Customer Reviews


1,087 Reviews
5 star:
 (791)
4 star:
 (208)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
I picked this book up because the title sounded interesting. I have never read a book by Flynn before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I read this book in two days. I simply couldn't put it down. Rapp was a very entertaining character to read about. And with the current situation with Iraq and religious extremists the book seemed even more real. The book was very...
Published on March 12, 2003 by Drak

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good summer read
Transfer of Power is the best of the series that Vince Flynn has going right now: Term Limits, Transfer of Power, The Third Option, Separation of Power, Executive Power and Memorial Day. Mitch Rapp is a textbook tortured hero who will have you cheering for him as the tale spins itself. This book seems like a non sequitur to Term Limits because it's not until another book...
Published on July 26, 2004 by Jessica


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 12, 2003
By 
Drak "gusgus88" (Provo, UT United States) - See all my reviews
I picked this book up because the title sounded interesting. I have never read a book by Flynn before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I read this book in two days. I simply couldn't put it down. Rapp was a very entertaining character to read about. And with the current situation with Iraq and religious extremists the book seemed even more real. The book was very suspenseful and left you wanting more when it was over. I look forward to reading other Flynn novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 221 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vince Flynn is a total master of the political thriller, September 9, 2005
I've recently discovered Vince Flynn and his Mitch Rapp character. This is my third Mitch Rapp novel and my conclusion is that Vince Flynn is the leader of the pack when it comes to political thrillers. He has no close competition.

Mitch Rapp is a member of the Orion Team, a super-secret group with deniable connections to the CIA, White House and Congress. It's purpose is to eliminate terrorist threats to the United States without regard for anything but the danger they represent. Mitch Rapp is an "ordinary" guy, dedicated to extinguishing the terrorist threat without the messiness or hindrance of law. Find 'em, kill 'em and move on to the next one. Rapp is without a doubt the coolest super-hero to come down the pike in a long time. He has the freshness of the first incarnation of Clancy's Jack Ryan, the inventiveness of Clive Cussler's heroes and the philosophical bent of Barry Eisler's John Rain, who is the closest to Flynn's Mitch Rapp.

Flynn's take on politicians is devestating. He beautifully skewers the Democrats and their "peace at any price" acolytes. He sets up Robert Hayes as a "centrist" Democratic President. Hayes resembles no Democratic President of the past century. He is a reasonable, intelligent man without a radical political agenda. Surrounding him, however, are the products of Flynn's literary - and I do mean literary - genius. Venal, greedy, ignorant men and women of his party who put their own selfish interests far ahead of the nation; people who would prefer to live under the heel of the enemies of freedom rather than resist.

In "Transfer of Power," the chair of the Democratic National Committee has accepted a $500,000 "donation" in return for arranging a last-minute meeting between the donor, supposedly a Prince of Oman, and the President. President Hayes' chief of staff doesn't bother with the Secret Service security rules. After all, it is a donation of $500,000.

As the "Prince" is about to murder the President in the Oval Office, the Secret Service receives a call from Mitch Rapp who has just abducted a top Hezbollah leader in Iran. Under intensive interrogation, Rapp has learned that the White House is to be the target of a terrorist attack this very day. The President is saved for the moment with only seconds to spare. The "Prince," really a ruthless terrorist Rapp has been tracking for years, then proceeds to take over the White House. The attack relies heavily on information gleaned from another Democrat.

Almost a hundred hostages are taken. The Vice President assumes exeuctive power while the President is trapped incommuicado in a White House bunker. The White House is in control of the terrorists, its perimeter ringed with explosives. The terrorist leader makes a demand: release the Iranian billions siezed during the Carter-era hostage crisis or he will murder one hostage per hour. Transfer the money and he will let some hostages go.

The Vice President, a cowardly, but ambitious politician, takes counsel of his Attorney General, a woman with a preference for appeasement.

Quickly the situation deteriorates. Mitch Rapp is asked to get into the White House to reconnoiter. He does this with the help of Milt Adams, a retired Secret Service agent who knows more about the design of the White House then any living person. Rapp takes Adams with him, an unlikely, but ultimately highly effective pairing.

Flynn's plotting is an absolute delight. Everything flows smoothly from one tense moment to another. His characters are totally believable. Some, especially the weasly politicians, strongly resemble people we all have read about or seen on television. Rapp, the ordinary guy as super-hero, is exquisitely crafted and totally believable. The military personnel, the CIA directors, the Chiefs of Staff, the terrorists - every character is sharply drawn.

Much to his credit, Flynn manages to introduce a "romantic" element into this novel. I will not ruin the moment by describing how: it is simply to rich to have any of the surprise taken from it.

The action is non-stop. The climax is a complex ballet of brutal action.

Flynn is today's master of the political thriller. Clancy at his very best in "The Hunt For Red October" was terrific: but Flynn is better and he has been able to hold the Mitch Rapp character intact over a number of novels which Clancy was unable to do with Jack Ryan. In my opinion, every other political thriller novelist pales before Flynn. He is the master and of the three Mitch Rapp novels I've read to date, this is his best.

Jerry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, August 25, 1999
By A Customer
I don't know what the "official" critics have against Mr. Flynn. The only thing I can think of is they are not reading the same books I am. I will admit that there are flaws within the book. But I would challenge those critics to try to fill almost 400 pages without having some flaws in your work.
I read Flynn's first book Term Limits just a few days ago. After reading it, I immediately went out and bought Transfer of Power. I found Transfer of Power to be just as entertaining as Flynn's first novel. In my opinion, both books have been well researched. The operations of the military's special forces units and also domestic law enforcement seem extremely realistic. I believe this is evidence that Flynn has really put time into researching the operations of these groups.
The characters in this book are all interesting and realistic. Just like his first book, the good v. evil plot makes the pages just fly by. The only criticism I have of the book is that the ending came a little fast. Other than that, it was an excellent book and I can not wait for Flynn's next book to hit the shelves.
Critics, open your eyes. Flynn is the real deal. I'm aware that you get paid to criticize the work of other people, but you need to find someone else to pick on. Flynn is not your man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to lose yourself in a fast moving suspense filled mystery?, December 23, 2011
This review is from: Transfer Of Power (Kindle Edition)
This is your chance.... I discovered Vince Flynn two years ago by accident. I read almost all of his books in quick succession. I've never seen one offered for free.

If you are interested in a great read, pure escapism, tension and suspense.... grab this.

All of Flynn's books deliver.... be prepared to not be able to put it down.

Enjoy and Happy Holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the Heap!!, July 12, 1999
I was very impressed after reading Vince Flynn's first novel "Term Limits". I immediately purchased and read "Transfer of Power" when it became available. This one even surpassed the first novel in everything you like to read in this type of story. Hard to put down and go to sleep, you want to keep reading all night if necessary. Action is outstanding, relevant to the times and believable. The characters cover the whole scope of the good, the bad and the ugly and each one is done in magnificent style. His understanding of and the use of various types of military/civilian special ops units is excellent, coupled with the many times they are handcuffed by politics and behind the scenes manuevering of those in power, who are more worried about their press reviews than the final outcome of the crisis, makes for reading you feel a part of. Vince Flynn has rapidly gone to the top of my list of authors for whom I eagerly await the next book to be published. I hope that there are many more to come, and soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good summer read, July 26, 2004
By 
Jessica (Lubbock, TX) - See all my reviews
Transfer of Power is the best of the series that Vince Flynn has going right now: Term Limits, Transfer of Power, The Third Option, Separation of Power, Executive Power and Memorial Day. Mitch Rapp is a textbook tortured hero who will have you cheering for him as the tale spins itself. This book seems like a non sequitur to Term Limits because it's not until another book or two into the series that we see connections between the two.

Flynn's books read somewhat like Tom Clancy without a lot of the technical detail and with reduced subplots. All in all, Flynn provides a good read for the pool, beach or treadmill. It's an entertaining diversion carried by lingering fears and emotions about Saddam and terrorists, and in this fictional world, Mitch Rapp always makes the U.S. win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astoundingly Entertaining!, June 7, 2002
"Transfer of Power" by Vince Flynn is an exceptionally well written, well paced action novel that is literally impossible to put down. "Can't put it down" is one of the most overused cliches in publishing but in this case it happens to be true. I devoured it in a handful of sittings. Rarely have I enjoyed a political thriller more.
The plot, which in a post September 11 world takes on new significance, involves the capture of the White House by a group of Middle Eastern terrorists and the efforts made to take back the presidential mansion. What comes in between is enough political intrigue and special forces action to satisfy even the most jaded of techno thriller fans.
My only criticism is that the character's that populate Flynn's book are a fairly standard lot for his type of novel. The protagonist of "ToP" Mitch Rapp, while a very engaging and likable character, is nearly indistinguishable from Tom Clancy's John Clark or Jack Ryan or any of the other black ops super spy's that are so common in this genre. Other character's suffer from the same sense of familiarity. The exception being the villain. Terrorist mastermind Rafique Aziz is a very well crafted foe for agent Rapp and is one the reasons the novel is so entertaining. I should note that while the characters are fairly standard I still found myself making a significant emotional connection with them
It's minor character flaws aside "Transfer of Power" is an example of the political/techno thriller at it's finest. It moves at lighting speed with not a single wasted page or sentence and packs a number of very satisfying moments. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting Political Thriller, May 26, 2000
A fast-paced, action-packed thriller. Transfer of Power has all the makings of a blockbuster political thriller and it's written in a language that compliments the fast pace of the novel. If you don't like your thrillers to make you think a little bit, don't buy the book.
Flynn's research on the secrets of the White House is amazing. Rumor has it that Flynn was asked by the government to change certain parts of the book because they were too accurate. Mixing his infallible research with his ability to put the reader inside the skin of his characters, Flynn has concocted a thriller that doesn't disappoint.
In a genre where so many writers can't write, Flynn weaves a twisted tale that leaves your mouth dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transfer Sizzles!, May 22, 2000
Vince Flynn has followed up his highly successful and highly captivating "Term Limits" with another action packed, edge-of-your-seat thriller, "Transfer of Power."
Flynn explores the nail biting situations in and out of the White House when it is taken over by an extremely intelligent Middle Eastern terrorist. The president's Secret Service agents manage to hide him in a bunker beneath the oval office, but a top-notch safe cracker is working for the terrorists round the clock to open the vault. With the seconds ticking painfully away, the country's only hope is that Special Op's man, Mitch Rapp code name: Ironman, with the aid of a retired Secret Service agent, can thread his way through the secret passageways of the White House and rescue the president before the terrorists get to him.
Vince Flynn is a masterful author who weaves suspense, humor and action throughout every chapter. If you like Robert Ludlum and/or Tom Clancy, you will absolutely love Vince Flynn.
A fabulous read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, December 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transfer Of Power (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Vince Flynn's books and they are never for free. Grab it and read it. You will not be disappointed. You will start looking for the whole series of Mitch Rapp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transfer of Power
Transfer of Power by Vince Flynn (Paperback - 2001)
Used & New from: $0.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.