Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 2001
The incomparable Awadagin Pratt did it again! This is truly a performance that leaves you slack-jawed in wonder. His incredible power and beautiful tone highlight the overall perfection of just about everything he plays. His fervent yet delicate emotions illustrate his obviously strong sense of the music's logic and meaning. All in all, it confirms this excellent impression: here is an artist who is not only enormously talented and creative, but also much more matured than his twenty-eight years age suggests. Pratt�s rightful place in the vanguard of the world�s greatest musicians is assured with every such magical performance.
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2001
Awadagin is truly a virtuoso who performed these timeless classical pieces with such passion and energy. His technique is perfect and his power is peerless. I'm a big fan of the great legendary Russian pianist Sviatoslav Richter, and I think the performance of these pieces by Awadagin is definitely at the same level as Richter's.
0Comment5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2001
Acclaimed pianist Awadagin Pratt, known for his unorthodox style -- he sits on a bench very low to the floor. He also eschews the traditional tuxedo in favor of brightly colored shirts and gives the old masters something beyond the standard treatment. However, it's his splendid performance that really counts. His astonishing brilliance and beauty, the romance and lyricism, the incredible technique and prodigious talent, and his superb and imaginative repertoire transport listeners, levitating them into a spiritual dimension, where materials are immaterial.
0Comment4 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2001
I enjoyed thoroughly all these pieces played by Awadagin. His interpretation is refreshing, his power is awesome, his tone is beautiful and his style is as smooth as silk.
0Comment3 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2001
Award-winning pianist Awadagin Pratt plays with a full-bodied intensity that can be at turns intimate and grandly heart-wrenching. It's truly an electrifying performance.
0Comment3 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2001
Mr. Pratt is an exceptional performer with a talent for stylizing within the most heatedly virtuosic material. His willful manipulation of tempos and dynamics, his varied articulation, as well as astonishing brilliance and energy, made for a provocative, electrifying performance.
0Comment4 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2001
Several years ago, before the release of this CD, I had the pleasure seeing Mr. Pratt perform Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition". To this day I don't remember the rest of his program that night, but the Mussargsky I will never forget. When this particular CD was released, I jumped to buy it just to help me remember his performance years before. Mr. Pratt may well base his professional concert career on pieces such as this, but who cares? The dynamics and tempo of the piece are what I look for in a dramatic interpretation of this mass audience composition. You are able to hear every note, and "picture" what Mussargsky was trying to convey.
If you are a serious classical music fan, or just like to listed to classical pops ever so often, you owe it to yourself to add this CD to your collection.
0Comment3 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2001
Sadly, after repeated examination, it indeed appears that the soon-to-be 36-year-old Pratt indeed splices his recordings--i.e., he takes the best individual moments he can come up with to achieve superficial result. Personally, I prefer "honest" classical musicians when I listen to classical, as is generally the standard, though I suppose there may be those who simply want to hear what they want to hear for whatever reason.
0Comment3 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2000
If you're seeking classical, you should probably stick with those known for their musical abilities/merits, and there are many choices that would supercede recordings such as this. Mr. Pratt has quite a way to go.
0Comment6 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2001
Awadagin Pratt is a free spirit. Not only does he sport luxuriant dreadlocks and sit on a tiny stool, but he also played piano incredibly well. Pratt can do whatever he wants around the margins, because he rendered an intensely dramatic interpretation of these immortal pieces, with a distinctly improvisational air in the rhythms.
0Comment3 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.