Customer Reviews


1,323 Reviews
5 star:
 (755)
4 star:
 (261)
3 star:
 (120)
2 star:
 (65)
1 star:
 (122)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blend of cringe inducing screenwriting, nostalgia and mind blowing action
For a nerd that used to drool over this show as a kid, this movie hooks you from the very beginning. From Optimus Prime's summary intro (with Peter Cullen still at the helm of our favorite alien semi) to the Decipticon attack on the military base, you have no doubts that this is Transformers. Shia LaBeouf makes his entrance and proves the perfect part for this movie...
Published on July 3, 2007 by J. C. Amos

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks that All-Spark
Growing up in the 80s, I saw the 1986 Transformers movie in the theaters and recently watched it again, and even though I'm in my late 20s now, the movie holds up remarkably well: it has a good pace, great balance of storylines, well-defined characters, and plenty of action that builds towards a monstrous battle that includes a genuine surprise.

Unfortunately,...
Published on November 10, 2007 by Alex Faber


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A blend of cringe inducing screenwriting, nostalgia and mind blowing action, July 3, 2007
For a nerd that used to drool over this show as a kid, this movie hooks you from the very beginning. From Optimus Prime's summary intro (with Peter Cullen still at the helm of our favorite alien semi) to the Decipticon attack on the military base, you have no doubts that this is Transformers. Shia LaBeouf makes his entrance and proves the perfect part for this movie. He's actually pretty funny and acts the part well. As far as the rest of the humans in this cast, not as much can be said.

After the awesome introduction, the first part of the movie deals mainly with Shia LaBeouf's Sam purchasing a Camaro that actually turns out to be the Autobot Bumblebee (in the cartoon, originally a VW Bug. I think the yellow VW Bug in the car lot next to Bumblebee was a homage.) Sam unknowingly uses his alien car to impress a girl. Of course she actually is impressed when they find out it's an alien. There are some pretty funny scenes in this part of the movie as well as some action scenes that are very well done.

Soon comes the arrival of the other Autobots and they reveal to Sam their true purpose, which is to locate the Allspark -a powerful device capable of transforming a planet- before the Decepticons get a hold of it. I thought at this point that the slow parts of the movie were over, but not quite. From here we go into a few too many scenes dealing with side characters, from video game playing computer experts to goofy secret agents whose quirks border slapstick comedy. Too many of these characters could be chalked up as comic relief, and most of what they attributed was not very funny. There was a slightly funny but overly long scene where Sam was trying to hide the autobots while he searched through his house for a relic they needed. And then arrived John Turtorro (playing the said goofy secret agent) whom I love, but who severely overstayed him welcome in this. Other performances, namely John Voight's, were just plain campy and the cookie cutter dialogue was cringe inducing at times.

Luckily, I forgot most of that by the time the movie got to its last act. Once the Decepticons arrive in force the movie is a non stop ride of action and jaw dropping effects. While someone who's not familiar with the characters and story might not care what the outcome is, I found myself with memories as a kid, watching the 1986 movie for the first time. I forgot about the humans and their ho-hum sotrylines as my favorite characters and toys from my childhood crashed and shot and ripped each other apart. I forgot that I was watching CG effects as the transformers look as real as the environment they're destroying. The action scenes are larger than life and I'm amazed at how well the battles of the cartoons translated onto big screen. The transformers themselves were all very well done, applying actual physics to their transformations and robot appearances. They look real and modern but don't lose the heart of what the fanboys loved about them from back in the day. And Hugo Weaving as Megatron was genius. I missed hearing the original Starcream, but the original voice actor died many years ago, and the two or three lines Starcream had in this sounded suitable.

Despite the great flaws in acting, dialogue and script, I left this movie with that rare itch to want to go straight back inside and watch it again. From the previews, it looked like the movie was going to take a realistic perspective and show the warring alien machines from a human point of view. But that's really not the case at all. In every other Michael Bay movie, the corny dialogue and overdramatic characters ruin an otherwise good premise. But Transformers is based on a cartoon, so why shouldn't the movie feel like one? Here it works. It's big, dumb nostalgic fun that the kid in me has been after for 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, December 8, 2007
Maybe it's not the best movie as far as dialogue goes, but for being an action movie about robots from outer space, it's good. The transformations are good enough to not raise doubt about the mechanics of them (which is good for me as an aerospace engineer, because I tend to notice these things). This is the kind of movie that makes large HD televisions and high-quality sound systems worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


230 of 307 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transformers does have more than meets the eye, July 3, 2007
By 
A. Sandoc "sussarakhen" (San Pablo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pretty much almost every male kid who grew up during the 80's were glued to their TV sets on weekday afternoons watching just one thing. They were watching one of the best cartoon shows on TV which also happened to be Hasbro Toys' most popular line of toys at that time. I am talking about Transformers. I know I was pretty much hooked on the show with its tale of good versus evil as the noble leader (who also happened to be a Mack truck) Optimus Prime led his Autobots against the evil robot that was Megatron and his Decepticons. It had lots of fighting, explosions and most of all, it had toys of every Transformer in the show for kids to re-enact such battles.

In 1986 the first Transformers movie (animated) came out and pretty much scarred every kid who was ever a fan of the show for life as their beloved characters actually died on-screen to make way for a new generation of Transformers. Let's just say that as much as I enjoyed the original movie I also hated it. It is now 2007 and Michael Bay, Steven Spielberg and ILM have concocted a live-action version of Transformers. To say that this movie has erased some of the bad taste left by the first animated film is quite an understatement. What we have in this live-action Transformers is nothing less than pure robot-versus-robot carnage and mayhem done so well that it more than makes up for the weak story and the uneven performances from the cast.

The movie revolves around the search by both the Autobots and the Decepticons for the all-powerful AllSpark which would grant it's owner the power to rebuild the dying Cybertron (home world of the Transformers) or remake any planet into a new home. It's not too difficult to figure out what the Decepticons and their leader Megatron would do once they have it in their possession. As one of the Decepticons would have stencilled on its vehicle mode says: "To punish and enslave". The AllSpark is really just a MacGuffin which helps tie in the Transformers with the human aspect of the story and that's the time tested tale of a boy and his car. In this case, it's Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) and his newly acquired 1974 Camaro who also happens to be the Autobot Bumblebee unbeknownst to him.

The first third of the film is where this boy and his car theme gets the most laugh as Sam tries to use his new car to get the attention of one Mikaela (played by the ridiculously hot and appropriately named Megan Fox). The laughs come from Bumblebee playing just the right song over the radio to try and bring the two kids together. Usually Michael Bay's handle on comedy is a tad more cynical and ham-handed which tell me the first third of this film had Steven Spielberg's influence all over it. One could just substitute E.T. for Bumblebee and Elliott for Sam and it's not difficult to see.

This first third also solidifies Shia LaBeouf as the foundation which keeps the movie from just becoming one long robot-on-robot action scene. This kid has some major talent and charisma which shows from the moment he steps on to the screen right up to the final scene with the sun setting in the background. It's no wonder Spielberg chose him to be in the next Indiana Jones movie. LaBeouf actually makes Sam Witwicky more than the awkward, geeky teen geek and instead makes it believable that he has a weird, charming chance to land the hot Mikaela. It's LaBeouf's performance as Saw which pretty much saves the very uneven performance by the rest of the cast.

Even with LaBeouf's performance and the funny and cute boy meets car meets girl first reel, people really went to see this movie for one thing and one thing only and that's the battle between the Autobots and the Decepticons. The humans are there to ground the story in a semblance of reality. But once the two sides begin to arrive and find their Earth forms the movie shifts into nitrous-injected overdrive and doesn't let up until the very end. People cheered wildly once Optimus Prime appears for the first time with the rest of his crew (Ironhide, Jazz, Ratchet). The cheering went especially wild once optimus spoke for the first time and the original voice was heard (Peter Cullen did the voice for the original cartoon and was hired to do the same for the moive). That scene really brought myself and, most likely, every male in the audience of the same age back 20 years. The Decepticons make their entrance soon after with Megatron (voiced by Hugo Weaving) being the final Transformer to hit the screen. The rest of the movie became one long action sequence after sequence with destruction being the norm.

This is where Michael Bay's hand truly shows as his handle on the sturm und drang he's well-known for matches well with the premise of giant alien robots fighting each other with no thought for collateral damage to populace and property. Unlike, his previous films he actually holds himself back from using his usual tricks of using low-angled slo-mo scenes too much and the ultra quick editing style which makes his movies sometimes difficult to keep up with. Again, it might be Spielberg's influence in addition to Bay actually growing as a filmmaker to thank for this. The action scenes wouldn't be as great as it was if it wasn't for the work of ILM and its team of computer animators. The Autobots and Decepticons look so real that they join Gollum and Davey Jones as fully-realized CGI-characters who blend into the scene as if they're made of real flesh and blood. In the case of the Transformers made of steel, oil and rubber. Their battles from the Hoover Dam all the way to the nearby Mission City didn't look artificial. There's a sense of weight and depth to the battle. It atually looked like the city with it's small humans was actually being ripped apart by these giant robots. Industrial, Light and Magic truly deserve every award they'll get come awards time. In the past it was said that a live-action Transformers would come off as cheesy and fake, but technology and the expert use of it by ILM's team of artisans has made it a reality.

Transformers really brings the word blockbuster and brings it like storm and thunder. There's no other way to say it than this was a movie which was a kickass rollercoaster ride with just enough human interaction to keep it from becoming cartoonish. It's not a perfect film as the weak script and uneven performances by most of the cast would show, but it's all balanced out by the work put in by Shia LaBeouf and the action scenes with the Transformers that this movie marks the highlight of the 2007 summer blockbuster season. Michael Bay has finally found the one film he looks to be tailor-made to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks that All-Spark, November 10, 2007
By 
Alex Faber (Northern NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Growing up in the 80s, I saw the 1986 Transformers movie in the theaters and recently watched it again, and even though I'm in my late 20s now, the movie holds up remarkably well: it has a good pace, great balance of storylines, well-defined characters, and plenty of action that builds towards a monstrous battle that includes a genuine surprise.

Unfortunately, the Transformers 2007 movie lacks almost all of that. Credit Shia Lebeouf for his role in this movie, because he carries the entire overwrought monster for a good two hours or so, and his ability to do both comedy and drama in a single movie is impressive. And there are many more people here that turn in solid performances, including Megan Fox, his female costar. Beyond that, though, we get a smattering of comedy here and there along with maneuvering, slow reveals, and more buildup, and more, and more until, almost two hours into the movie, we finally see most of the Decepticons, and there is finally a real battle ... which lasts for about 15 minutes.

This movie is big ... very big ... and the final battle has a lot of action (though Bay's direction insures that it's nearly impossible to tell what's going on a lot of the time). Coupled with some very sophomoric humor, the audience here is clear: it's young adolescents, fresh out of being tweens, who still want good action and jokes but crave a bigger storyline and higher stakes.

THE GOOD: Some of the jokes work, and work well. Shia and Megan do a great job in their roles. Seeing Optimus Prime, Jazz, Starscream, and a few other familiar faces gave this Transformers fan a warm feeling.

THE BAD: You see Autobots play glorified hide and seek with Shia's parents, a dog pee on a robot, a robot pee on a person, John Turturro stripped down to an undershirt and boxers, enormous plotholes involving the All-Spark, no Dinobots, no real use of Starscream, a completely anticlimactic battle between Optimus and Megatron that ends in an enormously stupid way, two long hours of build-up for one confusing battle, and to top it all off, Anthony Anderson.

The original Transformers movie was for the fans, then and now. This one's a dull mess that is for the 2007 box office receipts. Rent it, and then buy the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the BEST summer movies I have EVER seen!!!, September 13, 2007
By 
D. Williams (Queens Village, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't know about anyone else, but I have become addicted to this movie. And I grew up watching the series (G1, G2, and Beast Wars) and have it (G1) on DVD and some of them on VHS.

I have seen this movie four times, and each time is like the first time; INCREDIBLE, EXCITING AND NEW. And if it was still playing at the movies in my area, I would PAY to see it again and again. It is just that good. This movie, along with Bourne Ultimatum are the movies to see. I will tell you why I enjoyed this movie as much as I did. The cybernetic organisms came across as real beings and all the humans involved were not a side issue. They were not stereotypical nor over the top. The screenplay and direction worked hand-in-hand to make sure that they were in harmony with each other. (You can credit Steven Spielberg with that.) The scenes were appropriate, with many of them being actually very funny. I and many others actually laughed hard at the genuinely funny lines and situations. All this and more was the magic of the cartoon Transformers, and the animated feature (1986), and I hope with the sequel (hint at the ending credits) that it will be even more loyal. With the Transformers, there are many stories to tell, but they must be told WELL, something even the cartoon sometimes failed to do, at times. This movie told a larger-than-life tale EXTREMELY well.

There was only two cheesy moments (ie Megan Fox) and my only two disappointments are that Sam should have been SPIKE, his father is SPARKPLUG and Spike's girlfriend should have been CARLY.

Anyway, I have put in my pre-order for the actual score and the HD DVD two-disc version. I bought the helmet with the voice changer from Hasbro toy, bought the pre-movie novel and the movie novel (which wasn't bad, but wasn't as good as it could have been.) and have a guide or two. (Did I mention I love the Transformers? NO? Oh, by the way, I love the Transformers.)

A personal note to Shia: You were wonderful. It is because of your acting in Transformers that I went out and bought Disturbia. I saw you in the Greatest Game. I didn't recognize you; my how you've grown. Good acting there, too. First class job! If they do an animated series, would you please consider doing the voice for Sam?

Love to all.

P.S.: The sequel is Transformers: The Fallen. And if this movie is anything like the 2007 movie, it will blow the box office away...again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great action and fun can't compete with a horrid script, July 15, 2007
Before I relate the film's many faults, I should first acknowledge the movie's highly entertaining qualities. First and foremost, the digital rendering of the transformers is spectacular. They move quickly and violently with shiny and shape-shifting certainty, at ease in a manner that the 1980s cartoon could not properly relate. The very concept of the transformers was far beyond hand-drawn animation. The new transformers are truly awesome and majestic in stature. Their capacity for carnage should be the envy of all action movies.

The cartoon succeeded due heavily to the incredible voice acting. I was pleased that Peter Cullen agreed to lend his booming, voice-of-God talents to the character of Optimus Prime. His talents, however, are not exploited as they should have been. He acts as the film's narrator, delivering the familiar opening narrative and epilogue I witnessed in nearly every episode of the cartoon. He is the most reflective of all the transformers, yet he is not allowed to relate his wisdom as often as he should have been in this movie.

One bit of voice acting that bothered me was that of Jazz. In the old cartoon, Jazz was voiced by Scatman Crothers, the caretaker of the hotel in Stanley Kubrick's The Shining. The late Crothers' voice was replaced with a decidedly "urban black hipster" voice (Darius McCrary), which sounded incredibly racist and completely unnecessary. To complete the racial profiling, Jazz can be seen hanging and climbing around the city like a monkey in a jungle. It was painful to watch and halted my suspension of disbelief.

Further, who decided that the transformers needed to talk like teenagers and crack stupid jokes? They are in a fight for the existence of the universe, yet when Optimus Prime tramples a lawn ornament, he excuses himself, saying, "My bad." It's somewhat funny, but I wanted to be concerned about the plot, yet I was constantly sidestepped by ridiculous one-liners and idiocy on the part of this supposedly superior race of organic robots.

There are far too many human characters taking precedence in this film: too many subplots, too many gorgeous girls, often in unbelievable roles. The only necessary human character is Sam Witwicky (enthusiastically played by Shia LeBeouf). Why did we need a cameo by Bernie Mack? He's funny, yes, but his character is completely irrelevant. And John Turturro, whom I revere as a great character actor, looks desperate. While incredibly cheesy, Jon Voight manages to act the part of U.S. Secretary of Defense with a slice of dignity.

Plot holes: Wow, there are so many, I quit bothering with them. The central problem of the entire movie - and one can say this of all of Michael Bay's films - is that Bay does not trust the subject matter to carry the film. Self-referential comments about his film Armageddon are embarrassing, indeed. And the product placement in this film sometimes takes the viewer so far outside the film that one would think GM engineered the entire narrative to sell gas-guzzling cars.

I wanted to like this movie, but something was missing. That element of believable science fiction is completely neglected in this film. You only get ten or twenty minutes of fun sci-fi action before some character makes a stupid joke or a plot hole spreads out before you. If there is a sequel to this film (and there should be) and Michael Bay doesn't direct it (and he shouldn't), the groundwork is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heads up on the TONS of hd/dvd features on the upcoming release., September 15, 2007
By 
As I said this is a heads up of the Hd/dvd features and not a review. I like to know this stuff, so I figure others do. This is the kind of movie that home theater enthusiasts want for sound and picture. This is the information I found on Movieweb, there seemed like a lot of features so I figured I'd pass it along. With the high price of hd perhaps this release might come close to the price they ask.

HD/DVD FEATURES :ALL INFORMATION FROM MOVIEWEB

"The Transformers Special Edition two-disc sets provide an incredible experience with an arsenal of bonus material that delivers excitement and fun for long-time fans, as well as for viewers who are new to the Transformers universe. The extensive special features include commentary by Michael Bay and two multi-part in-depth documentaries exploring the human elements of the film as well as the phenomenal robot stars. Presented in multiple parts, "Our World" and "Their War" include segments with Steven Spielberg discussing his love for the franchise and the early concept for the movie, the extensive casting process, the training, consultants and real-world weapons provided by the military to lend authenticity to the film, the evolution of the robots from Hasbro's iconic toy line to big-screen stars, the unique vehicles created for the movie, a discussion with ILM's legendary digital artists and much more.

The discs go even further behind-the-scenes with early sketch concepts of the robots and an in-depth look at the making of the Skorponok attack from writing and conceptualization through the creation of the stunning visual effects.

Out-Of-This World High-Def Content:
In addition to superior picture and sound and all of the above bonus material presented in high definition, the HD DVD presentation provides consumers with a host of web-enabled features, which are accessible through all connected HD DVD players. The web-enabled features take advantage of technology that allows the studio to present the content in a new way. These cutting-edge, online features can be updated, providing consumers with an evolving entertainment experience months, or even years, after the disc is physically produced. Initial features include a Transformers Intelligence Mode in which an on-screen dashboard over the film provides information about the robots and weapons, their strength levels, character updates and more. Plus, a GPS Locator that can access a map and GPS coordinates. Paramount's Transformers HD-DVD connectivity capabilities will reveal additional HD-DVD exclusive features at street date and at various time periods in the future.

The HD-DVD also includes a Transformers H.U.D. (Heads Up Display) that lets viewers access running text commentary while watching the film and even view relevant behind-the-scenes footage in a picture-in-picture window. Additionally, viewers can explore the main robots' individual details in high definition with the Transformers Tech Inspector.

Transformers Special Edition DVD bonus features include:

Disc 1:
- Feature film
- Commentary by Michael Bay

Disc 2:

Our World:
- The Story Sparks - Steven Spielberg discusses his love for the franchise and early concept art for the film. Explores how the writers adapted the cartoon into a live-action movie and why Michael Bay is the perfect director for the film.
- Human Allies - A look at how the actors were selected and their experiences on the set."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformed Into Greatness, October 25, 2007
This review is from: Transformers (DVD)
There are moments when a concept that is born in the past, becomes fully realized in the future. Some creators can `see' into a future and craft a product that screams out `Told ya!'. George Lucas was like that with Star Wars. Lester Dent, Issac Asimov, and a host of other authors wrote what is now, decades before the real items existed.

Steven Spielberg and Michael Bay, took a hit concept from the 80's and 90's, and with the assistance of exceptional CGI, turned out a movie that surprised film goers around the world.

Transformers' Sam Witwicky, begins this adventure of a lifetime carshopping with Dad. In the Porsche lot, out of the Porsche lot, into the used car lot. Sam learns a valuable lesson from the salesman, you don't choose a car, it chooses you. And so a beat up Camaro chooses his `master', while destroying the car lot. And so Bumblebee enters his life, and soon, a full blown war between the Decepticons and Autobots engulfs his home town.

Not only is there action, but humor as well. Sam, his girlfriend, the US military, and his robot friends exchange barbs like `I bought a car. Turned out to be a robot. Who knew?' And the `discussion' from Sam's mother on why he had to lock the door? `Were you masterbating? Or should we call it your private time.....?' It's touches like that which turn this film from a CGI dominated production into a film you can watch and enjoy.

Sure, it'll re-introduce many of the Transformers back into pop culture. Sure, there will be a sequel. Yes, the comic will come back one more time. And yes, it will be a hit one more time.
Don't forget the toys....

Tim Lasiuta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars transformers, November 7, 2007
By 
i don't really like this movie,though my kids love it...i'm older,so i've seen movie-after-movie-after-movie that has this nerd-becomes-hero-and-gets-girl-in-the-end scenario...special effects are ok,but they go too fast...you can't really appreciate the car-to-robot change sequence...the story is weak and filled with time-consuming routines('don't step on my mom's flowers').how long does the hero run in the closing minutes,and how many city blocks (both up and down stairwells)does this guy run and they JUST-CAN'T-CATCH-HIM?i don't need this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Bay Directing + ILM Doing CGI + Shia LaBeouf Acting + Steve Jablonsky Composing = Awesome Summer Movie, July 3, 2007
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I was 9-years old I saw Michael Bay's The Rock. I reacted in such a way that a 9-year old would react in that it floored me. It was an intense trip and it was a movie that I couldn't forget. Actually it was Hans Zimmer's score I couldn't forget, and Zimmer's score for that movie is what inspired me to become a filmmaker. I own every single film Michael Bay has done and after every movie he does I usually read the onslaught of hatred directed at his movies. Critics hate Michael Bay for one reason and that is because he is one dimensional. Is that so bad though? The man can do action and will always do action. From an action movie perspective he does pretty entertaining work. Armageddon is probably his weakest movie in the small handful of flicks that he has done. He tried to be epic in Pearl Harbor but he leaned too much on action. The result was a long wannabe war film. The Bad Boys films are pure adrenaline fun in the tradition of Lethal Weapon with The Island being his first film that had a message. The Rock is just a simply amazing action film with strong characters. With Transformers we get Bay's biggest piece of eye candy yet.

To be honest, when I first heard of this movie I immediately dismissed it. When Bay was named the director I thought what could he do with a movie about toys? I never liked Transformers; I wasn't into that when I was a kid. Luckily Michael Bay made this movie for fans and non-fans. The story revolves around Sam Witwicky; an awkward teenager who gets his first car. Little does he know that his first car is actually an Autobot sent to Earth to retrieve a possession of his. His great grandfather was an explorer who discovered Megatron frozen in the Arctic Circle. Megatron is the leader of the Decepticons who are at war with the Autobots. Both sides are after a talisman called the Allspark which grants unlimited power to the one who possesses it. The Allspark landed on Earth so now the war continues.

The first third of the film basically sets up our characters, and we get Michael Bay's trademark way of starting things off lightly. The first scene is usually an indication of the main conflict of the film and then we jump to our characters that are unaware of the situation. Trust me; all his movies usually start that way. What follows is 2.5 hours of trademark Michael Bay. Things go boom, places get destroyed and people run all the while being shot with 9 different cameras running at high frame rates. There are two kinds of Michael Bay movies, and those are non-CGI heavy action movies and CGI heavy action movies. Transformers is the latter and here we see some of the most impressive visual effects ever seen in an action movie. The amount of detail that was put into the robots is amazing. You truly feel their weight and presence in the environment. Their interaction with the environment around them is what makes them so believable. Something that George Lucas didn't do in his newest Star Wars films which led everything to look cartoonish and awkward. The film brings CGI into the real world and not the other way around, so there is limited use of green-screen. The action is shot in pure Michael Bay style. There will be some scenes in slow motion that have human characters running away with the massive robots battling in the background. Those scenes impressively show off the CG work. Another Bay trademark is the "low-angle swoosh" in where the camera is placed low and does usually circles or passes by a character. Then you have the score.

Steve Jablonsky had been a long time collaborator with Hans Zimmer. Every single Michael Bay movie has been scored by one of Zimmer's collaborators or Zimmer himself. Bad Boys was done by Mark Mancina, Bad Boys 2 was Trevor Rabin, Armageddon was Trevor Rabin also, The Rock was by Zimmer and Nick Glennie-Smith with some help from Harry Gregson-Williams, Pearl Harbor was Hans Zimmer, and he found Steve Jablonsky with The Island. Jablonksy had never done a high profile movie by himself, but Hans Zimmer stood as score producer and Jablonsky delivered an amazing electronic/synth based score. Jablonsky was my main reason for wanting to see Transformers and again he delivers a high profile action movie score that would make Hans Zimmer proud. He borrows heavily from Zimmer's Batman Begins, in that the score is not that complex. It does its job and makes the action so much more intense and awe inspiring.

We get a great performance from Shia LaBeouf who carries the film easily. After this and Indiana Jones 4 coming up it will only be a matter of time until we start seeing him in serious dramatic roles. There is a bright future for this rising star. The voice acting for the Transformers was done to be as close to the original movie as possible. Peter Cullen reprises his role as Optimus Prime. When casting for Megatron Michael Bay decided the original voice actor's voice aged too much so he was replaced by Hugo Weaving from The Matrix Trilogy. We get supporting performances from Jon Voight, John Turturro, Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson and Anthony Anderson.

Transformers is great summer fare. Michael Bay will never win an Academy Award but he is the best at what he does, which is directing action. The only problem with the film is that at times it falls into melodrama, and melodrama with robots can make your eyes roll. It also becomes a big commercial for GM since it profiles about every brand of car they produce. Other than that the film will entertain immensely and you will not feel like you wasted money on another summer dud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transformers
Transformers by Shia Labeouf (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $7.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.