Customer Reviews


880 Reviews
5 star:
 (367)
4 star:
 (151)
3 star:
 (106)
2 star:
 (80)
1 star:
 (176)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Screen Version
This is the IMAX version of the movie. This is similar to the Batman 'Dark Knight' blu-ray where the IMax scenes are shown bigger than the rest of the movie. Bare in mind the whole movie is not like this, it is standard size 16:9 except for the fight scene's in the middle and end of the movie. But, on both dvd and blu-ray. This version also boasts a slightly different...
Published on December 4, 2009 by A. Salazar

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE FOLLOW UP! 1 1/2 STARS!
I wasn't a big fan of the first film so, I decided to watch it again before viewing this overblown sequel. I actually liked the first film more this time around, even though I still think it is way too long for the material at hand. The second film 'Transformers - Revenge Of The Fallen' takes everything good about the first film and just throws in away! The film is longer...
Published on December 15, 2009 by ! MR. KNOW IT ALL ;-b


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Screen Version, December 4, 2009
By 
A. Salazar (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the IMAX version of the movie. This is similar to the Batman 'Dark Knight' blu-ray where the IMax scenes are shown bigger than the rest of the movie. Bare in mind the whole movie is not like this, it is standard size 16:9 except for the fight scene's in the middle and end of the movie. But, on both dvd and blu-ray. This version also boasts a slightly different cover. The cardboard slipcover is totally different, the inside cover is very similar except it has Bumble-Bee instead of Megatron.

The movie itself kick's ass if you're into giant robot's duking it out over control of the Earth (and Universe!). Don't expect much in the way of plot, but you've read all that in the other reviews. I would recommend this if want to see Transformers 2 IMax version, plus it contains a few extra seconds of bonus scenes during the fight scene's. I couldn't tell you exactly what or where (I saw this in IMax at the theaters, then bought this version upon release). If you live in the U.S., pick this up at your local Wal-Mart, or ask a buddy stateside to pick one up for you. If you got a blu-ray player, even better!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved transformers as a kid you will love this, December 27, 2010
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I hear a lot of flack against this movie. So many people complain about sequels these days. Of course the second one is never as good as the first. When you see the first movie of a series, everything is new and exciting, the characters are larger than life and its everything and more than you expected because you never expected it. For god's sakes, the movie was created from cartoon characters. If you watch the old shows, the plotlines of the "Transformers" cartoon were cheesy, the animation was sub-par and the action was canned; And we loved every bit of it. The fact is; the show was about robots from another planet that can change into ordinary vehicles fight other robots that can change into other vehicles. There was no real story, that's not why we loved the "transformers". We loved them because they were cool. The movie is just that. "Cool" Micheal Bay didn't set out to solve world dilemmas with this movie. His focus was not to create a love story that trumps "The Notebook" or a robot version of "Willy". No, he set out to make movie of a cartoon of robot that fight other robots and that's what he did and he did it larger than life. This is not the Green Mile, or the Shawshank Redemption. And all the trendy sheep who insult this movie and pick it apart just to make themselves sound smart have no concept of action films for the sake of action. If you loved the cartoon, go see the movie. If you didn't, then don't. Simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE FOLLOW UP! 1 1/2 STARS!, December 15, 2009
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I wasn't a big fan of the first film so, I decided to watch it again before viewing this overblown sequel. I actually liked the first film more this time around, even though I still think it is way too long for the material at hand. The second film 'Transformers - Revenge Of The Fallen' takes everything good about the first film and just throws in away! The film is longer with bigger FX, but the FX are so fast that it's really hard to appreciate them. The film is also plagued with ridiculous humor that is so corny I rolled my eyes so much I thought they might fall out of their sockets! The parents in particular are just awful and serve no purpose at all, except to add some humor (if you can call it that?), but end up being distracting and silly. Megan Fox's roll has been reduced to shameful sexy eye candy(for a kiddie film)and Shia has reached an all time low here.

If you like films with no character development and tedious storylines, then this might be for you. This is one of the worst films I've ever seen and I hope it is the end to the series.Extremely disappointing film that isn't any fun at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 226 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As bad as I expected, October 31, 2009
By 
Sylvan (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
Yes, I thought the first Michael Bay Transformers was bad. I wasn't expecting the sequel to be much better, but in the back of my mind I was hoping. Michael Bay apparently decided there wasn't enough crass humor, overt sexuality, poor character development, useless moving parts, explosions, and nameless robots transforming into formless metallic amoebas in the first movie. So now there is more of all that in this one. Of course, it doesn't make the movie better, just longer.

Negatives:
1) The twins. I don't think I need to explain this.
2) Sam's parents, excessive comic relief, no importance to the story.
3) Mikaela and the Decepticon fem-bot. Ok, I'm a male, yes I think Meghan Fox is hot. I personally, do not mind seeing her wearing skimpy revealing clothes. But come on, give her some depth. First of all, this movie is being used to sell toys to 6-year-olds. There is no need for such overt female objectification in this movie. Seriously, she spends most of the movie with that pouty expression and posing seductively, instead of acting. Same complaint with the "fem-bot", I felt it was completely unnecessary to the story.
4) Everyone is comic relief. Ok, I'm all for comic relief in action movies. But seriously, you can't build an action movie around an entire cast of comedians. More than 3 comic relief characters, and you should call it "Giant Robot Movie" (ie. Scary Movie series).
5) Visual effects. Sometimes less is more. The robots are too complex, too many moving parts. It is very hard to follow the action trying to follow these overly detailed monochromatic machines as they fly through cities causing random destruction everywhere. In the original cartoon, the simpler designs were easier to identify and they were distinctively color-coded. Most of the Decepticons look the same.
6) There are no rules. Basically, Michael Bay is telling us that alien robots can do whatever they please. They can change their alt-forms at will or become giant robo-amoebas. If you hack them to pieces, each part can become a completely new Transformer. Robots can transform into people. Mechanical devices can turn into dust, communicate telepathically with humans, then reform themselves from said dust and resurrect dead Transformers. And other mechanical devices or even a tiny piece of them can turn earth machines into robots (complete with machine-guns) or resurrect Transformers.
7) Questionable motivations on both sides. So at the end of episode 1, this autobot declared he would stay with Sam forever and ever. Ah, how touching. Now Sam decides to go to college and he won't take Bumblebee with him. What a jerk. He saved the world once, but now Optimus Prime asks for his help to do it again, and college is more important. Why does Sam give the All-Spark sliver to his unrealistically hot girlfriend for safe-keeping, instead of Bumblebee, Optimus or any of those government guys? Why do the Decepticons want to destroy the sun? I mean really, Cybertron is supposedly destroyed, do they have another planet to inhabit once this solar system is wiped out?

Positives:
1) Peter Cullen and Frank Welker
2) Explosions

Neutral:
1) The battle with Optimus Prime in the woods was really cool, but it didn't have nearly the emotional impact of the animated movie from the 80's because it was decided early on that they could just resurrect him before the end of the movie. And with no "Hot Rod" character, Sam's episode of feeling guilty seemed pretty shallow.

All in all, a terrible movie from a critical point of view. People will like the movie if they are a big fan of loud booms and not optional things like story. I feel guilty spending money on this disaster, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A crime against film-making, November 19, 2009
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
This movie includes blatant racism, overt sexism, gratuitous sexual content and violence, juvenile sight gags, and its most heinous crime- it tries to pass off all these things as being for the kids. Let's be real- this product is very much marketing to kids under 13 years of age, and the only reason this thing didn't get a hard R rating is because the filmmakers had enough money to bargain for whatever rating they wanted. It's absolutely sickening that this is the state of Hollywood.

Don't get me wrong- I'm not a religious person nor am I masquerading as a reviewer for a family website. I love action movies and explosions, and I even like appropriate racial commentary when it's done right. I don't appreciate scene after scene of mindless special effects interspersed with gradeschool-level humor from a junior-level director.

If you think watching robots who walk around like gorillas, talking in ebonics, with gold teeth, saying they "don't read much" (I am really not kidding- there's two of them), is a fine way to spend two and a half hours, then may Vector Sigma have mercy on your spark. Having an obviously ethnic stereotype made up as an Autobot in the first movie call the group "[...]" was already appalling- why take it further? Answer: Because people will pay money to see it, apparently.

Some will say that this is all subjective. Maybe the twins aren't really that racist, maybe it's okay for kids to see a robot with visible testicles (again, not kidding), and maybe more than one shot of dogs humping is justified somehow by the plot (I wish I was making this up!). Even if you wanted to try and grant all that, you still have to admit that the plot makes absolutely no sense whatsoever, and there are holes big enough to ride Devastator through. Why for example are metal robots grown in organic space-sacs, which not only contradicts all source material, but just doesn't make sense anyway? And you'd still have Michael Bay's terrible filmmaking, where there are too many quick cuts and the shakey camera is zoomed in too far on the action. With the overly complex robot designs, battles are often unintelligible blurs of gray and brown with random blocks of primary color thrown in for reference points.

The final justification by fans, over and over, is that this is just a kids' movie, and hey the original 1980s cartoon was pretty cheesy. Which somehow justifies filming dogs in the act of reproduction. No thanks.

I like dumb movies, but this is just stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much, October 29, 2009
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition) (DVD)
I felt like I was beaten over the head with this movie. I can stand, and even enjoy, a non-stop action movie for around 1:45, but 2:30 of that with hardly any attempt at a story? No way, too much for me! The four adults in our group were all just worn out by the end, no enjoyment at all. One toddler (who can usually sit thru most movies no problem) was bored well before it ended. Three teen-aged boys all loved it, though even they admitted there was no real story and they just liked all the action and special effects. The two girls with us weren't too interested. For what it's worth, none of us parents really thought the sexual innuendo was really that much, especially after reading criticism of it. BTW, we all liked the first one. I probably liked it less than the rest, but even though I never was into the Transformers as a kid, and thought the dialogue was really hokey, I did like it quite a bit and did buy it. This second one...don't even think I'd ever own it or even watch it for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A STEP BACK FROM THE 1ST MOVIE., February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I love these movies ... this second installment in this series, while mostly entertaining, does not match the 1st or 3rd movies. The middle of this film seemed to just "tread water" .... and the action scenes went on too long ... they fixed this in the 3rd film ... yet, this DVD should be picked-up as part of the on-going series ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Tons" of action and great sound and visual effects. The fans of this type of movie will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It came wrapped in the plastic and everything, it was pretty shocking actually . It was a brand new disc and all for a great low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this movie so I ordered all three of them worth watching over and over must see movie you will love to watch all of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (Single-Disc Edition)
$19.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.