Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real treasure!
If you're like me, and enjoy poring over maps, you'll find this book a treat. If all the book had were reproductions of current urban rail maps, it would be worth at least 4 stars. But there's much more. There is a short history of urban rail from its earliest days, and then you have maps and text for about 200 cities around the world. You get narratives on the...
Published on November 21, 2007 by David W. Straight

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Maps As Art and Icons Only
The cover reads "TRANSIT MAPS OF THE WORLD/The World's First Collection of Every Urban Train Map on Earth". A rather miss-leading title. One would expect one could read these maps for the purpose for which they were originally intended. A good map of most transit systems would be quite helpful, and that's what the cover implies. Well, I couldn't read most of the maps...
Published on February 13, 2011 by Basselope5


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transit Maps of the World, January 25, 2008
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
An excellent and perhaps, unique look at maps of the subway and mass transit systems of over 200 cities, large and small from around the world. The transit systems range from the large complex systems of London and New York, to the smaller basic systems of Genoa and Detroit.
The book covers both the general development of transit map as the evolved from complex geographical accurate renditions of reality to the simplified, easy to read diagram like maps in common use today. The book also looks at the evolution of a number of specific city maps, including London, Berlin, Moscow and Chicago, among others. The last section of the book covers over a hundred of the smaller transit lines, including a number of proposed systems and expansions.
This book should be of special interest to transit fans, as well as those interested in maps or graphic design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book so much that I'd make out with it, November 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
Well, not REALLY, but if there was ever a chance of that happening, it would definitely be with this book. I don't know why it took so long for something like this to be out in the world, but I sure am happy that Mark Ovenden made it happen. The graphic design element of the book is fantastic, and it's absolutely fascinating to have all those rail routes in one book. Love this, and you will too!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son sleeps with it, November 23, 2008
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
My son is almost four. I got him this book a few months ago since he is obsessed with NYC subway system. We read it almost every day, sometimes several times. I enjoy telling him which systems I've been on (he interjects, for Barcelona he said he was there when he was uno), and he likes to look at all the different trains. Lots of fun and interesting for adults who enjoy city planning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but a link to a website with full-size maps is needed., November 1, 2009
By 
James Pernikoff (Marietta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
The concept of the book is brilliant, but the small size of the reproduced maps blunt the effect of the concept. I propose some sort of website that would be accessible, in some way, ONLY to purchasers of the book. This website would have full-size images of all the maps illustrated in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative and a fun read, January 22, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
Gave this book as a gift to my cousin who is a world traveler and public transporation buff. He loved it! I ended up buying a copy for myself. Fun to read as well as a useful reference. The book is uniquely organized into 'zones' filled with colorful pictures new and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all map & public transport enthusiasts, December 26, 2007
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
If you are a fan of public transport or maps, or know someone who is - buy this book! It is staggeringly complete and contains fascinating information and of course, maps.

I purchased it for a friend and he is completely enthralled with the book. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book for travel lover, December 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
I gave this as a present to a person who enjoys traveling and she absolutely loved it. The transit maps are excellent and the history and facts that go along with them are fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book on mass transit, June 17, 2008
By 
Gregg Eldred (Avon Lake, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
This is one of those books that you didn't know that you needed, much less would enjoy. But it excels on both fronts. As the title suggests, Transit Maps of the World: The World's First Collection of Every Urban Train Map on Earth, by Mark Ovenden, is just that; As far I know, every city that has an urban train is represented in this wonderful book. Whether you are a fan of maps or mass transit, a frequent traveller, or want to know the history of some of the world's greatest (and lesser known) subway systems, this book will take you on an amazing tour of the world, by public transportation.

Contents:
Acknowledgements
How to use this book
Foreword
Introduction: Early railroads
Introduction: Urban rail transit
Introduction: Early railroad maps
Introduction: From maps to diagrams
Zone 1
Zone 2
Zone 3
Zone 4
Zone 5
Zone 6
Appendix

As you can tell from the contents, the bulk of the book is divided into "zones," much like a real transit system. Zone 1 contains eight transit systems, dedicating about 4 pages for each. Zone 1 contains the systems with the greatest historical documentation and also are among the world's greatest urban transit systems. These include Berlin, Chicago, London, Madrid, Moscow, New York, Paris, and Tokyo. These are the "heavyweights" of the public transportation systems. Zone 2 has some of the newer systems, for example Washington DC, Seoul, Boston, and Munich. Zone 2 dedicates two pages per city. As you move through the remaining Zones (or chapters), there is less and less historical documentation and you also learn about the lesser known systems (some with only five stations). The early Zones provide you with various iterations of their route maps, culminating in the current version (as of 2007).

I have to admit that this book was fascinating. You may think that route maps (or diagrams) would be boring, but Ovenden does a remarkable job showing that these are works of art. It also helps that, by using the systems in Zone 1, you come to appreciate the problems associated with representing a large system map on small media (folder maps, in-car diagrams, and the like). With that background, it is easy to admire the current look and feel of route diagrams. This book is not meant to be used as a guide for any system, as they continually add service, but more as a snapshot into the transit systems around 2007. My only issue with the book is that some of the maps are way too small to comprehend, especially in the latter Zones. The same can be said of some of the historical maps, especially when Ovenden points out specific details. Overall, this book is a gem. It's topic is one that you probably take for granted but it is given its full due in this book. It is a fun, educational, and interesting look at transit maps worthy of anyone that has even a passing interest in maps, diagrams, travel, or urban transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure for those who love maps, April 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
This is definitely one of those great books you'll be pulling out for years to look at. For me this book is special because I love to travel and there is something very sentimental about looking at the Metro grid of a city you've been to and used. I'm also planning to reference it for upcoming trips I take. I enjoyed seeing the progression and history of some of the maps as well. Awesome book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, not to be missed, January 16, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transit Maps of the World (Paperback)
Comprehensive, beautifully done.

A VERY limited number of the graphics did not scale well, some distortion, pixellation and artifacts. I'm sure the author did his best. I absolutely love this book, it is a screaming bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transit Maps of the World
Transit Maps of the World by Mark Ovenden (Paperback - October 30, 2007)
$26.00 $20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.