offers some construction of an instructional design draft, although I wish she would have shown and explained a two-column format in depth. She did provide samples of a three- and four-column format.

Biech goes into overdrive regarding implementation from room set-up, the things that could go wrong, dealing with nervousness, and handling the disruptive influence, all types of them, to mention just a few. She also covers the four (or five if you prefer) levels of evaluation superbly.

One area I was hoping that she would address is how trainers can deal with managers who make disastrous training decisions that will be a supreme waste of time and money, but will blame the trainer rather than recognizing their decision as the reason for failure. (I was once asked to do training to control or reduce absenteeism. Thank God, he had a poor memory)! This is a constant uphill battle for trainers and I see half-hearted training efforts squandered on almost a weekly basis. (If you're out there reading this, no, you can't have Team Building in only one day Why? Because it's not enough time to build teams, dummy)!

I have a few dozen texts on training. If you could only have one of them, this would be the one I would give you. If you're serious about training, it is one book you need to keep on your table instead of your shelf.

Remember...

No train, no gain.

P.S. Don't get overconfident if you have a full seminar in Hawaii or Scottsdale, AZ. They might have other reasons for being there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even If You ARE Smart..., September 11, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Most of the time, people asked to conduct a training event or to become trainers are really smart, really good at what they do, and want to help others become good also. Where the perception that these smart people are "dummies" comes is from the stupid things they do in class, in their small group demonstration sessions, conducting on the job training, or in one-on-one mentoring. It has always amazed me that otherwise smart people can be so dumb when it comes to teaching others what they know.

TRAINING FOR DUMMIES comes to the rescue with a plethora of advice, helpful tools, and resources as well as a clear articulation of WHY you do something (or don't do it) when training. Using Gagne's Nine Instructional Events and other solid, research-based instructional models, TRAINING FOR DUMMIES provides anyone - from novice to experienced trainer - a clear roadmap to success as a trainer.

DO NOT skim this book. Turn to the sections that fit your most pressing need (and there is a ton of them!) and read long, and read deep. Learn how to handle that challenging student as well as understand why that student may be exhibiting "dysfunctional" behaviors when you are working so hard to help them learn. Learn how to organize your thoughts, your interactions with the trainees, and all those things that successful trainers do. It is no wonder this book is endorsed by the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD), it works!

Read it before EVERY class, after every class, and keep it by your bed. At night, read a paragraph or section before you go to bed. In the morning, read it before starting your day. Keep a learning journal nearby to write down questions, insights, or the many ideas TRAINING FOR DUMMIES will inspire. This is a VERY user-friendly book. Your trainees, students, bosses, and fellow trainers will be glad you read it and use its advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Training is NOT for Dummies, June 13, 2005
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Even a cursory reading of Training for Dummies should convince anyone that conducting good quality successful training is definitely not for the inexperienced. Step by step Elaine peels away the layers of good training to show the reader how it should be done. From the neophyte to seasoned professionals, there are training "gems" here for everyone.

Training for Dummies starts those new to training with a review of adult learning theory and an exploration of the basic training cycle, assessing needs, and designing learning objectives. Moving on from theory to practice, Elaine offers a trainer's bible for delivering dynamic training sessions covering such topics as great training openers and making the best use of visuals and multi-media. One particularly helpful chapter deals with what to do when problems occur in the training room. We have all had those days when the room is cancelled, the projector bulb goes out, or there is one person in the group that is intent on making our day miserable. Numerous problem scenarios and strategies for dealing with them are offered.

Making training interesting and fun is a theme that runs throughout the book. Elaine's mandate to trainers is clear: training should not be boring. In the final section of her book, she offers six chapters full of ideas you can put to immediate use to energize your training.

It is evident that Elaine has years of training behind her in writing this book. She shares so many of the tips that have made her a recognized master trainer that I would recommend keeping a notebook nearby to glean some of her best ideas. When you integrate these into your next training event, you and your learners will experience the difference.

Davis E. Froeber

President, Intercultural Dimensions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, March 28, 2007
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Don't feel silly for getting this book just because it says "for dummies."

I have a masters in training so I wouldn't say I am a dummy in the field, and I believe this book is a fantastic resource to remind you of many training techniques and principles. I Def. Recommend!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Training and development through an expert's eyes, April 28, 2005
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is the essence of what Elaine has learned through her many experiences as a professional in the field of workplace training and development. She generously shares theories, course creation plans, solutions to common problems, and even insights on how to have fun in a session. She notes that the best training focuses on the participants, not the trainer, and she keeps those participants in mind throughtout the book. I plan to re-read it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the Money, June 8, 2005
By 
Mark Stevens (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Training for Dummies is right on the money, insightful yet practical. Too many books are all about theory and not about practice--this is not one of them.

On Page 320 "Training on the Run" she addresses what seems to be the current issue du jour. Folks just won't take the time to read or train--yet want to know it all. She gives some good guidance on how to implement "compression" of the training cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great front to back and for deep dives!, April 22, 2005
By 
Linda J. Growney (Madison, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Elaine's book came to my attention at a unique time in my career. I had done training, even managed a training function, years ago. I now have the oppotunity to re-engage in the training field and needed a resource to brush up on my knowledge, as well as see what's new in the field. This book was perfect as a key resource. It does an excellent job of laying out the training process from beginning to end and educate on the associated issues. It does so in a comprehensive, engaging style. The book is also laid out to allow deep dives into specific areas. For me, one area was success measurement and ROI. I was able to refresh my understanding of how to measure training's effectiveness and figure out more information I might need to pursue deeper understanding and application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banishing mediocre training!, June 3, 2005
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
I have read several of Elaine's books in the past and have always been extremely impressed by them. Once again she has created an invaluable, practical resource for trainers and other professionals involved with training. The book is laid out in a very concise and easy to read/understand format that contains many nuggets of information. Elaine raises the bar on facilitating great training and in so doing banishes the boring, disorganized waste-of-time training that has dogged so many organizations in the past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My hat is off to you!, April 28, 2005
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
As someone who's trained for over two decades and trained other trainers myself, I applaud Elaine for yet another wonderful piece of work. In an age where learning is so essential and when lifelong learning has become a global mantra, this book should be something that everyone who is connected with teaching should have on their shelf. Elaine knows her stuff and she once again takes the time to share what she knows with others. Bravo, Elaine. My hat is off to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a "dummy" to use this book!, May 11, 2005
By 
Kristin J. Arnold (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Training For Dummies (Paperback)
Training for Dummies should really be titled "Handbook for Training that AnyOne can Understand." Everything you need to know about training is written clearly and succinctly. With over a dozen years training people to facilitate high performance teams, I found Elaine's book to be a great resource. The content, logic and the flow of the book is perfect for the novice as well as the seasoned professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Training For Dummies
Training For Dummies by Elaine Biech (Paperback - March 25, 2005)
$21.99 $16.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.