Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Training Trances: Multi-Level Communication in Therapy and Training
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2001
This was BY FAR the best book I have ever found on Ericksonian (permissive) technique. I was doubtful about the other reviewers who said you can experience and learn in trance with this book, but IT IS TRUE! The trances are automatic, requiring no effort whatsoever on your part, and they do remarkably help you absorb and assimilate the material much more rapidly. I'm an enthusiastic believer!
Overdurf and Silverthorn simplify what some regard as the most mysterious and "difficult" hypnotic styles to master and use (Ericksonian), but after this book you will find an amazing sense of confidence in your ability to immediately utilize naturally structured trace inductions, metaphor (and their improvisation), catalepsy (AMAZING! I did it in five minutes with autosuggestion), posthypnotic suggestion, and even self-hypnosis, explicit and step-by-step instructions on how to structure and conduct the hypnotic interview, extensive information on amnesia and and other traditional hypnotic phenomena, all written in a very readable, friendly, readily-understandable style. There is nothing dry and clinical about this book, but there is a wealth of PRACTICAL techniques and protocols that cannot be found in other manuals.
It does draw heavily on some basic ideas from NLP (neurolinguistic programming), but even if you are completely unfamiliar with NLP, this book still has a lot to offer. Much of the NLP material you will need is summarized in an appendix of the book. My entire model of hypnotherapy has been revolutionized thanks to "Training Trances"!
I have been studying and practicing hypnosis for 16 years, and have only been working with NLP and Ericksonian Hypnosis for the past two. This is the ONE book I wish I had read first! Excellent!
0Comment| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2002
Although this book is described on the cover as being about Ericksonian hypnosis and the use of hypnosis in training, this isn't entirely true. The book does NOT demonstrate or explain how to use hypnosis in training 'in general'.
What the authors have created is an almost unique and very useful resource which teaches Ericksonian hypnosis by using hypnotic techniques within the text. This definitely works, in fact almost 'too' well - for a couple of months after reading this book I began to go into a trance no matter what book I was reading [more of a trance than usual :) ] !
Much of the book, a rich mixture of demonstration, explanation and exercises, is based on the authors' own training workshops and I personally found that this came across to very good effect.
I wouldn't suggest that any book could make you an expert in a subject like hypnosis, but this strikes me as an excellent basic text for anyone wanting to study Erickson's techniques.
Having said that, some readers may find the book a little narrow in its scope, in which case I'd ALSO recommend "Hypnosis: A Comprehensive Guide", by Flores, Schober and James (ISBN 1899836454), another practical guide which contrasts the Ericksonian approach with two other styles of hypnosis, IN ADDITION to this book.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2002
From the Publisher:
==================
Training Trances is about how to therapeutically communicate with the unconscious mind. The authors present their own unique integration of Ericksonian techniques, traditional models of hypnotherapy, and recent research in related areas, as well as the use of trance in training design, to unconsciously install the skills being taught. Includes individual/group exercises and numerous "live" demonstrations of inductions and double-inductions. Written with insight and humor, this book's most unique twist is its use of multi-level communication and hypnotic language to create a "training trance" for the readers as they journey through the text. Some hypnotic references are obvious and explicit--those which are not obvious will create enjoyable "ah-ha!" experiences for the reader as they are discovered.
Therapists and trainers will learn:
Milton Erickson's three most frequently used trance inductions
How to use catalepsy for changework and healing (including "Ambiguous Touch")
How to induce classic hypnotic phenomena i.e. Amnesia, Dissociation, and Deep Trance identification
How to structure the hypnotic interview
How to use metaphoric stories as "anchors" for change
Protocol for Post-Hypnotic Suggestion and amnesia
The transcripts of live demonstrations and inductions recreate for the reader the experience of hypnosis and are also a rich source for linguistic analysis by the advanced reader. This is an "unconcious-friendly" book which will prove invaluable for NLP and hypnotherapy trainers alike.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
===================
Foreword (vii)
Introduction (xi)
Chapter 1. Two Minds Defining Trances (1)
Chapter 2. What Do Driving And Garages Have To Do With Intention And Trance? (15)
Chapter 3. Structuring Trance Inductions, Naturally. (41)
Chapter 4. Dissociating Functions--Communicating Possibilities (61)
Chapter 5. Catalepsy: Giving Your Trancework A Healing Lift (81)
Chapter 6. Hypnotically Skillfull (103)
Chapter 7. The Hypnotic Interview: The Inner View of Trans-Formation (127)
Chapter 8. Posthypnotic Suggestion: How To Trans-fer The Learnings (149)
Chapter 9. Constructing Stories: What Is A Metaphor, Anyway? (165)
Chapter 10. Metaphorical Intervention: Is It Real Or Just A ...? (183)
End Notes (205)
Appendix (218)
Bibliography (228)
Index (232)
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2002
This book is well worth the money, time, and effort spent on it. The authors are clearly master hypnotists and NLP practioners who demonstrate flexibility and creativity in the therapeutic and hypnotic process. I have been studying and using hypnosis with clients for many years, and this book pulls a great deal together in an enjoyable format. I gained many valuable insights that will undoubtedly improve my therapeutic work with clients. If time permits, I would like to take one of the authors' live training courses. This is one of the few books on hypnosis that I would give 6 stars (******) if that were possible on this site.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2002
An excellently written book on the subject. One of the best with example after example of excellent inductions....provided that you can read it. Easily worthy of 5 stars except for the horribly poor printing. Unfortunately it is printed in the smallest type possible making it painfully difficult to read, with tight formatting and single spacing so that it could be crowded into the fewest number of pages, printed on the cheapest paper that could be bought by the printer and published in a small 5x7 paperback. It was printed with half the care and quality of a $4.95 grocery store romance novel in order to cut publisher costs to zero and profits to pure profit with no consideration for their readers. I would hate to go to their seminars if this is an example. The material is quality and it deserves a better publisher and printing. Unless you are 21 gifted with 20-10 or better good lighting and a magnifying glass don't buy it. I will ask for a refund for my copy as unreadable (I am in my 40's with 20-40). It badly needs a better printing or needs to be available alternatively as an e book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2001
Brilliant, excellent book! I have been studying and using NLP and hypnosis for many years now. This is the best book in my whole collection. Hypnotic language is used throughout so you get the idea of how to use it while reading the book! And just in case you missed it, it is helpfully put in hyphens and bolds and things. By the time you've read this book you not only know how to do it, but you have `seen' it done and have the actual wording in the book to train you and refer back to as well. So they don't only teach you how to use hypnotic language, they actually use hypnotic language throughout the book to train you. It is indeed multilevel training. Thanks.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2001
This book is great! I have read many books on NLP and Hypnosis, and listened to and watched many expensive tapes, but this book tops them all. Silverthorn and Overdurf are brilliant. I plan to get their other book as well. This is the only one that I have seen that really teaches well on both the conscious and unconscious levels. Others do well only on one level or the other. The only caveat that I might offer, is that the 'training' that is referred to is for the training of hypnosis. Other types of trainers will find it less useful. Still, anything that improves your life and communications will improve your training.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2000
WOW! It was so refreshing to see so many new powerful insights. As a long time Hypnotherapist, and student of human behavior, I have read literally hundreds of books on Hypnosis and NLP. Im proud to say, this is one of the most useful books on I have EVER read! The title can be a bit misleading. Its not so much about training, as it is about DOING, in a clinical practice sense. BUY THIS BOOK! Well written.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2007
This is not your average book. The way its written is designed to reach subconscious levels. It's alive, you might say. But it takes some serious concentration to read it, as the way its worded is unusual and somehow disturbing, but perhaps in a good way. I don't think the average Joe would like this book, but most people taking a close look at this book probably aren't average Joes.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2003
This is one of the best books I have ever read about trance. First of all, it is written as hypnotic text. If you are wondering about that - it means that as you read it you are traversing different levels of trance the whole time. This really allows the learning to sink in deeper and happen naturally.
I have read it several times and will prbably read it several more. Each time I return to it, I find that my state and my understanding deepens.
One can learn a ton about trance when you read this book. Not only that, but if you want to get into split mind trance, language patterns, or trance through metaphor and story - this is the book for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse