Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformers Generations Voyager Blaster and Steeljaw
Part of me wants to say "this is getting rediculous, we have two versions of Soundwave that are pretty much all the same except color, and now we have a retool of guess who SOUNDWAVE" BUT this retool worked out really really well. Especially the retool of FOC Ravage into Steeljaw. I have always been a huge fan of the Communication Specialist Transformers, well maybe not...
Published 19 months ago by HavokH85

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollow and Light. Don't pay full price.
Purchase Blaster for $9.99 during a Holiday season special and it worth about that much. Very hollow and a very light feel in hand. The front door is very floppy and doesn't really lock into place in alt mode. It would have been nice if the arms tabbed in in bot mode because they fall down from time to time. The yellow paint on mine is applied lightly meaning you can...
Published 9 months ago by J. Konrath


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformers Generations Voyager Blaster and Steeljaw, March 4, 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
Part of me wants to say "this is getting rediculous, we have two versions of Soundwave that are pretty much all the same except color, and now we have a retool of guess who SOUNDWAVE" BUT this retool worked out really really well. Especially the retool of FOC Ravage into Steeljaw. I have always been a huge fan of the Communication Specialist Transformers, well maybe not the characters as much but I loved the whole cassette gimmick. Hasbro has successfully brought this gimmick back to life and improved it as well. Blaster is in my top ten characters, So this combined with the data disc gimmick. I had to get him. Read on and find out why this is a retool that breaths new life into an already overused mold.

Blaster transforms into an Cybertronian Armored Communications Vehicle. The most noticeable difference is his color of course. Which is 100% Generation 1. The second difference is the front cab portion of the vehicle has been retooled to be...well...ultimately Blasters Chest that we are all used to. The third difference is the wheels used on WFC/FOC Soundwave (translucent purple and silver) has been remolded gold and grey and looks more like rims you'd see on a caddy. That fits Blaster's personality perfect. Like Soundwave Blaster rolls really well and holds together just as well.Blaster's Compatriots can also be ejected in vehicle mode.

Boombox Mode. Like Soundwave Blaster also has an "unofficial" boombox mode. Using the same Transformation as soundwave to get to this mode. If you're curious about how to do this refer to Youtube and there you will find several videos showing step by step how this mode can be achieved.

Transformation to robot mode is really simple. Like the rest of the Voyagers in this particular line any child (or person) ages 6 and older will have no problem with transformation. You won't even have to look at the instructions. My personal experience with the transformation, Yeah It's been done but it does feel different. I guess it's the fact that I know it's a different character. So parents this is a great choice for your little ones

Robot Mode. Blaster looks really good in robot mode. You don't even think about Soundwave looking at him. The head has been replaced with the new Blaster Head. The sculpt was very well done and Hasbro missed no opportunity for Paint apps. That goes for Vehicle mode too.In fact I want to say that Hasbro used more paint on Blaster. Blaster stands well and is very poseable. If your a first time buyer for this particular mold, Blaster's Compatriot Steeljaw can be placed in his chest and ejected. The cool thing about this feature is the data disc transforms in midair. Granted Steeljaw lands in a sitting position but still a cool gimmick. I've noticed that there is a problem with Steeljaw. For some reason or another he is a lot tighter of a fit when placing him inside Blaster. You almost have to force him in. I've had no problems with Soundwave and Ravage. BUT I have noticed Eject,Rewind,Sunder (who was first introduced in the japanese Kiss Players and originally was a Decepticon) and Ramhorn have no problems at all. I have a theory that because of the retool of ravage where Steeljaws head is much larger, this could be where the problem lies as it pushes out a little more. This is the one and only issue I have.

Overall this is a great figure.As I said earlier this is a mold we've seen before once to many I might add, but there's new life to this one. If you are fan of the cassette transformers snag up blaster. It's like being a kid again because the next thing you'll do is go by the data discs that goes with Blaster. Even if have no clue what Im talking about and you're a new fan. Snag up Blaster. He's pretty Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to my collection, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
As a lifelong fan of the Transformers I've never been overly concerned with collecting the whole line of a series nearly as much as I've been concerned with having good representations of my favorite characters in my collection.
Blaster is a great rendition of one of my most favorite characters. The overall sculpt is aesthetically pleasing and a very good representation of how he should look. The head sculpt alone is sheer genius, combing the best features of the original 1986 toy with his appearance in the cartoon and the Marvel comic book. The rifle is a little undersized compared to the originals, but works very well with this sculpt. Kibble is limited in robot form to just the wheels on the hips and calves, and the "shield" panel on the back that's part of the data disc eject play feature.
Speaking of, the data disc tend to get a little stuck and can be hard to push out without having to use some force. The auto-transform feature for Steeljaw, the yellow lion, doesn't work really good either. The rear legs don't transform on their own at all. However, he can be stored along with at least one other in Blaster's chest compartment and that's still awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just What the Teen Ordered, October 17, 2013
By 
Melody Cox (Evansville, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
This was what my son wanted for his birthday and he loves it. It does everything it is supposed to do and I am very happy with it.

To Transformer lovers out there, I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ravage 24/7, February 27, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
Generations Autobot Blaster returns greater than ever!Blaster is one great overall quality voyager class transformer in the Fall of Cybertron Generations line.You get the classic G1 influence of the music player with the modern day version of disc instead of cassette tapes.The Autobot counterpart to Decepticon Soundwave has the same overall mold for the most part.If you liked the Soundwave transformer you will like Blaster just as much.Blaster has his classic G1 style head piece with an added facial expression for a more realistic effect and the same G1 style greatness on the chest piece.He still has the classic colors of red&yellow with awesome articulation in both robot or communications truck mode.Blaster comes with his trusted companion steeljaw which is solid overall while being constructed very well.Steeljaw has good articulation and transforms into disc mode easily in about three steps.Steeljaw also fits very securely into the chest of Blaster.Blaster has the classic style with the edge of a modern day badass hero ready to take down any decepticon threat.The poseability is outstanding with great stability for creating battle scenes or displaying where you please.The durability is excellent as well with secure ball joint construction and a solid build in robot or communications truck mode.The communications truck mode has awesome detail also while still being able to launch the disc by rotating down the chest piece on the front.All parts fit together very securely during the transformation process.The transformation level is intermediate meaning if you have plenty of experience with transformers there is mid-level difficulty.If you are a parent buying for a child of 5-6 they might need some assistance in the transformation process.To start out rotate the hands in as the very back piece will slide straight out.The arms will rotate back as the chest piece flips up.The shoulder armor rotates outwards so the arms can rotate up to the side.The shoulder armor now rotates over the head piece then connects together.Next the wheels rotate forward as the forearms rotate down behind the wheels and under the shoulder section.Now the very back piece flips down,then back up and over top of the shoulder armor pieces that covered the head piece.Now the wheels on the legs rotate upwards while the entire bottom section will rotate up to be behind the front of the vehicle.Rotate the legs once more so the wheels are in the right position as the feet rotate inwards.The very back piece now slides back over the feet to completely form the roof.Attach Blaster's rifle to the top of the roof and the Autobot hero is ready to roll out!To fit the disc in the chest of Blaster you just flip down the chest piece then slide the very back piece back and then slide it forward which will eject the disc into action.This is one Autobot Blaster transformer that is one of the coolest around and is a great tribute to the G1 character.Bottom line Transformers Generations Blaster is a well-made,high quality,10 out of 10 transformer all fans and collectors will enjoy.I highly recommend Transformers Generations Blaster to all transformer fans and collectors out there.Blaster Rocks and Transformers Rule!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
Blaster looks great, excellent detail, and really bright colors on this version. I'm really happy with how detail he looks in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in the set, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
My son loves his transformers and these are neat. They shoot out little transformers. There is a decepticon that does the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blaster is great, his disks... not so much., August 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
Big and with lots of good joints, this is definitely a good little figure. Often larger Transformers are more basic and end up with boring 3-step transformations in order to make them stable; thankfully this isn't the case here. Blaster is very much in the sweet zone where it's not too complicated, but still interesting.

The only real complaint I have is that the disk gimmick doesn't work at all. His companion transformers make use on the one-button-transformation gimmick and as such can't be posed and transforming them actually ends up being very irritating because the snapping element makes them want to go into a broken halfway state. They also won't easily fit into his chest cavity which me fearful to actually put one in there for fear of it getting stuck.

This issue aside, Blaster himself is a great figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice toy. Could be tougher., August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
My son is confused that this Blaster transforms into a "communication truck" rather than a portable stereo. I tried to explain that portable stereos were very popular in the 1980s but not so relevant today. Regardless, the toy transforms well and really does pop out "data discs". My son has more fun with the tapes than the toy.

The back panel is rather week, and broke off after a few months. Blaster looks tougher than he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Figure, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
Great Blaster figure - love the piped-in eyes and the head sculpt in general. The arms are a bit clunky but still good. Hands can be tough to get a grip on when transforming into robot mode but not too bad. This is a big figure, not just in height but in girth and the inclusion of one of his cassette companions is a nice touch. The mechanism for the auto-transform for the cassette and the way in which it fits into Blaster's chest doesn't work quite as well as I'm sure the designers had intended, but it still functions ok. Overall, nice figure for a great character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favorites, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transformers Generations Voyager Class Autobot Blaster Figure 6.5 Inches (Toy)
love the colors. the bright blue translucent plastic for the window really pops. you can't see it in the first pic but can in the 2nd. the yellow and red and fun and cheery. the head is friendly and the blue eyes look amazing with light behind them. this is one of my favorite molds. it's solid, bulky, and substantial. foc soundwave and foc soundblaster are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.