Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luke delivers another stunning solo album!
Transition is the amazing new album by Steve Lukather that completes a trilogy of extremely high quality solo albums over the last few years from one of the greatest musicians in the world. Steve Lukather has always been known as a great guitarist but as his career has progressed his solo albums have also shown him to be an amazing songwriter and producer with the ability...
Published 18 months ago by Michael

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old, safe old.
I love Steve Lukather don't get me wrong. He is one of my all-time favourite guitar players and I've now had the great pleasure of seeing him play live with Toto, G3 and Ringo Starr (where he basically drove the band). Unfortunately Transition is just a little too similar to recent past efforts, All's Well and Everchanging. And like the former there are only 9 songs to...
Published 15 months ago by Graeme Boland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luke delivers another stunning solo album!, January 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
Transition is the amazing new album by Steve Lukather that completes a trilogy of extremely high quality solo albums over the last few years from one of the greatest musicians in the world. Steve Lukather has always been known as a great guitarist but as his career has progressed his solo albums have also shown him to be an amazing songwriter and producer with the ability to make deep albums full of quality music. Transition delivers on all we expect from Steve Lukather and the list of musicians who perform on this album is awesome including appearances by Nathan East and Lee Sklar on bass, Greg Bissonette and Chad Smith on drums, Phil Collen on backing vocals, and Lenny Castro on percussion. Highlights include the intense groove of "Creep Motel", the gorgeous piano ballad "Once Again", the progressive riffs and killer keyboard stabs of "Transition", and the trademark emotional ballad of "Last Man Standing". Production was handled by Luke himself and CJ Vanston so you can be confident the sound of this album is stunning and layered with all intruments having their place in the mix. Transition is yet another amazing solo album from Steve Lukather that I can easily recommend to his fans and really adds to his already stellar musical legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album from Luke!, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (MP3 Music)
Steve Lukather, a founding member of Toto, has done several solo albums and this latest is as terrific as his other ones. In interviews Luke shared that this album is about his reflections on a time of transition in his life and the music is crafted to show that same sentiment. Some tunes start with one sound (soft or hard) and then move into the opposite direction, sometimes resolving where the tune started, sometimes continuing to build in that opposite direction.

For instance hard and edgy intro gives way to softer center pieces before bridging back to the more gut-level tough guitar bits in the title cut Transition. On the other hand Judgment Day starts almost ethereal, as if coming out of a fog and then builds to rock guitar crescendo that recalls great guitar work of the 80s. Similarly Right the Wrong, a contemplative piece about the state of the world, starts softly and builds into a guitar solo (a Lukather signature in his songs) evocative of his deep emotions, crying out for change, restoration, a kind of sad desperation but with an energy that simultaneously holds onto to hope and optimism.

The Creep Motel has an echo of "The High Price of Hate" from Mindfields both in sound and lyrics (to my hearing) and spares nothing of the raw emotion of disgust and disdain that the lyrics indicate.

Luke's gift as songwriter has always shone through in his love ballads and this remains true for both Once Again and Rest of the World, albeit in two different tones... one in grief over love lost and the other in lazy afterglow of love found. The faster paced Do I Stand Alone sounds a rallying cry against growing trends in society to disregard the voice of the people and seems a contemporary shout against those who manipulate media, elections, and laws to limit the power of the people. Luke's Last Man Standing seems to take his previous instrumental piece "The Truth" (Ever Changing Times) and expands it with lyrics and invigorated guitar parts that blend Luke's musings about where his life has taken him over the years with a resolve to not let the bumps and potholes prevent him from continuing on the journey... it is a song of resolve and determination to keep on going.

Throughout the album, the sounds vary from plaintiff guitar to briskly moving challenge and each song showcases Luke's guitar expertise as well as his emotional honesty and vulnerability. Take a listen for yourself... you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lukather's Best!, January 22, 2013
By 
G. Farago "GF" (Wayne, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
Transition is an excellent effort from a great talent! Steve Lukather has surpassed all his previous solo efforts, and that's saying plenty. There's not a bad song in the set. I can't pick a favorite...rockers, ballads, instrumentals...kick-ass guitar work, as usual, and great vocals. "Creep Motel" & "Do I Stand Alone" have some great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album by Mr. Lukather, January 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
The new album by guitarist extrodinaire and Toto's longest standing member Steve Lukather, is another masterpiece. It has everything we've come to expect from Steve; well written, melodic songs, and great guitar playing from start to finish. From the opening track "Judgement Day to the last, the great instrumental of the old classic "Smile" this album is another triumph for "Luke".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic CD!!!!, January 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
This CD is the best CD Lukather has ever made. The songs are great, production by Luke & CJ Vanston is stellar & there are some of the Worlds greatest musicians on this CD. You can't put a label on this CD because it covers many types of music. There is not a 'skip over' song on it. It is a must have for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old, safe old., April 11, 2013
By 
Graeme Boland (Melbourne,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
I love Steve Lukather don't get me wrong. He is one of my all-time favourite guitar players and I've now had the great pleasure of seeing him play live with Toto, G3 and Ringo Starr (where he basically drove the band). Unfortunately Transition is just a little too similar to recent past efforts, All's Well and Everchanging. And like the former there are only 9 songs to sift through which seems to me to short-change the buyer. Musically there's no song I dislike.The title-track is probably the stand-out and Smile is a nice tune to finish on. It's just that I expected a bit more, both creatively and in terms of sheer content. Lukes first three solo efforts were brilliant on both those fronts and yet since then, oddly,with Toto winding down a degree or two on the creative front it appears to have transitioned (yes deliberate pun) into his solo stuff too. A little more effort next time wouldn't go astray but I will still await that next release with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Luke Can Play, March 8, 2013
This review is from: Transition (MP3 Music)
Steve Lukather's new CD has some stellar moments but I can live w/o the pop ballads with the 80s vibe. That being said,I love Creep Motel and the opener, Judgement Day. Just wish his penchant for production was just a bit toned down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Huge Fan! 1 great song! Weak overall., February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
Steve is the Greatest. I own most everything he has ever done. Too few tracks. Too negative in mood, message and tone. Should have been more "balanced" and complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lukather-The Last Man Standing, February 2, 2013
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
For roughly a decade I continued to hear from the music press and the general public that any music showcasing any instrumental or production virtuosity was "corporate". This was in terms of rock music. Unless you were a garage band plugging your guitars into an amp with a microphone,you seriously risked being labeled as "irrelevant". And that word was basically a commercial death sentence to anyone who didn't tow the line. The contradictions of the alternative rock press have been exposed by the fact that artists like Toto's own Steve Lukather have not only soldiered on musically,even when people didn't want to listen to them,but by the fact he celebrated and advocated advanced and professional musicianship through his playing and sound as well. After a string of musically successful solo career during the new millennium,Lukather is back again with an album that again finds him breaking new ground.

The album opens with "Judgement Day",an excellent example of progressive hard rock with some amazingly melodic sheets of electric guitar,drum fills and bass lines. On "Creep Motel",one of my favorites here along with "Rest Of The World" he's dealing with the heavy blues side of his playing on two numbers showcasing a mix of rock/blues/jazz fusion that's hard grooving and even funky-rather like a harder guitar rocking Steely Dan if you think about it. One "Once Again" he showcases the more subtle side of his passionate musical personality with a wonderfully melodic piano based ballad. The title song,mostly instrumental,is a very intense jazz/rock fusion number matching Lukather's amazing guitar skills with the unique keyboard harmonies of Steve Weingart. "Last Man Standing" has a mild country rock flavor to it where "Do I Stand Alone" showcases a staccato rhythm guitar style that probably once gave U2's The Edge a few ideas.

Musically this album is incomparable. Not only is the musicianship extremely adept in every respect,but the strong melodies and hook friendly sense of song craft are easier reminders of the importance of studio rock craftsmanship. What thrills me most about this album though is it's conceptualization. Lukather's solo musical triumphs have come during a very sociologically distressing time for the world at large. The lyrics on this album very much point to the fact that,in 1999 and 2012 alike there was mass paranoia about apocalyptic cataclysm-first Y2K than the Mayan calender fiasco. Lukather's lyrics here combine with the probing,often restless compositions to reflect both his own personal concerns as an aging musician with the need he and many other people have to keep the world from disappearing by our own sometimes ignorant hands. It's exactly what modern rock and roll needs: extending on the 60's/70's ethic of expanding ones own ego beyond oneself into the broader spectrum of the people. For that and his crackerjack musicianship,I have to thank Mr.Lukather for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Los Totos, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Transition (Audio CD)
If you're a "Luke" fan there are no surprises here. I bought this on the strength of other reviews I stumbled across in a couple of U.S./U.K. guitar player oriented magazines. Here is Lukather at his best, he's an amazing guitarist. And he's an able songwriter. If you ever liked anything from his days with Toto you'll be in for much of the high quality recordings that they always did; Luke doesn't blaze any new trails per se, but again, it's a great listen from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Transition
Transition by Steve Lukather (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.