Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference resource and fun to read!
This book is a great read and an essential reference resource for beginners and experts alike. Far more than an introduction, Dr. Yapko's well researched book is packed with information, anecdotes, instructions and even a demonstration DVD that are all very helpful for developing and honing hypnotic and therapeutic skills. This version added a lot of new material and was...
Published on May 18, 2012 by Shawn

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stay with the paper version until Kindle deficiency is resolved.
I very much appreciated Michael's instructive text on hypnosis, in spite of the deficiencies in the Kindle version. I awaited the Kindle version with great anticipation, because that is my preferred medium, but was sorely disappointed with missing supplemental materials that were advertised as included. Specifically, both the paper and Kindle descriptions on Amazon...
Published on October 30, 2012 by Bob Simmons


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stay with the paper version until Kindle deficiency is resolved., October 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I very much appreciated Michael's instructive text on hypnosis, in spite of the deficiencies in the Kindle version. I awaited the Kindle version with great anticipation, because that is my preferred medium, but was sorely disappointed with missing supplemental materials that were advertised as included. Specifically, both the paper and Kindle descriptions on Amazon specify:

"Included with the book is a DVD of Dr. Yapko's session with Vicki, an emotionally powerful and technically excellent session."

I must assume that the promised DVD IS included in the paper version, but although Michael refers to it throughout the Kindle text (making it seem integral to the written course), the publisher has not, in fact, included any access to the "included" DVD or substitute video link. That seems to me to be big problem.

I wrote Michael about that, and he graciously checked with his publisher to follow up. He advised that his publisher is "considering" posting the video for those who purchased the Kindle version. I had hoped for a more definitive and swift resolution.

Until they make the promised video available, I would recommend staying with the paper version, rather than the Kindle version. Throughout the text, Michael refers the reader to the included DVD of the complete session with Vicki, noting the importance of being able to "watch the flow of the session." I found it very frustrating to not be able to view this anticipated tool that promised to be so valuable to the learning process. There seemed to be no way for me to grasp that flow in the process by just reading the words on the page. Every mention of the DVD increased my craving to SEE the processes he was describing, and it's absence was very detracting from my learning experience. In communication with Michael, he pointed out that the link to the written transcript was, in fact, detailed in his introduction to the book. Somehow, I had missed that. Perhaps, had I realized that, reviewing the transcript might have lessened my frustration with the missing video, but I still agree with Michael's intent to include the video as a vital component of grasping the concepts, and the transcript, though better than nothing, is an inadequate substitute.

My apology to Michael Yapko for having to indirectly tarnish his superb masterpiece with this negative review of the Kindle version. I hope the publisher will feel compelled to fix the problem with the Kindle version immediately, so that the promised video is accessible to the reader concurrent with studying the text. Until that is resolved, I recommend avoiding the Kindle version (even though that would usually be my preferred medium). Had I known, I would have chosen the paper version, and I am sure I would have nothing but praise to offer. As it is, though, I am disappointed in this electronic product and feel cheated. Michael Yapko deserves better, for his excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference resource and fun to read!, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
This book is a great read and an essential reference resource for beginners and experts alike. Far more than an introduction, Dr. Yapko's well researched book is packed with information, anecdotes, instructions and even a demonstration DVD that are all very helpful for developing and honing hypnotic and therapeutic skills. This version added a lot of new material and was well worth purchasing even though I already had the 3rd edition. I enjoyed reading this book and am already using things that I learned from it in my practice. Dr. Yapko's book has that rare combination of being impressive (e.g., the transcripts and DVD show him for the world class therapist and hypnotist that he is) and instructive in a way that is easy for the reader to apply. I am a better thinker and a more inspired hypnotist from having read Trancework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best text on clinical hypnosis just got better!, May 22, 2012
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
The previous editions of Trancework have been an essential resource for clinicians interested in broadening their understanding of hypnosis. The Fourth Edition adds not only the research and practice improvements of the intervening nine years but new chapters on Behavioral Medicine, Positive Psychology, Children and Adolescents, Pain Management, and Hypnosis across Modalities. Readers of previous editions who appreciated the transcript of "The Case of Vicki" will be grateful for the DVD of that entire session, a masterful use of confusion technique for pain relief in a woman with terminal cancer who wants to be fully conscious through her last months.
There are expert clinicians and there are writers gifted enough to explain the subtleties of great therapy, but it's rare to find both skill-sets in the same person. Dr. Yapko is not only a gifted clinician, he is,as therapists around the world who have studied with him can attest, a great teacher. He makes the current research accessible and explains complex phenomena in clear and elegant fashion. While he is never shy about sharing his well-considered opinions he is also enormously gracious in detailing the contributions of other figures in the field whose views differ significantly from his own. This book is an excellent resource for therapists who are in search of practical guidance in constructing sessions and mastering the intricacies of hypnotherapeutic language. You'll be glad you bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who wants to learn about or continue to practice hypnosis, May 13, 2012
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
Dr. Micheal Yapko is brilliant! His latest edition of Trancework is an absolute must for anyone who wants to learn about hypnosis or continue to practice in the field of hypnosis. It is filled with entirely useful information and immediately applicable strategies. He writes in a clear and sensible way which make it easy for the reader to absorb the information easily. I expect anyone who reads this book will find it extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Erickson style reading - not for me, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
It was 300 pages into the book before talking about Inductions. Another 60 pages before talking about hypnotic phenomena. I don't need to read through hundreds of pages before getting to any meat. When Yapko does finally say something practical it is very good, just can't stand all the extraneous words. If you have lots of time and enjoy wordy books you will love this, however, it's not my style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative reference work, June 5, 2012
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
This is an authoritative reference work on the subject of hypnosis. It is not a self-help, or do it your self, how-to guide. It is written on a professional level for professionals or researchers. It is not difficult to read, and there is a lot of extra information in the book related to psychology, that makes it a good psychology reference in general. Profiles of innovative psychologists are featured throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Textbook on Hypnosis in Existence, June 11, 2013
By 
cady wells (blacksburg, va) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
This text on hypnosis is an outstanding guide for new and advanced students of clinical hypnosis. Yapko covers every dimension of hypnosis in his balanced, research focused, common sense style. The book is very well-organized and thoughtful. From one of the masters in the field, this book is necessary reading for those interested in clinical hypnosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A layman's views, November 16, 2013
By 
Bob (BOERNE, TEXAS, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading many books written by amateurs, it was refreshing to read a scholarly work, that was, for me, easy to understand. I would consider this book, mandatory, for any serious student of hypnotism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trancework - Read it - practice it - you'll like it, June 26, 2012
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
Trancework is a comprehensive and refreshingly practical resource. It is bound to become the gold standard for clinicians utilizing the tools of clinical hypnosis. Dr. Yapko's extensive therapeutic experience and multi-faceted approach enables easy access of well researched hypnotic concepts and techniques. Sequenced learning and practical applications enable clinicians to broaden and enhance their work with children, adolescents and adults. Dr. Yapko's ongoing commitment to the field of hypnosis, to his clients, and readers is evidenced by his work and by his recognition of the contributions of leading experts in the fields of hypnosis and psychotherapy. Additionally, an extensive list of hypnosis organizations, journals, supplemental materials and references are provided. Read it...practice it...you'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis (Hardcover)
A must have for new and old hypnotist. Glad to see a new version, the prices for the old version were getting out of hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis
Trancework: An Introduction to the Practice of Clinical Hypnosis by Michael D. Yapko (Hardcover - March 1, 2012)
$47.95 $38.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.